Mazda 2012 vs Ranger 2012 - Heavy T Needed for both

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 3rd, 2012, 9:10 pm

Brothers of the diesel world...the ranger 2012 has definitely set new benchmarks for pick-ups. Swung by the showroom today in Sdo and got a feel for the ranger...and boy oh boy is it a truck...Sorry Hilux guys....the 2012 Lux aint want nothing with these models...

Some features....

The come in 2.2 and 3.2

2.2 4x2 - 259k
2.2 4x4 - 279k
3.2 Limited - 325k

1. Voice activated air conditioning
2. Equipped rear view sensors with display in the mirrors
3. Rain activated wipers
4. Auto head lights
5. Traction control and hill decent
6. Cruise control standard on models
7. Range suspension
8. Std 17"s alloy...

I await to see Mazda's response to this.....

Mazda BT50...

Ranger 2012...

Re: Mazda 2012 vs Ranger 2012 - Heavy T Needed for both

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 3rd, 2012, 9:13 pm

its an amazing vehicle....the heavy t license is the only set back for most lol

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 3rd, 2012, 9:31 pm

^ Aaron,

You took the exact words....amazing indeed.

Actual pictures:

Engine Bay

Dash:

HUGE gigantic tray

Storage compartments under seat (who say cold beers) ?

Front

^ Notice the Everest in the background ?

You actually have to "hop" into these vans....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 4th, 2012, 12:47 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:its an amazing vehicle....the heavy t license is the only set back for most lol

so dat mean dem tanty and wifey and ting cyzh use de van tuh go pricesmart and pick up bulk groceries!!??

Thank goodness, that means less of them to run into mih frickin rear bumper and side door.... de vna done big enough already.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 4th, 2012, 1:02 am

baiv2nr 2.0 bai, dem ting not necessary bai, watch nah I go show yuh....

V2NR 2.0 wrote:
Some features....

The come in 2.2 and 3.2

2.2 4x2 - 259k
2.2 4x4 - 279k
3.2 Limited - 325k

1. Voice activated air conditioning (i have finger-controlled air conditioning!)
2. Equipped rear view sensors with display in the mirrors (i get a broad-mirror from bamboo and stick it on mih datsun mirror bai, de ting bess baiv2nrbai, I could see everyting!)
3. Rain activated wipers (boi... FINGER-OPERATED wipers bai... tek dat!)
4. Auto head lights (again, finger-operated headlights.... buhdow!)
5. Traction control and hill decent (what you need dat for man? Daiz for old people and woman and feminine-men who cyah drive, boi throw de gear in 4-lo and 1st gear nah man, let de injin crawl down de hill.. what yuh wah wit hill desecnt??)
6. Cruise control standard on models (i cyah use cruise control when I stickup innna morning traffic!)
7. Range suspension (all van have suspension, what yuh saying bai??)
8. Std 17"s alloy... (ha! mine have standard 16" alloy! De salesman say dat not to use bigger rims cuz it go mashup mih shocks, so dat 17" go cause yuh wheel to fly off!)

I is not no fight-down eh, but look at feature de current pickup have nah bai!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 4th, 2012, 5:37 am

Lol love it Lighthammer , lmao!

Postby Team Loco » April 4th, 2012, 8:59 am

so i hear a certain tuner is soon to join the honoured list of the MAFIA!!! and its not who you think it is!! a certain man/oman has gone against his own...

i ent making this one up

manual 3.0 fully loaded hilux on order.........who can it be now.............hmmmmmmmm

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 4th, 2012, 9:02 am

You forgot to mention - new ranger have locking differentials, EBC, rollover mitigation, 5star crash rating

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 4th, 2012, 9:04 am

Wha wago gone against!!! I eh blame him , blasted ranger too damn expensive

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 4th, 2012, 10:05 am

^4real

Postby Team Loco » April 4th, 2012, 11:29 am

not talking about wago........too easy.....maybe he buying a hilux too

passing to check out new ranger today. looks impressive

bt50

Postby bt50 » April 4th, 2012, 2:31 pm

Team Loco wrote:so i hear a certain tuner is soon to join the honoured list of the MAFIA!!! and its not who you think it is!! a certain man/oman has gone against his own...

i ent making this one up

manual 3.0 fully loaded hilux on order.........who can it be now.............hmmmmmmmm

yeah the muda$$ real give man talks in his workplace- hilux this hilux that- never he and hilux- now he cant leave toyota showroom. 3.0 manual aka fyaz

mazda gone against- :roll:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 4th, 2012, 2:46 pm

The 2012 ranger, it's like a fat chick that gives epic head 8-) :skurred:

Postby Team Loco » April 4th, 2012, 3:00 pm

tourniquet wrote:The 2012 ranger, it's like a fat chick that gives epic head 8-) :skurred:

ammm, your analogy is :?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 4th, 2012, 5:30 pm

it coming with continental A/T tires - first time i ever saw that brand of A/T!

nah boi that 3.2L is a real beast. That will be ripping tires in 1- 3rd gears easy.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 4th, 2012, 11:36 pm

i good wid mih old cheap datsun yes...

