Fake phones out there ppl. Be aware!

shivapersad

Fake phones out there ppl. Be aware!

Postby shivapersad » October 28th, 2012, 8:50 am

Good day tuner guys and gals,
I would like to share with you an experience I had with another tuner (PM me if you want to know his handle) and a fake Galaxy S3 he traded me. The tuner posted this in his post:
Oct 17 - samsung s3 new brand in box offers invited
for sale $4500
international version
samsung s3
offers invited
want it sell by the ending of tomorrow
call plz does not really be online
Price drop want it sold today $4000
Today 3600 need it sell now

I contacted the tuner for a trade with my iPhone 4 32GB and he indicated he was only interested in cash. On Saturday 20th October, 2012 he PM'ed me telling me that I could trade the iPhone 4 32GB and some cash for his S3. I met the tuner on Sunday and did the trade. Upon inspection of the phone everything looked fine externally. When I powered the phone (he told the battery was nearly dead) the interface seemed ok although missing some of the normal things I'd expect on an S3 and the display seemed dimmed (I thought it was a mix of the sun and screen protector he had on it). After the trade I had some other business to attend to and reached home later in the day where I charged the S3 and attempted to root it.
When I could not root the phone I decided to check the Build Number online (IMM76D.I9300ZSALE9) upon which I came upon a thread indicating that it was a clone from a company called Mediatek. I called back the tuner and promptly asked back from my stuff. He said he would call the person he bought the phone from to verify. When he called back he told me that his seller indicated the phone was real and that I was trying to give him a fake phone. Being as upset as I was I used some very coarse language which of course brought no result. I still have the phone as I have made other attempts to recoup my stuff but thus far I believe it will take some time if I follow through. Not to mention he has probably changed SIM cards because everytime I call it goes to voicemail.
You can take away what you want from my experience but I am sure there have been other persons who were faced with similar situations and got no redress. Unfortunately I am in the same situation but I want it known that there are individuals out there selling/trading fake goods as the real thing.
Again if you want to know the tuner's handle you can PM me. I have attached pics of the fake S3. You tell me if you can spot the difference.
Last edited by shivapersad on October 28th, 2012, 9:35 am, edited 2 times in total.

Jade_Inc.

Re: Fake phones out there ppl. Be aware!

Postby Jade_Inc. » October 28th, 2012, 8:55 am

Dem little pics u attached-_-

shivapersad

Postby shivapersad » October 28th, 2012, 8:57 am

will upload better pics in a few ^_^

Postby Rainman » October 28th, 2012, 9:02 am

Is his name on the receipt?

shivapersad

Postby shivapersad » October 28th, 2012, 9:03 am

Uploaded better pics. @Rainman unfortunately no it's not.

Postby tr1ad » October 28th, 2012, 9:03 am

shivapersad wrote: When I powered the phone (he told the battery was nearly dead) the interface seemed ok although missing some of the normal things I'd expect on an S3 and the display seemed dimmed (I thought it was a mix of the sun and screen protector he had on it).

poor fella

Postby r3iXmann » October 28th, 2012, 9:07 am

Go all out to get your justice. Just for the principle of it. Thieves and conmen are the scum of the earth

Postby joker » October 28th, 2012, 9:09 am

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 28th, 2012, 9:12 am

well for one the samsung brand seem to be slightly offset from this pic

shivapersad

Postby shivapersad » October 28th, 2012, 9:16 am

@joker thanks for the video post. Just to let you know in the video they make reference to the battery being "Sunsung" this phone's battery actually says "Samsung". I'll post a pic of it.

Postby black start » October 28th, 2012, 9:28 am

lol?what funny in that?

And this phone con business does work both ways eh. A couple month ago, I sell a man a phone. Quite a while after the guy called me back and tell me how I could do him that and this phone in a real mess and this not working and that not working. Now as I said quite a while passed eh, and he wanted his money back. So obviously, i was very hesitant. Man start to make post and thing in the miscellaneous classifieds ( F*ucking tuner lost soul from couva) have up my name and number like I rob him or sum. Eventually, to avoid any trouble and all the slander of my name i call him and tell him i will give him back he money and take back my phone once it was in the condition it was given to him.

When the mark draw, it's because the man open my phone and take parts from it to put in another phone and want to give me back my phone and say it not working.

When he realized I was catching on to him, he never called back and never asked back for his money.

