Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » July 3rd, 2012, 12:39 pm

Parvin wrote:@ Duane.

If that article holds any truth, then I think he next iPhone is going to have problems. Rushing to release it ahead of schedule seems like a bad move unless it's already completed and they weer waiting to drop the bomb on any competition
There were rumours that apple released the 4S because the 5 wasn't ready just yet

chances are the iPhone 5 is done and just waiting to be announced in October so setting the launch date forward will affect 4 and 4S sales but not R&D.

Apple doesnt release anything before it's time or rush - so that I'm pretty sure is not an issue

they don't just test one design etc. What we saw, the leak could/n't be it.

Strauss, Next year.. I seriously doubt that though. I'm having hopes that the new iPhone will have NFC based on Passbook and they should launch the new iOS with it.

fctt, launch thing na. Good luck with your apple venture though.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 3rd, 2012, 3:01 pm

M_2NR wrote:Next year.. I seriously doubt that though. I'm having hopes that the new iPhone will have NFC based on Passbook and they should launch the new iOS with it.

Dood... I did NOT say "next year".

I said "1st Quarter 2013" = October to December coming.

0X

src1983

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby src1983 » July 3rd, 2012, 3:02 pm

Does anyone know how to sync iPhone contacts with outlook on a Mac??

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 3rd, 2012, 3:53 pm

src1983 wrote:Does anyone know how to sync iPhone contacts with outlook on a Mac??

Outlook prefs. Make it sync with the Mac's Address Book and MobileMe/iCloud.
Warning: If you don't have fields set properly it could end up messy.

Postby M_2NR » July 3rd, 2012, 4:28 pm

Strauss wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Next year.. I seriously doubt that though. I'm having hopes that the new iPhone will have NFC based on Passbook and they should launch the new iOS with it.

Dood... I did NOT say "next year".

I said "1st Quarter 2013" = October to December coming.

0X

when yuh say Q1 2013, that means: "The first tax quarter begins Tuesday, January 1, 2013, and ends Sunday, March 31, 2013." afaik

that range oct to dec is Q4 2012 but is aite :P

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 3rd, 2012, 7:08 pm

Strauss wrote:
src1983 wrote:Does anyone know how to sync iPhone contacts with outlook on a Mac??

Outlook prefs. Make it sync with the Mac's Address Book and MobileMe/iCloud.
Warning: If you don't have fields set properly it could end up messy.

Worked like a charm.....

casper

Postby casper » July 3rd, 2012, 8:15 pm

Anyone else other than me addicted to apple packages? :?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 3rd, 2012, 9:08 pm

^ me

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 3rd, 2012, 10:29 pm

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1341368972.116632.jpg

That long

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 3rd, 2012, 10:34 pm

Check this
http://www.cultofmac.com/177087/this-20 ... =spread-us

This $200 Accessory Gives Your iMac A Touchscreen

Apple has traditionally been opposed to putting a touchscreen on any of its products, leaving touch capabilities to only iOS powered devices. This hasn’t stopped the third party market though, as you can now buy an accessory that supposedly turns your iMac into a full, touch enabled computer.

The Zorro Macsk, a brand new product from TMDtouch, a Chinese based company, supposedly will allow you to add touch functionality to your 21.5-inch iMac within just 10 seconds. Instead of adding an extra layer atop the iMac’s glass, the Zorro Macsk uses infrared technology to sense touch input. This also enables the user to use input such as a stylus on the screen, since it’s not a capactive display.

This looks like it could be a great product for demos, as well as in classrooms, if it performs as shown. As it stands though, this is a new, unproven foreign company with no Amazon feedback. As exciting as this product looks, be cautious ordering.

http://www.lumiaview.com/new/index.php

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 4th, 2012, 8:54 am

^ that looking real cool

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 4th, 2012, 9:02 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Check this
http://www.cultofmac.com/177087/this-20 ... =spread-us

This $200 Accessory Gives Your iMac A Touchscreen

Apple has traditionally been opposed to putting a touchscreen on any of its products, leaving touch capabilities to only iOS powered devices. This hasn’t stopped the third party market though, as you can now buy an accessory that supposedly turns your iMac into a full, touch enabled computer.

The Zorro Macsk, a brand new product from TMDtouch, a Chinese based company, supposedly will allow you to add touch functionality to your 21.5-inch iMac within just 10 seconds. Instead of adding an extra layer atop the iMac’s glass, the Zorro Macsk uses infrared technology to sense touch input. This also enables the user to use input such as a stylus on the screen, since it’s not a capactive display.

