fibre glass enclosure project on hold... will post log L8r

smallz

fibre glass enclosure project on hold... will post log L8r

Postby smallz » October 21st, 2012, 11:19 am

OK fellars.......... :D
My enthusiasm for this project has been stalled as i nw have to shift priorities for the while...
Changing engine in meh car so money tree cyar spare funds for this lil project to materialize just yet.... :cry: will update post once i begin..

and Thanks for the support shown thus far... :wink:

ok..i currently hv a 8" dd sub in my wagon...

the thing is that due to having to use the car for work as well, alot of times i have to move the woofer box to accomodate the materials etc being transported...

my solution for this is to build a fiberglass enclosure to fit into one corner of the back that would resolve my problem...

i am familiar a tad with the proceedure to make the enclosure.. however, the issue is how do calculate or go about getting the correct internal volume for the enclosure for my sub to perform properly????

please help...
Last edited by smallz on November 3rd, 2012, 10:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MonsterPower

Re: need help.... fibre glass enclosure...

Postby MonsterPower » October 21st, 2012, 5:46 pm

somehow i dont thik u will get the output from that 8" as from a bigger sub if u do a fibreglass enclosure

but its easy .. many pple use packing peanuts and just build a 1 ft^2 box and measure from there

Postby nervewrecker » October 21st, 2012, 8:35 pm

how much space (internal volume) the sub needs btw?

Firewall

Postby Firewall » October 21st, 2012, 9:29 pm

dd 1508 performs quite well in a 1 cf ported enclosure.

you dont have to build a 1 cf box, take any box of known volume (could even be cardboard) fill with packing peanuts (could even use sand if available) to your desired volume (if the box tou choose is less than/more than 1cf fill to appropriate.

take some large plastic bags (garbage bags - double up if using sand) fill with your measured volume and stuff it into the location you are considering.

this would give a fairly accurate idea of how much space the box will take up.

smallz

Postby smallz » October 21st, 2012, 11:16 pm

thks for d feedback fellas...
and correct..
its a dd1508 dual 4ohm sub...

see pic posted for the area i plan to fit the enclosure.........

smallz

Postby smallz » October 21st, 2012, 11:20 pm

:n00b:

also...sorry if its a silly question eh but is it possible to still include a port in the enclosure????
kinda prefer ported over sealed...... :|

Firewall

Postby Firewall » October 22nd, 2012, 8:10 am

Yes you can still port the Box. the dImensIons mentIoned before were for a ported box. If you can fIt a 1.2cf box even better.

Actually, I don't think dd recommends using sealed for that sub.

If you are using the entire side panel to tale the mold you should have enough space. If you are using only the area that you pointing to where the cutout is, you may not have enough.

smallz

Postby smallz » October 22nd, 2012, 6:32 pm

Yup.... I'm able to utilise dat whole area if necessary.... :) an so far this seems to be headed in d right direction....

So... I'd have to go wit a round port orrr????

Sent from my BlackBerry 9700 using Tapatalk

Firewall

Postby Firewall » October 22nd, 2012, 7:28 pm

Round might be easiest.....pvc.

smallz

Postby smallz » October 22nd, 2012, 8:28 pm

:D nice............... gettin al hyped up to start dis project.........

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2012, 8:32 pm

make a rough measurement with a ruler self to get an average of the volume from below that black finisher (the hollow and the space above the tyre hump there).
It will look nice if you flush mount it with the face of the hump, I did something similar for a rav 4 recently, I will see if I get some pics nest time I see the van.

I think the DD site recoomends between .75 - 1.5ft^3 for that sub and it has port area and length as well. Depending on what you like you can tweek the length to suit.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 22nd, 2012, 8:33 pm

nervewrecker wrote:make a rough measurement with a ruler self to get an average of the volume from below that black finisher (the hollow and the space above the tyre hump there).
It will look nice if you flush mount it with the face of the hump, I did something similar for a rav 4 recently, I will see if I get some pics nest time I see the van.

Pics nikkah!

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2012, 9:49 pm

Didnt take pics, was a quick thing for a pair of XXX 8". Nothing fancy, its what the owner wanted.

I did it just like how I described this one for the op. If the owner carpets the thing it will look almost stock.

I know I promised the op some tips so here goes:

Spray the area with some water (a fine mist), spread the foil and press it out with your hand to be as smooth as you can get it (a winkle here or there aint no biggy). The water holds the foil in place.

Use pieces of tape to hold the pieces of foil together and run some tape along all over lapping areas.

Mask off more than where needed and mask off the floor with some news papers (in case a few drops fall anywhere or runs).

Cut up some pieces of mat to fit the area. One big piece could do the flat area and some smaller pieces for the curved ones. One big piece can work in the curve but you will have to make some cuts in it and lap it. This step can be done before you lay your foil. It tends to lave a lot of hair's (fibers all over so have your hand brush on standby or a vacume).

