When last you "forgot" your baby in the backseat?

Postby Trini Hookah » December 7th, 2012, 1:55 pm

Bajan five-month-old dies in father’s car

(Barbados Nation) Shock swept through the St Michael community of Brittons Hill yesterday as word spread about the death of a five-month-old baby in the back seat of his father’s car.

The baby, Ethan Searles, was reportedly found dead just after midday.

Several residents gathered outside Diva Hair World salon at Villa Road, where the champagne coloured Peugeot was parked with the baby’s body still strapped in the little car seat. However, they were unable to get close because police had cordoned off the area.

The child’s father, Dave Searles, works as a barber at the salon.

Source: http://www.stabroeknews.com/2012/news/b ... thers-car/

Bajan man in hospital after forgotten baby dies in car

(Barbados Nation) Dave Searles remained hospitalised yesterday but in stable condition.

The father of three collapsed on Wednesday after discovering his five-month-old baby boy dead after he forgot the child in the back seat of his car.

The baby, Ethan Searles, died from what police suspect was suffocation. He was still strapped in his baby seat.

Yesterday police said that Searles was being monitored at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital for extremely high blood pressure and was also receiving counselling. His wife Regina was discharged.

Police explained that the father forgot the baby in the back of the car after he changed his usual routine while dropping his children to school.

“He usually takes the baby to the nursery first but on Wednesday he changed that routine and dropped off the other children to their schools. He forgot that the baby was still in the car,” an officer said calling it an “honest mistake”.

Searles was described by family members as a caring and dedicated father who was deeply involved in the lives of all of his children.

Source: http://www.stabroeknews.com/2012/news/b ... es-in-car/

Re: When last you "forgot" your baby in the backseat?

Postby sharkman121 » December 7th, 2012, 2:03 pm

Negligence? Yes... but i wont cast the first stone cuz i do some rel sheit out of negligence myself.

Centric

Postby Centric » December 7th, 2012, 2:16 pm

Thats quite unfortunate..

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » December 7th, 2012, 2:24 pm

Really sorry when I hear things like this. I feel it for the father. Especially when it could happen so easily. When you driving you have some many things on your mind you could forget your child completely if they quiet in the back seat.

I once forgot to drop my son to school and when I was reversing to park at The office I see the lil beyotch looking at me with a big smile on his face. He keep damn quiet on purpose yes!

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 7th, 2012, 2:28 pm

paparazzi wrote: I once forgot to drop my son to school and when I was reversing to park at The office I see the lil beyotch looking at me with a big smile on his face. He keep damn quiet on purpose yes!

Lol!!!!
Last edited by src1983 on December 7th, 2012, 2:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » December 7th, 2012, 2:29 pm

Saw a lady left her car running ,baby in the back seat ,goes into Scotia Bank, Independence Square used the ATM,wrecker pulled up ,officer came out asked who own ,by the time the lady came out ,officer asked her if she " "mad" to do that,talked to her and issued tickets for a quitting vehicle before applying hand brakes & turning off engine ,illegal parking and gave her a warning for leaving the baby,stand up and watch all that.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » December 7th, 2012, 2:29 pm

This REAL sad breds, feeling for the poor father :(

Postby j.o.e » December 7th, 2012, 2:32 pm

That's a hard one... probably a terrible feeling to kill your child through absent-mindedness

Re: When last you

Postby sharkman121 » December 7th, 2012, 2:40 pm

src1983 wrote:
paparazzi wrote: I once forgot to drop my son to school and when I was reversing to park at The office I see the lil beyotch looking at me with a big smile on his face. He keep damn quiet on purpose yes!

Lol!!!!

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 7th, 2012, 9:20 pm

I could well imagine the pain that father will face for his entire life. If any of you have kids under the age of one you would know the helplessness they exist in without their parents help, the heat of that car followed by the exhaustion of their crying would've been a thought that father may never get out of his head. No prison sentence could be worst than that guilt. I have my kids in the car seat and they bawl too much to forget them. That baby would've suffered so much and just thinking about it... Jeez.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 7th, 2012, 9:51 pm

my head does be hot & i forget things too but a child nah i doubt i so badly off 1 time

d poor dad might go insane with this ...

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » December 7th, 2012, 9:54 pm

brb........

tizik 2nr

Postby tizik 2nr » December 7th, 2012, 10:29 pm

j.o.e wrote:That's a hard one... probably a terrible feeling to kill your child through absent-mindedness

I cant imagine what he's going through, he'll probably never be the same again. That will take a huge toll on his marriage too...

Postby DFC » December 8th, 2012, 12:18 am

this is really unfortunate.

That child suffered and died :(

Postby shogun » December 8th, 2012, 1:02 pm

Sadness twofold.

Really feelin' it for the father. But it's really not easy, the first day you decide to change your routine.

Postby Damien » December 8th, 2012, 6:00 pm

Rip unfortunate that the father. Has to live with this

Postby redmanjp » December 8th, 2012, 8:19 pm

tizik 2nr wrote:
j.o.e wrote:That's a hard one... probably a terrible feeling to kill your child through absent-mindedness

I cant imagine what he's going through, he'll probably never be the same again. That will take a huge toll on his marriage too...

yep- wife never go forgive him fuh dat- even after a few years yuh know how woman like to bring up ting from d past

Postby nemisis » December 8th, 2012, 8:24 pm

^^^ true women like to dredge up things but if she doesn't leave him now then bringing it back up later would only serve to hurt him out of malice. If she does then she should thank her lucky stars he isn't from debe....

Postby mitsu_chick941 » December 10th, 2012, 12:43 pm

That is very unfortunate. Poor baby.

That mother will NEVER forgive that father and even if she says she does, she is lying.