sick

Advice on transmission problem

Postby sick » December 1st, 2012, 12:30 pm

I have a Y11 wingroad, QG 15 engine
The reverse gear taking like about four to six seconds to go in,

I was trying to rush for a park and slam in reverse, but the car didn't exactly stop as yet.
The car stalled for a bit and then the gear went in after a half minute or so.
After that I threw a 'Prolong' treatment and it works normal besides taking long to change to reverse gear.

However, the funny thing is i find the gear goes in faster when the car is cold than warm. I never changed oil, the car is doing 65,000 Km

What measures i can take to rectify this?
Can anyone recommend any good mechanics or someone to run a diagnostic ? (I'm from San Juan area)
I asked a mechanic and he says i need to get a new transmission for this minor issue.
Please advise...

Thanks

carter2

Re: Advice on transmission problem

Postby carter2 » December 3rd, 2012, 2:14 am

Check the level of the fluid, as it may be low. Low levels of transmission fluid will cause the internal bands and gears to slip when the vehicle is placed under a load such as acceleration. Check for any loose vacuum lines or a loose metal linkages that comes from the gearshift. Beyond these external inspections on the transmission, any further problems may have to be dealt with by a professional mechanic. Relate to the mechanic all that you have done to diagnose the problem.

sick

Postby sick » December 15th, 2012, 8:22 pm

Thanks carter...

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » January 7th, 2014, 8:55 am

Sick,

I had a similar issue with my reverse gear (same Y11 QG15) that started Easter weekend last year.

I used to have to rev (as if i easing off a clutch slowly) to get it in gear. It gradually got worse till I completely lost the gear by the end of May, and had to let the car roll on its own momentum out my driveway to get in the road. The forward gears were all fine.

I weighted the costs to repair vs replace transmission:

$3000 or less for a replacement (used?) tranny + labour
$5000 (on average) to rebuild

Ultimately, I opted to fully rebuild the tranny by Glasses Transmission. Cost me some $4500.
I didn't want to gamble on a used replacement tranny failing on me after some months.

He actually offers an option to repair only the reverse gear for $1500. I opted for a full rebuild as I plant to keep the car for a while. Warranty on service is 12 months or 12,000km.

Did a follow up service 6 months after to change tranny oil. To date, no issues with gears.

siwel

Postby siwel » May 22nd, 2014, 7:17 pm

where glasses located?

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 22nd, 2014, 8:20 pm

First step, change the oil.

Postby BrotherHood » May 23rd, 2014, 12:27 am

sick wrote:I have a Y11 wingroad, QG 15 engine
The reverse gear taking like about four to six seconds to go in,

I was trying to rush for a park and slam in reverse, but the car didn't exactly stop as yet.
The car stalled for a bit and then the gear went in after a half minute or so.
After that I threw a 'Prolong' treatment and it works normal besides taking long to change to reverse gear.

However, the funny thing is i find the gear goes in faster when the car is cold than warm. I never changed oil, the car is doing 65,000 Km

What measures i can take to rectify this?
Can anyone recommend any good mechanics or someone to run a diagnostic ? (I'm from San Juan area)
I asked a mechanic and he says i need to get a new transmission for this minor issue.
Please advise...

Thanks

The highlighted part is what I believe is the cause of your current problem. Doing that decreases the life a transmission. You should wait until the car has fully stopped before going into reverse and vice versa.

I think you need to change that oil. You said the transmission works better/gears go in faster when the car is cold. This is happening because the oil needs to change. Over time, the oil in the transmission will become thin and its flashpoint will decrease. Now, as the oil gets hot, it will be less capable of sufficiently lubricating the transmission. This is why you find that the when the car is hot, the gears take longer to go in. Change yuh oil.

People does neglect transmission oil. Is it just as important as engine oil. I am sure you changed engine oil on your car already.

If you change oil and problem still persists, it may be damaged beyond that. In that case, take it to a transmission specialist. Might have to rebuild.