Build Project: Suzie!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Bought a Pickup Finally

Postby sliderz1 » September 6th, 2012, 5:30 pm

alot's been done since ive been here....NICE!!!!!

is the shackle welded here?

lol i knew that diff looked familiar from the back!!! im sure you'll find no shortage of parts for that!

did your contraption work for the spraying of the inside of chassis?

neckto

Postby neckto » September 6th, 2012, 5:41 pm

no it's not welded, the weld bead u seeing is the hole or "eye" the shackle goes into, look at later pics you will see the rear suspension removed.

the contraption did work, not as well as expected tho, I ended up having to use to use a very thin hose, like aquarium hose and also wasn't able to use a long piece so i used a 12" length and got it to spit and sputter, i made use of all the holes in the chassis and the sections being cut to spray the finished sections, it may not have gotten much grey oxide but it got plenty Wonder rust remover

neckto

Postby neckto » September 9th, 2012, 11:21 pm

update:

well not much to show term of pic but made some good progress, got the lift springs and diff mounted back up and fitting corectly so far, rassembled rear brakes line and changed 2nd rear brake cylinder, completed acetylend welding to chassis and painted, reassembled other parts to the chassis, parking brake front assembly, muffler etc.

assembled drivetrain, waiting be mounted to chassis

shackles cleaned, repaired and painted

2nd rear brake cylinder

reassembly

even patched the muffler pipe lol

preludeprince

Postby preludeprince » September 10th, 2012, 2:46 am

wow....

neckto

Postby neckto » September 12th, 2012, 5:24 pm

Update time:

since we finished mounting the chassis to where its ready to receive the drive-train and shell, we began to focus on the Cabin, spent a lot of time crawling around under it's makeshift perch repairing the cab.

Mainly the panels and the flooring: welding, cleaning, grinding, patching, plating, reinforcing........the works!!

Also, took the starter and alternator to service and change brushes, took the radiator to clean and pressure test and braze the loose brackets, re-bushed the door (FR) hinges and repaired the top hinge mount point which was rotted out due to poor previous repair.

still haven't tackled the front cross brace on the cab which is rotted, the WELDER NOT COMING TO WORK 2 WEEKS NOW, this man real frustrating me, leave my work hanging as he get he money (majority) and always saying he busy and everyday is tomorrow when i call

Just like the Diff weld and balance of chassis weld work we did ourselves last week, seems we might end up doing this ourselves too while waiting.

Same thing with the gearbox parts change, drive-train mount back up, leaf spring/ diff install, rear brakes repair and reinstall which we all ended up doing ourself while waiting on the mechanic who never reached either

I really don't know what to say with tradesman nowadays nah....ok i done RANT

say what, I loosing some time but I saving money so let them stick yes.

starter mounted back up

grinding out all the paste from the previous patch job and repairing their work properly

more old "repairs" we had to fix

left panel

right panel

other areas

grinding and prepping for paint

brace points and cab mount points repaired

left front floor ..... Frankenstein repair 1 lol

left front apron - Frankenstein repair 2

Frankenstein repair 2 front view

welding n grinding finally done n cleaned. time for primer - zinc oxide with reducer spray coated

everything starting back to look like new n original-ish lol

some places gonna need a lil more love to hide the scars - body guard, maybe some fibreglass paste, still contemplating what's the better thing to do - any advice here tuners?

nissanforever

Postby nissanforever » September 13th, 2012, 8:46 am

It is incredible the way u took this project on. I could only imagine the blood, sweat and tears it takes to carry on a project as this. I do hope at the end u make something for yourself when u do sell it.

droppa

Postby droppa » September 13th, 2012, 3:17 pm

i wont be surprised to see that gearbox painted in silver by weekend!!!!!!!

neckto

Postby neckto » September 13th, 2012, 5:18 pm

droppa, HOSS like reading my mind. I want to clean up that gearbox so bad but I wasn't sure if paint would hold on the aluminium so that's the only reason I didn't venture into that yet lol - but now that U said it I definitely gonna look for a aerosol once I get the time

We on a time crunch right now, need to get the cab n drive train back on the chassis before Monday, the guy who loaned us the A frame n chain block asking for it back since last week.

dunno if I could pull it off tho, have a shitty shift this week.

update: as you know, under carriage of Cab was primed yesterday, i applied the body guard today, gosh that thing real mess me up i came to work smelling like paint thinner

hopefully that will be dry enough to spray on the paint in the morning.
I chose the same Penta industrial enamel but in white this time.

i'm thinking since the chassis, front end gas tank etc in black, it would be easier to see and work under there in the future with the white helping to brighten up. It should look good tho.

Also, decided to not go with any fibreglass paste on the panel inner faces again, although its more water resistant than regular bondo i think the body guard alone would be sufficient and safer in the long run cause water resistant is nto water proof and it just takes one crack or scratch in the paint to leave the bondo exposed and susceptible to soaking in water

sorry no pics today, I had to push to finish the bodyguard application which was by hand btw then rush to work
Last edited by neckto on September 13th, 2012, 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

neckto

Postby neckto » September 13th, 2012, 5:19 pm

nissanforever wrote:It is incredible the way u took this project on. I could only imagine the blood, sweat and tears it takes to carry on a project as this. I do hope at the end u make something for yourself when u do sell it.

hey thanks man.....that would really be some hard earned money lol

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » September 13th, 2012, 5:31 pm

good work on this project.

neckto

Postby neckto » September 13th, 2012, 5:48 pm

jnqaz wrote:good work on this project.

