GoS wrote:meguires is to much work i usea pre wax and a compound last 2 weeks and i ketch meh tail to wipe off by hand use buffer and fail i feel i sticking to auto glim and mothers
trvs wrote:The APC cleaned my wheels and tires better than the Meguiars All Wheel and Tire Cleaner.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:By the way this hazing effect only appears in the evening after washing the car. I tend to wash the vehicle after 6pm. During the day with elevated temps it is non existent.
MG Man wrote:bunnyears, try wShing the car with the SmartWash form SMARTwax
You'll be amazed at the results
DSM_05 wrote:You did raise a good point on the HD Wax though, hazing is an issue with it....mainly cuz it's so silicone heavy (it's a synthetic "wax", not a carnauba).
DSM_05 wrote:Perhaps, but SRP might be doing more filling than anything, even with a PC. Ideally, I'd prefer to have a polish which doesn't have fillers (Griots polishes come to mind) to physically remedy swirls...not just fill them.
Rainman wrote:GoS wrote:meguires is to much work i usea pre wax and a compound last 2 weeks and i ketch meh tail to wipe off by hand use buffer and fail i feel i sticking to auto glim and mothers
Why would u use a prewax cleaner then a compound? Buying expensive products will be a waste if your technique is sheit.
nemesis wrote:Keep in mind i'm not saying to not go for perfection each time, just saying sometimes it might be worth it to live with very minor imperfections to make the clearcoat last longer too (cue 5ft rule from Karim when he reads this).
HD Wax is a Carnauba wax. I have seen the raw materials and how they produce it at the Autoglym factory in Letchworth England.
Karim Khan wrote:nemesis wrote:Keep in mind i'm not saying to not go for perfection each time, just saying sometimes it might be worth it to live with very minor imperfections to make the clearcoat last longer too (cue 5ft rule from Karim when he reads this).
5ft rule works...
As for now, I'd suggest something like wash/clay then go to a good AIO like Meguiar's NXT or Autoglym Super Resin or Ultra Deep Shine.
DSM_05 wrote:As for now, I'd suggest something like wash/clay then go to a good AIO like Meguiar's NXT or Autoglym Super Resin or Ultra Deep Shine.
I don't really regard NXT 2.0 as an AIO, since it doesn't really have much polishing agents whatsoever. Mainly fillers, light cleaning, and mainly sealant.
...which is unlike SRP or Ultra Deep Shine.
FOr me, other AIO's would be:
1) Klasse AIO
2) Klasse AIO
3) Klasse AIO
4) Klasse AIO
And all of these, except the Klasse, are available locally. And IMHO, AIO's are a great place to start for entry level detailers who may not have the time to go through multiple product applications on their car.
Hah, ok. That mother's synwax eh really my kinda thing. Too difficult to work for doing nothing better than the others.
Haven't really been too heavy on the AIO's recently, but I'm sure there are many options.
Karim Khan wrote:This is the power of AutoGlym Products
Super Resin Polish
On to another story
Today i was working in south and i ran out of a certain Autoglym product. The nearest place that had it was Carplus,so i went down there to pick it up. While in the shop one of the guys who work there recognizable me and we started a nice conversation about detailing. At the end i was given some new products to try out and review. I just cant wait to get sometime to test them out...