Old School Projects

nigie

Re: Old School Projects

Postby nigie » May 10th, 2012, 7:41 pm

8-) ....hummmm i suposed they drained all liquids and removed the battery for this....

nigie

Postby nigie » May 11th, 2012, 9:34 am

Box Lancer Project.... 8-)

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 11th, 2012, 3:25 pm

^ ^ ^ Twin cooling fans installed (pic 2)... SR20DET already inside, nigie :?:

Postby Ted_v2 » May 11th, 2012, 7:23 pm

Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ Twin cooling fans installed (pic 2)... SR20DET already inside, nigie :?:

Intercooler and shift light on the dash

100% it have a sr20 inside

darrenwilson

Postby darrenwilson » May 11th, 2012, 8:02 pm

any progress on the datsun?

nigie

Postby nigie » May 13th, 2012, 9:43 pm

Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ Twin cooling fans installed (pic 2)... SR20DET already inside, nigie :?:

Yah inside cage .....and growling....

Postby Ted_v2 » May 17th, 2012, 5:10 am

got the rb25 non turbo with tranny for le 280c project

installing this weekend and body work should start early next week

Picss sunday or early monday

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » May 17th, 2012, 9:43 am

rd 20 sohc engine & trans for sale.... call 305-5660

nigie

Postby nigie » May 20th, 2012, 9:11 pm

PROJECT HUSTLER......DE TRINI CAR....

veedubtt

Postby veedubtt » May 20th, 2012, 9:58 pm

hey there tuners I Looking to buy a 1967 or older volkswagen bus/pickup.
can be in ANY condition, with or without engine. ...687-7913

The 1967 and older buses had the V streamlined front

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » May 21st, 2012, 9:51 am

SMALL BLOCK CHEVY + THIRD GEN MANUAL TRANSMISSION + KE 70 COROLLA =

nigie

Postby nigie » May 23rd, 2012, 9:54 am

RENAULT 12 DOOR RESTORATION....DO NOT THROW AWAY OLD DOORS...!

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 23rd, 2012, 7:11 pm

Long... tedious... but nice work. That's what I have to do on the remaining doors after my box Lancer (1800 GTX) restoration.

Wish he had treated the other rusty areas before the welding. Still not to late though.

My $0.02¢

nigie

Postby nigie » May 24th, 2012, 8:19 am

Sanctifier wrote:Long... tedious... but nice work. That's what I have to do on the remaining doors after my box Lancer (1800 GTX) restoration.

Wish he had treated the other rusty areas before the welding. Still not to late though.

My $0.02¢

treatment comes after all welding is done and lastly bottom half inside of door is treated with oily stuff

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 24th, 2012, 9:53 am

^ ^ ^ What do you have planned for the Renault 12?... More power?... and what brakes?

Postby MG Man » May 24th, 2012, 11:11 am

awesome, awesome awesome job on that 12 door!

Postby Razkal » May 24th, 2012, 11:17 am

roadracer7 wrote:FB RX7, with MS137 F/Wheel bearing assembly & brake rotor, nissan gtr 4 piston calipers,2 1/8" brake pad cheese bored aluminium spacers . bearing & seal spacers for hub assembly with loctite.

FC complete rear brake assembly.
hand fabricated all bracketing,spacers

actual project or just fantasizing? :)

i have an FB (actually an sa22c..) with an rb sohc lump currently..been doing suspension work on it..entire FC IRS swap and from front FC brakes to full power assisted FC rack and brakes.

le mounts were a doozy to figure out, but i'm pleased they cleared all the rack lines and seem to have the motor very secure. will post a few pics when i take 'em off the camera..

btw, the guy who inquired about the 280/720 diffs...i ran both applications and busted both with a single cam rb running stock boost. granted they probably had their fair share of licks before i got them. the Cedric diff worked best for me...came with disc brakes that weren't too shabby and outlasted both 720 and 280c units. change the bearings and aim for a 4.1 ratio whatever unit you decide on...(actually i don't know if the auto gearing suits a 4.1 rear end...i know the gearbox ratios work wonderfully with a 4.1 rear.)

Postby Razkal » May 24th, 2012, 12:15 pm

^old setup, used FC coils and brakes before, but never worked quite right

^new setup..same mounting location..minor fabricating and 'spun' the sump pan around.

i'll post more pics as its being finished up. when the car is all ground level i'll take pics of the rear end conversion :)

Postby Razkal » May 24th, 2012, 12:19 pm

any suggestions/concerns/queries...feel free to comment.

also having all rust spots on the car taken care off as its down for the moment. may do some reinforcing of the chassis as well...but i guess only what's possible without scrapping the entire car down.

