The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 13th, 2012, 9:26 pm

they removed the CD drive that alot of ppl dont use and replaced it with a larger battery - something everyone needs

LOL @ fight down

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 13th, 2012, 9:35 pm

:popcorn:

mojosodope

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » June 13th, 2012, 10:35 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:they removed the CD drive that alot of ppl dont use and replaced it with a larger battery - something everyone needs

Exactly, To each his own. Personally I probably used the drive in my late 2008 MacBook Pro unibody twice, and I definitely welcome the larger battery.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 13th, 2012, 10:52 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:they removed the CD drive that alot of ppl dont use and replaced it with a larger battery - something everyone needs

LOL @ fight down

LOL lateral move. You get EXACTLY the same battery life on the normal MBP.

LOL @ a debate being a fight down.
ed-lover-cmonson.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 13th, 2012, 11:25 pm

^ not really

its probably the same battery life on the Retina model - that display would halve the life of the previous battery.

On the new non-retina model the battery will last longer

BTW I don't see what's up for debate - Apple already removed the optical drive, so this big set of objection really wont achieve much anyway

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » June 14th, 2012, 12:10 am

anyone found any info on when the jailbreak for the atv3 will be released? or don't hold my breath for it?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 14th, 2012, 2:33 am

@ Duane

True that because it doh matter what anyone says now, the product already being shipped :D

rbtnt

Postby rbtnt » June 14th, 2012, 7:05 am

pimptacular wrote:anyone found any info on when the jailbreak for the atv3 will be released? or don't hold my breath for it?

apple tv3 using sum new fangled tech so the jb is being worked on but no eta on release date they mite jus wait on the updated ios for it before the relase anything check sinfuliphone.com for updates.

On a side note anybody ever use an airport express how does it compare to a linksys wirless n router???

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 14th, 2012, 7:48 am

^ I've used one for a couple years now, you can use it as your main router if you have a small apartment but it's main purpose is for AirPlay, act as an Ethernet bridge, and to extend your wireless signal into dead spots.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » June 14th, 2012, 8:39 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

LOL @ fight down

Retina display... sucks your battery because your GPU has to push THAT much pixels. Do you understand the level of resolution we are at here? If you did, you'd understand why 7 hrs is so impressive for such a powerhouse machine.

And, for me, I am giving up NOTHING if I get one.

Ethernet?
No I have Wifi. My PS3, iPhone's and Mac's are all running off 802.11n

CD/DVD?
Haven't used one in years. In fact my Superdrive seized a long time ago cause of non-use (my Macs don't shut down nor restart). My music and videos are MP3, MP4, AAC, MKV. Even on my PS3 which also runs off PS3 Server on one of my Macs. I only buy Blu-ray because I WANT to decorate, because I have the movie/music on my HDs anyways.

And if you feel you are giving up something, then DON'T GET ONE and instead buy the MacBook Pro WITH AN OPTICAL DRIVE. You realize you have that option, right?

Why hate something you never going to get?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » June 14th, 2012, 8:47 am

casper wrote:Pravin...u talkin bout "change that caters to ppl's needs" but how can taking something away and giving consumers LESS choices be classified as "catering to ppl's needs"??? fanboyism much?

WHAT ?!

casper

Postby casper » June 14th, 2012, 9:54 am

all of alyuh examples and logic so far regarding the "sense" of removing the optical drive is based on alyuh personal preferences... u realise this right??? not everyone is like u and does things te way u do or has the kind of things that u do... y cudnt they make it same thickness as the previous MBP and keep the optical and add a bigger battery??? ent they put a bigger battery in ipad 3 which is only like a few millimeters thicker than the ipad 2??? i sure they cudda make this possible as well with the new MBP...

u cant understand my statement strauss??? "how can taking something away and giving consumers LESS choices".... it means taking away options to do certain things (eg. optical drive for reading compact discs) and giving u less choices / ways to do something.... understand now???

anyways as usual all the die hard apple fanatics jumping out as soon as someone in here has a lil beef with somn that apple makes...didnt know that i only sposed to post in this apple thread if i prasing them...sorry

for ur info... own a number of apple things so iz not like i'm a hater...just find the company is a dictator...only things that make sense from apple and that i'd always buy from them is the phone and their tablets...the way they heading with their PCs though i cant say d same

Strauss

Postby Strauss » June 14th, 2012, 10:18 am

casper wrote:it means taking away options to do certain things (eg. optical drive for reading compact discs) and giving u less choices / ways to do something.... understand now???

