The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby pioneer » November 16th, 2012, 6:17 pm

Question...Autoglym shampoo...it doesn't suds much when applied to car body or I jus have crappy water?

Postby Greypatch » November 16th, 2012, 7:04 pm

silent_riot wrote:Here's some pics of a detail I did over the past couple of days. It was my first time with some new pads, so it took me a while: 4 hours compounding, 4 hours polishing, 1/2 hour on the sealant, 1 hour on interior cleaning, 1/2 hour on waxing.

I used a 2oz. sample of a Wolfgang Deep Gloss Paint sealant I got, I used less than 1/2 oz. to do this large car (93 LS400). I put a pic of the amount I used. It's a great product, and after I applied it, it was the smoothest paint I've ever felt. I'll report on the durability as time goes on.

u look just like your avatar dan

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 16th, 2012, 9:54 pm

Yeah jed, and I still eh shame.

pioneer, make sure you follow the dilution ratio, and I think once the solution is lubricated enough to lift dirt to prevent scratches, you should be good. It isn't foamy like those foam shampoos.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 17th, 2012, 6:45 am

pioneer wrote:Question...Autoglym shampoo...it doesn't suds much when applied to car body or I jus have crappy water?

The AutoGlym Body Works Shampoo and Conditioner does not suds as much as other brands, but it does not mean its doing its job. As Slient correctly said use the recommended dilution ratio and you should be good to go.

IMO its a superior shampoo.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 17th, 2012, 12:05 pm

Autogeek has a 3 day year end sale on buffers coming up, for those interested.

http://www.autogeek.net/bupo.html

Postby pioneer » November 17th, 2012, 12:13 pm

whew....yeah I using the correct ratio...just thought my water was too "hard"

And yeah the AG shampoo is awesome, very high wow-factor

Postby pioneer » November 17th, 2012, 11:46 pm

What I want to be on sale is the pressure washer foam gun :D

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » November 18th, 2012, 11:41 am

guys i need some advice on removing tiny specs of white paint on my mom's grey car , she parked somewhere close to where painting was going on and the bonnet and front bumper got tiny specs of paint on it , the headlights also got some but when i used the mothers powerball headlight restoration kit with the sanding pads the specs were removed .... any advice on what i can used to remove the tiny dots would be appreciated

Postby Rainman » November 18th, 2012, 11:44 am

evil_twin wrote:guys i need some advice on removing tiny specs of white paint on my mom's grey car , she parked somewhere close to where painting was going on and the bonnet and front bumper got tiny specs of paint on it , the headlights also got some but when i used the mothers powerball headlight restoration kit with the sanding pads the specs were removed .... any advice on what i can used to remove the tiny dots would be appreciated

Clay bar.

Postby pioneer » November 18th, 2012, 12:43 pm

A bar of clay with lube

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 18th, 2012, 1:04 pm

my truck has been sleeping in the driveway for a lil while and i noticed my wipers started hopping. i cleaned them and also applied some wax on my windscreen and it stopped for a while.....

is there anyway to fix this??

Postby Rainman » November 18th, 2012, 1:09 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:my truck has been sleeping in the driveway for a lil while and i noticed my wipers started hopping. i cleaned them and also applied some wax on my windscreen and it stopped for a while.....

is there anyway to fix this??

Does the windshield have hard water stains on it?

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 18th, 2012, 1:13 pm

nah...none...the vehicle is usually washed every 2 days...and i hose it down on a morning....

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 18th, 2012, 6:38 pm

Change the wiper blades?

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 18th, 2012, 6:41 pm

it is not the wiper blades....

Postby S_2NR » November 18th, 2012, 6:56 pm

Greypatch wrote:
silent_riot wrote:Here's some pics of a detail I did over the past couple of days. It was my first time with some new pads, so it took me a while: 4 hours compounding, 4 hours polishing, 1/2 hour on the sealant, 1 hour on interior cleaning, 1/2 hour on waxing.

I used a 2oz. sample of a Wolfgang Deep Gloss Paint sealant I got, I used less than 1/2 oz. to do this large car (93 LS400). I put a pic of the amount I used. It's a great product, and after I applied it, it was the smoothest paint I've ever felt. I'll report on the durability as time goes on.

u look just like your avatar dan

Postby Rainman » November 18th, 2012, 8:50 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:nah...none...the vehicle is usually washed every 2 days...and i hose it down on a morning....

I usually noticed this when I applied too much repellant (rainx, Klasse, wax etc) use some dish washing liquid to strip the wax off.

Postby cinco » November 18th, 2012, 9:00 pm

did some clay and 1 coat of collinite 845

Postby pioneer » November 18th, 2012, 10:07 pm

Can ya'll recommend a good upholsterer...I need to get my flooring carpet re-done

Postby pioneer » November 18th, 2012, 10:44 pm

Anyone know if local glass "specialists" sell cerium oxide polish/powder?

I have some pretty bad wiper blade marks from over the years

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 19th, 2012, 7:18 am

I bought some Ceriglass and (Griot's) glass polishing pads to work on the windscreen scratches, and it does work well.
See if you can bring it in and some glass polishing pads.

cinco, very nice wax & finish!

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 19th, 2012, 7:28 am

Really nice product

Postby pioneer » November 19th, 2012, 9:57 am

Well I called ramsingh's and delta glass...they don't sell any kinda polish to remove scratches from glass...they only "supply" glass :roll:

Called double zee...girl said no and hung up before I could ask if they know anyone who removes scratches from windshields...seeing they're windshield "specialists"....typical third world country service

Oh well, to amazon.

Postby cinco » November 19th, 2012, 10:07 am

firetruck dem in ZZ
dem dig up meh paint installin a wingscream

GLENN'S

Postby GLENN'S » November 19th, 2012, 10:58 am

Autoglym glass polish in stock at Glenn's Super Shop Ltd. $61.00

Postby pioneer » November 19th, 2012, 12:03 pm

I have that but it won't fix my problem :(

edit - that's a damn good price too!

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 19th, 2012, 12:32 pm

Karim this is what you were telling me about. The ag glass polish

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » November 19th, 2012, 2:16 pm

ok guys i need some help getting a polisher
location and price please.
preferably in trini
can you guys lend your expertise....

something nice small and functional ^
Last edited by AYE_SOLDIER on November 19th, 2012, 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 19th, 2012, 2:23 pm

i know karim had a flex for sale...dunno if he still does

nemesis

Postby nemesis » November 19th, 2012, 3:24 pm

Aaron ; Try clay and then the AG glass polish, and remember to clean the blades properly too. If that doesn't help, the diamondite is a little stronger. Also use a glass sealant and apply it evenly. That should help. Chances are if it was sitting open air when it got this it's because particles are stuck on it..and they're usually insanely difficult to get off of the actual blade. Also, don't use wax on your windscreen, it'll haze up when you have on the AC and the humidity is a bit high. Makes visibility quite poor.
EvilTwin : Try the clay, but if it's already hardened maybe you're going to need to polish.