The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 12th, 2012, 6:33 pm

mojosodope wrote:until bmobile or digicel gets on board with the nano sim standard the iPhone 5 is just an iTouch in Trinidad,

I'll wait until there's word before you go ahead and preorder, most likely you wont even be able to pre order the factory unlocked version yet tho.

The sim issues is just a matter of time and by then im sure a f.unlocked would be out.

Wayy diff than repeating it won't work, not so bassmechanik :roll:

Postby sharkman121 » September 12th, 2012, 6:36 pm

Prototype-Tuner wrote:My 4s feels old...in a way

thats exactly how they want you to feel.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 12th, 2012, 7:14 pm

My 4 S 64 will never b old !

Re: RE: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby RASC » September 12th, 2012, 7:26 pm

Ok. So have any of you fanboys contacted b mobile or digicel as yet concerning nano sim? Doesn't seem like anything before Christmas :S (don't ask me why I estimate then, I just wanna bring allyuh hopes down lol) Yeah but seriously.

Sent from my HD7 using Board Express

Postby Stephon. » September 12th, 2012, 7:46 pm

Dunno, doesn't affect me because I ain't gonna buy that restricted mess.
The iPod touches though, wow those things are amazing, definitely going to get my hands on one

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 12th, 2012, 8:00 pm

Stephon. wrote:Dunno, doesn't affect me because I ain't gonna buy that restricted mess.
The iPod touches though, wow those things are amazing, definitely going to get my hands on one

yup the itouch is smexy :P

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 12th, 2012, 8:07 pm

I've asked (no response). I expect the iPhone 5 to come by December because of the 1 month earlier launch of the phone this year vs 2011 when the iPhone 4S came here by January this year.

Keynote video is up.

BassMekanik

Postby BassMekanik » September 12th, 2012, 9:37 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
mojosodope wrote:until bmobile or digicel gets on board with the nano sim standard the iPhone 5 is just an iTouch in Trinidad,

I'll wait until there's word before you go ahead and preorder, most likely you wont even be able to pre order the factory unlocked version yet tho.

The sim issues is just a matter of time and by then im sure a f.unlocked would be out.

Wayy diff than repeating it won't work, not so bassmechanik :roll:

yep ur right. My apologies. No plans for nano sim anytime soon. Speaking on Digicel behalf of course!

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 12th, 2012, 9:38 pm

When the new IOS coming out on the 18th ?

Postby Stephon. » September 12th, 2012, 9:39 pm

Must be midnight.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 12th, 2012, 9:39 pm

19th

casper

Postby casper » September 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm

firstchoicett wrote:When the new IOS coming out on the 18th ?

On d 19th

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 12th, 2012, 9:42 pm

September
12th: iPhone 5 announcement (1:00pm)
14th: iPhone 5 Pre-order (3:01am)
19th: iOS 6 release
21st: iPhone 5 release (8:00am)

roadhog

Postby roadhog » September 12th, 2012, 10:21 pm

Factory unlocked version is available in Canada. Starts at 699. Pre orders from 14th as well

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 12th, 2012, 10:28 pm

Should be in the US, UK & several other European countries as well.

$649, 749 & 849 USD for 16, 32 & 64GB

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 12th, 2012, 11:01 pm

plus an average of $50 usd tax

thought this was cool: iOS 6 enables panorama mode for the 4S
http://www.macrumors.com/2012/09/12/pan ... ith-ios-6/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2012, 11:14 pm

1st Official iPhone 5 commercial

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 12th, 2012, 11:21 pm

for those who were thinking of cutting their micro sim to the nano sim size, take a read, it's also thinner

http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/buying-advic ... need-know/

Postby M_2NR » September 13th, 2012, 12:01 am

So who going to try and sand it down? :lol: it's about 15% thinner at 6.7mm I think. Micro sims are 7.6mm.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2012, 12:04 am

Bmobile is an official iPhone carrier so they will carry nano-sims, however they may only want to give it to customers who purchase iPhones from bmobile.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 13th, 2012, 12:33 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Bmobile is an official iPhone carrier so they will carry nano-sims, however they may only want to give it to customers who purchase iPhones from bmobile.

same thing that I thought, based on their policy of not allowing self purchased iPhone customers access to their iPhone plans, they'd probably do the same with the nano sim.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » September 13th, 2012, 2:09 am

With the nano sim standard having to be backwards compatible with existing sims, ie. you can put a nano sim into an adapter and use it in any phone, it should just be a matter of very careful cutting and sanding.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 13th, 2012, 6:43 am

DTAC wrote:With the nano sim standard having to be backwards compatible with existing sims, ie. you can put a nano sim into an adapter and use it in any phone, it should just be a matter of very careful cutting and sanding.

I go take that chance cause I already have a whole shipment on preorder with my supply.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 13th, 2012, 7:53 am

How much you selling iPhone 5 for firstchoice?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 13th, 2012, 8:24 am

The more I look at the design and innards, I'm truly blow away by the engineering that went into packing all that crap into something 7mm thick throughout the entire body. Wow !!

The lines are definitely more refined to give a solid, professional and really appeals to the designer in me. Someone who really appreciate the arts and industrial design will understand what I'm talking about.

So happy Apple didn't bring out some brick in your hand. This is how phones should be getting : smaller and smaller. Although I love a large screen, I really can't use anything larger than 4.5inches comfortably.

Would also love to experience the new games on this phone. Of course if you got a large flat screen TV/Apple TV it mirrors wirelessly, so your iPhone/iPad/iPodTouch becomes a controller in your hand.

casper

Postby casper » September 13th, 2012, 8:35 am

^^^omg will u stop wit it already??? lolz...u always get on like apple is the only and first company that does this and that...etc etc....the motorolla droid razr does even more than this iphone 5 does and its even thinner than the new iphone...the razr is actually the thinnest smartphone in the world at this moment...NOT the i5....go praise that too na....

my bad...u wont...cuz anything any other brand does is not great....only when apple does it it's amazing in ur eyes....hey...wake up and see what else is out there dood...ur blinded

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 13th, 2012, 8:56 am

if anyone else doesn't want to wait:
http://lifehacker.com/5942469/upgrade-t ... t=52633986

make sure to update itunes to 10.7 first

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » September 13th, 2012, 8:57 am

iphone 5 - idissapoint

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 13th, 2012, 9:01 am

casper wrote:^^^omg will u stop wit it already??? lolz...u always get on like apple is the only and first company that does this and that...etc etc....the motorolla droid razr does even more than this iphone 5 does and its even thinner than the new iphone...the razr is actually the thinnest smartphone in the world at this moment...NOT the i5....go praise that too na....

my bad...u wont...cuz anything any other brand does is not great....only when apple does it it's amazing in ur eyes....hey...wake up and see what else is out there dood...ur blinded

Isn't the RAZR a much larger phone (13cm x 7cm) ? With more space to put things on the side? It's 7.1mm but um... there is this huge bulge at the top where the camera is. Which means they lacked the engineer to get EVERYTHING to fit and make it thin throughout.

Jonny Ives is a borse.

Postby noshownogo » September 13th, 2012, 9:06 am

Personally, only one thing blew me away. The fact that it is so much thinner but with a reported 10% better battery life with the inclusion of LTE. It's like magic!

Pretty sure it's gonna hit Apple's sales targets.