The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Stephon. » January 14th, 2013, 6:05 pm

1300 wrote:On saturday at cricket my iPhone was stolen (Pick-Pocketed). A couple of my friends also lost their phones while walking through the crowd. I have, 'find my iPhone' installed however it has not been switched on since and is offline. Is there any other way to track it? Also I know the IMEI number is unique to each phone. Do bmobile have anything in place if someone tries to reactivate the phone? It is still under contract with them. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Wtfffff what stand you was at?? I was there, most of my friends had their phones out and we all left with it.

You can try contacting Bmobile but I doubt that would help much.

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 14th, 2013, 6:14 pm

go to find my iphone and active the lost iphone it will show up as soon as it switches on

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 14th, 2013, 7:03 pm

Keep looking for it with find my iPhone, then lock it as it shows up. You can find it down to the house it's in.

Postby S_2NR » January 14th, 2013, 8:06 pm

Strauss wrote:
iDynamic wrote:
hot blue wrote:question folks...

i have an old iphone 3G that I want to give to my dad, but the home button is not working. I plan to update it to a firmware that has assistive touch to workaround the home button. Anyone knows what is the lates firmware that I can update it to and still be able to unlock it?

Ever since I went factory unlocked I have not kept up to date with jailbreak/unlocks for the iphone.

4.2.1 is the highest you can go with a 3G but its very sluggish on the 3G

I sped up my 3G by removing launch daemons and shadows under icons and bars. Also disabled the spotlight search for all. Also fixed multitasking. Dramatic difference from stock iOS4. I'm also faking iOS 4.3.3 so I can run more apps from the app store that require that iOS, but can still technically run on iOS 4.2.1.

Factory unlocked and jailbreaked.

How u did all that?
Wanna speed up my two year old iPod touch

Postby M_2NR » January 15th, 2013, 1:38 am

The guy with the broken home button.
Check out activator in Cydia and if you want to spend some cash there is zephyr which basically eliminates the home button with swipe gestures.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 15th, 2013, 10:23 am

M_2NR wrote:The guy with the broken home button.
Check out activator in Cydia and if you want to spend some cash there is zephyr which basically eliminates the home button with swipe gestures.
Just turn on Assistive touch and it puts the Home button on your touch screen

Settings > General > Accessibility > AssistiveTouch > On

A Touch home button will be added to your screen - you can move it around so it doesnt get in the way.

W2J

Postby W2J » January 15th, 2013, 10:29 am

A Touch home button will be added to your screen - you can move it around so it doesnt get in the way.

hot hot, get on badddd.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 15th, 2013, 10:30 am

Stephon. wrote:In other Apple news tho:

Apple Inc. has cut its orders for components for the iPhone 5 due to weaker-than-expected demand, people familiar with the situation said Monday.

Apple's orders for iPhone 5 screens for the January-March quarter, for example, have dropped to roughly half of what the company had previously planned to order, two of the people said.

The Cupertino, Calif., company has also cut orders for components other than screens, according to one of the people.

Apple notified the suppliers of the order cut last month, the people said.

The move indicates that sales of the new iPhone haven't been as strong ...

Poor Dat - Source
All of that talk that Apple has reduced iPhone 5 component orders due to slumping demand for the smartphone might be wrong.

Sterne Agee analyst Shaw Wu today wrote in a research note to investors that Apple's reported cuts to component orders have nothing to do with weak demand. Instead, Wu said that while component orders are lower, they're due to "much improved yields meaning lower component builds and supplier shifts."

"As far as we can tell, iPhone 5 demand remains robust," Wu said.

Baird analyst William Power offered up a similar evaluation to investors today, saying that he was "actually raising our calendar fourth quarter iPhone forecast slightly," adding that "most demand indicators remain favorable."

The debate over iPhone 5 orders cropped up on Sunday when The Wall Street Journal reported, citing sources, that Apple had cut its iPhone 5 screen orders in half. Those sources said that the cut was due to "weaker-than-expected demand."

On Monday, investors responded by selling off Apple shares. The company's stock ended the day down 3.6 percent to land at $501.75 -- a far cry from its 52-week high of $705.07 a share.
Now, though, analysts are lining up to make clear that the iPhone 5 is doing just fine. Mark Moskowitz, an analyst at J.P. Morgan, yesterday called the iPhone 5 demand rumors "more noise," according to AppleInsider. The analyst went on to say that the "order cuts are a direct result of manufacturing yields improving following the fast-and-furious product roll-outs of the iPhone 5 as well as new iPads and Macs."

