3ne2nr fishermen

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby meccalli » September 9th, 2012, 5:03 pm

Nice Job! persistence pays off again ahaha.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 9th, 2012, 7:35 pm

doh worry bro, wen ppl ent know bout artificial is ah bad ting...where d action is these days on shore? any kind of fish, small fish too...want to take some kids for some fun...

drop ho

Postby drop ho » September 10th, 2012, 10:15 am

http://www.amazon.com/Okuma-Fishing-TU- ... ndra+combo

Pulled the trigger on this last week....
needed another surf rod.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 10th, 2012, 11:03 am

drop ho wrote:http://www.amazon.com/Okuma-Fishing-TU-1002-80-Tundra-Spinning/dp/B0011N6I7O/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1347286343&sr=8-1&keywords=okuma+tundra+combo

Pulled the trigger on this last week....
needed another surf rod.

I'm curious, on average how much does a rod that length cost to bring in?

drop ho

Postby drop ho » September 10th, 2012, 11:20 am

last rod i brought cost avg an add TT$200

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » September 10th, 2012, 10:50 pm

ryan99tt wrote:
meccalli wrote:
meccalli wrote:Nice rig, last time we passed in the mayaro fishing village a boat came in stocked with muttons, cubera and dogtooth. I suspect its on a lobster bank as well given how much cubera like a live lobster :).What bait you use for that pag tho?

I used a kinda herring/ joshwa kinda fish! Looks like a herring and it long like about 6 inches. I rigged my hook on a wire leader then pass the wire through the fish back from the tail to its head then tie it onto a swivel! Then take some tread and wrap it around the fish to keep it intact.

Heres some pics from sunday gone.
Not much but was an ok trip!

This is my kit that i carry with me!
One best tip i can give to persons now coming into this is! Never ever put all you gears into one kit and carry it with you. Carry only what you need. Leave the rest of your gears at home somewhere safe because u never know what could happen and you could loose you whole kit.
Thats why when i going and fish i pack my kit according to what type of fishing i heading out for.

I try and keep my kit as precise as possible.
Like here i was going and bank so i packed things like thread to tie the bonito bait, hooks, ready to go rigged wire line and hooks...etc

Try and dont get too much sun burn!!! lol

What the captain took from the catch

Left 5am and reach back on land 10pm

Some of the fish we caught. The rest was in the kooler. The ones you didnt see in this pic were fish like the shark we caught and some nice 5lb -10lb red fish.

DIDNT CATCH any monsters like i wanted to but nx time!

EvolvedDET

Postby EvolvedDET » September 11th, 2012, 10:22 am

H C Y Where the pics of the other fish i only seeing one of the 5 lb snapper and you coulda hide the power an them you makin we look bad there boy LOL

EvolvedDET

Postby EvolvedDET » September 11th, 2012, 10:23 am

Any one intrested in night fishing for monsters on the east coast can PM me for details

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 11th, 2012, 6:47 pm

nice catch bro!!!

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » September 12th, 2012, 3:44 pm

Need some advice here fellas. From time to time I do some light fishing using a castor. The thing is I tend to get stuck alot in the rocks and end up losing alot of sinkers and hook because i have to burst the line. Is the anything i can do to help with this? Also, I want to try using a rod but would that make any difference?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » September 12th, 2012, 8:44 pm

d.d.s. wrote:Need some advice here fellas. From time to time I do some light fishing using a castor. The thing is I tend to get stuck alot in the rocks and end up losing alot of sinkers and hook because i have to burst the line. Is the anything i can do to help with this? Also, I want to try using a rod but would that make any difference?

Actually fishing with a reel and rod will save u alot more hooks and sinkers! Reason is to my experience, once you reel in fast enough you wont get stuck as much. Once you start reeling in dont stop, Keep reeling in! Also if your line is stuck sometimes if you give it some slack and time it might free itself.

Try using a reel and rod.

Pm me your budget and i can see if i can get u a setup.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 14th, 2012, 1:19 am

wat i usually do wen fishing rocky bottom is use a lighter line to a breakaway sinker...usually what happens is wen the sinker snags the line breaks and u get back your prized catch...

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » September 14th, 2012, 2:26 am

^^ thanks guys.
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH , sent you a pm
ryan99tt, didn't even know about the breakaway sinker...had to google it :oops:

prop

Postby prop » September 14th, 2012, 9:23 am

Caught in the Poui field
_DSC4110.jpg

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » September 14th, 2012, 12:58 pm

Nice!!!

Postby X_Factor » September 14th, 2012, 10:31 pm

whats allyuh thoughts on the coloured nylon?
say the yellow, pink, fluorescent green??

does it make a difference? cause clear nylon soo boring

Postby rollingstock » September 14th, 2012, 10:55 pm

^ I much rather braided lines.

