The Official 2012 Formula 1 season..ched

plex

Re: The Official 2012 Formula 1 season..ched

Postby plex » September 6th, 2012, 6:41 pm

Italian GP: Lewis Hamilton insists no decision made on his Formula 1 future

Lewis Hamilton insists that he has not decided on his Formula 1 future, despite speculation that he has agreed personal terms for a contract at Mercedes.

With talk in the paddock at Monza dominated by claims from former team owner Eddie Jordan that Hamilton is on his way to Mercedes, the McLaren driver was keeping quiet about the situation.

However, when asked whether he knew where he would be racing next year, Hamilton responded simply: "No."

Pressed further for his feelings on his contract negotiations, Hamilton said his priority was simply to get himself in a car capable of fighting for victory.

"I want to win," he said. "You always want to win every year you can compete: that is why us drivers exist and why teams exist. It is just making sure you are in the right place to do so."

Hamilton did not appear too bothered by the frantic talk about his future, and instead said the most important thing for him was to focus on getting himself to the top of the championship table this year.

"I drive for McLaren, we won the last two races and hopefully we will have another great weekend ahead of us. That is what we need to focus on," he said.

"I don't have a deadline [to decide], but obviously before next season would be useful. I am in a great position.

"I just need to focus on the preparations for these races, and there is a long way to go before the end of season. Jenson showed and I showed in the race before that there is great potential in our car and our team, so that is what I need to focus on most."

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/102272

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » September 6th, 2012, 7:10 pm

i believe in eddie. shame.

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2012, 12:15 am

Ungrateful little sod........he should stay with his team for the rest of his life for what they did for him

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » September 7th, 2012, 1:21 am

MG Man wrote:he should stay with his team for the rest of his life for what they did for him

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2012, 11:49 am

u forgot 'ungrateful little sod'
:p

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » September 7th, 2012, 4:01 pm

i think alyuh too harsh on hamiltote sometimes. he's extremely talented

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2012, 8:13 pm

overrated imo.............he's had one of the better cars for how long now?
There are guys like Kamui who impressive with lesser machinery

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » September 8th, 2012, 12:40 am

adriano7910 wrote:he's extremely talented

I think only alonso could match him on aggression.

MG Man wrote:overrated imo.............he's had one of the better cars for how long now?
There are guys like Kamui who impressive with lesser machinery

True. But as Mr Jordan says; if you don't have the luck, doesn't matter what car you're in.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 8th, 2012, 3:19 am

maby, it's the prep school up bringing..........

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 8th, 2012, 3:20 am

needs a good hiding , if i may say so.

spare the rod ,and spoil the child.........

Postby MG Man » September 8th, 2012, 7:59 am

rr7, I think he forgets how he got his start in F1..........and with his talent, he thinks everyone owes him something.................but all that aside, tweeting telemetry to the whole fcuking world just to prove your point?
Even fanboy #1 David Hobbs thinks that was beyond dotish / shameful / (insert adjective here)

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » September 8th, 2012, 9:28 am

hamiltoetea to p1. (im not a hamilton fan as all here knows) but suck on that haters. talent deserves respect. still wish alonso and msc to p1 but idk wat happened to alonso in p3. msc and ferrari till die!!!

Postby MG Man » September 8th, 2012, 10:00 am

lol hard luck for fred.........he was on fire till he started dropping back............good drive from Massa too
nobody saying hamfartsmith not talented, but he is in no way the prodigy that the fanboys think he is.......
all the greats had one defining thing about them:
Senna had balls of titanium
Prost......well his nickname says it all
Mansell.............Il Leone, nuff said
Kimi and Mika...........weird scandanavian genetics
Schunazi has mental focus that makes you wonder if he is part machine, part Hitler's Superior's race
Of the current field.............hmm..............Alonso reminds me of Mansell sometimes
Vettel...........dunno..........
Hamilton? Gold spoon from an early age that fed his natural talent............but he's not the only driver with natural talent...........I still say Koba would kick his ass in equal cars, same for pre-conk-on-the-head Massa

Postby 16 cycles » September 9th, 2012, 9:50 am

^Hamilton dominated....

hard luck haters....

perez win milo play of the day with his passing and push to the front...

