Letter to CCN from Com. Min.Jamal Mohammed

Imran007

Re: Letter to CCN from Com. Min.Jamal Mohammed

Postby Imran007 » October 25th, 2012, 9:42 am

this is an open letter to the "...‘Insignificant Muslim Cooli-e’ from San Juan"

TV6 has their own Muslim Cooli-e’ from San Juan...Fazeer Mohammed, (i hope he not related to you)

Mamoo Jamal, please go back to Mastana

Postby zoom rader » October 25th, 2012, 10:19 am

r3iXmann wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:Nothing wrong with mamooo... it is uncle. I call both my brother and bro in law that in front of my son. It took a derogatory slant when east indian cricketers on the WI team were refeered to as such to say "mamoo cyah stan up in hot sun" etc. when they were playing crap. Some people use it as a racial slurr in that context, but the word is not bad initself.

It is used everyday in trini, but to think we have so-called trinis that dont know what it is used for. It is used as sign of respect for elders in hindi rather that "yo, opps,eah, boss"

the man admitted he was ignorant as to the origin of the word; why is that a problem? how does that make him less trini? is it trini to sling around words that you don't know the meaning of or if they may cause a slight to person(s)?

Trini is blended culture of a rainbow people, we have formed our own dialect of english and other languages mix in. The problem is that for the past number of years there have been in influx of "other people" coming here that dont fit in, just to think Indos have been here for 165 years the "other people" cant pronounce Indo names. When you look at news reporters nearly all of them are from the other small island and they mis pronounce indo names.
It is a problem when they cant understand the culture and the Language.
This is in no mean aimed at rfari.

Postby Country_Bookie » October 25th, 2012, 10:22 am

TV6 has always been all about sensationalism of the news, since the 90’s. I guess now we know why Eric Williams and George Chambers never opened up the broadcast media, and we were stuck with TTT as our only channel for the first 29 years of independence.

I dislike news programs where they report the news with their own editorial thrown in to comment or colour the facts in a certain light. How about just reporting the facts straight up, and let me come to my own conclusions?
I guess that won’t work for ppl who can’t think for themselves.

Postby zoom rader » October 25th, 2012, 10:27 am

^^^ Dude Chambers wanted to change things, but the PNM held him back. Chambers was like Jesus he took all blame for the sins of the PNM.

Postby rfari » October 25th, 2012, 10:32 am

Wha canal dey pull this man from bai? Kamla eh easy nah

Postby maj. tom » October 25th, 2012, 10:33 am

Country_Bookie wrote:TV6 has always been all about sensationalism of the news, since the 90’s. I guess now we know why Eric Williams and George Chambers never opened up the broadcast media, and we were stuck with TTT as our only channel for the first 29 years of independence.

I dislike news programs where they report the news with their own editorial thrown in to comment or colour the facts in a certain light. How about just reporting the facts straight up, and let me come to my own conclusions?

You mean like how FOX news runs against Democrats, fairness or common sense and only appeals to a certain demographic?
Nevertheless, the freedom of speech is exemplified by the role of the media and they are on the front line everyday in this issue. If there was any real slander or misrepresentation of a person, that person has the right to take it to court to sort it out, using our given civil processes.

That letter was just weak and whiny. The political phrase Truman put forward "if you can't take the heat, get out of the kitchen" stands.

Postby rfari » October 25th, 2012, 10:34 am

Country_Bookie wrote:TV6 has always been all about sensationalism of the news, since the 90’s. I guess now we know why Eric Williams and George Chambers never opened up the broadcast media, and we were stuck with TTT as our only channel for the first 29 years of independence.

Point our the instances where tv6 transgressed during the pp government 2+ years in office.

Postby zoom rader » October 25th, 2012, 10:40 am

rfari wrote:Wha canal dey pull this man from bai? Kamla eh easy nah

Nice to know that you know some Hindi words, "Bai & Nah". They may be some trini in you

Postby rfari » October 25th, 2012, 10:41 am

Nice to know that you know some Hindi words, "Bai & Nah". They may be some trini in you

We dealing with srs issues and yuh gleb glebbing? Better dan dat

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 25th, 2012, 10:44 am

Notsureifsashamohammed

Postby zoom rader » October 25th, 2012, 10:47 am

rfari wrote:

This issuse is a non issuse. Express is just making money from a non issuses.

