Re: Central Bank to launch $50 note

Postby Bizzare » June 22nd, 2012, 8:51 pm

firstchoicett wrote:
Bizzare wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:
Habit7 wrote:87 cents + VAT

not bad

wat de 1975? plenty doz pass tru my hand. that worth something beyond 25 cents? :|

u working bank wah

i have a ah old time baby wipes container full with shilling dan. I have plenty 1975, 25cent pieces, still shining. plenty 1980 too

i feel ollour tiefin my head :x

firstchoicett

Central Bank to launch $50 note

Postby firstchoicett » June 23rd, 2012, 12:04 am

Ok coo ^

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » June 23rd, 2012, 5:36 pm

The actual money media doesn't matter to me, although I prefer to use cards instead of cash.
[First world problem]If having too much bills in your wallet is a "problem", opt to use card.[/First world problem]

From previous comments, I disagree that 1c coins should be discontinued. Competitive business pricing on basic commodity items are determined down to the cent, and eliminating it would only drive inflation further up.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 25th, 2012, 8:44 am

Card instead of Cash is the way to go.... much more secure with this method of payment.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 25th, 2012, 9:48 am

what pisses me off about card is the blasted merchants asking me fo rid all the freakign time....

pisses me off to no end

Postby Stephon. » June 25th, 2012, 10:02 am

Just take your ID card out with your credit card so they won't ask you lol.

triniangie

Postby triniangie » June 26th, 2012, 9:34 am

Reverse

Image of the Red House - the seat of the country’s Parliament.
Key Security Features
Gold Iridescent Band - A band printed with iridescent gold ink.
Borders - The borders echo the background colours of the note on the front and the back.
Duplex pattern - Different colours in perfect register.
bill.jpg
bill.jpg (22.44 KiB) Viewed 2785 times

Postby maj. tom » August 3rd, 2012, 10:18 am

$50 bills roll out to banks
By Sasha Harrinanan Friday, August 3 2012

The $50 note, the newest addition to Trinidad and Tobago’s currency was expected to be in circulation yesterday, but checks at branches of the four major banks revealed there were no $50 available to the public.

Although the Central Bank said $50 notes were delivered to banks yesterday, inclusive of the four major commercial institutions - Scotiabank TT, Republic Bank, First Citizens and RBC Royal Bank, none were available for customers’ use at any Scotiabank or Republic Bank branches. Scotiabank’s Managing Director, Richard Young, confirmed receipt of the note yesterday, but could not say exactly when customers would be able to withdraw or obtain the $50- note from the bank’s various branches.

“The money was delivered to our central cash processing unit today (yesterday) but it has to be processed and delivered to each of our branches before it can go into circulation. Distribution of money is not an everyday occurrence, and a special delivery of $50 notes would require paying a special security fee. We are reviewing our options at this time, so I can’t say for sure if our customers would be able to walk into a Scotiabank branch tomorrow (today) and request a $50 note,” Young stated.

Officials at Republic Bank also confirmed receipt of $50 from the Central Bank yesterday. While the bank’s Independence Square, Port-of-Spain branch did get its share of the new note, it was not available to the public yesterday.

“Customers can get the new $50 note from our Independence Square branch from tomorrow (today) but availability at our other branches will be staggered. Those branches that get the money early (this) morning may very well be able to offer it to customers this afternoon, but if a branch gets delivery of the $50 Friday afternoon, customers are not likely to be able to access it before Monday,” the Republic Bank said.

Newsday also contacted several branches of First Citizens and RBC Royal Bank, but they too said the $50 was not in circulation yet, nor had any been delivered by their head offices.

“No, we don’t have any $50 yet, and we’re not sure when we will be getting any,” was the common response from bank employees at First Citizens and RBC Royal Bank branches across Trinidad.

The issue of availability is expected to be sorted out at all major banks by early next week. A far more difficult transition looms on the horizon though — access to $50 bills at Automated Teller Machines (ATMs). Richard Young described it as a complex issue, with serious consideration having to be made about replacing $20 notes with $50 notes in ATMs.