And about those cuts? It appears they might not be as deep as the Journal's sources said. Those folks indicated that iPhone 5 component orders were cut by "roughly half." According to the New York Times, which spoke with NPD DisplaySearch analyst Paul Semenza, Apple had expected to order 19 million displays for its iPhone 5 in January, but cut it to between 11 million and 14 million.

The question now, though, is whether investors will respond favorably to the latest spate of news.

As of this writing, Apple's shares are up 82 cents to $502.57 in pre-market trading.

Saucy sauce

Postby M_2NR » January 15th, 2013, 12:23 pm

yea i use that now without a jailbreak (not my home button broken or anything) but i think back then (i cant remember which iOS it was) AssistiveTouch wasn't enabled yet na

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » January 15th, 2013, 3:34 pm

Strauss wrote:
iDynamic wrote:

i have an old iphone 3G that I want to give to my dad, but the home button is not working. I plan to update it to a firmware that has assistive touch to workaround the home button. Anyone knows what is the lates firmware that I can update it to and still be able to unlock it?

Ever since I went factory unlocked I have not kept up to date with jailbreak/unlocks for the iphone.

I sped up my 3G by removing launch daemons and shadows under icons and bars. Also disabled the spotlight search for all. Also fixed multitasking. Dramatic difference from stock iOS4. I'm also faking iOS 4.3.3 so I can run more apps from the app store that require that iOS, but can still technically run on iOS 4.2.1.

noiceeee , i usually use this hybrid firmware on my iPhone 3G ...also did it for a couple 2G's and 3G's in the past!

Check it out below

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 15th, 2013, 4:11 pm

iDynamic wrote:
Strauss wrote:
iDynamic wrote:

noiceeee , i usually use this hybrid firmware on my iPhone 3G ...also did it for a couple 2G's and 3G's in the past!

Check it out below

Whited00r is very sweet.
Bl4ckrain is also awesome.

Been a while since I messed with any. I used to just do the optimisations myself now after kinda memorising the guides. Force of habit thing.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » January 15th, 2013, 5:38 pm

Strauss wrote:
iDynamic wrote:
Strauss wrote:
iDynamic wrote:

Check it out below

Whited00r is very sweet.
Bl4ckrain is also awesome.

Been a while since I messed with any. I used to just do the optimisations myself now after kinda memorising the guides. Force of habit thing.

cool ! Will give the bl4ckra1n a shot !

Postby Stephon. » January 15th, 2013, 5:55 pm

Stephon. wrote:In other Apple news tho:

Apple Inc. has cut its orders for components for the iPhone 5 due to weaker-than-expected demand, people familiar with the situation said Monday.

Apple's orders for iPhone 5 screens for the January-March quarter, for example, have dropped to roughly half of what the company had previously planned to order, two of the people said.

The Cupertino, Calif., company has also cut orders for components other than screens, according to one of the people.

Apple notified the suppliers of the order cut last month, the people said.

The move indicates that sales of the new iPhone haven't been as strong ...

Poor Dat - Source
All of that talk that Apple has reduced iPhone 5 component orders due to slumping demand for the smartphone might be wrong.

Sterne Agee analyst Shaw Wu today wrote in a research note to investors that Apple's reported cuts to component orders have nothing to do with weak demand. Instead, Wu said that while component orders are lower, they're due to "much improved yields meaning lower component builds and supplier shifts."

"As far as we can tell, iPhone 5 demand remains robust," Wu said.

Baird analyst William Power offered up a similar evaluation to investors today, saying that he was "actually raising our calendar fourth quarter iPhone forecast slightly," adding that "most demand indicators remain favorable."

The debate over iPhone 5 orders cropped up on Sunday when The Wall Street Journal reported, citing sources, that Apple had cut its iPhone 5 screen orders in half. Those sources said that the cut was due to "weaker-than-expected demand."

On Monday, investors responded by selling off Apple shares. The company's stock ended the day down 3.6 percent to land at $501.75 -- a far cry from its 52-week high of $705.07 a share.
Now, though, analysts are lining up to make clear that the iPhone 5 is doing just fine. Mark Moskowitz, an analyst at J.P. Morgan, yesterday called the iPhone 5 demand rumors "more noise," according to AppleInsider. The analyst went on to say that the "order cuts are a direct result of manufacturing yields improving following the fast-and-furious product roll-outs of the iPhone 5 as well as new iPads and Macs."