Postby rfari » October 25th, 2012, 11:59 am

rfari wrote:

This issuse is a non issuse. Express is just making money from a non issuses.

I knw u were gonna say that.

Postby rfari » October 25th, 2012, 12:00 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:Nothing wrong with mamooo... it is uncle. I call both my brother and bro in law that in front of my son. It took a derogatory slant when east indian cricketers on the WI team were refeered to as such to say "mamoo cyah stan up in hot sun" etc. when they were playing crap. Some people use it as a racial slurr in that context, but the word is not bad initself.

It is used everyday in trini, but to think we have so-called trinis that dont know what it is used for. It is used as sign of respect for elders in hindi rather that "yo, opps,eah, boss"

the man admitted he was ignorant as to the origin of the word; why is that a problem? how does that make him less trini? is it trini to sling around words that you don't know the meaning of or if they may cause a slight to person(s)?

Trini is blended culture of a rainbow people, we have formed our own dialect of english and other languages mix in. The problem is that for the past number of years there have been in influx of "other people" coming here that dont fit in, just to think Indos have been here for 165 years the "other people" cant pronounce Indo names. When you look at news reporters nearly all of them are from the other small island and they mis pronounce indo names.
It is a problem when they cant understand the culture and the Language.
This is in no mean aimed at rfari.

I knw u cyar be talking about me so. Other islands. Ha!

Postby Greypatch » October 25th, 2012, 5:21 pm

ppl like that should NOT hold any public office

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 25th, 2012, 7:45 pm

maybe dem fellas really puttin up smoke screen. gheeeein d population wah they want to talk about.

Postby pioneer » October 25th, 2012, 8:28 pm

Postby sMASH » October 25th, 2012, 9:48 pm

'first impression'
this is like the first 'formal' sort of condemnation and broad brushing of the tv6. to the supporters, of the pp, every time they see tv6 they would have this sentiment in mind. the same 'coloration' thingy, tv6 is now colored as against the PP. now, every lil thing that they do, they would raise the alarm that tv6 is biased against their clan.

i think, they goin to make a move on tv6, or ian and blame tv6 for supporting him and broad brush all of them together. i see a trap.

Postby zoom rader » October 26th, 2012, 3:48 am

sMASH wrote:'first impression'
this is like the first 'formal' sort of condemnation and broad brushing of the tv6. to the supporters, of the pp, every time they see tv6 they would have this sentiment in mind. the same 'coloration' thingy, tv6 is now colored as against the PP. now, every lil thing that they do, they would raise the alarm that tv6 is biased against their clan.

i think, they goin to make a move on tv6, or ian and blame tv6 for supporting him and broad brush all of them together. i see a trap.

years ago the Guardian was a PNM newspaper and there was a call not to buy that newspapers, as a result of this the guardian lost business and had had to re-think what it wrote about.
The time has come to read a proper newspaper.

Postby rfari » October 26th, 2012, 4:07 am

years ago the Guardian was a PNM newspaper and there was a call not to buy that newspapers, as a result of this the guardian lost business and had had to re-think what it wrote about.

Lolwut?

Postby rfari » October 26th, 2012, 6:59 am

zoom zader, the honourable minister of communication wants to lend you the official PP bike