Postby gt4tified » September 15th, 2012, 12:01 am

rollingstock wrote:^ I much rather braided lines.

Yup. Expensive, but worth it.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 15th, 2012, 6:33 am

d.d.s. wrote:Need some advice here fellas. From time to time I do some light fishing using a castor. The thing is I tend to get stuck alot in the rocks and end up losing alot of sinkers and hook because i have to burst the line. Is the anything i can do to help with this? Also, I want to try using a rod but would that make any difference?

i normally use a 8 - 9ft rod with a smallish reel (penn torque rod and penn battle 4000 or shimano spheros 4000) spooled with 20 lb power pro braid. i double uni knot that to about 5 feet 12 - 20 lb seguar fluoro leader. a couple of dropper loops for the hooks and a double surgeons knot on the end of the leader for either a pyramid or banking sinker (2oz).

I find that with such a light setup i can outcast most people who use much longer and heavier rods (12 - 15 footers). i've used this a lot when fishing from shore in rocky locations and i suffer a lot less line breakage (due to the abrasion resistance of the braid). Most times if I snag, its cause of the sinker, and if i give a good tug on the main line, the light fluoro breaks..... i'll lose the sinker but keep the catch. once ur leader is long enuff u can jus retie another sinker a few times before u gotta use a new leader.

make sure and use gloves to pull on the braid cause it will cut u very easy!! might be better to wrap the braid around something other than ur hand. see this pic off google..... gives a general idea of what i talkin bout
dropper-loop-1-5-0-hooks1.jpg
dropper-loop-1-5-0-hooks1.jpg (11.07 KiB) Viewed 2632 times

Postby X_Factor » September 15th, 2012, 9:12 am

i've never used braid before
can it be used for banking using a caster?...what about when ur pulling back up the line can it cut your fingers?

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 15th, 2012, 9:16 am

i wouldn't recommend using it on a caster..... i guess if u use a really heavy braid might be easier in ur skin.... due to braid having zero stretch its easier to feel the bite.... dais why dey use it for jigging and deep dropping.... cause of the lack of stretch. wanna give it a try and den post some feedback ?? i go sponsor de gloves for u to try it :lol: :lol:

Postby meccalli » September 15th, 2012, 8:20 pm

X_Factor wrote:whats allyuh thoughts on the coloured nylon?
say the yellow, pink, fluorescent green??

does it make a difference? cause clear nylon soo boring

For leader material or mainline? I know high vis yellow is nice for those who do spot casting or fly fishing alot so you can see where the line is. I only use either pink/clear or green- Leader or mainline..as for fluoro..never made any difference but i don't tuna fish. I'd rather be bored than loosing fish cuz they spook at the line. On the other hand there's theories in surf fishing that fish will follow high vis line to the bait lol.

I use braid on a caster but you must use a mono backing to grip the spool, I really only use it in areas where i hang up alot and need to pull bronze alavive hooks in a hurry, rather than loose my entire rig/lengths of mainline. Always use a mono leader for presentation purposes and never get it looped around you. The gloves is a must unless your hands really..rreally tough lol or the fish aren't whoppers.

Postby X_Factor » September 16th, 2012, 9:35 pm

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 17th, 2012, 11:58 am

well i always use braid but u need to have a leader or you wouldnt get as much hits...i usually run 80lbs powerpro, recently brought down a 1500yd spool of the red so i'm using that at the moment...red is a gd color bcuz it fades out at 14ft...i recently went jigging and got ah few hits close to some rigs on the east coast...will post pics from dis trip an last trip soon...

Postby Chimera » September 17th, 2012, 11:59 am

anyone know where i can get mini glowsticks locally?
1.5 inches or so

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 17th, 2012, 6:29 pm

what u want dem for?

Postby gt4tified » September 17th, 2012, 6:53 pm

Check out this new line from Berkley:
http://www.berkley-fishing.com/line/nanoFil

I know it have some top notch progressive anglers in here so....anybody using it yet?

Postby X_Factor » September 17th, 2012, 7:14 pm

he probably wants the glow sticks to tie onto the lines while deep banking to maybe attract fish?

Postby meccalli » September 18th, 2012, 6:28 am

In the tuna/ swordfish industry they use luminous sleeves to attract squid which attracts the fish. My dad got some of those sleeves and used to fish with em for squid with a treble. But the tarpon seemed to like it more...lol. He used to get em off the taiwanese motherships but they don't dock on chaguaramas side again.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 18th, 2012, 7:27 pm

yea, daz why i asked becuz mankee has the lights for deep water banking or u cud order dem online...

gt4tified, nanofoil out ah lil while now but its for light tackle fishing...