Parking in a handicapped spot....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 11th, 2012, 1:11 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Man ... 28631.html

Man beaten at Hi-Lo
...parked in handicapped zone

By Gyasi Gonzales gyasi.gonzales@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Oct 10, 2012 at 11:53 PM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 10, 2012 at 11:53 PM ECT
GLEN RAMDAG wanted a pack of Pinehill Dairy Juice, which he said was only available at Hi-Lo Foodstores, but instead he got a "severe" beating by a security officer when he parked in the handicapped zone at the supermarket's St Augustine branch on Tuesday morning.
Neal and Massy Holdings, Hi-Lo's parent company, has since issued an apology, stating: "We deeply regret that the incident occurred and apologise sincerely to the injured person and to all our customers who witnessed the incident."
Ramdag, 52, who lives in St Joseph, spoke to the Express yesterday afternoon from his bed at Medical Associates Nursing Home in St Joseph, where he was taken for treatment to injuries suffered in the beating, which occurred at 9.50 a.m.
Ramdag said he and his wife (who did not want to be named) were conducting business and decided to visit the supermarket to pick up a few items, including his favourite Pinehill Dairy juice.
"I drove in the car park and stopped near the entrance," he said, adding that there were no parking spots at the time so he left the engine of his van running, with a friend of his in the van's front passenger seat.
"I went to see if my wife was ready but she wasn't so I run back out and it had a guard by the door and I jump in the van and he told me to move the van."
Ramdag said he was not blocking anyone at the time and spent less than a minute in the grocery.
However, there was a second guard by the door who came out and began berating him about parking near the handicapped zone.
Ramdag said he eventually found a spot and after securing the van he got out and began walking towards the grocery.
"This second guard then approached me and he was looking vex. I just told him I apologise and I walked off because I wasn't taking he on and then just so I feel a blow to my head."
Ramdag said that was followed by more blows and as he fell to the ground he was kicked and cuffed by the guard.
He said by that time he was in a state of confusion, when he felt himself being picked up by two people. They turned out to be off-duty policemen, who took him inside the grocery to meet his wife.
The police also wanted to question the guard, but he made his way into the supermarket's office and remained there and the officers never got an opportunity to interview him.
"While I was in there I began to feel giddy," said Ramdag, who collapsed in the grocery.
"When I regained my senses I was in Mt Hope (Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex)."
But Ramdag maintained that despite what happened he remains loyal to the supermarket.
"I shopping in Hi-Lo since it was in Curepe junction," he said.
Responding to the incident, Neal and Massy Holdings stated: "Hi-Lo Food Stores is aware that an altercation occurred yesterday morning (Tuesday) between a member of the public and a security officer, in the car park facility of its St Augustine branch. The security officer is employed by a private security firm.
"Hi-Lo's officials are currently undertaking a full investigation to determine the reasons for and circumstances surrounding the incident, to ensure that such actions are never repeated at this store or at any of our other locations."
The release continued: "Senior officials of Hi-Lo are due to meet with and visit the injured individual, who is currently receiving medical attention.
"The private security firm has removed the security officer from the store's premises and we have been assured that they will also follow an appropriate course of action, based on the findings of the investigation."

megadoc1

Re: Parking in a handicapped spot....

Postby megadoc1 » October 11th, 2012, 1:45 am

lol they actually made him handicap for the day.....only in trini

Postby Hook » October 11th, 2012, 1:55 am

dey too disgusting man! dem "plastic police" private security AND the idiots who show no consideration for the handicapped!

Postby Mark! » October 11th, 2012, 2:37 am

mamoo go be walking on silk jus now

Postby rfari » October 11th, 2012, 6:27 am

Mark! wrote:mamoo go be walking on silk jus now

Ent! Morney gonna be tall. I wish be ting could happen to me yes

Postby nemisis » October 11th, 2012, 6:31 am

Man shouldn't have gotten licks but me nah feel sorry for him

ztune

Postby ztune » October 11th, 2012, 6:36 am

Security guard actions were uncalled for. Simple talking/advising could have resolved this matter.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 11th, 2012, 6:45 am

Hopefully this will serve as a warning to other non handicapped idiots who love to park in handicap spots

Centric

Postby Centric » October 11th, 2012, 6:45 am

Well.....security loss he wuk dey....

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 11th, 2012, 6:59 am

this is only one side of the story, would like to hear the security officer's version.

Centric

Postby Centric » October 11th, 2012, 7:04 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:this is only one side of the story, would like to hear the security officer's version.

Probably goes like this:

"He did park in de handicyap spot an he wasna handicyap. Ah make him handicyap so he cud park dey..."

Postby 1UZFE » October 11th, 2012, 7:05 am

rfari wrote:
Mark! wrote:mamoo go be walking on silk jus now

Ent! Morney gonna be tall. I wish be ting could happen to me yes

wahhh?? yuh want to beat up somebody for parking in ah Hadicapped spot... 8-)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 11th, 2012, 7:16 am

nissan_king wrote:Well.....security loss he wuk dey....

yup

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 11th, 2012, 7:21 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Hopefully this will serve as a warning to other non handicapped idiots who love to park in handicap spots

Trinidadians in general have no regard for Handicap parking spaces, and always feel that they could " park dere for a minute" and block people .

There should be a hefty fine attached to people who park in these spaces without the handicap sign on their cars.

im sure if a few people got a $ 3000.00 fine for it that they would stop, then again many of these same people are questionable on if they are mentally challenged to begin with.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » October 11th, 2012, 7:27 am

Postby r3iXmann » October 11th, 2012, 7:31 am

That hilo car park is always packed. Folks parking in the handicap section is nothing new. But as usual, I'm sure there's more to this

Postby tr1ad » October 11th, 2012, 7:31 am

anyone who parks in a handicap spot and are not disabled should be beaten

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 11th, 2012, 7:33 am

BEstow upon these security guards the power to issue the fines, no beatings, no chit chat, if youre caught there and youre not handicapped then pay your fine.

Postby pugboy » October 11th, 2012, 7:51 am

this actually makes it worse
because there is no legal requirement, far less on private property
so people can park and the most is to get some lip from a rent a cop

Postby RBphoto » October 11th, 2012, 8:20 am

I can only conjecture, but I believe discussion of the size and nature of what had been placed in various orificies of the security guard's mother may have preceeded the blows.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 11th, 2012, 8:25 am

BRZ wrote:Trinidadians in general have no regard for Handicap parking spaces, and always feel that they could " park dere for a minute" and block people . . . .

Sometimes the physically challenged parking spots are not properly marked. Using the new NP and Unipet service stations as examples, there is only a person in a wheelchair marking painted on the concrete paving to identify such parking spaces. You pull into a service station that you are not familiar with in the night, and it is almost impossible to see that paint marking.

I have seen some of the malls actually paint the entire surface of the parking space a different colour and then paint the wheelchair making. Some others actually have an upright sign designating the parking space. These are better ways to identify these parking spaces.

Postby RBphoto » October 11th, 2012, 8:50 am

Park in handicap spot.... you become handicapped... that simple.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » October 11th, 2012, 9:01 am

new ad for security firms - "Parking in handicapped spot and not handicapped? Don't worry we'll fix that!"

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 11th, 2012, 9:06 am

there probably is more to this, i sure the man probably get orn like a real arse with the security.

that being said, if he did indeed move his vehicle, they should not have beat him..

silver

Postby silver » October 11th, 2012, 9:10 am

"This second guard then approached me and he was looking vex. I just told him I apologise and I walked off because I wasn't taking he on and then just so I feel a blow to my head."
Ramdag said that was followed by more blows and as he fell to the ground he was kicked and cuffed by the guard.
He said by that time he was in a state of confusion, when he felt himself being picked up by two people. They turned out to be off-duty policemen, who took him inside the grocery to meet his wife.

soo...ummm d off duty policeman watch d man get licks and didn't intervene? Dey jus pick up d man and carry him inside d grocery? I call shenanigans

14lover

Postby 14lover » October 11th, 2012, 9:26 am

It have a certain security van (4x4) what does be down point, and the occupants acting like them is police or sumn, ah get meh extreme lolz when police catch them in a roadblock and nobody in front seat was wearing seatbelt....

Postby tr1ad » October 11th, 2012, 9:33 am

14lover wrote:It have a certain security van (4x4) what does be down point, and the occupants acting like them is police or sumn, ah get meh extreme lolz when police catch them in a roadblock and nobody in front seat was wearing seatbelt....

and that adds value to a discussion about parking in a handicap spot how again?

Postby eliteauto » October 11th, 2012, 9:36 am

cause the poster is clearly differently able

Postby tr1ad » October 11th, 2012, 9:40 am

OAR!!!!!!!!!!!!