“The banks were given two months notice about the introduction of a new note. Ideally we would need a year to work out the various withdrawal amounts customers are likely to request, and how often, before re-configuring our ATMs to be able to handle the new demands.”

All banks currently charge $3.50 per ATM withdrawal to non-customers. Young said in light of this, it made little or no financial sense to withdraw $20 or $40 from another bank’s ATM on a regular basis.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/politics/0,164252.html

Copyright © Daily News Limited

Postby DVSTT » August 3rd, 2012, 11:03 am

Waiting to get my hands on this.

Postby black start » August 3rd, 2012, 11:55 am

it come into circulation as yet?

muslimgirl_z

Postby muslimgirl_z » August 3rd, 2012, 2:04 pm

The perks of working in the treasury... I've got the new $50.00

Postby Bizzare » August 3rd, 2012, 2:20 pm

Sell meh ah few notes fuh $50 each nah....

muslimgirl_z

Postby muslimgirl_z » August 3rd, 2012, 2:22 pm

Bizzare wrote:Sell meh ah few notes fuh $50 each nah....

A few? I only got two.

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » August 3rd, 2012, 2:26 pm

I''l be ordering a few, then changing them to some rusty $10/$20 and keeping them for myself :)

Postby DVSTT » August 3rd, 2012, 3:26 pm

muslimgirl_z wrote:

A few? I only got two.

Still waiting to get one :|

Postby Bizzare » August 3rd, 2012, 6:51 pm

muslimgirl_z wrote:

A few? I only got two.

Pffttt.... sikes!
I got da coil of da limited edition. Yall being going to da bank tryin to get a coil and gettin blank.
Would post pics if usb cable found

Postby Bizzare » August 3rd, 2012, 6:51 pm

Oh btw, seliing limited editon $100 TT per note. is powerseller required for this?

Postby Team Loco » August 3rd, 2012, 10:40 pm

Gonna sEll somE on ebay

Postby Bizzare » August 4th, 2012, 11:18 am

what y'all trading for in d bank is limited??

muslimgirl_z

Postby muslimgirl_z » August 4th, 2012, 8:59 pm

Bizzare wrote:Oh btw, seliing limited editon $100 TT per note. is powerseller required for this?

Which limited edition you selling so? The $50. note?

Postby Bizzare » August 4th, 2012, 11:32 pm

Yea. I have with the writings that commemorates the 50th anniversary, but I'm kidding about selling it.

muslimgirl_z

Postby muslimgirl_z » August 6th, 2012, 8:06 am

Bizzare wrote:Yea. I have with the writings that commemorates the 50th anniversary, but I'm kidding about selling it.

Hmm.. yea me too. I didn't realise it was the limited one.. good thing I didn't spend it. You working min. of finance?

Postby Bizzare » August 6th, 2012, 9:32 am

Nah, a family member working in the bank.

Postby DVSTT » August 9th, 2012, 5:31 pm

Them bank people limiting you, I only got two!! :?

Val

Postby Val » August 10th, 2012, 9:37 am

Two appears to be the limit I guess, but I'm good with my two.

Postby DVSTT » August 10th, 2012, 11:15 am

Val wrote:Two appears to be the limit I guess, but I'm good with my two.

I had to buy for about three collectors beside me who live in canada and the US so I have to go back to another bank to get more lol

Postby Mark! » August 10th, 2012, 11:50 am

green = zzzzzzzzz

Postby redmanjp » August 10th, 2012, 11:58 am

would ATMs have the $50 note?

Val

Postby Val » August 11th, 2012, 8:35 am

DVSTT wrote:
Val wrote:Two appears to be the limit I guess, but I'm good with my two.

I had to buy for about three collectors beside me who live in canada and the US so I have to go back to another bank to get more lol

Actually I got two more from the same branch another day. Different teller I guess.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 11th, 2012, 7:42 pm