And about those cuts? It appears they might not be as deep as the Journal's sources said. Those folks indicated that iPhone 5 component orders were cut by "roughly half." According to the New York Times, which spoke with NPD DisplaySearch analyst Paul Semenza, Apple had expected to order 19 million displays for its iPhone 5 in January, but cut it to between 11 million and 14 million.

The question now, though, is whether investors will respond favorably to the latest spate of news.

As of this writing, Apple's shares are up 82 cents to $502.57 in pre-market trading.

Saucy sauce

Steups. Lol alright you win this one. 2013 now start eh!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 15th, 2013, 6:10 pm

^ oh and those reports that the SIII have outsold the iPhone 4S in 2012, don't take into consideration the iPhone 5 and that the iPhone 5 was launched in 3rd Q 2012, which would have heavily affected 4S sales. Skewed statistics FTL.

Postby pioneer » January 15th, 2013, 6:36 pm

Thing is the 5 has no direct competitor, Samsung intended the S3 tablet to compete with the 4S

1yawn

Postby pioneer » January 16th, 2013, 12:12 am

btw my i5 took two bad falls...did the screen break? not even once

zagg extreme ftw

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 16th, 2013, 8:03 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ oh and those reports that the SIII have outsold the iPhone 4S in 2012, don't take into consideration the iPhone 5 and that the iPhone 5 was launched in 3rd Q 2012, which would have heavily affected 4S sales. Skewed statistics FTL.

The SIII only overtook the 4S as the iPhone 5 was on the horizon. The rest of the year goes to Apple.

Postby Stephon. » January 16th, 2013, 8:01 pm

I came here to post about Temple Run 2 but let me address the above deluded posts above first:

1 - Pioneer you talking a pack of sheit, hardware wise the iPhone5 is a generation behind and the Galaxy S3s quad core 2GB ram with REAL multitasking / better screen resolution and better overall ppi laughs at your post. The iPhone is KNOWN for having the best screens in the business but they even lost that crown to Nokia. Poor DatT

2 - Strauss the iPhone has sold 120 million iPhones in 2012 ALONE with is really impressive and a big congrats to them and all but. Samsung has sold 60 million phones in 2012. Now 60 is obviously less than 120 but, apple has been releasing a phone (or two) for the past 6(?) years. and they're at 120, Sammy on the other hand has been releasing their Galaxy line for only 3 years now and they're at 60.

10+ million in 2010, 20+ million in 2011, 60+ million in 2012, 100+ million in 2013 ? Dunno, we're gonna have to see if enough people left the iPhone so that Apple and them could start innovating again and get back to the level they once were, because the iPhone 5 did nothing for them in terms of progress.

3 - Duane, that is true and UK doesn't account for the entire world but this article should give you a lil of what is to be expected next week Wednesday when the last quarter figures are released, and hopefully it would be up to your standard because BOTH iPhone5 and Sammy SIII were out in December.

U.K. carrier uSwitch.com ranks the top ten smartphones in the region every month. So which handset was number one in December? The 16GB Samsung Galaxy S III in blue was on top as it was in November. Moving up two spots to second, was the Samsung Galaxy S II while the Samsung Galaxy Ace rose from sixth place to third. The first non-Samsung Galaxy model was the Google Nexus 4 in fourth. Rounding out the top five is the 16GB Apple iPhone 4S, while the 16GB Apple iPhone 5 in black finished sixth.

The lone Windows Phone in the list was the Nokia Lumia 800 which was seventh in December after moving up four places. This was followed by the Samsung GALAXY Note II and the Samsung Galaxy S III mini, which moved down one place and up seven places respectively. The last phone on the U.K. top ten list for December was the Samsung Galaxy Ace II which was making its first appearance on the list.

Y'all were great kids.

Postby Stephon. » January 16th, 2013, 8:03 pm

Now that I got that dragging out of the way let me post what I came in here to post in the first place:

Temple Run fans take note — the incredibly popular mobile game is finally getting a sequel. Already available in the New Zealand App Store, Temple Run 2 is expected to start hitting other countries soon, with Touch Arcade reporting that it will be available later tonight. From the looks of things, the sequel maintains the same basic gameplay as the original, so expect plenty of running away from danger while collecting coins and avoiding obstacles.

But that doesn't mean there's nothing new: the game is set in a new environment (what looks to be a floating temple), where you can ride in mine carts and on zip lines, check out new powerups, and, according to the App Store description, be chased by an even bigger monkey. The visuals also look like they've received a significant bump in quality. Like the original, Temple Run 2 is free-to-play, but unfortunately there's no word on when it might be making its way to Android devices as well.