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 5th, 2012, 6:32 am

Team Loco wrote:not talking about wago........too easy.....maybe he buying a hilux too

Why would a Toyota die hard - extremist if i may, even visit a showroom to even look at a Ranger....Hmmm....Me-thinks something is up here...

In addition, This same yota dude has a mighty fine yota for sale right now...fully loaded...3.0 power house...signs of things to come ?....I say....why would he sell and then visit a showroom ??

And the orchestra of suspense plays....

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 5th, 2012, 6:33 am

Team Loco wrote:
tourniquet wrote:The 2012 ranger, it's like a fat chick that gives epic head 8-) :skurred:

ammm, your analogy is :?

Postby Team Loco » April 5th, 2012, 8:04 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:
Team Loco wrote:not talking about wago........too easy.....maybe he buying a hilux too

Why would a Toyota die hard - extremist if i may, even visit a showroom to even look at a Ranger....Hmmm....Me-thinks something is up here...

In addition, This same yota dude has a mighty fine yota for sale right now...fully loaded...3.0 power house...signs of things to come ?....I say....why would he sell and then visit a showroom ??

And the orchestra of suspense plays....

i prefer rock music. and i just wanna know what that guy in the pic is drinking :D

Postby ronsin1 » April 7th, 2012, 7:54 am

goes for heavy T permit :mrgreen:

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2012, 9:38 am

how does it compare to the land rovers defender and lr's ?

gundelero

Postby gundelero » May 2nd, 2012, 10:15 am

did they bring in the new everest too?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 2nd, 2012, 12:53 pm

^^next shipment, expect it to cost more than the ranger - maybe hitting 400K

gundelero

Postby gundelero » May 2nd, 2012, 8:23 pm

yea, i'd expect that price. but what i'm interested in is the design....
if the ranger is this great, i can imagine the size of the everest.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 2nd, 2012, 10:23 pm

About the size of a Ford Explorer.. nothing surprising really.

The 2012 ranger is still a bit smaller than the F150, though they're in the same class (Mid-size)

25 to LIFE

Postby 25 to LIFE » May 4th, 2012, 12:56 pm

Anyone take notice of the actual horsepower of these vehicles? Just seems improbable that a small engine like that could pull a big and heavy van like that!
Any owners online to validate the sales pitch from the firm?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 6th, 2012, 11:03 pm

pickup power specs:

Mahindra Scorpio 2.5 106hp; 247Nm torque
Great Wall Wingle 2.5 107hp; 300Nm torque
Ssang Yong Actyon Sports 2.0 153hp; 360Nm torque
Volkswagen Amarok 2.0 161hp; 400Nm torque
Isuzu D-Max/Chevrolet Colorado 2.5 161hp; 400Nm torque
Toyota Hilux 3.0 169hp; 343Nm torque
Mitsubishi L200 Sportero 2.5 176HP; 350Nm torque
Nissan Navara 2.5 188hp; 450Nm torque
3.0 V6 228hp; 550Nm torque
Mazda BT-50/Ford Ranger 3.2 197hp; 470Nm torque
2.2 148hp; 375Nm torque

After checking out the Ranger myself, I have to conclude it is #1 right now. I did not see the new BT-50, D-Max or Colorado yet and I'm not sure if we would ever get the Amarok but the Hilux will take the #2 spot followed by the L200 Sportero then the Navara.

venum

Postby venum » May 8th, 2012, 8:02 pm

I saw these as well in teh showroom when I went to buy some parts in DM

they do look really nice

saw several 2.2L on the road as well

3.2L kinda expensive, but Trini will buy even if it means sleeping in it and eating once a week

seems too many features in them IMHO, but it makes well for those who like those kinda things

it is no doubt macho on the outside and performance wise, but kinda feminine on the inside

those features will make it comfortable to drive though . . .

I'm kinda with Lighthammer on this

my personal preference is less electronic items where not needed such as:

1. Voice activated air conditioning
2. Equipped rear view sensors with display in the mirrors - better combined with reverse camera
3. Rain activated wipers
6. Cruise control standard on models

8. Std 17"s alloy... hope the tyre shops start bringing good options in 17"

7. Range suspension - what is that?

i hope that Mitsu does not follow suit and make teh L200 just as feminine inside

Postby 3stagevtec » May 9th, 2012, 9:59 pm

Luxury pickup trucks yes.. The best engine there is from the VW Amarok, with their 2.0L unit making 80.5hp/l specific power output and an impressive amount of torque to go along with it..

venum

Postby venum » May 9th, 2012, 11:49 pm

saw one this evening

MGW is 3200kg - is that whay Heavy T is required?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”