Fake phones out there ppl. Be aware!

Re: Fake phones out there ppl. Be aware!

Postby S_2NR » October 28th, 2012, 4:18 pm

That really sucks op.
Can the admin/mods do an iptrace on the user who sold the fake phone?
Alot of info could be gotten from an ip.

Op is best u seek ur own justice. Police here too laidback.

shivapersad

Postby shivapersad » October 28th, 2012, 5:14 pm

@S_2NR I don't think the admins will want to do that as Duane stated earlier that it's basically my word against the seller. Who doesn't believe me that's their choice I just decided that by sharing my experience it would sound a signal for persons to be more aware of purchasing items not just on tuners but anywhere. Everyone works hard for their dollar and there are some unscrupulous people out there waiting to take it away from you with fake items but from the response I've seen in the thread quite a few people here on trinituners were fooled by fake or knock off items. Some tuners even sharing their experiences so it just goes to show you to be cautious every step of the way.

P.S. The man change the title of the post to "Delete".LOL. I saw another tuner asked to trade him a goat for the iPhone 4 *thumbs up*. But as he told me he already gave it to a gyul so he can't take it back not to mention he spend the money I gave him on the same day *smh*.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2012, 6:06 pm

^ any update from the police report you made?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2012, 6:10 pm

S_2NR wrote:That really sucks op.
Can the admin/mods do an iptrace on the user who sold the fake phone?
Alot of info could be gotten from an ip.

Op is best u seek ur own justice. Police here too laidback.

He has the sellers cell phone number and proof that he sold numerous phones. The Police can get information from that and definitely see if the IMEI number matches on the fake phone since the OP said the seller used the "fake" SIII before trading it. This will prove that he traded/sold the phone.

That is far better than an IP address since most IP addresses are dynamic and change daily from user to user.

shivapersad

Postby shivapersad » October 28th, 2012, 6:28 pm

@Duane I need to wait two weeks to apply for the copy. I gave them both his numbers but the police said it's a private matter and if I want my stuff back I will have to go through a lawyer and put him before a Justice of the Peace.
I agree with the IP address tracing doesn't make sense since IPs change dynamically and he wasn't online much anyway.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 28th, 2012, 7:18 pm

See now this is why you need to not go head first into purchasing these things...

I saw that SIII post and it was vague; just as many a seller here has done for cars, parts or anything. This is why I like images in a post and for the very least a paper with username and date.... but that is just me.

Some have issues cause most 2nrs just want pics to macco but the fact is it assists in making certain decisions... yes if someone wants something they will contact the seller and arrange to see/ buy but in this day and age not everyone feels safe to do so.

Anyway, if you have vague posts of items for sale just saying for example:
Starship enterprise D for sale
low space mileage
Slight Warp scratches
Sellin cause the Enterprise E class taking up garage space

$1700000000000.00

perhaps then you should consider looking elsewhere. Now I am not saying that there aren't legit 2nrs out there who may be as vague but I personally wouldn't watch a post with no real detail or image and decide to buy anything or even call the person cause being that vague causes alarm bells to go off for me...

shivapersad

Postby shivapersad » October 28th, 2012, 7:43 pm

@Mishi thanks for the advice. It's much appreciated.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » October 28th, 2012, 9:43 pm

I see people mention having a list/sticky/rating system.
But what if someone on the negative part of list, just decides to change ip and re-register a new account? :|
Back to square one.

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » October 28th, 2012, 9:52 pm

OP thas real sheit dred.

See if you can get the police to assist in getting the name/address of the person in whose the name the sim(s) were registered to. That's a start. Some advice, never trust any sale, always have doubts. Look at the seller's profile, see how long they are here on tuner and if they sold anything before and any feedback that may have been on their transactions. Also when transactions are worth more than say 200 - 300, always demand a receipt, along with some form of identification from the seller. If they are truthful sellers they should not have a problem giving verification, if they fret then don't give up your $$$. Also, in the phone area, before you leave, write down things like the IMEI etc on the receipt/copy itself. Wa i does do, i walk with my own receipt book, so the man cyah tell me he doe have any receipt, i make my own and give them the copy. Hope u get some sort of justice man

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » October 28th, 2012, 9:55 pm

meet the person at a police station to transact ur business...and stand up there, take ur time and throughly check ur product. If u dont have time, postpone til u do.

Ud be surprised how accommodating some police stations are if u go and explain ur situation befor eu meet said ppl.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 28th, 2012, 10:05 pm

next time ask for a proper receipt with the phone's serial number

Postby j.o.e » October 28th, 2012, 10:15 pm

In these situations once u already got scammed police are of no help. They don't care about the money u lost unless the guy put a gun to your head and took it. Con artists are institutionalised in Trinidad there is no real means to have them punished or have your concern dealt with. Unless u gonna planass the man or something its a loss cause. Our culture doesn't reward those who do the "right" or "legal" thing. Don't study it u learnt your lesson and others have learnt from your mistake.

FURIOUSBENNY

Postby FURIOUSBENNY » October 29th, 2012, 7:32 am

Sorry to hear about this man Shiva, police won't do much to help now seeing as its up to a purchaser to satisfy themself with a product before parting with their money or product.

Once the exchange is made its legally binding unless you had a warranty/ guarantee on the product or can "prove" that the seller used some form of "fraud/deceit" to pass off the product as something else causing you to take it believing it was that other item.

Best bet is Petty Civil court, that is the only "legal" way to get recourse and a refund of your money. Even if the police are able to take your report they have no power to cause the person to return your phone or its value in cash, they will just lock him up and then you will have the stress of going to court etc ever so often.

