Re: Purple blaster???

Postby MG Man » May 9th, 2012, 10:28 am

simple green is very safe for alloys

ek4ever

Re:

Postby ek4ever » May 9th, 2012, 10:35 am

streetlover89 wrote:iz dis sumthing u can use in de place of soap or sumthing???

WTF?? Aye doh try and bathe with these products eh

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » May 9th, 2012, 10:36 am

MG Man wrote:simple green is very safe for alloys

in a diluted form. i wont trust spraying it concentrated on rim paint and clear coat.

i use simple green when i have the time to find it.

but when in a rush i use PB. PB is nice for quick jobs. burns eyes from fumes, and mist if goes in eyes will burn for hours. follow tuner warned me of that and it happen by mistake with the wind. didnt believe how bad till it happened. burned like a beyotch. will make a big man bawl.

simple green is the better choice though but more expensive and harder to find especially in the east. blasted south ppl have everything. .

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 9th, 2012, 1:12 pm

can it be used as a substitute for brake cleaner, to spray on rotor discs and such when changing brake pads for example?

nestor

Postby nestor » May 9th, 2012, 4:59 pm

A WORD OF CAUTION!
GUYS MAKE SURE THAT THE ALTERNATOR IS COMPLETELY COVERED WITH A NYLON BAG - BEFORE YOU SPRAY ON THE PURPLE BLASTER - IT MESSES-UP THE STATOR AND THE REGULATOR.
Happened to me twice and then my auto-electrician asked me what I used to clean the engine - he then explained that he's had over 200 cases of PURPLE BLASTER messing up the alternator internals.

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 9th, 2012, 5:06 pm

^^^ so I'm guessing Simple Green is safe on the alternator?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 9th, 2012, 5:09 pm

bought some degreaser from price club, in a black boddle aint membering the name now, but was working better than purple blaster, will get proper name when I home

Postby MG Man » May 10th, 2012, 6:38 am

NR8 wrote:

can it be used as a substitute for brake cleaner, to spray on rotor discs and such when changing brake pads for example?

better to use methylated spirit

Postby pugboy » May 10th, 2012, 8:21 am

spraying degreasers on anything with bearings(alternator) is also dangerous
if it gets in the bearing it will mess up the grease inside and shorten bearing life

Postby MG Man » May 10th, 2012, 9:52 am

^^^yup
u need to sue some common sense with these things. I am very particular where I spray simple green, although the risk of damaging components is far less than with petroleum-based degreasers
I wouldn't use it on brake components because it is water based, and water does not dry out quickly, hence the use of methylated spirits when servicing brakes

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » May 10th, 2012, 11:14 am

Fellas yall supposed to cover up alternator and starter, coilpacks, fusebox etc anytime youre washing the engine. Don't just blame the degreasers, keep all liquids out of them.