Postby wagonrunner » May 24th, 2012, 5:04 pm

good grief, this thing is coming back.
*runs off to invest in some Jesus* :poke:

Postby Ted_v2 » May 24th, 2012, 5:18 pm

* hopes the rb25 auto dont burst the diff in the 280c

project so far , got the engine and waiting on body work to start

question doh
1/in what order to do the project? heres what needs to be done .engine installation, small body job, electrical, interior,engine bay painted and modded for engine to fit

2/ go with a straight driveshaft? from what i saw its that it have a center bearing where its joined to the second part. pondering if to remove this completely

3/ radiator what to use? a huge one like from the bamboo or go with a new aluminium one

go clutch fan or electric cooling ?

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » May 24th, 2012, 8:08 pm

Razkal wrote:
roadracer7 wrote:FB RX7, with MS137 F/Wheel bearing assembly & brake rotor, nissan gtr 4 piston calipers,2 1/8" brake pad cheese bored aluminium spacers . bearing & seal spacers for hub assembly with loctite.

FC complete rear brake assembly.
hand fabricated all bracketing,spacers

actual project or just fantasizing? :)

i have an FB (actually an sa22c..) with an rb sohc lump currently..been doing suspension work on it..entire FC IRS swap and from front FC brakes to full power assisted FC rack and brakes.

le mounts were a doozy to figure out, but i'm pleased they cleared all the rack lines and seem to have the motor very secure. will post a few pics when i take 'em off the camera..

btw, the guy who inquired about the 280/720 diffs...i ran both applications and busted both with a single cam rb running stock boost. granted they probably had their fair share of licks before i got them. the Cedric diff worked best for me...came with disc brakes that weren't too shabby and outlasted both 720 and 280c units. change the bearings and aim for a 4.1 ratio whatever unit you decide on...(actually i don't know if the auto gearing suits a 4.1 rear end...i know the gearbox ratios work wonderfully with a 4.1 rear.)

actual conversion...... sold the vehicle....pag 2411

Postby Razkal » May 25th, 2012, 12:06 am

@karl, :lol: yeah its gonna be dexing again soon :D

you know yuh want a tush :poke:

@ soundboy64, make life easy for yourself and spend more time enjoying the build..do ALL your body work first, this will give time to address any other structural issues before the swap..check the integrity of the chassis and all the suspension components you gonna reuse.
according to your level of "auto ocd" do interior work as well before the swap. i'd leave all the electrical work for when the engine is being wired up...unless your electrics in a mess presently, then have them neatened up and prepped for the RB wiring (try getting a complete harness to start with btw...UNCUT!).

if its an option, aluminium rad is always a plus. but a big enough std metal core and twin electric fans aren't dismal either. that said, get good fans man. depending on your space you could use the clutch fan and maybe add a small slim electric pushing from the front.. what you people think?

Postby wagonrunner » May 25th, 2012, 12:13 am

but you speaking in prophecy. yuh damn skippy. :lol: :lol:
without meh bladder contents shifting preferably. :mrgreen:

Postby Razkal » May 25th, 2012, 7:45 am

^should actually be good proper fun this time. haven't touched the little power there is...just how it gets to the ground :)

also...forget that mini-pipe-wrench-as-window-winder ish...got me power windows :D

*whistles "moving on up" with head in air* :lol:

nigie

Postby nigie » May 25th, 2012, 9:42 am

Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ What do you have planned for the Renault 12?... More power?... and what brakes?

Nissan GA engine turbo charged...nissan brakes...and speaking fo box lancer...... :mrgreen:

Postby Razkal » May 25th, 2012, 10:02 am

^what rear end being used nigie? have a friend who did the same build and is now contemplating rear end conversions/upgrades...of course the deciding factors are price, availability and longevity.

his runs really well so far:
s15 sr20det (originally auto, now with s14 5 speed box)
adjustable fpr
manual bc (stock ~7psi)
poly bushings front and rear with poly injected ends
ep82 starlet booster
ceffy brakes up front with 1800 springs
stock rear end (save for the bushings)

the car is a little squishy in the bends and slightly floaty on top end, but by no means a death trap..it sits well and runs straight even under power...but, its obvious suspension work is required to really extract the potential. ideas?>

nigie

Postby nigie » May 25th, 2012, 10:45 am

ok ill ask some questions while i maco...ing :D

Postby Razkal » May 25th, 2012, 12:24 pm

^please do :)

i'm trying to document, however slightly, all car related projects i'm undertaking or throwing a hand in..so i'll reciprocate with pics and details whenever i can..

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » May 25th, 2012, 12:30 pm

Razkal wrote:i'm trying to document, however slightly, all car related projects i'm undertaking or throwing a hand in..so i'll reciprocate with pics and details whenever i can..

you do that.