Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Re: Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Postby rfari » February 9th, 2012, 9:05 am

Learning experience yes, just have to be more careful

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2012, 9:23 am

ras that last pic, is that trunking or guttering?

Postby rfari » February 9th, 2012, 9:29 am

Tht's guttering. 13ft lengths

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 9th, 2012, 9:29 am

rfari wrote:Learning experience yes, just have to be more careful

hoss to tell you the truth,I respect any1 who tries their hand at tomatoes,whether small or large,imo that is the hardest facking thing to grow..

Postby rfari » February 9th, 2012, 12:36 pm

The tomatoes weren't as bad as I expected. Its the lettuce and the cabbage tht I getting hell with. In my final high-nitrogen mixture, I getting some serious precipitate. By weekend I plan to setup a small tank with some cheap fish to see if its ammonia or nitrite forming instead of nitrates.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 22nd, 2012, 11:11 pm

im inspired

gonna get some things organised and Grow some herbs!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 23rd, 2012, 7:43 am

being inspired in one thing...hydroponics systems are kinda costly and if you don't know what you doing is real pain...if I was you I'd start small,read a few books and do some research...unless you already know what to do,then go go for it and post some pics.lol.

Postby rfari » February 23rd, 2012, 9:30 am

Yup. Shakes is rights. Start by reading up on it while you gauge ur green thumb on with some veggies grown traditionally. I think in previous posts in this ched some interesting hydro articles were posted. then for the least you will have to get a ph test kit (preferably a ph/ec combi-meter. As for your crop, check ur pm. 8-)

Postby Chimera » February 23rd, 2012, 9:39 am

yup..i was inspired...spent probably 3-4k to bring in growblocks/pumps/hoses/building up a small greenhouse

then got bored.

i waiting on person from carib to get back from me on malt plastic ($10 per unit but they apparently give preference to people within carib)
a unit is all the plastic from inside a container

i asked for 30 units which im never gonna use all of so if it suits our purposes i can sell you guys back some at the same price I paid.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 23rd, 2012, 6:43 pm

rfari wrote: check ur pm. 8-)

:mrgreen:

Postby Ted_v2 » February 23rd, 2012, 6:45 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:being inspired in one thing...hydroponics systems are kinda costly and if you don't know what you doing is real pain...if I was you I'd start small,read a few books and do some research...unless you already know what to do,then go go for it and post some pics.lol.

i have an idea but i does start a project and never finished it

hoping to finish this one because it sounds like fun

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 24th, 2012, 11:10 am

sound boy 64 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:being inspired in one thing...hydroponics systems are kinda costly and if you don't know what you doing is real pain...if I was you I'd start small,read a few books and do some research...unless you already know what to do,then go go for it and post some pics.lol.

well go strong. 8-) good luck though...nice first system is a gro box system..my 2 cent

Postby Ted_v2 » February 24th, 2012, 6:33 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:

well go strong. 8-) good luck though...nice first system is a gro box system..my 2 cent

gonna use a pigtail bucket and another strainer bucket inside it

ill post pics when i get the material

Postby rfari » February 25th, 2012, 11:11 am

Made some slight changes again to the systems. Swapped the small flower pots with the celery, parsley for some bigger planters. celery not doing as great as the first time but the parsley actually still alive. :drinking: leaves show what may be some deficiency so its just to monitor it now.

high nitrate nutes to the left and high phosphate to the right. patchoi , cabbage and lettuce seedlings bought at the same time (2 weeks ago). difference is obvious. running identical nutes in both systems now. the 2 largest cabbage plants have been planted long before that. (almost 3 months). still ketching hell with lettuce. still have a few rolls of the dice wrt to a successful hydro lettuce.

young tomatoes started from seeds. planter is a bit jammed but after a month or so, i'll pull up the stragglers.

lily sent out 3 flowers. switch it to hi-nitrate nutes make leafier.

pimento tree more or less stable now. birds ate the fruit that came up. switch this to hi-nitrate nutes as well to build it back.

chive seeds started to sow. will give more updates on this operation soon

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 25th, 2012, 6:31 pm

celery like it pick up ah lil summin...everything else looking bess....gr8 wrk there man...loving the seedlings as well

Postby rfari » February 25th, 2012, 7:13 pm

thanks man shakes. i need some advice. can nutrients be added to the seedlings while in the seedling trays? pro-mix was used as the medium. or does the pro-mix have enough nutes to take it thru the transplant phase?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 25th, 2012, 8:26 pm

usually pro mix has everything for seedlings...everything look good from here..enough sunlight and water and you good to go...but one thing is,did you use anything for the rooting system.I remember setting seeds and I used a mixture of the following: (pro mix, miracle grow and rhizolex).

Postby rfari » February 25th, 2012, 8:58 pm

nothing for the roots as yet. was going to use half strength of the hi-phosphate nute till ready to transplant. in a case like this would banrot be as effective as rhizolex?