No I don't understand.

If you want a MBP with an optical drive, you can buy that model. You don't need to buy the thin version without the drive.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » June 14th, 2012, 10:29 am

Registered my udid and install iOS 6 and so far everything working bess

Below are some screen shots I took

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 14th, 2012, 10:40 am

iDynamic wrote:Image

VM could get that yes :D

Strauss

Postby Strauss » June 14th, 2012, 10:42 am

casper wrote:didnt know that i only sposed to post in this apple thread if i prasing them...sorry

Oh pal I hope I didn't make it seem that way.

Hey you known be a long time on Tuner. I'd like to think we were cool with each other. I throw my nasty words at Apple. I make use of my pipelines to do such. You have to understood though, I would not be the president our local AUG if I wasn't very much PRO Apple. So when I defend them (within reason), I'm just acting within my capacity.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 14th, 2012, 11:37 am

Strauss wrote:

LOL @ fight down

Retina display... sucks your battery because your GPU has to push THAT much pixels. Do you understand the level of resolution we are at here? If you did, you'd understand why 7 hrs is so impressive for such a powerhouse machine.

And, for me, I am giving up NOTHING if I get one.

Ethernet?
No I have Wifi. My PS3, iPhone's and Mac's are all running off 802.11n

CD/DVD?
Haven't used one in years. In fact my Superdrive seized a long time ago cause of non-use (my Macs don't shut down nor restart). My music and videos are MP3, MP4, AAC, MKV. Even on my PS3 which also runs off PS3 Server on one of my Macs. I only buy Blu-ray because I WANT to decorate, because I have the movie/music on my HDs anyways.

And if you feel you are giving up something, then DON'T GET ONE and instead buy the MacBook Pro WITH AN OPTICAL DRIVE. You realize you have that option, right?

Why hate something you never going to get?

All I read in your posts is "I" and basically "me". I have already stated in posts which I am sure you have read before that I AM getting a retina MBP WITH a superdrive. So this has nothing to do with hate. I don't get what is so hard to have a debate without the knee jerk reactions you guys get when someone points out certain flaws in the things Apple does. I LIKE the fact it has retina. I DO NOT like the fact that the superdrive is now separate.

Is that so hard to comprehend?

Postby M_2NR » June 14th, 2012, 12:23 pm

casper wrote:leave dem na...all dem apple fanatics in here just brainwashed and will accept anything that the company does...its like they dont even have a mind of their own...apple keep taking out stuff that people actually use and the fans will praise it and keep worshipping...lolz....sad yesss....one setta programmed apple robots in here

:rofl: :rofl:
You do know i own a Touchpad with WebOS and Android ICS right? I don't live in the apple world you painting. There are lots of pros and cons each system has and honestly, if something doesnt work for you, there are choices. Apple knows how to run their stuff ae and you should know what you want in a device. If apple doesnt float your boat, pal, there are options. ;)

and this is where the whole problem lies:
Aaron 2NR wrote:most of my clients transfer documents via cd, drawings. even when tendering, because of the size of the files you are asked to submit it on a cd...some of these companies are so backward they still use office 2000 and 2003.....

Thanks Aaron for pointing that out.

People (clients, workplaces, etc.) need to realize that there are quite a few services offered currently in terms of cloud computing. Google Drive, Box (which is very nice for enterprise since they don't play around with encryption), Dropbox, etc. All of which have "share public link"
Google Drive excels in this as you can only share it which the person you email the link to etc if you want. If someone else tries to use the link, the original user is notified.
Now iCloud for instance doesn't allow for this yet. Whether it will be or not is another thing.
Look let me stop.