Thanks bro!! we trying

neckto

Postby neckto » September 15th, 2012, 9:09 pm

Update

As I mentioned, the front right side door hinge (top) was rotted out and the door was falling off, it had been previously repaired but poorly, so that made it worse. We had to cut out the rotten section and remake the hinge assembly, we decided to make a plate with studs coming out rather than threaded holes cause given the make up of that part of the body we felt this would be a stronger repair. Had to do a lot of measuring n test fitting etc to get it positioned so the door would close properly then weld it off. As it stands, the door not closing perfect but I believe there is enough agjustment to achieve desired position. We didn’t want to be playing up with the door too much while the cab up in the air. This little repair took almost a whole day to do properly as simple as it looks

Yesterday:

On to painting the cab underbelly, and to do a special request for Mr. Droppa lol

Power washed the gearbox

While that drying, spray coat one of white industrial enamel on underbelly. Your may notice some discoloured areas. That’s the paint interacting with the body guard which is why I had to wait for it to dry before applying the second coat

This came out so nice I wished I had done all the aluminum parts on the engine now but couldn’t waste time on that at this point. I might try a thing later on with a stencil brush if I in a patient mood.

While that drying, paint the gearbox

While that drying, coat two on underbelly

Right away began moving the chassis back under the cab and to the front to install the engine

All coming together

Engine on, chassis lined up under cab, wheels back on. Too dark n too tired to take more pics

This morning

Love this pic lol

Getting parts ready for reassembling chassis to cab

Moving each prop and painting those parts, let dry n put back prop and on to the other unpainted area.

Cabin was also bought back onto chassis but didn’t get a pic, phone died and had to get to work as well. Will take those photos tom

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 16th, 2012, 1:21 pm

wow just wow

neckto

Postby neckto » September 16th, 2012, 3:54 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:wow just wow

Thanks Bro,

so how u all like the white instead of the black?

neckto

Postby neckto » September 16th, 2012, 9:08 pm

Update

just posting the pics of the cab back on and perfectly lined up so the 6 fastened bolts would act as a reference point for the 2 in front which have to be repaired with the cross brace

wish i had time to paint and do my thing with the engine bay before i put bk in the engine but the A frame have to go bk so i will have to do it the hard way.

badart

Postby badart » September 16th, 2012, 9:32 pm

excellent job so far! hope everything goes according to plan, all the best for the rest of the build

neckto

Postby neckto » September 16th, 2012, 9:36 pm

badart wrote:excellent job so far! hope everything goes according to plan, all the best for the rest of the build

thanks bro

i appreciate all the support, helps keep the motivation

otherwise a project like this could make u turn :drinking: lol

Postby tr1ad » September 17th, 2012, 11:53 am

nice wuk so far.......

yuh eh wuh get rid of them rims tho? lol

nissanforever

Postby nissanforever » September 17th, 2012, 2:47 pm

bess....jus besss!

neckto

Postby neckto » September 18th, 2012, 8:29 am

tr1ad wrote:nice wuk so far.......

yuh eh wuh get rid of them rims tho? lol

yea bro, them rims shitty, but with this kinda expense, rims is last priority........unless u have a set u wanna donate lol

i might have some fun panting them diff colors in the mean time tho

neckto

Postby neckto » September 18th, 2012, 8:59 am

nissanforever wrote:bess....jus besss!

thanks

UPDATE

started working on the front of cab cross brace last nite, time to weld the new bottle of acetylene saying empty. REL firetruck SOURNESS, dais a nex 500 i dont have that i have to spend now, dunno if it leak out somehow or we get rob or wtf happen. sigh

Postby tr1ad » September 18th, 2012, 9:34 am

yuh wa a swap fuh some twennies? ROFL

neckto

Postby neckto » September 18th, 2012, 10:03 am

wah u wanna swap for them twennies? the whole van? lol

Postby tr1ad » September 18th, 2012, 11:42 am

me na like the twennies i got with the frontier
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=458085

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 18th, 2012, 1:38 pm

Normally I just skim through the DIY posts in this forum, but this one had me reading every post. you're doing some great work neckto :!:

neckto

Postby neckto » September 18th, 2012, 10:44 pm

Cooper wrote:Normally I just skim through the DIY posts in this forum, but this one had me reading every post. you're doing some great work neckto :!:

hey cooper thanks

Tr1AD

pm sent!!

neckto

Postby neckto » September 19th, 2012, 12:34 am

UPDATE

As you may recall, the front cross brace of the cab is rotted. and has to be remade/repaired. Here is the pic of the new cab rubber mount’s washer lined back up with the only front hole still partially intact. So now the cab bolted down and lined back up properly we can cut and repair knowing where the holes have to go

While waiting on transport to go get the acetylene, I started to scrap out n prepp the eninge bay

Vacuum cowl panel, Power wash, blow dry, tape up. Still have to rub light sandpaper before painting

She bare chest right now

Put in new manifold gasket

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 19th, 2012, 1:07 am

^^ aye paint yuh wheelbarrow bai, it rusty....

neckto

Postby neckto » September 19th, 2012, 3:13 am

lighthammer wrote:^^ aye paint yuh wheelbarrow bai, it rusty....

lol ok yea bro, lawn mower conk out yesterday. might be another build project comming up soon

neckto

Postby neckto » September 21st, 2012, 3:11 am

uPdate

well it took longer than desired but we finished the front cab repair wit the cross brace and the cab mount points, managed to also clean and prep the engine bay and get on a very light coat of zinc chromate primer on most of it. have to buy more tomorrow

Front Cab mounts back on

new cross brace section

reused old brackets

modifications made: left open access holes to mount bolts and made brackets with spaces for water drain off

light coat of primer

have to buy more primer tom and re coat properly.

also have to get paint. since i dunno what colour i putting the van in as yet. i thinking to maintain the white inside there and the wheel wells. i find the grey looking good too!!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”