Postby Ted_v2 » February 25th, 2012, 9:01 pm

Where i getting pumps cheap?

anybody pipin?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 25th, 2012, 9:18 pm

rfari wrote:nothing for the roots as yet. was going to use half strength of the hi-phosphate nute till ready to transplant. in a case like this would banrot be as effective as rhizolex?

using rooting nutes in this phase was just a precaution for me,some people do it,some don't...as for the 2 chemicals u listed,they both work just as good...the pro-mix should/would do all you want it to..but make sure,when you ready to plant...use some rooting chemicals (dredging roots phase)...

Postby rfari » February 25th, 2012, 9:33 pm

thanks shakes. what is the "dredging roots phase" :oops:

@sb64, you can get cheap air pumps at mausica fish farm 646-0596. not sure if they will be open tmmrw. definitely not monday. other than that, fishy bizniz (868) 762-1223 or (868) 755-8688. pumps reasonably priced as well.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 26th, 2012, 12:52 am

rfari wrote:thanks shakes. what is the "dredging roots phase" :oops:

@sb64, you can get cheap air pumps at mausica fish farm 646-0596. not sure if they will be open tmmrw. definitely not monday. other than that, fishy bizniz (868) 762-1223 or (868) 755-8688. pumps reasonably priced as well.

what i need rfari?

to push 2 air stones? and what price is a good price to knw i not getting rob?

Postby rfari » February 26th, 2012, 1:29 am

something with a dual output and flow rate @ ~ 50gph. shouldnt pay more than 140 tt. pick up 2 decent air stones /air curtains and some air tubing as well.

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » February 26th, 2012, 1:55 am

@rfari... run your calcium fertilizers separate from the rest esp N and P to avoid precipitate.

your celery shows signs of micro nutrient deficiency <chlorotic regions at outer edges of leaves>...most likely B or Mg.... please note also that chlorosis is also associated with poor drainage...
...and celery...don't grow well under water-logged conditions.

@shakes....promix supposed to be a sterile medium...hence...contrary to the beliefs of many...MOST promix does not contain any nutrients.

Postby rfari » February 26th, 2012, 2:18 am

Thanks for the advice. Makes sense wrt to the celery because the first successful batch was grown in a gravel medium. Current system is about 50% gravel lower, 50% sharp sand upper. I would give it a week again (made some nute adjustments and don't want to have too many variables) before I add more drain holes to the planters.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 26th, 2012, 7:51 am

jramsarran wrote:@rfari... run your calcium fertilizers separate from the rest esp N and P to avoid precipitate.

your celery shows signs of micro nutrient deficiency <chlorotic regions at outer edges of leaves>...most likely B or Mg.... please note also that chlorosis is also associated with poor drainage...
...and celery...don't grow well under water-logged conditions.

@shakes....promix supposed to be a sterile medium...hence...contrary to the beliefs of many...MOST promix does not contain any nutrients.

oh well :|

fari dredging the roots: more or less when the seedlings are transplanted what farmers usually do is mix a good medium of rooting nutes and apply it..usually a spray can is used,the nozzle is inserted into the soil and you hold the trigger for a 5 seconds or so and that should be enough.
a good mix of rhizolex/banrot is used together with other chemicals for crickets and so on.some farmers use the option of applying a mixture of miracle grow at this stage..

just to say..this is what I have seen,been around and sometimes did....not all farmers use the same methods...but it is more or less the basic start..

Postby rfari » February 26th, 2012, 4:32 pm

or ok cool. well i'm covered there. would be running hi-phosphate before switching to hi-nitrate. have to find some way to make my own fungicides similar to banrot. some other time i guess.

Sharon_S

Postby Sharon_S » February 28th, 2012, 5:03 pm

Hi all,
I am in the process of building a small hydroponic set up,but I also want to try the bato bucket system,does anyone know where I might get hydroton and the coconut fiber used in hydroponics here in Trinidad.
Thanks
Sharon

Postby rollingstock » February 28th, 2012, 5:17 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
rfari wrote: check ur pm. 8-)

:mrgreen:

Oh! So that's what's going on in here?

*runs ip trace*

East men again smh Image

Postby rfari » February 28th, 2012, 7:08 pm

RS, ohh goaaar ease meh up nah de boss. :( :( :(

Sharon_S wrote:Hi all,
I am in the process of building a small hydroponic set up,but I also want to try the bato bucket system,does anyone know where I might get hydroton and the coconut fiber used in hydroponics here in Trinidad.
Thanks
Sharon

i'm not really sure were u can get those items but you can try

Tracmac Engineering Ltd.
Corner Biljah Road & Uriah Butler Highway, Chaguanas, Trinidad. W.I.
Phone: +1 868 665 5555

they sell hydro nutes but the prices kinda high IMO. ordering from ebay maybe the best option.
do u have the setup already? what u intend to grow?