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 9th, 2012, 1:35 pm

perez dominated....nikki lauda took his hat off to him in recognition of that feat...

hammy started 1st ...finished 1st
perez started 12th ...finished 2nd by driving his way through the field...i'm also taking my hat off to him...

a couple more laps...hammy's ship would have sailed without him...

Postby MG Man » September 9th, 2012, 1:41 pm

^^^agree with rr7
and of course the fanboys emerge as to be expected
hammy wins >>> domination
anybody else wins>>>>luck / unfair advantage / bad lucky hammy
sheesh
still the twattiest world champion in history

Postby 16 cycles » September 9th, 2012, 4:00 pm

qualify for pole at track

win the race by maintaining 1st.....

dominate

insert driver name and track name where appropriate....

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » September 9th, 2012, 8:27 pm

Perez was the driver of the day for me. Alonso's incredible season continues. People seem to not realize that Kimi is now 3rd! Surprised me there! Dark horse for the championship.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 9th, 2012, 8:30 pm

Hamilton FTW !!!!

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 10th, 2012, 12:28 am

tiger balm wrote:Perez was the driver of the day for me. Alonso's incredible season continues. People seem to not realize that Kimi is now 3rd! Surprised me there! Dark horse for the championship.

THUMBS UP for Kimi and the dark and gold horse

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 10th, 2012, 12:32 am

i wouldn't write of the dark/gold horse for the championship

i'll 'ave ah 'alf......

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » September 10th, 2012, 7:58 am

good race! lots of great battling, esp with raikkonen and schumacher! force india are getting more impressive too!

just shows how fast things can change in formula1.

i think i'm 75% sure hamilton will be at mercedes next year, just from body language alone after the race.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 10th, 2012, 10:11 am

this is the 2nd race that Sergio Perez has charged through the field and having the leader of the race fearing for the worst

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 10th, 2012, 11:32 am

Ferrari wary of Raikkonen threat

Kimi Raikkonen has emerged as a 'danger man' for Ferrari's title hopes, according to the Italian team.
The Lotus driver moved up to third place in the standings after Monza thanks to his fifth-place finish, and his impressive consistency leaves him just 38 points behind Fernando Alonso in the standings - and one point behind Lewis Hamilton.
Ferrari team principal Stefano Domenicali thinks the title battle is wide open, and that Raikkonen is the one to watch out for because he has been performing so well without being under the spotlight.
"I have to respect all of them," said Domenicali when asked about who he felt was Ferrari's biggest threat for the world championship. "I always said Kimi step-by-step is a dangerous driver, and he is getting closer and closer.
"Hamilton, with the car he has now, is very, very strong and we have seen in the last few races that anything can happen. So all the drivers that are in the top five/six I think need to be taken very seriously.
"We need to see race-by-race what is the competitive situation of the car that they are driving. That is the only thing we have to do now."
Domenicali also believes that the fight for the constructors' championship has been blown wide open by the double retirement for Red Bull at Monza. The reigning champion outfit is 19 points ahead of McLaren now, with Ferrari 17 points further adrift.
"I have to say for us that because of the retirement of Red Bull, the constructors' is difficult but still open for the four top teams.
"So it is another motivating factor for all of us, to make sure we are performing as we can and that is what we will do."

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 11th, 2012, 12:24 pm

http://www.formula1.com/news/interviews/2012/9/13787.html

The Inside Line - on Sauber’s Sergio Perez 11 Sep 2012

Sergio Perez’s profile has skyrocketed this season, from a 2011 rookie best known for his huge Monaco shunt, to a potential future Ferrari star, who scored his third podium finish in Italy on Sunday. But who really is this affable Mexican? A would-be lawyer, who’s scared of snakes and loves his mum’s home cooking, apparently. Whatever you do, just don’t call him lazy…

Q: What keeps you awake at night?
Sergio Perez: Ah, that depends which night! There are some nights when thinking about the next race keeps me awake, then there are others when it’s thinking about girls, and then others thinking of friends. But in general I am a very good sleeper.

