Car Reviews Anyone?

SSwifter

Car Reviews Anyone?

Postby SSwifter » March 18th, 2012, 6:30 pm

I'm looking to buy my first car, and have been checking features of a few lower-end vehicles, but all the car lingo confuses me. :oops:
Cars I'm interested in so far:
Suzuki SX4 (sedan)
Kia Rio
Ford Fiesta
Nissan Tida (Sedan)

Not sure if any of the fellas can help me in assessing which one is the better car..As a parent, I'm looking for safety, reliability, etc.

(Open to car suggestions not listed :))

Re: Car Reviews Anyone?

Postby nervewrecker » March 18th, 2012, 6:31 pm

you considered roro?

SSwifter

Postby SSwifter » March 18th, 2012, 6:42 pm

Kinda hesitant to...and Besides lower prices, idk what's the benefit of going roro route.

Postby nervewrecker » March 18th, 2012, 6:43 pm

there is a thread in here about roro vs new brand. leme see if I rustle it up for you.

edit:

here is the thread: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=418918&hilit=plebs&start=60

I think lol
Last edited by nervewrecker on March 18th, 2012, 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dutyspeed

Postby dutyspeed » March 18th, 2012, 6:43 pm

i'll go wit the tiida...good on gas,cheap to maintain,parts easy to locate etc.......

SSwifter

Postby SSwifter » March 18th, 2012, 6:48 pm

nervewrecker wrote:there is a thread in here about roro vs new brand. leme see if I rustle it up for you.

edit:

here is the thread: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=418918&hilit=plebs&start=60

I think lol

Thanks! I'll go check it out (hope it's the correct link :lol: )

SSwifter

Postby SSwifter » March 18th, 2012, 6:50 pm

dutyspeed wrote:i'll go wit the tiida...good on gas,cheap to maintain,parts easy to locate etc.......

Easy-to-locate parts is def a top priority!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 18th, 2012, 6:54 pm

hyundai accent.......diesel, unless you're a crappy driver you won't need to be worrying about parts for a few years

SSwifter

Postby SSwifter » March 18th, 2012, 7:06 pm

Hmmm..No one can give me feedback on the cars listed too? :(

Postby foss » March 18th, 2012, 7:10 pm

given the choices go with the Tiida.

parts, service.. etc.

whatever you buy make sure and invest in a proper security system. GPS and a car alarm.

Postby ismithx » March 18th, 2012, 7:11 pm

IMHO, the best safety feature in a car is a good driver....

Postby foss » March 18th, 2012, 7:13 pm

ismithx wrote:IMHO, the best safety feature in a car is a good driver....

lolwut?? what does being a driver have to do with keeping your car safe from bandits? :?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 18th, 2012, 7:21 pm

foss wrote:
ismithx wrote:IMHO, the best safety feature in a car is a good driver....

lolwut?? what does being a driver have to do with keeping your car safe from bandits? :?

think he meant in terms of crashes and stuff, not security :|

SSwifter

Postby SSwifter » March 18th, 2012, 7:22 pm

Thanks Foss! will check the tida..
Lol @ ismithx..True, but with the way some idiots drive on the road, i wanna make sure the car could handle any situation

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » March 18th, 2012, 8:35 pm

Bandit will take it from you CHART. 10 out of 10 being very likely that you will be more likely to be held up for the vehicle or you will more likely always have to worry about it being there still after parking and going away. As a parent, i think this is something you may want to consider..

Suzuki SX4 (sedan) - 1 out of 10
Kia Rio - 4 out of 10
Ford Fiesta - 2 out of 10
Nissan Tida (Sedan) - 7 out of 10
Last edited by christopherwilliams2 on March 18th, 2012, 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby noshownogo » March 18th, 2012, 8:45 pm

You can take all the advice from us that you want, but I'd say test drive all, particularly in and around your route you traverse daily. Get a feel for the interior of the car as this is where you'll spend your time.

Generally as rule of thumb for me, I'd drive the car I am most interested in last and usually try to test drive all on the same day.

Don't be afraid to fight down the dealer price and interest rates from the bank as well.

Postby gastly369 » March 18th, 2012, 8:55 pm

foss wrote:given the choices go with the Tiida.

parts, service.. etc.

whatever you buy make sure and invest in a proper security system. GPS and a car alarm.

but as noshownogo said test drive all and see which one "you" like overall

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2012, 10:01 pm

OP I'm a big fan of all Toyota vehicles..the NZE is great as well as the Altis,they are good on gas and looks way better than that fugly tida..

aidan

Postby aidan » March 18th, 2012, 11:02 pm

SX4 ftw. Reallll good on gas, powerful,very comfortable ride, lots of space in the trunk and lots of cabin space. Also ground clearance is great. Have one doing 80k kms and no problems. Parts are easy to get as well. And suzukis are very reliable.

Postby sliderz1 » March 18th, 2012, 11:11 pm

is the 2012 Rio being sold locally or are they still selling the older model?

Postby Stephon. » March 18th, 2012, 11:25 pm

Wait a little while longer and get the new Kia Rio coming later this year, it looks like a baby sportage, it's really nice on the eyes.

But other than that if you only have those options, go with the Tiida, you can't exactly go wrong with that considering how many there are on the roads, which means parts would be easy to get if anything goes wrong. You're buying from the dealer too so chances are you won't need parts for any of the cars for 3 - 5 years.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 18th, 2012, 11:32 pm

Stephon. wrote:Wait a little while longer and get the new Kia Rio coming later this year, it looks like a baby sportage, it's really nice on the eyes...

The latest Accent and Rio are built off the same platform, yet they are miles apart when it comes to quality. Every comparison between the Accent and Rio has put the Accent ahead of the Rio. Plus the quality of the after sales service from N&M, while it leaves a lot to be desired, is still better than that from SS&SL.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 19th, 2012, 1:49 am

aidan wrote:SX4 ftw. Reallll good on gas, powerful,very comfortable ride, lots of space in the trunk and lots of cabin space. Also ground clearance is great. Have one doing 80k kms and no problems. Parts are easy to get as well. And suzukis are very reliable.

aidan u sellin?

btw where do u get these parts other than LM?

Postby noshownogo » March 19th, 2012, 7:33 am

btw, new Rio here already. Went Movietowne this weekend and saw Kia's 2011/12 line up.

The Rio is 1.4, with 15" rims, bluetooth, reverse sensors, Keyless entry, 4speed auto.

Postby bushwakka » March 19th, 2012, 9:21 am

check out the features on the sx4 compared to the others (besides fiesta)

i think u will like the sx4...the fiesta is a bit too yaris-like

the rest...blehhhh

Postby Stephon. » March 19th, 2012, 9:52 am

noshownogo wrote:btw, new Rio here already. Went Movietowne this weekend and saw Kia's 2011/12 line up.

The Rio is 1.4, with 15" rims, bluetooth, reverse sensors, Keyless entry, 4speed auto.

Sounds very good it's class.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 19th, 2012, 10:07 am

Check crash ratings of the cars too. You could be a good driver...doh mean the other people are too

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 19th, 2012, 10:26 am

Get a Corolla..........nothing else compares.

Postby Stephon. » March 19th, 2012, 10:40 am

toyota2nr wrote:Get a Corolla..........nothing else compares.

I agree, loving dem hubcaps.

Postby teems1 » March 19th, 2012, 12:00 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:hyundai accent.......diesel, unless you're a crappy driver you won't need to be worrying about parts for a few years

i got me one of those. the 1.6 turbo diesel

talk about fuel efficient. $60 fills it up, and you can drive 650-700 kms off one tank!