Bareback wrote:All these comments about the Pee On deM, it isn't as much that they are behind all this sheit, it is more that this is the legacy they left behind!
Freeness, bribery, corruption, lawlessness, idleness, dependancy, etc................ this what they are responsible for! We need at least another 2 terms of any other administration to weed this crap out.
Rooki3 wrote:zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:Sky wrote:^^^ Are the protests after protests and strike action from certain trade unions that YOU MENTION for jobs only?
Don't start that shyt. Anytime anyone has an issue with PP, you conclude that PNM's behind it.
Now you wanna focus on jobs alone right? roight...
Zr eh care unno. Guys like he eh care who do what, once dey party in power and is dem time now, he good
Why should I care about people that refuse to better themselves while they are given every opportunity that is free education at schools/trades.
50 to 60 years age there where uneducated trini indos that took it apon themselves to better their education and lifestyles . They did this while they were poor and at that time they had to pay for education.
And no this has nothing todo with race, it all about family structure and how to move out of poverty.
We now have influx of Arab , Guyanese, Venezuelan and Chinese immigrants , do we see these people protesting for jobs, better pay and handouts?
Get real rfari, You can bring the water for the jackass but will the jackass drink the water and walk an extra mile?
Agreed 100%
TriniAutoMart wrote:There are rumours spreading that at 4PM there is going to be another protest and POS will be "locked down".
I don't know if it is true or not, but what I want to know is how can this be possible?
Wouldn't the army and police be patrolling these areas?
TriniAutoMart wrote:And is Friday...avenue pumpin...nobody going home
WetR wrote:dcom23 wrote:PNM wielding all this power 2 and a half years out of office. clearly democracy has failed. *rolls eyes*
democracy fail? how could that happen? it is clearly a most perfect system.
pnm as they say is an institution. that is not a great situation for trinidad, but is a good explanation for why trinidad is so backward. it also explains why they seem to have so much influence even while out of govt.
we are seeing before our eyes why they dominated government. not because of quality delivery (i mean look at trinidad 50 years on). simply because of people power and machinery.
Hard measures coming
Warner after Beetham protests:
By Renuka Singh
Story Created: Dec 7, 2012 at 10:04 PM ECT
(Story Updated: Dec 8, 2012 at 7:57 AM ECT )
National Security Minister Jack Warner and Acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams yesterday said they were going to utiliise the "hard" police approach to curb the threat of violence in the Beetham Gardens area.
"There are two options, you know...hard and soft, and we gave them the soft options, which we hoped that others would have embraced and many have embraced it. But for those who have not embraced the soft options, there will be a price to pay," said Warner.
The Minister made the statements in response to questions from reporters after he handed out commemorative medals to all Heads of Divisions at the Ministry of National Security on Abercromby Street, Port of Spain.
Weeks ago, Warner, Williams and several top security personnel met with residents in a bid to better understand the challenges in that area.
"After talking to these people and giving them the soft options, if they allow these pseudo, quasi politicians in their society to force them to do what they are doing then we have to go to the hard options," Warner said.
"These things are politically motivated," he added.
On Wednesday evening, residents of Beetham Gardens blocked Beetham Highway with burning debris to protest the lack of jobs in the area. Though the roads were cleared quickly, on Thursday night, reports surfaced that residents were threatening to once again block the highway.
"We are taking that very seriously. We know who the guys are, we know who said what and we shall deal with it," Warner said.
"There are guys outside there who were pipsqueaks when the PNM (People's National Movement) was in power and today they believe they are powerful. Well I tell you what goes around comes around and who was a pipsqueak then shall return to being a pipsqueak tomorrow.
"Nobody, no organisation, no group will be allowed to blackmail Mrs Persad-Bissessar's Government or this country. Nobody," he said.
Williams said the police had "zero tolerance" for illegal protesters and would be utilising hard policing methods to ensure that roads were not blocked.
"Regarding the issues around Beetham we have provided security arrangements to facilitate the smooth flow of traffic in and out of Port of Spain," he said.
Williams said while citizens would continue to have concerns, there were "ways and means" to air their dissatisfaction.
"I have gone public to say that we do not support, in any form or fashion, people blocking roads and burning tyres. We have zero tolerance on that," he said.
Williams said there were legal ways to protest and the trade unions used that legal option by getting permission to hold their marches.
"It is not acceptable for people to be burning tyres and blocking roads and we will be tough on that whether it's Beetham or any other area," he said.
Beetham residents say sorry
Minister promises jobs four days after fiery protest
By Gyasi Gonzales gyasi.gonzales@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Dec 9, 2012 at 10:46 PM ECT
(Story Updated: Dec 9, 2012 at 10:50 PM ECT )
BEETHAM Gardens residents said yesterday they were sorry for blocking the highway and Priority Bus Route last week but only did so to get the attention of authorities to give them sustainable jobs.
But the protest action brought Local Government Minister Suruj Rambachan bearing gifts, promising to provide 100 jobs under the Unemployment Relief Programme.
Rambachan, accompanied by acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams and the Chief of Defence Staff Brigadier General Kenrick Maharaj, said his visit was not in response to the protest action but notice of his visit was only made public two hours before the event yesterday.
The Minister told residents that a similar type of arrangement made available to communities in east Port of Spain, namely a four-hour-work-day programme for $69 a day, will be available for Beetham Gardens residents starting today.
Rambachan promised the residents jobs to clean up their communities.
Yesterday's tour by the Local Government Minister was a far cry from the situation that occurred last week Wednesday when during the height of rush hour traffic heading east, several residents, under the instructions of a gang leader, blocked the Beetham Highway along three strategic points and blocked the bus route as well.
Their actions panicked hundreds of motorists when news and rumours about the protest which included the burning of tyres began circulating via social media.
The protest was quickly quelled by the Besson Street CID, Guard and Emergency Branch and the Port of Spain Divisional Task Force but for the remainder of the week motorists heading into and leaving Port of Spain remained nervous that the disturbances could happen again.
On Friday, several police units were deployed as a proactive measure as reports began circulating that the residents were ready to protest again.
Residents yesterday having the attention of the Minister told him of their daily struggles of making ends meet.
They also said that "Christmas coming," and they had no means of providing for their children.
Rambachan said during his tour that he had identified five people (from the five phases of Beetham Gardens) who will identify people most in need of jobs.
He also said that Beetham Gardens did not start off as planned development with schools and other amenities which were only provided only after the community grew.
"There will be development but let's get the community cleaned first so that there could be good feelings," he said.
"We are going to be doing this in phases, so phase one is the clean-up," said Rambachan.
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:they are SORRY but they just wanted sistainable jobs?
How about getting off your Lazy, worthless, sorry excuse for an a$$ and actively go look for ONE- even if it means starting at the bottom.
These frigging people only want handouts, whatever happened to working for what you want? bettering yourself?
Dizzy28 wrote:So they protest, burn rubbish and block the highway and a Minister shows up within 4 days bearing gifts. No wonder they do this sheit all the time......it works!!!!!