Jamal 'sorry' for media attack
By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Oct 25, 2012 at 9:55 PM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 25, 2012 at 10:09 PM ECT
Communications Minister Jamal Mohammed yesterday apologised for his attack on the media through personal e-mails to Express and TV6 journalists, saying he did not know he could not divide his personal and professional portfolios.
Last Saturday, Mohammed sent a private and confidential e-mail to an Express journalist taking issue over an article which he believed was taken out of context.
On Tuesday, Mohammed sent another private and confidential e-mail to TV6 head of news Dominic Kalipersad, not in his capacity as Government Minister, but as "an insignificant, Muslim Indo Trini from San Juan", where he alleged that CCN TV6 and the Express (both part of One Caribbean Media) were biased in their reporting and were in cahoots with the Opposition PNM to destabalise the Kamla Persad-Bissessar-led People's Partnership Government.
Mohammed came under fire from media officials who criticised the minister for his inability to understand his portfolio and media relations.
Mohammed was questioned on the issue yesterday at the post-Cabinet news conference at the Office of the Prime Minister, St Clair.
Asked whether his private e-mails and the criticisms levelled will further deteriorate relations between Government and media, Mohammed said: "I believe that media in Trinidad and Tobago has the full support and cooperation of the Government of Trinidad and Tobago. We view freedom of the press and press freedom as a very important aspect of our development here in Trinidad and Tobago and your best friend in Government is the Minister of Communications."
Questioned further on the view that he cannot send personal e-mails to media members while holding the position of Communications Minister, he responded: "I realise that now, I learnt that lesson today and if I've caused any discomfort to anyone I humbly apologise.
"My statement that was sent out to Mr Kalipersad ... I apologise if I have hurt anyone or done anything to make anyone feel uncomfortable in any way, but rest assured press freedom is a very important part of the operations of the Government of Trinidad and Tobago and I would like that we leave it at that and we would do what we can to ensure that we have a free press in Trinidad and Tobago," said Mohammed.
"We may not agree with what you print or what you publish but we will give our lives to ensure that you have the freedom to print and publish what you would like."
On the content of the e-mail and his allegations that the Express and TV6 were biased, Mohammed said: "I prefer not to make any comment on the content of the letter, provided to say that the Government of Trinidad and Tobago stands firmly behind the media of Trinidad and Tobago...press freedom is something we value a great deal in Trinidad and Tobago and we will do what we can do to ensure that we have a free press in Trinidad and Tobago."
Told that his statements and assurances on press freedom contradict what he expressed in his personal letters, he said: "I make no comment."
The media attempted to press Mohammed further on the matter, but Dennis McComie, director of communications at the Office of the Prime Minister, intervened and ended the news conference.
McComie got into a tiff with some media members as he criticised them for not being professional and not following protocol.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Jam ... 96561.html

Postby nemisis » October 26th, 2012, 7:24 am

Fire him one time

Postby eliteauto » October 26th, 2012, 7:36 am

Anyone who made such a call is clearly against press freedom, no political party has been more vilified in the press than the PNM, yet they have not displayed the level of thin skinnedness shown by the PP

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 26th, 2012, 7:39 am

whatever happens lets all keep T&T Pnm FREE please.

Postby zoom rader » October 26th, 2012, 7:42 am

eliteauto wrote:

Anyone who made such a call is clearly against press freedom, no political party has been more vilified in the press than the PNM, yet they have not displayed the level of thin skinnedness shown by the PP

Seems you forgot about the PNMs Green paper on the media

Postby eliteauto » October 26th, 2012, 7:51 am

No I haven't just like I haven't forgotten Manning's visit to the radio station, however I also haven't forgotten our Minister of National security on "live" television indicating keeping a record on a reporter inclusive of her address etc. or the withholding of State advertising in certain arms of the media deemed to be anti-PP. Any intrusions on the fourth estate must be vigorously defended against

Postby zoom rader » October 26th, 2012, 8:05 am

^^^ Yes the media must be defended but they must also print the truth and not half lies. Too many misleading stories are being printed and thank Jah that the poplulation knows better to beleive such printed crap.
The media prints more half lies about the UNC & PP that they ever did with the PNM.

Its the same with PNM Kaiso Tents when they sang anti indo crap. The indos that went to these tent stopped going and as a result they lost business.

Postby eliteauto » October 26th, 2012, 8:11 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Yes the media must be defended but they must also print the truth and not half lies. Too many misleading stories are being printed and thank Jah that the poplulation knows better to beleive such printed crap.
The media prints more half lies about the UNC & PP that they ever did with the PNM.

Its the same with PNM Kaiso Tents when they sang anti indo crap. The indos that went to these tent stopped going and as a result they lost business.

we can agree on the Kaiso tents, I myself despise the anti-indo content, just yest I was remarking that the best (musically and construction wise) soca-parang for the season is Cro Cro's " Section 34" which I would not play in a lime to offend anyone.

btw half lies is the same as half truths, that suggests the presence of truth in the reports :lol:

Postby nemisis » October 26th, 2012, 8:13 am

^^^ if the media is twisting, mis quoting and falsely carrying across information then I'm sure the pp have legal options, so why not use them??

Postby sharkman121 » October 26th, 2012, 8:26 am

nemisis wrote:^^^ if the media is twisting, mis quoting and falsely carrying across information then I'm sure the pp have legal options, so why not use them??

makes you wonder why they not suing tv6/express for slander/libel. Does the pp have sufficient evidence/information or are they just making loose allegations.

Postby eliteauto » October 26th, 2012, 8:51 am

and we know this is the most litigious Gov't ever, lawsuits from ah side