SBN 26: March 24-25 2012

Postby silent_riot » February 9th, 2012, 7:19 am

http://www.springbreaknationals.com/

Discuss your issues here.

Sully

Re: SBN 26: March 24-25 2012

Postby Sully » February 9th, 2012, 8:46 am

Issue 1. I need to buy an iPad for the electronic scoring.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 9th, 2012, 9:14 am

Issue 2: SQ Judges - "Oh Goaaar me eh going in no hot sun."

Sully

Postby Sully » February 9th, 2012, 10:17 am

silent_riot wrote:Issue 2: SQ Judges - "Oh Goaaar me eh going in no hot sun."

Wasn't an issue in Trinidad and I won't make it an issue in Daytona. Besides, the car will most likely have air conditioning. It's the install judges that will have a hard time. Then again I did that for the Canadian West Coast Finals and that wasn't a problem either.

Postby SR » February 9th, 2012, 12:35 pm

its never been an issue for the caribbean judges

Postby SR » February 9th, 2012, 12:39 pm

note $80us to compete approx $515TT

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 14th, 2012, 12:05 pm

[quote from Moe//Facebook]

COMPETITION AREAS AT SBN

After much discussion and debate here on our FB page, as well as discussions and meetings with SBN, we have formulated a plan for the competition areas over the course of the weekend.

We have a meeting with the Ocean Center tomorrow to go over final logistics, but unless something out of the blue changes, this will likely be the final layout...

Before you scroll down, PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING THREE PARAGRAPHS FIRST. It describes all the factors we took into consideration, as well as where everyone wants to be... We know that SQ competitors want to be inside and SPL competitors want to be outside and we want to provide that for you, but certain factors have to be considered.

First, it's virtually impossible to properly and effectively judge sound inside for SQ competitors... there's simply too much noise. While we agree that the arena layout was almost ideal, the cost of the arena section for SQ is so high that if we did only SQ in there the entry fees would skyrocket, and we didn't want to raise the entry fees. So, we had to find an equitable balance which would give competitors the best possible scenario for judging sound while giving them the ability to display their vehicles to the public within the show... so keep that in mind SQ competitors, please.

Second, SPL competition is very exciting and people like to watch it, especially the musical SPL competitions like Bass Boxing and Bass Race. We know that some competitors found the inside of the arena very cramped and limited (no testing, little room) and preferred to be outside where you can hang out and show off your systems... we know this because you've told us this. So we had this in mind too.

Finally, we had to find a way to allow competitors to be where they want to be that is cost effective, works well and puts on a great show for the crowd, as well as fill the building inside so there's lots for the speactators to see. We believe that the solution we've come up with will fill all those needs... so here it is...

FOR SPL COMPETITORS... There will be BOTH an OUTSIDE AND INSIDE staging area where you can park your vehicles and demo them with plenty of space. All competition will take place inside the building, but competitors can stage outside, drive in and compete, then go back outside. There is roughly 30 to 40 spots available outside for SPL competitors right at the loading dock doors to the Exhibit Hall; competitors will have the choice of parking there outside, or inside. It will be first come first served, so if you want to be outside, make sure you're there early enough to claim a spot. IF WE HAVE SUFFICIENT TIME TO ARRANGE IT; we will take reservations for pre-registered competitors... but once the spots are filled in one or the other area (inside or outside) any competitor who hasn't been staged will have to stage in the spot that has spaces open.

FOR SQ COMPETITORS... After long and detailed discussions, the only viable way to judge sound without any noise issues is to do it outside. PLEASE NOTE THAT ONLY SOUND AND RTA WILL BE JUDGED OUTSIDE... lanes will be set up for judging and once sound and RTA judging is complete for a competitor, they will be directed inside the Exhibit Hall where there will be specific areas for them to set up their display and prepare for Installation judging. As it is with SPL judging, competitors will have the option to park inside or outside; there will be a specific area set up inside and outside for SQ cars and as with SPL, spots will go to first come first served. We can accommodat all SQ cars inside if need be; ultimately that's what we'd like to do, but we know that some of you may prefer to be outside, or because you're competing in MECA as well... Choice is yours, but we need you to help us out here too; we're trying to make the best of the situation and give you guys the best possible judging conditions we can...

Inside the building, we will have sections set aside for teams so if you want to be together as a team you may do so; same will apply for outside.

Is it perfect? No... but it is the best possible situation, keeping in mind what each competitor wants. We know we can't please everybody, but we can try to please as many as possible. If you're not in agreement with this scenario, we are very sorry... just remember we're doing our best to help out as many as we can.

I'll post any potential changes (should they occur) after our meeting with the Ocean Center tomorrow... thanks!

[/quote]

Told you so.

Postby SR » February 14th, 2012, 12:34 pm

ya i saw it already

but as i said before

sq use to be done outside prior to ocean centres renovation

so we see a return of sq and rta judging in lanes under a tent

i dont think the idbl guys gonna be pleased

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 14th, 2012, 1:11 pm

You cant Please everyone.
- Moe.

