Re: Chopper Chat Thread

Postby gastly369 » May 5th, 2012, 9:25 am

:o :o

Postby mero » May 5th, 2012, 9:56 am

For a helicopter piloting license; would anyone advise if going through the Air guard and getting the possibility of learning abroad is better than doing it privately internationally?

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » May 5th, 2012, 9:20 pm

mero wrote:For a helicopter piloting license; would anyone advise if going through the Air guard and getting the possibility of learning abroad is better than doing it privately internationally?

My advice to you would be to stay away from the Air Guard......

Postby foss » May 5th, 2012, 9:49 pm

mero wrote:For a helicopter piloting license; would anyone advise if going through the Air guard and getting the possibility of learning abroad is better than doing it privately internationally?

http://www.heli.com/

http://www.cloud9helicopters.com/

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 5th, 2012, 10:09 pm

if you don't mind the military life and you fit the requirements for the airguard use them for the training and get out that is what i did with the royal airforce

Postby Habit7 » May 6th, 2012, 7:55 am

Does it have a planespotters thread?

Postby mero » May 6th, 2012, 9:36 am

hoverauto wrote:My advice to you would be to stay away from the Air Guard......

thanks, but anything a bit more useful would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to pm more or something

dude thanks, I've been looking at Britow a while now. Is there anyone inside here who did courses with them who you can point me to?

jm3 wrote:if you don't mind the military life and you fit the requirements for the airguard use them for the training and get out that is what i did with the royal airforce

this was my main reason. Always wanted military training and also to make use of the possible opportunities. I would be going in as an Officer so i guess it would be easier to get the opportunity to train abroad... i believe

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » May 6th, 2012, 8:01 pm

I know it's not rotor related, but a little birdie told me there's something a buzzing by the airport

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » May 7th, 2012, 10:47 am

Postby Habit7 » May 7th, 2012, 1:26 pm

I was reading the Newsday today and there was a small article on the Air Guard getting 2 more helicopters!?!

Are these the other AW-139's?

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » May 7th, 2012, 3:41 pm

Habit7 wrote:I was reading the Newsday today and there was a small article on the Air Guard getting 2 more helicopters!?!

Are these the other AW-139's?

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » May 16th, 2012, 8:47 pm

mero wrote:
hoverauto wrote:My advice to you would be to stay away from the Air Guard......

thanks, but anything a bit more useful would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to pm more or something

dude thanks, I've been looking at Britow a while now. Is there anyone inside here who did courses with them who you can point me to?

jm3 wrote:if you don't mind the military life and you fit the requirements for the airguard use them for the training and get out that is what i did with the royal airforce

this was my main reason. Always wanted military training and also to make use of the possible opportunities. I would be going in as an Officer so i guess it would be easier to get the opportunity to train abroad... i believe

Go to Cloud 9 in Miami, they are cheap and have a program set up just for Trinis.

Or....if you feeling adventurous go to Panama. Here is the link: http://helipan.com/ PM me for more info on this.

Regarding the airguard, you can join but there is no guarantee that you end up as a pilot. My advice would be to go and visit them. Personally that aint for me, I not up for any 6 months basic training in Tetron nah.....

Postby Habit7 » June 11th, 2012, 2:32 pm

Come man better than that!

somebody should lose their job over this.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 12th, 2012, 3:21 pm

AATT Airport Disaster Emergency Drill 2012. Operation 'HOTEL'
IMG-20120611-00045.jpg
DSC04570.JPG
DSC04569.JPG
DSC04568.JPG
DSC04567.JPG
DSC04566.JPG
DSC04565.JPG
DSC04563.JPG
DSC04562.JPG
DSC04561.JPG
DSC04560.JPG
DSC04559.JPG
DSC04558.JPG
DSC04557.JPG
DSC04556.JPG
DSC04554.JPG
DSC04553.JPG
DSC04552.JPG
DSC04551.JPG
DSC04549.JPG
DSC04548.JPG
DSC04546.JPG
DSC04532.JPG
DSC04531.JPG
DSC04517.JPG
DSC04516.JPG
DSC04504.JPG
DSC04502.JPG
DSC04503.JPG

Postby pete » June 12th, 2012, 5:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:Image

Come man better than that!

somebody should lose their job over this.