BTW iDynamic, be careful posting screenshots etc. You are under an NDA, well, the developer whom your UDID is under. Remember what happened last year eh.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » June 14th, 2012, 1:20 pm

All I read in your posts is "I" and basically "me". I have already stated in posts which I am sure you have read before that I AM getting a retina MBP WITH a superdrive. So this has nothing to do with hate. I don't get what is so hard to have a debate without the knee jerk reactions you guys get when someone points out certain flaws in the things Apple does. I LIKE the fact it has retina. I DO NOT like the fact that the superdrive is now separate.

I use "I" because, as I always said, I don't presume to represent everyone.

You see it as a flaw. I see it as "oh gosh, FINALLY!"
A flaw is when something isn't manufactured the way it was set out to be. Or doesn't work the way it is described to work.

But by now you should understand Apple's roll out cycle. The most expensive tech is put on the high-end machines (otherwise the price point of entry/mid level would be too much), until economies of scale make it possible for nice things like retina to filter down to other models — models that will have the superdrive.

They MBP-RD just got released days ago. It's not the end of the world if all the features you want are there. But it will be what a lot of people want and have been asking Apple to do : and they listened.

This whole issue will mean nothing in the next few months or year as the rest of PC manufactures start to do it in a bigger way.

They have been doing it before and some starting to do now and I saw no one complaining like they are doing now. e.g. Sony, Asus, Samsung, Acer, Toshiba, LG — all with the same thinking sans retina display.

Kneejerk reaction? But I also need to respond: it's my duty to.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 14th, 2012, 4:47 pm

Dude, I wasn't arguing the point about the MBP lacking hardware. I was just trying to point out to the man that it works well for some people and for others it doesn't (as with most other things non related to Apple). So I was trying to get the point across to the man that it has nothing to do with 'fanboyism', which seemed kinda harsh.

And just like the others pointed out, there are choices if it doesn't work for you (not you directly here eh)

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 14th, 2012, 8:51 pm

Does anyone know if the redesigned MacBook pro 13" is upgradable (ram and hd)?

Thanks

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 14th, 2012, 9:37 pm

src1983 wrote:Does anyone know if the redesigned MacBook pro 13" is upgradable (ram and hd)?

Thanks

You should be able to upgrade the ram and hdd easily as the ram isn't soldered unto a logic board and the hdd uses standard connectors.

jm3

Postby jm3 » June 14th, 2012, 11:20 pm

im doing this

Postby S_2NR » June 14th, 2012, 11:49 pm

I like the new MacBook pro, without the optical drive. I believe this is the way forward. Don't know what all the beat up is about.

I might buy one but don't know anything about Mac :lol: and I'll have to get a new ms office suite for Mac and all that. My engineering apps like solidworks may not even be compatible. I know u can dual boot but is it really worth the trouble..

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 15th, 2012, 12:25 am

^^^ you can dual boot which works well and isn't too much of a hassle if you don't have to be switching back and forth between Mac OSX and Windows.

If you have alot of switching I'd suggest getting virtual machine software like Parallels or VMware etc to run Windows while you are in Mac OSX. You really should try Mac OSX. You'll understand why some people put up with some of the odd stuff Apple does. It really is an excellent intuitive operating system.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 15th, 2012, 12:47 am

played around with a MBP in pricesmart today. the UI is really nice and polished. tempted me even more to get my first Mac.

Strauss, might need to take u up on ur offer b4 i really make the switch from Windows...

Postby M_2NR » June 15th, 2012, 12:55 pm

latest rumor is that apple looking to launch a retina macbook pro 13" hmm... this i wanna see...

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 15th, 2012, 1:00 pm

M_2NR wrote:latest rumor is that apple looking to launch a retina macbook pro 13" hmm... this i wanna see...

X2 might pick up that one too .

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 15th, 2012, 5:17 pm

what's the best option to purchase a MBA online? does the Apple store accept our credit cards?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 15th, 2012, 5:19 pm

jm3 wrote:im doing this

Damn :shock: :shock: :shock: