GDI engines

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

xtech

Re: GDI engines

Postby xtech » October 24th, 2011, 3:21 pm

yes they are both sensitive using wrong fluids and to heat......an we live in a hot climate.

SO find biggest oil cooler you can fit behind our grill and bumper get that installed for the tranny.

bcozier

Postby bcozier » October 26th, 2011, 11:42 am

will do...thanks

what is the recomended fluid for this tranny though?

the 4 speed tiptronic for the 4g93t?

Postby rollingstock » October 26th, 2011, 12:13 pm

^ Mitsubishi Diamond SP3

B10N1C Tuner

Postby B10N1C Tuner » August 14th, 2012, 10:14 pm

Hey guys, i own a Galant VR-G 4g93 Gdi, bought it used from a friend, said the engine was recently changed, had to sort out alot of the same problems discussed on this same forum, but right now it works fine with the exception of sticky shifts and engine rattle due to noisy hydraulic tappets, so about the tappet noise right, if i use a heavier weight oil, will that stop the noise? i saw 1 of u said 40 weight and i saw on another forum to use 15w50. what is best?

carmelo

Postby carmelo » August 20th, 2012, 6:23 pm

40 weight is better to use the 50 weight is too heavy and it will cause ur hydraulic lifters to stick over time. The gdi engine work best with the synthetic blends 10w40

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 20th, 2012, 8:10 pm

I use 10w30 Np oil in my 4g15 gdi. Change oil every 2000km or 1 month which ever comes first.

daja180

Postby daja180 » October 1st, 2012, 11:56 pm

need some assistance.......cannot afford the increse in premium fuel for my CS2A GDI, what options can be suggested other than selling?
I heard if I remove the catalytic converter I could use regular fuel....assistance please.

xtech

Postby xtech » October 1st, 2012, 11:57 pm

Nobody will buy it from u..... Especially now

May need to invest in the ECU reflash tool or buy a meth kit to keep things cool.

But on side note I used super in my 1.8 GDI Legnum for years...... Saw no ill effect

Last edited by xtech on October 2nd, 2012, 12:01 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby rollingstock » October 1st, 2012, 11:58 pm

daja180 wrote:need some assistance.......cannot afford the increse in premium fuel for my CS2A GDI, what options can be suggested other than selling?
I heard if I remove the catalytic converter I could use regular fuel....assistance please.

That won't work, you're screwed like me.

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2012, 12:05 am

For the record, are all CS3 4G18's GDI?
one (CS3 4G19) tried super for the first time tonight. Did 40k under 2000rpm.
rev'd to 5k easily afterwards. will hear how midday heat affects it if at all.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 2nd, 2012, 6:29 am

Not all are GDI.

GDI engines have GDI on the rocker cover and the GDI badge on the side of the car.

Plus they look way different that your regular EFI engine.

So what is the process of converting GDI from premium to super, costs involved, disadvantages etc?

Postby rollingstock » October 2nd, 2012, 9:49 am

Steps to switch to super.

Just refill with super and drive till it idles like a cylinder is misfiring, and still continue using till it can't idle without cutting off and finally dies for good. Then do a 4g92 sohc, or 4g15dohc swap.
For the galants sr swap :(

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2012, 12:32 pm

no disconnect battery for 10mins to clear ECU learning?
so it adapts to knock and adjusts timing?

xtech

Postby xtech » October 2nd, 2012, 1:11 pm

Yes that is the best thing you can do

it will have to redo long term fuel trims. If you don't force it to relearn the new trims it will revert back to old settings every time until it finally gets it right.

An the ECU not dumb once knock sensor working an it detects knock it will kill timing.

Omenie

Postby Omenie » October 7th, 2012, 3:44 pm

------
Last edited by Omenie on October 29th, 2012, 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rollingstock » October 7th, 2012, 4:36 pm

Omenie wrote:Can anyone help me out recently bought a CS5 cedia with a 4g93 gdi started to notice that the idle does not remain constant it goes from 800 to 1500 rpms sometimes is that something to worry about.The engine also cut of twice when in reverse not all the times.Has anyone ever experienced this before.Any suggestions on what to do or who to go too.

Severe carbon build up, you need to pull off the intake manifold and clean thoroughly, service idle valve, throttle body, the egr valve under the manifold needs scrapping and cleaning. also check your plugs for oil from leaking gasket.

Omenie

Postby Omenie » October 7th, 2012, 5:55 pm

Omenie wrote:Can anyone help me out recently bought a CS5 cedia with a 4g93 gdi started to notice that the idle does not remain constant it goes from 800 to 1500 rpms sometimes is that something to worry about.The engine also cut of twice when in reverse not all the times.Has anyone ever experienced this before.Any suggestions on what to do or who to go too.

Severe carbon build up, you need to pull off the intake manifold and clean thoroughly, service idle valve, throttle body, the egr valve under the manifold needs scrapping and cleaning. also check your plugs for oil from leaking gasket.

Any recommendations on who to check to take on that job.

Postby rollingstock » October 7th, 2012, 8:24 pm

^ sorry, no, maybe someone else here can direct you to someone, or you can do it yourself if you're so inclined.
Most mechs will just spray the inside of the manifold with intake cleaner but this will do diddly squat for those engines.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » October 11th, 2012, 7:38 am

rollingstock wrote:Steps to switch to super.

Just refill with super and drive till it idles like a cylinder is misfiring, and still continue using till it can't idle without cutting off and finally dies for good. Then do a 4g92 sohc, or 4g15dohc swap.
For the galants sr swap :(

doh be hating on the 4g92 eh! :oops:

Postby rollingstock » October 11th, 2012, 9:51 am

I ain't hating, I advocating ;)

Omenie

Postby Omenie » October 11th, 2012, 7:01 pm

Anyone knows where to get a throttle body sensor for a 4g93 gdi ?

raybic

Postby raybic » October 11th, 2012, 10:02 pm

made a post on cleaning the gdi intake ...its on the mitsu forums self....
take a look...

Omenie

Postby Omenie » October 11th, 2012, 11:02 pm

raybic wrote:made a post on cleaning the gdi intake ...its on the mitsu forums self....
take a look...

Wow that seemed like a job for a mechanic. I aint taking no chance to do that without professional help. Willing to do all the dirty work but not the scrapping and mounting up back. Found it very informative though will look into it if i encounter any problems.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 12th, 2012, 6:16 am

Omenie wrote:
raybic wrote:made a post on cleaning the gdi intake ...its on the mitsu forums self....
take a look...

Wow that seemed like a job for a mechanic. I aint taking no chance to do that without professional help. Willing to do all the dirty work but not the scrapping and mounting up back. Found it very informative though will look into it if i encounter any problems.

X2 a fist timer is gonna get hell to unmount that intake, cleaning it looks way easier that unmounting.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”