The Official Car Care Thread

trvs

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby trvs » June 11th, 2012, 9:15 pm

Saw a guy this evening on my way home with a 3ton with what looked like a chemical guys waterless car wash setup in the tray. Professional Auto Detailing. Rain was falling so I didn't see his company name and number good. Looks like the market is opening up.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 12th, 2012, 1:08 pm

Okay my mini project, I am no professional detailer and I am no professional photographer, so this is my take with some advice from Karim. Below is the candidate, a weathered carbon bonnet from the Silvia,
This happens when the car is parked getting sun and rain unprotected. So I went with the advice from Karim and others and searched for Meguiar's Ultimate Compound yellow application pad and also Even Coat Microfiber Applicator Pad along with some Pricesmart Microfibre towels for cleanup.
Got the applicator pad and compound from Autorama on El Socorro Mainroad and Yellow Pad from Sasrena Auto Supplies, both are fully stocked but Sasrena does not currently have the Ultimate Compound. Anyway, initially I was applying way too much compound on the yellow pad and had to be covering way too much surface to use it causing it to dry. As said if drying apply some more compound and then cleanup, here is some snaps of the progress.
Wow way too much, I am a novice,
Tackled the leftside,
Hmmm not too bad,
The rear of the bonnet,
Before and After of the center area,
Done for now, if I had a buffer it would have come out much better but elbow grease was killing me, I rubbed till my hand could not move but in the end I am satisfied but I know better could be had.
My advert :lol:,

Let me know what you guys and gals think, yes not professional but came out okay, I am sure I can only get better.

Postby shogun » June 12th, 2012, 5:49 pm

A few smaller areas of oxidation still visible. I stopped at pic # 8 and thought you had perfect results, til i took a good look at the final couple pics :lol: ...not a bad attempt though.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 12th, 2012, 6:25 pm

The last two are final, not the one before. Yeah it still has oxidation but much better than it was originally, a machine would have done a much better job. Like I said I'm a novice and this is my first attempt, I will get better, already learning the different pads, the microfibre applicator pad is really nice, better than the yellow pad even with the same compound.

Postby shogun » June 12th, 2012, 6:54 pm

Yeah. The machine polisher would be the way to go. Props though, doing that by hand was prolly a b!tch.

Any peeling?...or only oxidation on the hood?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » June 12th, 2012, 8:28 pm

Good work TriniGT, keep it up.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 12th, 2012, 9:01 pm

No peeling just oxidation. Thanks Karim, the help was greatly appreciated.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » June 13th, 2012, 8:16 am

No problem man.

I would like to once again indicate that all detailing brands are good. eg. Mothers, Meguiar's ,Smart Wax etc. its just how you use it. Its all about technique in that you may use a product and you may not like the results , but using the same product with a different technique may give you the results you want.

Its that simple

Postby r3iXmann » June 13th, 2012, 9:20 pm

just cleaned recaro seat..used a method i found online with woolite (raceglaze alcantara cleaner works good too):

seat is still wet ^

Postby shogun » June 13th, 2012, 9:34 pm

^wow!

How the hell were you able to restore that area circled man? .... usually the fabric when it gets to that stage, is beyond help.

Postby r3iXmann » June 13th, 2012, 9:40 pm

nah, that's dirt..it's just very compact

i know what you're talking about though. my other seat has that on the right side bolster. i wanna get another seat on that side though, mine has a gangster lean of sorts..maybe someone might be able to fix it for me

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » June 13th, 2012, 9:43 pm

Looks good r3ixmann.

you should tell us how the raceglaze alcantara cleaner worked for you

What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby S_2NR » June 13th, 2012, 9:47 pm

r3ixxman, good job.

Where u buy those seats?

Postby r3iXmann » June 13th, 2012, 9:47 pm

thanks..took me a while. i might even give it a once over

i didnt buy the raceglaze yet. i'll order it and use it to maintain the finish

S_2NR wrote:r3ixxman, good job.