Upside down flag?

Postby wagonrunner » June 12th, 2012, 5:58 pm

pete wrote:Upside down flag?

wrong side flag.
The black of the flag should never be painted in that direction.

jm3

Postby jm3 » June 12th, 2012, 6:17 pm

that was the supplied decal so i would say that came from the peepee

jm3

Postby jm3 » June 12th, 2012, 6:17 pm

that was the supplied decal so i would say that came from the peepee

Postby Habit7 » June 12th, 2012, 7:19 pm

Tanzania

Trinidad & Tobago

I don't know what flag on those helicopters

Postby wagonrunner » June 12th, 2012, 10:12 pm

jm3 wrote:that was the supplied decal so i would say that came from the peepee

some government contract recipient who couldn't be bothered by national pride, and ok'd straight up the ranks for a couple dollars.

Since social studies and by extension national pride and awareness seem to have been removed.
http://www2.nalis.gov.tt/Research/SubjectGuide/NationalEmblems/tabid/215/ItemId/212/Default.aspx
Description of the National Flag of Trinidad and Tobago: On a Red Field, a Bend Dexter Sable bordered Silver, that is to say, there is on the Red Field a diagonal from left to right in Black bordered with White.

Postby Monk BANzai » June 13th, 2012, 12:00 am

AND IT ON AL LD CHOPEPR DEM?!!.....steups..........

Postby pete » June 13th, 2012, 6:15 am

Well..to me it looks like the flag is correct on the left side of the helicopters. Maybe the ones for the right side are made to look like the flag was flying and not a painted on flag. i.e. the front of the chopper is the front of the flag.

Postby Habit7 » June 13th, 2012, 9:01 am

pete wrote:Well..to me it looks like the flag is correct on the left side of the helicopters. Maybe the ones for the right side are made to look like the flag was flying and not a painted on flag. i.e. the front of the chopper is the front of the flag.

?oot txet eht htiw taht od t'ndid yeht yhw oS

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 13th, 2012, 11:19 am

Wait, I uploaded all dem pix from the AATT drill and allyuh quarelling about a damn flag?! :D

Let me clear it up for you, on military aircraft (and some international commercial aircraft), the flag on the starboard side is a mirrored version (opposite direction) of the original flag on the port side (the flag has 2 sides people). This is simply the way the flag would look from the other side if blowing in the wind (giving the effect of the flag flying in the breeze as the aircraft moves forward)

On American soldiers uniforms, the US flag is mirrored as its worn on their right shoulder for the same reason.

See for yourself............
NSOC National Flag.jpg

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 13th, 2012, 11:52 am

The MEDEVAC bird at San Fernando General Hospital Helipad
IMG-20120612-00014.jpg

Postby Habit7 » June 13th, 2012, 12:00 pm

yeah your right :)

Postby wagonrunner » June 13th, 2012, 12:03 pm

norstar, we know that. It's in the US's regulations for flag display.
When the flag is affixed to the side of a vehicle (land, sea or air), it should be oriented so that the union is towards the front, as if the flag were streaming backwards from its hoist as the vehicle moves forward. Therefore, U.S. flag decals on the right sides of vehicles may appear to be "reversed", with the union to the observer's right instead of left as more commonly seen.

Not ours, but aye look the US doing it, we should do it too.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 13th, 2012, 1:00 pm

wagonrunner wrote:norstar, we know that. It's in the US's regulations for flag display.
When the flag is affixed to the side of a vehicle (land, sea or air), it should be oriented so that the union is towards the front, as if the flag were streaming backwards from its hoist as the vehicle moves forward. Therefore, U.S. flag decals on the right sides of vehicles may appear to be "reversed", with the union to the observer's right instead of left as more commonly seen.

Nothing in the Regulations Governing the National Emblems of Trinidad and Tobago  
(1st December 1980) Chapter 19:04 says you can't.

Postby r3iXmann » June 13th, 2012, 6:25 pm

wagonrunner wrote:norstar, we know that. It's in the US's regulations for flag display.

indeed.

psykomorf

Postby psykomorf » June 13th, 2012, 8:21 pm

How about using the RAF style roundel and keep the flag on the tailboom?