Postby SR » February 14th, 2012, 1:53 pm

people forget that Spring Break Nationals started off as a car park event

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 14th, 2012, 2:09 pm

Sounds like a logistical migraine.
Doesn't matter to me, I'd like to see and hear as much as possible.

Postby SR » February 14th, 2012, 2:21 pm

when you actually see the venue you will understand the logistics and how difficult it is to manage when you have 3 different organisations at one location and competitors who take part in more than one organisation with the same vehicle

just moving them around from one area to the next is an issue

and unlike trinidad the cops are out in full force that weekend and there are a lot of traffic and noise restrictions in place

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 15th, 2012, 8:03 am

The ENFORCE speed limits. A NIGHTMARE for delinquent drivers, such as myself.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 15th, 2012, 8:42 am

So....yuh saying I cyar even drink meh bay-rum in the car when you driving???

Postby SR » February 15th, 2012, 8:59 am

nope

no open bottle of alco in the car period

driver will be held responsible even if he wasnt drinking

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 15th, 2012, 9:57 am

Issue 3: Bay-Rum withdrawal symptoms while on the road.

Sully

Postby Sully » February 15th, 2012, 10:40 am

In the US I don't think that the cops are going to know what Bay Rum is. They'll see Rum on the bottle and it'll be all over.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 16th, 2012, 2:40 pm

Allyuh, lewwe bubble a pot up there nah.

Postby SR » February 16th, 2012, 7:02 pm

pot of what and where??

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 17th, 2012, 8:19 am

Curry duck, hotel kitchen.

Sully

Postby Sully » February 18th, 2012, 7:46 am

Depending on if you sticking around in Ft Lauderdale afterwards, we can make that happen.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 20th, 2012, 1:10 pm

Team Hybrids USA havin a BBQ in the parking lot yo.

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » February 21st, 2012, 1:16 am

Count me in

Sully

Postby Sully » February 21st, 2012, 3:39 pm

nigel1977 wrote:Team Hybrids USA havin a BBQ in the parking lot yo.

You make it seem like Team Hybrid Trinidad isn't invited.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 14th, 2012, 7:23 pm

SHOW HOURS

Saturday 3.24.12 10AM until 6PM
Sunday 3.25.12 10AM until 6PM

Saturday Night at Dusk (8:00 PMish)on the East Plaza of the Ocean Center on A-1-A is the NiteGLow Vehicle Lighting Competition

Event Schedule here

Floor Map

Exhibitor Listing

fuzz, Pizza/Wing Eating Competition on Sunday, I'm in if you in.

Postby SR » March 14th, 2012, 8:16 pm

aappsssss

like ah man gettin antsy

predict fuzz gonna be under pressure as well as the under cover seasoned idbl judge :)

sq men on d outside
doh worry yuh eh go get tro out at 6pm either and make sure yuh check out d ice cream booth

it "special"

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » March 14th, 2012, 8:31 pm

silent_riot wrote:SHOW HOURS

Saturday 3.24.12 10AM until 6PM
Sunday 3.25.12 10AM until 6PM

Saturday Night at Dusk (8:00 PMish)on the East Plaza of the Ocean Center on A-1-A is the NiteGLow Vehicle Lighting Competition

Event Schedule here

Floor Map

Exhibitor Listing

fuzz, Pizza/Wing Eating Competition on Sunday, I'm in if you in.

If i get a chance to run away... i cud try the pizza eating comp.

but dem ppl doh make joke yo....

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 27th, 2012, 8:21 pm

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 27th, 2012, 8:32 pm

It was a pleasure to meet the car audio legends that one could only have read about previously.

I had the honour of meeting/listening to the cars of Louis Chouinard, Natan Budiono, Ron Baker, Scott Buwalda, Steve Cook, Larry Woolacoot (not present), Steven Head, Tommy McKinnie, Fred Lynch, John Marsh, Robert Petty, Blair Williams, Todd Faircloth, Chris Nelker, Robert Hilton, amongst the hundreds of other music playing cars on the show floor.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 27th, 2012, 8:56 pm

The best tonal accuracy cars belonged to Natan Budiono, Louis Chouinard and Fred Lynch. Louis' van was amazingly technically accurate on midrange and highs. Natan's car had the most detail and the best midbass I have ever heard in a car, and great dynamics. Fred Lynch's car was great as well. I would put these three cars' tonal accuracy above anything I've heard in Trinidad.

Steve Cook's van has to be the loudest sound Q system I've ever heard. Both of the team Zapco cars (Steve Cook and Robert Petty) had dynamics that only Natan and Ron Baker matched.

Robert Hilton had the best listening position I've heard, it was out of the windshield.
Blair Williams had great imaging.
Larry Woolacoot's install was simply jaw dropping.

To be quite honest, Trinidad's cars can step up to the plate with the guys of the US/Canada. There are a few of them mentioned above, that will hand our asses to us, but the majority of guys will be challenged by Trinis.

If I had to choose one system to be mine, it would be Robert Petty's Acura. It did everything extremely well, and was my favourite for the show.

Return to “IASCA Caribbean”