This looks like it could be a great product for demos, as well as in classrooms, if it performs as shown. As it stands though, this is a new, unproven foreign company with no Amazon feedback. As exciting as this product looks, be cautious ordering.

http://www.lumiaview.com/new/index.php

must get

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 5th, 2012, 10:34 am

Apple getting sued by everyone these days

http://www.redmondpie.com/apple-sued-in ... bot-video/

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 5th, 2012, 4:29 pm

Asymco analyst Horace Dediu examines the ratio of Windows to Mac units shipped over time.

In 2004, Microsoft reached a high with Windows PCs sold outnumbering Mac PCs by 56 times. However, that has ratio has now fallen to below 20, a level that was last reached before Windows 95 launched. If we taken into account iOS devices the multiple drops to below 2 with parity expected within a year or two.

The consequences are dire for Microsoft. The wiping out of any platform advantage around Windows will render it vulnerable to direct competition. This is not something it had to worry about before. Windows will have to compete not only for users, but for developer talent, investment by enterprises and the implicit goodwill it has had for more than a decade.

------

Apple’s next-generation iPhone handset will be powered by a brand new quad-core processor, a new report claims. Citing anonymous industry sources, Digitimes on Thursday reported that Apple’s sixth iPhone will feature a new quad-core processor based on Samsung’s Exynos 4 ARM architecture when it launches this year. Earlier rumors suggested Apple’s upcoming iPhone might include a quad-core chipset, and an analysis of Apple’s iOS 6 software in early June reinforced the rumors. The new iPhone model is also expected to feature a larger 4-inch display, a smaller dock connector and a new unibody aluminum case. BGR reported last year that Apple’s next iPhone will feature a significant redesign and will launch this coming fall.

Postby M_2NR » July 7th, 2012, 5:37 pm

M_2NR wrote:
Parvin wrote:
jm3 wrote:im doing this

Damn :shock: :shock: :shock:

holy sheit! i've noticed that any of these i see none can ever stay scratch free so doing this should help with that :D

http://www.amazon.com/Mothers-05100-Mag ... num+polish

boom!

i gone try it in a bit... i got some in valpark :D
I saw you can't use it on anodized metal... silly me started to think its aluminium when in fact the sides are stainless steel

EDIT: if you have a dremel, then use it! i dont have one and its a PITA to get it good. i did two rounds and i can say it looks good enough for me. I don't really wanna go 100% chrome. Plus most of the blemishes gone. Around the volume buttons are a pain to get done. I'd probably see if i can get a dremel to do it properly.

Superstar2704

Postby Superstar2704 » July 8th, 2012, 11:33 am

i wonder if that polish would work to clean up the back of the ipod touch

Postby M_2NR » July 8th, 2012, 1:28 pm

good question i was thinking about that! I'm seeing the back is also stainless steel... i guess you could try but be careful with the engraving. I don't know much how these polishes work :oops:

casper

Postby casper » July 8th, 2012, 4:07 pm

Would this work the same way to make d back of an iPad chrome too?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 9th, 2012, 11:29 am

It is official :lol:

http://www.macrumors.com/2012/07/09/uk-judge-rules-samsung-tablets-not-as-cool-as-ipad/

"With the avalanche of patent lawsuits involving Apple, we try to restrict our coverage to the most significant developments such as issued injunctions, final settlements, and monetary awards.

But while a UK judge's ruling today that Samsung's Galaxy Tab products do not infringe upon Apple's iPad design merely maintains the status quo from a competitive perspective in one of the many ongoing cases between the two companies, what is sure to spark discussion is the judge's assessment that the Galaxy tablets are simply "not as cool" as the iPad. Bloomberg reports:

The Galaxy tablet doesn’t infringe Apple’s registered design, Judge Colin Birss said in a ruling today in London. He said that consumers weren’t likely to get the two tablet computers mixed up.

The Galaxy tablets “do not have the same understated and extreme simplicity which is possessed by the Apple design,” Birss said. “They are not as cool.”

More specifically, Birss ruled that the Galaxy tablets' thinner profiles and "unusual details" on the back of the devices made them different enough from the iPad that they were not too similar to Apple's design.

Apple has 21 days in which to appeal the ruling.
"

Even when Samsung wins they lose :fist:

Postby M_2NR » July 9th, 2012, 12:08 pm

casper wrote:Would this work the same way to make d back of an iPad chrome too?

no. don't even try. it's anodized aluminium.