Q: If you could banish one thing from your life - for the rest of your life - what would it be?
SP: For the rest of my life? That is pretty heavy. There are things now and then that I would like to see vanish, but nothing severe enough to deserve the ‘rest of my life’ verdict… (laughs)

Q: What’s been your most valuable life lesson?
SP: Well, there isn’t one in particular that stands out, but there are quite a few I have come across. I came to Europe, to Germany, when I was very young - only 15 - and that was a very tough time. To leave my family and my home country behind, coming to a completely different environment - that made me understand at an early age how difficult life can be. And on the way to this understanding you can believe there have been many lessons about maturing, both personally and professionally.

Q: What do you admire?
SP: I admire people who never give up, no matter how hard the conditions may be. I know how hard this is.

Q: If you could give your younger self some advice, what would it be?
SP: I would have to give a lot of advice. I came to Europe completely alone and life taught me many things. Probably the most important would be to become mature as fast as possible. So far I can say that I am very proud of how I have managed my life until now.

Q: If your racing career ended after this season, what would you do with the rest of your life?
SP: I would go back to Mexico and try to become a lawyer - and live a normal life.

Q: What animal best reflects your personality?
SP: Oh, well, definitely not a koala. A koala is far too lazy - much more so than me! (laughs) So did everybody get that? I am not that lazy.

Q: What is more important than winning?
SP: In my professional life, nothing. But in my personal life, my family and my friends.

Q: What would you spend your last dollar on?
SP: I don’t think that you can buy many things with one dollar. I would probably buy water - to keep me going for a few more hours before I’m broke! (laughs)

Q: What is your biggest weakness?
SP: When I have a bad result I am down. It gets to me for one or two hours, but then my strength comes into play and after two hours I am over it, it’s gone.

Q: What’s your ultimate comfort food?
SP: Mexican food. I love my mum’s homemade food.

Q: What’s the first thing you do when you get home after a race?
SP: When I go home to Mexico my dog has absolute priority. Then I jump into my own bed and later go out to meet friends. And if I come home to my European home, it’s the same but without the dog. (laughs)

Q: What scares you?
SP: Aside from snakes, nothing.

Q: What’s your favourite smell?
SP: Fuel

Q: What’s the best advice you have been given?
SP: My family always told me to work as hard and as well as I can, because life is hard. And to start this at an early age, because one day you will have to do it anyway and it is better that you know how hard work feels.

Q: Are you the man you always thought you would become?
SP: I don’t know really. Right now it is a strange feeling to see that people are starting to consider me as a star. In Mexico people are so interested in my life, in what I am doing, and I have never thought about becoming a sort of public figure. I always wanted to be in Formula One and win races - I never wasted a thought on what comes with it: the fame, people’s interest - and I find it so funny that suddenly people are so interested in a person like me.

Q: What feels like home?
SP: To be with friends and hang out.

Q: When were you happiest?
SP: Canada was a very emotional moment. There were so many Mexican fans there. That got under my skin.

Q: What event can you not forget but would wish you could?
SP: Monaco last year!

Q: If you had to stay in one place for the rest of your life, where would it be?
SP: Definitely Guadalajara, my hometown. Not the slightest doubt about it.