I know my mixture in coke can measurements lolz. Mix about 2/3 coke can of resin with approx 8 drops of mkep, stir well. You should have a good 15 minutes to operate there if place warm, if it rainy / overcast use 12 drops. (dosent have to be that amount, you can mix more but average the ratio). To do that entire area you might need 3 times that.

Pass a little cooking oil on the foil before you lay resin, it helps to get the foil off easy (thats up to you).

In a ventilated area, start to brush on your resin. Lay your mat on top and you can try to lay a next layer of resin on top that. Now to push out that air, use the front of the brush to press them out, do it fast like you busting up ice with your ice pick to put down some beers.
The mat might not want to go down flat as the surface kinda curved so as you keep doing that with the brush it kind of 'stretches' out. Remember the mat made up of fibers locked together, they kind of loosen out.
I usually start laying on a next layer on top that one time to save time. Some may have different opinions on that but I never do more than 2 layers at a time. This way you dont have left over resin.

Leave to cure, park in sun if possible.

You can now take a marker and mark off where you will be cutting. Remove and time to cut.

I cut with a dremel but a strategy I develop is to put it under a hose at an angle so it filled with water up to the line where you want to cut. You can shift and change positions but make sure the line always have water on it. Be careful with your dremel and water btw, you dont want it splashing in your dremel.
The trick is to keep the water running slow while you cut because once you cut through the water is going to start to leak out.
By doing this you keep the dust down.

Add more layers, 8 - 10 might be enough. I add cement, sand or metal to line the insides on mine with. But that is a next story. I use a 50:50 cement : resin mixture and close to the same with sand and metal filings. It builds mass but needs approx twice the amount of mkep, very useful in filling creases and spaces.

Now you want to make the face. Cut your baffle, counter sunk etc if you want. You can mount the sub in it and offer it up at the angle you want and make sure you pleased and it can fit etc.
Remove sub and either glue some pieces of wood to it and the fiberglass wall or drill through it and put screws. I prefer the hot glue.
Your baffle should be firmly in place now. Make sure it protrudes a bit so the cloth can pull over it properly.

Now the exciting part...pulling fleece / cloth. You can get a half yard of "jersey cloth" for approx $5.00 by yuffe's. That is all you will need. I use the glue gun to pull the cloth.
Start from one end, put a drop of hot glue and press the cloth unto it (hot glue is hot ok...so be warned). On the opposite end now, pull the cloth firm, put a drop of glue on the side and rest the cloth to it, it should hold. Now tackle another point perpendicular to that so now you have 4 points. Pull the in between pieces but always try to tackle the opposite ends. You should get a firm face.

Apply some resin to the cloth, let it cure, add some mat, 1 layer might do. Dont put resin on the speaker opening ok, you can cut into it and slosh around some resin in there to seal the edges now and cut off the excess cloth on the sides. The excess hard pieces can be grind off with an angle grinder or if you did it neat, the dremel again. Same technique with the water.

Apply some more layers to the face or if you up to it, do it inside. I add a few layers around the inside around the sub baffle.

If you prefer an mdf face, simply cut it, router the edge that goes by the hump (its slat so you will have to curve it), glue the face to the enclosure and pull the cloth over that.
Last edited by nervewrecker on October 22nd, 2012, 10:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.

smallz

Postby smallz » October 22nd, 2012, 10:02 pm

http://www.fiberglassforums.com/subwoof ... hoe-2.html

found this..... so now i have a even better idea how dis goes about... ... :D

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2012, 10:09 pm

This is what I talking about. :D
10 %281%29.jpg
10 %281%29.jpg (72.11 KiB) Viewed 3876 times

smallz

Postby smallz » October 22nd, 2012, 10:10 pm

^^^^ :)

correcto..... and as mentioned earlier... would like to go ported....

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2012, 10:14 pm

I cant see the link, it says I have already exceed the maximum amount of views and for the longest while I tryna register there and not getting through. :(

smallz

Postby smallz » October 22nd, 2012, 10:25 pm

:( wel i jus discovered it an gettin dat prompt... steupz...............

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2012, 10:38 pm

well I edited my post above, should keep you occupied for awhile, rinse and clean your brush with acetone ok, or every 15 minutes you will need a new brush.

smallz

Postby smallz » October 22nd, 2012, 10:53 pm

^^^^^^^^^^^
O.O

hoss.... u sit n type all dat???
lol... thks for ur time thus far...
and encouragement...
and yeah.. thats definitely gonna keep me occupied for a good bit....

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2012, 11:12 pm

I type it because you taking the time to share your build. :)

Firewall

Postby Firewall » October 22nd, 2012, 11:36 pm

just a couple of things i'd do differently, but its just a matter of preference really:

1) tape off the entire area. (blue painters tape or normal masking tape would work fine, i just don't trust the foil alone.)