____

tried to clean the apple logo on my 2G (tried to avoid the aluminium) and it got cleaned but the scratches remained :( it also didn't turn black so once that happens, you know to stop

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » July 9th, 2012, 4:21 pm

http://m.technolog.msnbc.msn.com/techno ... ory-866677

Kaspersky Lab
The "Find and Call" app.
A malicious app that made its way into Apple's App Store, and if downloaded then went ahead and uploaded a user's phonebook to a remote server, has been removed by Apple. It's believed that the app was the first significant piece of malware to land in the App Store in the four years since it opened.

The app, a contacts utility program named, "Find and Call," was ejected from the App Store by Apple late Thursday. "Find and Call" also found its way into Android's Google Play store, and Google removed it from there as well Thursday.

Advertise | AdChoices

Kaspersky Lab discovered the perils of "Find and Call," which includes a Trojan to do the dirty work. Once the user launches the app, Kaspersky says, "he will be asked to register in the app using his email address and cellphone number (both fields won’t be checked for validity). If user wants to 'find friends in a phone book' his phone book data will be secretly (no EULA/ terms of usage/notifications) uploaded" to a remote server.

The user, Kaspersky says, will be able to continuing using the app, but at the same time:

... the application steals data from the device (phone book and cellphone numbers) which are uploaded to a remote server to be used for SMS spam campaigns. Each phone book entry will receive SMS spam message offering to click on the URL and download this ‘Find and Call’ application. It is worth mentioning that the ‘from’ field contains the user’s cellphone number. In other words, people will receive an SMS spam message from a trusted source.

"Although there have been plenty of reports of Android malware, attacks targeted towards iPhone and iPad users are much much rarer," noted Vanja Svajcer, SophosLabs principal virus researcher on that company's blog.

"Indeed, the most significant incidents we have seen of iOS attacks (the Ikee and Duh worms) only affected poorly-secured jailbroken iPhones."

Svajcer wrote that "Clearly Apple's 'rigorous' screening of apps before they're allowed in the App Store wasn't quite rigorous enough in the case of the 'Find and Call' app, as it was able to slip through the net."

Trudy Muller, an Apple spokeswoman, told Wired that the app was removed "due to its unauthorized use of users’ address book data, a violation of App Store guidelines." We contacted Apple for comment, and will update this post if we hear back.

Svajcer of SophosLabs wrote that it's probably "more accurate" to say that the app is " 'spammy' — as it leaks data all over the place in plain text via http (which means, of course, that the data could be intercepted and sniffed by someone wanting to snoop on you)."

While Apple and Google were quick to remove the app, he wrote, "Obviously it would have (been) even better if the app's lax respect of users' privacy had been spotted in the first place, and they had never been allowed into those online stores."

Check out Technolog, Gadgetbox, Digital Life and In-Game on Facebook, and on Twitter, follow Suzanne Choney.

Discussion

inShare

xtech

Postby xtech » July 9th, 2012, 6:01 pm

Social Cam is another fishy app.

I removed it when I realized it would not stop notifying me of new vids added by people i don t know

Removed option to notify me about new vids in app settings an 5 mins later it starts notifying me again. I disabled it in notification center an it still notified me. I disabled the app completely an it re activated itself again in about 30mins an notified me of new vids

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 9th, 2012, 7:19 pm

Electronics Arts has posted some screenshots of its upcoming FIFA 13 game for iOS, reports Pocket-Lint.

Electronic Arts has released a few screengrabs taken on a new iPad which hint that the mobile iteration of FIFA 13 will not merely stand in the shadows of its console brothers. It's looking absolutely fantastic.

Clearly snapped from an early build (Arsenal are wearing last season's kit and Drogba's playing for Chelsea), the game could be mistaken for a full console title if it weren't for the onscreen controls. It certainly makes use of the full resolution of the new iPad screen (2048 x 1536).

FIFA 13 is arriving in late September and features a number of tweaks and additions. Check out the screenshots below...

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 10th, 2012, 10:29 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:It is official :lol:

http://www.macrumors.com/2012/07/09/uk-judge-rules-samsung-tablets-not-as-cool-as-ipad/

"With the avalanche of patent lawsuits involving Apple, we try to restrict our coverage to the most significant developments such as issued injunctions, final settlements, and monetary awards.

But while a UK judge's ruling today that Samsung's Galaxy Tab products do not infringe upon Apple's iPad design merely maintains the status quo from a competitive perspective in one of the many ongoing cases between the two companies, what is sure to spark discussion is the judge's assessment that the Galaxy tablets are simply "not as cool" as the iPad. Bloomberg reports:

The Galaxy tablet doesn’t infringe Apple’s registered design, Judge Colin Birss said in a ruling today in London. He said that consumers weren’t likely to get the two tablet computers mixed up.

