JoeBama wrote:^^ i'm gonna try cold turkey first and use as prescribed if i still have the craving bad...worried about side effects tho...
Hook wrote:nah boi Damien. Everybody's built differently. I've a buddy who only smokes when he drinks. That that's maybe once or twice a mth with a couple beers after work or football.
Another smokes only when he's really stressed. In the last decade I've seen him under REAL stress and only ever seen him smoke once.
I know to myself that I form habits really easily, so I don't take example from them. I know if I have "just the one smoke", I start over. Chalk it up to a lesson learned and push the reset button if you really want to quit for good.
Stephon. wrote:Three Hundred and Twenty Eight Days (328)
Hook wrote:boy to be honest, for me was just the in thing to do as a teenager, which was strange, even for me...being a "rebel" of sorts
believe it or not, I'd quit for several years and taken it back up as an adult...used to smoke the occasional 5piece and sometimes a roll-on, but never the cig part, until a day I light a blend for a padnuh and accidentally inhaled...it felt good...it felt reeeaaal good...that was 13 years ago...I quit in February of this year.
I occasionally get a "craving", but not quite. It's more of a habit thing. The last few weekends I've been doing a lot of work around the house and on the car and I'd bought beers to sip afterwards, but each time, for a second I felt as though I should be lighting up one to go with my beer.
Not me and that nuh. I'm seeing notable improvement in my breathing and overall health since I quit and I'm not about to give that up just so.
I regret two things about quitting though - substituting those night smokes for snacks, and not putting away $20 a day as if I were still spending it on cigarettes. I'm exercising and cutting down the snacks now though. Everything in due course.
DVSTT wrote:Congrats on the smoke free days guys! I'm sure your lungs are thanking you lol! But what caused you guys to actually start smoking in the first place?