Just a word of caution, be carefully of how you do business on tuner. It have real con men out there. Make sure and have proper documentation of your items, produce/collect a receipt, take pictures of your stuff and if you could, mark your item to make sure it wasn't tampered with.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 28th, 2012, 9:30 am

think your first mistake was downgrading from an iphone and paying cash on top of that....

Postby black start » October 28th, 2012, 9:33 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:think your first mistake was downgrading from an iphone and paying cash on top of that....

bandwagonists will have a field day with you good sir

Postby joker » October 28th, 2012, 9:36 am

lost soul wrote:

lol?what funny in that?

And this phone con business does work both ways eh. A couple month ago, I sell a man a phone. Quite a while after the guy called me back and tell me how I could do him that and this phone in a real mess and this not working and that not working. Now as I said quite a while passed eh, and he wanted his money back. So obviously, i was very hesitant. Man start to make post and thing in the miscellaneous classifieds ( F*ucking tuner lost soul from couva) have up my name and number like I rob him or sum. Eventually, to avoid any trouble and all the slander of my name i call him and tell him i will give him back he money and take back my phone once it was in the condition it was given to him.

When the mark draw, it's because the man open my phone and take parts from it to put in another phone and want to give me back my phone and say it not working.

When he realized I was catching on to him, he never called back and never asked back for his money.

Just a word of caution, be carefully of how you do business on tuner. It have real con men out there. Make sure and have proper documentation of your items, produce/collect a receipt, take pictures of your stuff and if you could, mark your item to make sure it wasn't tampered with.

LOL ... [/sarcasm] :roll:

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 28th, 2012, 9:38 am

lost soul wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:think your first mistake was downgrading from an iphone and paying cash on top of that....

i picked up an s3 once and wondered how they can compare it to an iphone....plastic and cheap....

Postby black start » October 28th, 2012, 9:39 am

^small thing.....I experiencing real blonde moments these days....decent link btw.

Postby r3iXmann » October 28th, 2012, 9:40 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:i picked up an s3 once and wondered how they can compare it to an iphone....plastic and cheap....

Function over form 8-)

shivapersad

Postby shivapersad » October 28th, 2012, 9:45 am

@lost soul. yea man it was a truly eye opening experience. If I decide trade something on tuners again I'll definitely take steps to ensure this or anything like it doesn't happen again.

Postby joker » October 28th, 2012, 9:55 am

"I decided to check the Build Number online (IMM76D.I9300ZSALE9) upon which I came upon a thread indicating that it was a clone from a company called Mediatek."

If it were me i would have done my research first then ask him for the BN check ,confirm price , head to a place with a camera(in case of robbery/smartman ) conduct transaction .

like just now I call a powerseller who "CLAIMS " he does bring down everything
and i ask him for a quote on something that is legal and he say "nah i doh bring that!"

Postby black start » October 28th, 2012, 9:59 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:
lost soul wrote:

i picked up an s3 once and wondered how they can compare it to an iphone....plastic and cheap....

My 3g ancient now and still working like ah boss. The housing still in good condition. A padna of mines both a samsung and it fell by mistake, oh well.....

shivapersad

Postby shivapersad » October 28th, 2012, 10:02 am

@joker I would definitely say I learned from this experience and now know a much better way to conduct business. @lost soul yea iPhones are definitely of better build quality. in a drop test with water the S3 died underwater while the 4S actually continued working as normal :O.

Postby tr1ad » October 28th, 2012, 10:02 am

r3iXmann wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:i picked up an s3 once and wondered how they can compare it to an iphone....plastic and cheap....

Function over form 8-)

neither smartphones or any can be compared, each have their pros and cons

Postby joker » October 28th, 2012, 10:07 am

so this is a case where a smartman outsmarted a man with a smartphone?

shivapersad

Postby shivapersad » October 28th, 2012, 10:12 am

^LOL yea @joker thaz the case. real smart thing happen.lol.

deliah

Postby deliah » October 28th, 2012, 10:21 am

Postby rfari » October 28th, 2012, 10:22 am

This scary jed. Hard luck op

Postby sharkman121 » October 28th, 2012, 10:26 am

sorry to hear this OP, i feel anyone of us could have got taken on this one also. Hope u get JOSSTISSS

Daran

Postby Daran » October 28th, 2012, 10:30 am

LOL i still don't understand why people don't buy these phones being from Digicel & Bmobile (at excellent prices mind you). Instead they choose to buy it from small smart man or small kiosk.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 28th, 2012, 10:38 am

damn..

Postby rfari » October 28th, 2012, 10:39 am

I for a sting operation in misc classifeds targeting this sort of thing. Can someone identify any fakes on sale now?