2) build the base out of mdf. (actually in your case the base, top and front can be done in mdf)

3) for filling holes instead of using sand/concrete as its your first time, to fill any spaces that you think need filling, make your own kittyhair (body filler/hardener/resin/hardener/finely cut mat)

4) mekp will eat hot glue. the better choice will be to tack with the hot glue and do final adjustments with CA glue (krazy glue)

5) rabbet all wooden edges where you will be stretching fabric and staple them into place. The rabbet will help to prevent the glass/mdf boundary being too obvious

smallz

Postby smallz » October 23rd, 2012, 7:13 am

^^^^

yup, as firewall pointed out, i was thinkin the same... doing the base and sidewall with mdf... the top i'd prob give the fleece a go at to give it a lil "flair"

currently browsin all the forums and lookin at similar builds to envision how i want mines turn out...

so far i knw i want it to look 100% stock... not no fancy paint finish n stuff.....

with the support thus far.. i'm tryin very hard to make d time to go gets my materials....
this gonna b one ah dem tings dat i prefer doing than getting my jobs done...
wifey done chkin d scene an sayin "yuh gonna build a nxt box again???" lol

Postby nervewrecker » October 23rd, 2012, 12:18 pm

I use the foil as it takes less time to apply and remove.

Personally i'd go the way Firewall mentioned (its up to you if you want to do it that way or pull fleece). With that way it will look like just an extended tyre hump thingy. If you do it both sides minds can be blown when someone looks back there and cant find a sub box :lol:

I meant glue the cloth on the side near the back. But if he doing it like what you mention in point number 2, no need for all that.

I forgot about body filler *shame*, never used it. Good for beginners or the chopped up mat and resin mixture is another great option. I feel its best you go with these in case you fill from the outside and may be looking to do some sanding for shaping and smoothening.....sanding concrete or mortar is not a good idea. 0.o :lol:
Something you might want to familiarise yourself with is 'green sanding'. I learnt about it in the glass thread here and did some more resercah into it. Cured resin is more or less hard but freshly cured still a bit soft (when the stickyness gone) so it easier to tackle with your rough sand paper.

There is a fiberglass thread in here where a lot of this info pulled from (as well as other forums) but I guess we just saving you the time of having to read through all the pages.

Where you from? I buy resin in San Fernando. You can get your sub from triple R in sando one time if you havent scored it already.

Tell wifey you getting rid of the box and giving back the whole trunk for groceries. :lol:

smallz

Postby smallz » October 23rd, 2012, 5:28 pm

@ nervewrecker.... i frm la romain... well 1, i have the sub already an 2, i plan to get the materials for the project dwn by d place by d warf dat does sell all dem kinda fishing supplies an fibreglass ting....

the part bout beginnin sanding when its semi cured.. i saw that in another forum so that part is noted..

wel pertainin to the enclosure, i gonna do the bottom and sidewall in mdf so i can have the flush mount effect... not sure entirely if i putting the sub at any angle or anythin.. if i do. is for no particuler reason.. only for aesthetic gain... but more than likely not as i wanna include stratchin the fleece to get a sort of stock look to the ends of the enclosure so it blends back to all existing trim and mouldings..

Firewall

Postby Firewall » October 23rd, 2012, 5:58 pm

Aye, sanding in the green stage is NOT for when dealing with the resin stage. Try that and you will be hunting acetone by the gallon.

It is when using the body filler. a lot of material can be taken off quickly to get it down to where the delicate finishing work is starting. Weapon of choice is a normal cheese grater. Mostly used before block sanding.

The place you are talking about is General Stores. I buy all my stuff from them although Corsa Marketing is just at the base of the hospital also. (One is before the hospItal, the other is after)

Last thing, wherever you go to buy your stocks ask for a little bottle of "tack free" and add it to the resin when applying the LAST layer alone. This will kill the scent and allow it to harden "better"

Postby X_Factor » October 23rd, 2012, 6:58 pm

u can get something called mold release and brush it onto the foil

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » October 24th, 2012, 12:42 am

X_Factor wrote:u can get something called mold release and brush it onto the foil

I wouldn't use foil at all. The last time I tried that, the result looked like crap. Masking tape and a good application or two of carnauba wax on top of that was good enough. A light coating of resin, then application of fiberglass matt subsequently dabbed with resin on top of that almost completely eliminated the formation of any "holes". Make sure to use a LOT of wax though - I didn't on my first try, and ended up with a mold that was a bit difficult to remove because it was stuck to the masking tape which in turn was stuck to the side of the car.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » October 24th, 2012, 12:47 am

smallz wrote:wel pertainin to the enclosure, i gonna do the bottom and sidewall in mdf so i can have the flush mount effect.

It's a good idea to do any flat section in MDF. Also, don't forget to include some bracing. You're making a subwoofer enclosure, not a drum.

Postby nervewrecker » October 24th, 2012, 9:29 am

Looks like what I been calling green sanding is not green sanding then :lol:

Always got good results with foil though.

I been lazy to look for mold release too.