The Galaxy tablets “do not have the same understated and extreme simplicity which is possessed by the Apple design,” Birss said. “They are not as cool.”

More specifically, Birss ruled that the Galaxy tablets' thinner profiles and "unusual details" on the back of the devices made them different enough from the iPad that they were not too similar to Apple's design.

Apple has 21 days in which to appeal the ruling.
"

Even when Samsung wins they lose :fist:

Steve is dead. Time to stop those types of lawsuits and innovate their way out of the mess.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 12th, 2012, 9:34 am

Those in China looking to get a head start on their Fall iPhone shopping are given the opportunity by sites like TaoBao which, according to Reuters are already for sale.

Apple Inc’s next-generation iPhone has not even been released yet, but opportunistic sellers on China’s largest e-commerce platform, Taobao, are already accepting pre-orders, complete with mock-up pictures and purported technical specifications. The hotly anticipated iPhone 5 is widely expected to be released sometime between August and October this year, although Apple itself has been tight-lipped about it. Sources have said the iPhone 5 would have a bigger screen than previous models, while Taiwanese media reported the phone’s voice recognition software, Siri, would have more powerful functions.

Buying Apple devices product unseen shows you what kind of confidence consumers have in the products Apple makes. Would you put money down on Apple’s next iPhone without knowing anything about it?

------

Apple arch-rival Samsung has just opened the doors at its first retail store in North America and we'll give you one guess as to where the design inspiration came from. The store, which has just opened at Burnaby’s Metropolis at Metrotown, Vancouver looks awfully similar to any Apple Store you can walk into today. Minimalistic, open floorsplan, product demonstration benches, large screen TV’s demonstrating products and software. The technical staff are even wearing blue t-shirts similar to Apple’s genius bar staff. The Vancouver Sun managed to get a good look around the store.

The phones are lined up; there’s a choice of tablets starting with the little Galaxy Note, the tablet with a 5.29-inch display that seems to have found a fit with a niche market, chalking up more than 5 million sales by the first quarter report. As you walk further into the store — the offerings get larger until you reach the notebook computers. Accessories line one wall and if you keep going right to the back, you’ll find Samsung’s version of the Apple Genius Bar, an area set aside for one-to-one or group demonstrations to help customers put the devices through their paces.

Samsung isn't the first to try to ape Apple's retail model -- Microsoft Stores are still rolling out across the street from Apple in as many cities as they can manage. Maybe one day every high-traffic corner and mall in America will sport an original Apple Store, and Microsoft, Samsung, and Google in a tidy square...

They say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery but isn't all this Apple-like stuff getting just a little bit boring? You could argue that there are only so many ways to equip a sales floor that aims to show off consumer electronics, but as a customer, wouldn't you at least like them try something fresh and new? Maybe come up with something better? Or maybe that's everyone's grand plan -- to make Apple seem less special by sheer force of imitation? (Feel free to insert your own Apple Store design patent jokes here.)

There is a video giving you a brief look around the store and an interview with Samsung’s director of channel sales Nelson Lemos.

casper

Postby casper » July 12th, 2012, 10:01 am

got the (PRODUCT RED) smart case for my ipad 3 yesterday....dont listen to what all the other online reviewers say about how the case isnt a tight fit....IT IS TIGHT!!!....once the ipad is installed its not gonna come out unless u un-snap it cuz to install u actually gotta snap the corners in....the red is really really BRIGHT but i love it :D

feels even more solid than the smart cover and back plate i had on my ipad before...only con really is that the typing mode angle is lower than with the smart cover which i see alot of people online making a big fuss about but to b quite honest...it isnt that much of an issue

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 12th, 2012, 1:34 pm

Looking good

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 12th, 2012, 9:04 pm

Rmbp shipped from Amazon today :D

Ordered on July 4th. Strange I got thru on Amazon so quickly with others ordering off Apple since June and haven't gotten theirs yet.

TriP

Postby TriP » July 12th, 2012, 9:08 pm

Seems legit.
252629_414117265305233_1542199704_n.jpg
252629_414117265305233_1542199704_n.jpg (17.33 KiB) Viewed 2238 times

Postby M_2NR » July 12th, 2012, 9:38 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Rmbp shipped from Amazon today :D

Ordered on July 4th. Strange I got thru on Amazon so quickly with others ordering off Apple since June and haven't gotten theirs yet.

uhh.. it took less than two weeks for me to get items off apple and that's from clicking order online to in my hands. unless you ordered something that wasn't the base, then i don't see why it would take so long. Remember amazon apple items are build to ship.