But there are other option available to according to how creative you want to be.. :wink:

avenall

Postby avenall » October 29th, 2012, 7:45 am

who is the tuner?

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » October 29th, 2012, 7:55 am

post tuner name!

link

Postby link » October 29th, 2012, 8:00 am

Daran wrote:LOL i still don't understand why people don't buy these phones being from Digicel & Bmobile (at excellent prices mind you). Instead they choose to buy it from small smart man or small kiosk.

because every time u go to Bmobile...dem fcuking tellin' u "out of stock'....
not goin' to Digicel...
rgds

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 29th, 2012, 8:01 am

shivapersad i actually believe you but this ought to be a learning lesson for all of us and thank you very much for the heads-up. The clone industry is rampant now not just in phones but is nearlly all electronics and computers etc etc. Some may never know they got a clone but some of us would identify it quickly.

There are some things you can purchase from a tuner power seller but most of these powersellers lack class and ethics and ofcourse they are bogus. A bunch of hustlers who one day will realize they will never succeed in what they do unless they stop fooling their customers.

I was tempted once to purchase my phone in here but my wife told me not to do it so I went and paid bmobile price and waited like everyone else in bmobile line.

I encourage you to pursue this legally until you get your justice.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » October 29th, 2012, 8:46 am

D.S.S wrote:post tuner name!

seller7... after all this bashing, i'm sure he's gonna deactivate anyways...

Postby Morpheus » October 29th, 2012, 8:53 am

MISHI posted a link previously

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=467180

Apparently he took it back from the girl
*rolls eyes

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » October 29th, 2012, 8:56 am

So OP you selling d phone orr?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 29th, 2012, 10:37 am

3ne2nr should do like zilvia and other sites that make an attempt to protect its membership.

http://zilvia.net/rules.html

A system worthy of investigation.
Classifieds are free but any thread not providing sufficient info (even for wheels in the topic description) are locked/deleted.
Users are blocked/deleted for spamming or "harassing" sellers sales.
If you try to bump your thread more than 3 times, thread locked, don't even think of asking your friends to bump it too much :lol: LOCKED.

And THAT forum is a lil' more rough than here. Don't search and they'll allow a couple of members to e-kick you before locking your thread :lol:, even if it's a very technical question.

Postby TRAE » October 29th, 2012, 11:02 am

shivapersad wrote:@Duane I need to wait two weeks to apply for the copy. I gave them both his numbers but the police said it's a private matter and if I want my stuff back I will have to go through a lawyer and put him before a Justice of the Peace.
I agree with the IP address tracing doesn't make sense since IPs change dynamically and he wasn't online much anyway.

Well... Duane next time he logs on we can get the MAC Address from the service providers, if its FLOW you can msg Rob (he's manager now) or i can give you the Admins contact to get the mac address

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 29th, 2012, 11:05 am

sounds good there conrad...

btw if anyone needs a radiator for a J31 Cefiro with the QR20 engine, I have one for sale....I think that I could be trusted....

Postby TRAE » October 29th, 2012, 11:09 am

BTW consumer affairs on the whole in trinidad Sux... I remember going to a store in POS and buying a Dual Sim phone (when it was now introduced), and the phone gave me a message saying it would reboot and counted down and never came back on. when i call -- rel threat and thing--- consumer affairs took the case and said that they have rel reports on the store but they cant force the store to do anything... what de so and so them there for then...

never the less after the back and forth the guy changed it for another that had an issue where the speaker was working... i only got things changed when i went with some armory and forced him to change his mind...

store located in POS--- Town Center mall--- downstairs there

Postby AllTrac » October 29th, 2012, 11:12 am

KURMAman wrote:meet the person at a police station to transact ur business...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2012, 11:18 am

Conrad wrote:3ne2nr should do like zilvia and other sites that make an attempt to protect its membership.

Classifieds are free but any thread not providing sufficient info (even for wheels in the topic description) are locked/deleted.
If you try to bump your thread more than 3 times, thread locked, don't even think of asking your friends to bump it too much :lol: LOCKED.

And THAT forum is a lil' more rough than here. Don't search and they'll allow a couple of members to e-kick you before locking your thread :lol:, even if it's a very technical question.
we do basically the same thing (block/delete spammers and harassers). However we don't delete ads that seem vague since our position is that it is the seller's prerogative to provide whatever information they wish to help with their sale - similarly it is the buyers prerogative to buy the item or not even if the ad is vague.

Postby skylinechild » October 29th, 2012, 11:26 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:sounds good there conrad...

btw if anyone needs a radiator for a J31 Cefiro with the QR20 engine, I have one for sale....I think that I could be trusted....

oh really?? the radiator you sold me for the J30 Cefiro with the QR19 engine was a bogus....i wah back meh morneyy dan.... :lol: :lol:

Postby rfari » October 29th, 2012, 11:39 am

Lewwe do a sting nah?

Postby TRAE » October 29th, 2012, 12:03 pm

rfari wrote:Lewwe do a sting nah?

i for that :twisted:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 29th, 2012, 1:13 pm

Conrad wrote:3ne2nr should do like zilvia and other sites that make an attempt to protect its membership.

we do basically the same thing (block/delete spammers and harassers). However we don't delete ads that seem vague since our position is that it is the seller's prerogative to provide whatever information they wish to help with their sale - similarly it is the buyers prerogative to buy the item or not even if the ad is vague.

Also, there's a minimum requirement of 30 days and 50 posts (something like that) to make a post in the classifieds. I guess an exception can be made for PowerSellers.