FUEL

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 11th, 2012, 12:31 pm

http://www.formula1.com/news/features/2012/9/13784.html

Italy analysis - The Magicians of Monza

Barely a week ago at Spa, Lewis Hamilton, Sergio Perez and Fernando Alonso were taken out at Turn One. On Sunday at Monza, all three were on the podium after a thrilling Formula 1 Gran Premio Santander d'Italia 2012. Hamilton’s flawless drive reignited his title charge; Perez showed yet again why he’s hotly tipped as a future champion; and the ever-canny Alonso somehow extended his standings lead from tenth on the grid. We take a team-by-team look back at a fascinating afternoon’s racing…

McLaren
Lewis Hamilton, P1
Jenson Button, Retired lap 33, fuel pick-up
Hamilton was never really challenged en route to McLaren’s 180th victory and his first at Monza. He was only headed, by Perez, during the pit stops, and had speed in hand as the Mexican was closing at a great rate in the final laps. His win was McLaren’s third in a row. Button seemed set for a podium finish, either second or third, when his engine cut out due to fuel pick-up problems. Red Bull’s issues move the Woking team within 29 points in the constructors’ stakes.

Sauber
Sergio Perez, P2
Kamui Kobayashi, P9
Sauber employed brilliant strategy with Perez, starting him on the hard Pirellis when everyone else went for the mediums. He got to lap 29 before he pitted for his mediums, and was thus charging in a fuel-light car for the rest of the race. A superb drive took him from eighth place to second, only 4.3s adrift of Hamilton. Kobayashi ran his race the other way round, and was a relatively subdued ninth to earn the Hinwil team a serious points haul of 20 for the second time in four races.

Ferrari
Fernando Alonso, P3
Felipe Massa, P4
Alonso made a great start and was able to overtake Kobayashi, Di Resta, Raikkonen and Schumacher early on and then to settle in to challenge Vettel. An altercation at Curva Grande earned the German and drive-through penalty and left Alonso free to chase and pass Massa for second place after Button’s demise. Massa held second from the start until Button repassed in the pit stops, running despite the loss of telemetry feed to the pits, but severe tyre degradation slowed both him and Alonso in the last part of the race and neither was able to keep Perez at bay. Their haul of 27 points moves them back to third in the constructors’ championship, ahead of Lotus.

Lotus
Kimi Raikkonen, P5
Jerome D’Ambrosio, P13
Lotus lacked pace again, though Raikkonen fought tooth and nail with Perez in the closing stages as the Mexican was on his charge. His eventual fifth place moves him to third in the drivers’ title chase. D’Ambrosio had a tough race, bringing Grosjean’s car home 13th.

Mercedes
Michael Schumacher, P6
Nico Rosberg, P7
Mercedes were one of the few teams to adopt a two-stop strategy, but it didn’t do them an awful lot of good as the best Schumacher and Rosberg could muster was sixth and seventh.

Force India
Paul di Resta, P8
Nico Hulkenberg, Retired lap 51, brakes
Di Resta said he was happy with eighth, as his one-stop strategy left him vulnerable in the final laps to the charge of the two Mercedes on their fresher rubber. Hulkenberg was in the battle for the lower points, until his VJM05 developed brake problems.

Williams
Bruno Senna, P10
Pastor Maldonado, P11
Senna had an up and down race, with chicane clashes with Rosberg and then Di Resta losing him time. Nevertheless he held on to finish half a second ahead of recovering team mate Pastor Maldonado who started 22nd after his two grid place penalties were applied. The Brazilian thus took the final point.

Toro Rosso
Daniel Ricciardo, P12
Jean-Eric Vergne, Retired lap 9, brake disc
A disappointing race saw Vergne retire early when a suspected rear-end failure - possibly a shattered brake disc - sent him aviating across the first chicane kerbs and into retirement. Ricciardo’s disappointment came at the end when he dropped from 10th to 12th as his STR7 starved for fuel exiting Parabolica for the last time.

Caterham
Heikki Kovalainen, P14
Vitaly Petrov, P15
Kovalainen and Petrov had a race-long dust-up which resulted in the two Caterhams crossing the finish line just a tenth of a second apart.

Marussia
Charles Pic, P16
Timo Glock, P17
This week it was Pic’s turn to beat Glock, after the German was delayed when his front wing was damaged by Petrov in the first chicane.