Where u buy those seats?

that was in meh car :oops: :oops: :oops:

Postby Bizzare » June 13th, 2012, 9:54 pm

yea r3ixmann, daz a big difference there. GJ !!

can't believe that was in yuh car though :sick:

Postby r3iXmann » June 13th, 2012, 10:16 pm

man i didnt realise how dirty it was til i watched in the passenger side while i was fixing something today :lol:

Postby cinco » June 13th, 2012, 10:18 pm

ah cud get a ride?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » June 14th, 2012, 6:09 am

Gr8 job there hick.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » June 14th, 2012, 5:25 pm

Rainman wrote:Plan for this weekend:
Defects: Water spots and minor swirling

Wash with Chemical guys citrus wash, microfiber mitt, and foam gun
Stoners tarminator for some spots on the bottom half that have tar on them
Meguiars smooth surface claybar and mothers detail spray to lube it
PC 7424XP with white CCS pad and meguiars UC; may use the orange pad if those defects are stubborn.
Seal with Klasse AIO
Top off with sonus acrylic glanz
My rims are clear coated so i'm using the citrus wash on them with the Mothers wheel and tire brush, then its klasse aio to seal.

I see your point with trying the milder pad first but if it's just minor swirls and water spots I'd think that compound is too harsh a product to start with. I'd have given it a try with the white pad and a finishing polish first, most likely with a slightly longer working time, but you cut less from your paint and should end up with a very good finish in one step. I understand you're using an AIO after so compound will be followed well by this. But really, no point in cutting more than you need, so why start with a strong product?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » June 14th, 2012, 5:31 pm

TriniGT : If you want to reduce your time but still do by hand, get foam pads with more cut and then finish with the yellow pads with something else. Hope you put some sealant on it also.

R3ixmann: That is amazing transformation on the seat there. Good job. Hope you timed it so you'll know which method is faster to get the results when you try the raceglaze.

Postby Stephon. » June 14th, 2012, 6:30 pm

r3iXmann do you not shower before you go out? :lol:

Postby r3iXmann » June 14th, 2012, 11:10 pm

thanks nemesis

Stephon, that's the passenger side...i figure is all them mechanics etc jumping in my car with their dirty clothes..none of that anymore :lol:

dried product..only thing i can see is that there's a little round stain at the base of the seat,i'll give it another go tomorrow and see if it comes off..despite how it shows in the pic,it came out more or less perfectly

Postby Stephon. » June 15th, 2012, 7:03 am

It looks really good though, how long did that take you?

Postby r3iXmann » June 15th, 2012, 7:55 am

about an hr..but i kept taking breaks so i cant give it a straight time

the main reason why i never cleaned them before was because of the effort required (with other cleaners & tools) and little reward

this time, when i made the first pass and i saw how easily the dirt came off, i was like :shock:

Postby Rainman » June 15th, 2012, 11:14 am

^^^STOP BULLING IN THE CAR

#BLIGHTCAR!!!!!!

Postby Rainman » June 15th, 2012, 11:29 am

nemesis wrote:
Rainman wrote:Plan for this weekend:
Defects: Water spots and minor swirling

Wash with Chemical guys citrus wash, microfiber mitt, and foam gun
Stoners tarminator for some spots on the bottom half that have tar on them
Meguiars smooth surface claybar and mothers detail spray to lube it
PC 7424XP with white CCS pad and meguiars UC; may use the orange pad if those defects are stubborn.
Seal with Klasse AIO
Top off with sonus acrylic glanz
My rims are clear coated so i'm using the citrus wash on them with the Mothers wheel and tire brush, then its klasse aio to seal.

I see your point with trying the milder pad first but if it's just minor swirls and water spots I'd think that compound is too harsh a product to start with. I'd have given it a try with the white pad and a finishing polish first, most likely with a slightly longer working time, but you cut less from your paint and should end up with a very good finish in one step. I understand you're using an AIO after so compound will be followed well by this. But really, no point in cutting more than you need, so why start with a strong product?

Yeh i may rethink the plan but for the roof i will stick with the UC because there is some level of oxidation taking place there, for the rest of the car i have a little bit of menz intensive polish remaining, hopefully enough to do the rest of the car.

Postby MG Man » June 15th, 2012, 11:46 am

any suggestions on what off-the-shelf product I can get locally to get water stains off a windshield? (the area not swept by the wipers)

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » June 15th, 2012, 12:13 pm

This:

http://www.mothers.com/02_products/06712.html

Not sure if the local rep got any stock yet....you can buy online.

Postby MG Man » June 15th, 2012, 12:25 pm

thanks
I'll check the local agent :)

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » June 15th, 2012, 12:52 pm

MG Man wrote:any suggestions on what off-the-shelf product I can get locally to get water stains off a windshield? (the area not swept by the wipers)

DSM_05 wrote:This:

http://www.mothers.com/02_products/06712.html

Not sure if the local rep got any stock yet.....

I have never gotten an chance to use the about product.

But for those who want to remove water stains from your glass i provide this service.

The cost depends on the size and condition of the glass.

For those who are interested in this service give me a call - 784-9290