HRT
Pedro de la Rosa, P18
Narain Karthikeyan, P19
De la Rosa’s 100th Grand Prix saw him catch and pass fast-starting team mate Karthikeyan.

Red Bull
Sebastian Vettel, Retired lap 48, alternator
Mark Webber, Retired lap 52, flat-spotted tyres
This was a disastrous race for Red Bull, as unlucky as Spa had been lucky. Vettel was on target for some decent points until the drive-through penalty he got for putting Alonso off the road in Curva Grande. Thereafter he was fighting back when he was instructed to stop as his Renault engine showed signs of imminent failure due to more alternator problems. One-stopping Webber struggled for grip in the closing stages, half spun exiting Ascari, and then crept back to the pits to retire with flat-spotted tyres.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 13th, 2012, 12:09 pm

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/news/lotus-grosjean-stronger-ban-100406088.html

Lotus: Grosjean stronger after ban

Romain Grosjean will return to Formula 1 a stronger driver after his one-race ban, reckons his team.
The Frenchman was suspended for the Italian Grand Prix for having caused a first corner accident in Belgium that eliminated a number of drivers, including Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton.
The hard-line approach adopted by the FIA was widely supported by F1 drivers, and Lotus team principal Eric Boullier thinks the lessons learned will be valuable for Grosjean to help him become better.
"We have spoken a lot about it," Boullier told AUTOSPORT. "And definitely in some way it was best for him.
"He is going to keep the same speed when he comes back, and I think he will stronger.
"He will be even more confident in himself and, having discussed and fixed these issues, he will be better."
Although Grosjean's temporary replacement Jerome D'Ambrosio did not score any points in Italy, Boullier thinks the Belgian did a good job.
"I think he was very solid," he said. "It is a bit frustrating for him because the results do not show it, but if you look at data he built up nicely all weekend.
"He lost KERS early in race and that cost a lot of lap time. In terms of pace he was matching a lot of the front-runners and bearing in mind he did not race for 10 months, he did a very impressive job."

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 13th, 2012, 12:12 pm

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 14th, 2012, 11:03 am

''APPLYING 'D' AXE''

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/news/mclaren-offer-hamilton-pay-cut-122620308.html

McLaren ‘offer Hamilton pay cut’

Lewis Hamilton’s possible move to Mercedes is inching closer after reportedly being offered the equivalent of a pay cut to stay on at McLaren.

McLaren, with whom Hamilton has spent his entire career in Formula One, have been the favourites to keep hold of their man despite the exit rumours, but the 27-year-old is enticed by Mercedes, who would offer him undisputed number one status and a chance to work with respected team principal Ross Brawn.
The Daily Mail report that Hamilton’s latest offer from McLaren represents ‘considerably less’ than the existing £15m-a-year deal that he currently enjoys, and the 2008 World Champion was expecting to negotiate a pay increase.
His image rights are a particular concern – Hamilton would effectively waive his claim to them in a McLaren deal, but would expect to be remunerated for them accordingly.
Mercedes’ offer, the paper claims, is worth as much as his current contract, but with some lucrative bonuses giving rise to the possibility he could earn as much as £60m over three years.
Mercedes’ hand may be strengthened by the fact that they are developing the engines for the 2014 campaign, and while McLaren will run the same engines, the Mercedes ‘works’ team will have first access to the first research and development data.
Their offer is also believed to come regardless of whether their veteran driver Michael Schumacher announces his retirement at the end of the season, as many suspect he will.
Hamilton, represented by XIX Entertainment, the Simon Fuller-owned company who also look after David Beckham and Andy Murray, will have the final decision, regardless of what is negotiated on his behalf.
And with just seven races remaining on his McLaren contract, time is running low to decide Hamilton’s next move.

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » September 14th, 2012, 6:37 pm

yep. 90% sure He'll be driving for Mercedes next year. Would really suck if they indeed changed from a factory works team to a 'satellite' operation.