Not showing up on my gf iPhone yet but I looking forward to it, loving the graphics

Postby Ted_v2 » January 16th, 2013, 9:19 pm

Anyone used the new ipod nano. Should I buy that or a itouch

hot blue

Postby hot blue » January 17th, 2013, 4:27 pm

yeah Duane I need to update it to get assistive touch... that's what the original question was!!
=P

thanks folks!
I'll check cydia since I don't want to slow down the phone.

Postby pioneer » January 17th, 2013, 5:38 pm

Stephon. wrote:I came here to post about Temple Run 2 but let me address the above deluded posts above first:

1 - Pioneer you talking a pack of sheit, hardware wise the iPhone5 is a generation behind and the Galaxy S3s quad core 2GB ram with REAL multitasking / better screen resolution and better overall ppi laughs at your post. The iPhone is KNOWN for having the best screens in the business but they even lost that crown to Nokia. Poor DatT

2 - Strauss the iPhone has sold 120 million iPhones in 2012 ALONE with is really impressive and a big congrats to them and all but. Samsung has sold 60 million phones in 2012. Now 60 is obviously less than 120 but, apple has been releasing a phone (or two) for the past 6(?) years. and they're at 120, Sammy on the other hand has been releasing their Galaxy line for only 3 years now and they're at 60.

10+ million in 2010, 20+ million in 2011, 60+ million in 2012, 100+ million in 2013 ? Dunno, we're gonna have to see if enough people left the iPhone so that Apple and them could start innovating again and get back to the level they once were, because the iPhone 5 did nothing for them in terms of progress.

3 - Duane, that is true and UK doesn't account for the entire world but this article should give you a lil of what is to be expected next week Wednesday when the last quarter figures are released, and hopefully it would be up to your standard because BOTH iPhone5 and Sammy SIII were out in December.

U.K. carrier uSwitch.com ranks the top ten smartphones in the region every month. So which handset was number one in December? The 16GB Samsung Galaxy S III in blue was on top as it was in November. Moving up two spots to second, was the Samsung Galaxy S II while the Samsung Galaxy Ace rose from sixth place to third. The first non-Samsung Galaxy model was the Google Nexus 4 in fourth. Rounding out the top five is the 16GB Apple iPhone 4S, while the 16GB Apple iPhone 5 in black finished sixth.

The lone Windows Phone in the list was the Nokia Lumia 800 which was seventh in December after moving up four places. This was followed by the Samsung GALAXY Note II and the Samsung Galaxy S III mini, which moved down one place and up seven places respectively. The last phone on the U.K. top ten list for December was the Samsung Galaxy Ace II which was making its first appearance on the list.

Y'all were great kids.

Samsung S3 tablet is made out of cheap plastic.

Postby Stephon. » January 17th, 2013, 6:04 pm

Took you a day to come up with that??

I feeling shame

.. For you.

Postby pioneer » January 17th, 2013, 6:11 pm

Nah I usually skip past your posts, then I jus saw my name there so I thought I'd respond this time.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 17th, 2013, 6:25 pm

Saw a friend's s3 crashed today cuz of a flu lol. Poor spambot

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 17th, 2013, 6:29 pm

Stephon. wrote:2 - Strauss the iPhone has sold 120 million iPhones in 2012 ALONE with is really impressive and a big congrats to them and all but. Samsung has sold 60 million phones in 2012. Now 60 is obviously less than 120 but, apple has been releasing a phone (or two) for the past 6(?) years. and they're at 120, Sammy on the other hand has been releasing their Galaxy line for only 3 years now and they're at 60.
but Apple over the past 6 years Apple has released 6 phones. Samsung has released 44 phones in their Galaxy lineup alone!!! Forty Four! You'd think they'd be collectively whooping Apple's backside in sales!

lick dat sauce: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samsung_Galaxy

Stephon. wrote:10+ million in 2010, 20+ million in 2011, 60+ million in 2012, 100+ million in 2013 ? Dunno, we're gonna have to see if enough people left the iPhone so that Apple and them could start innovating again and get back to the level they once were, because the iPhone 5 did nothing for them in terms of progress.
See my point above and add it to "the iPhone has sold 120 million iPhones in 2012 ALONE. Samsung sold only 20 million"

Stephon. wrote:3 - Duane, that is true and UK doesn't account for the entire world but this article should give you a lil of what is to be expected next week Wednesday when the last quarter figures are released, and hopefully it would be up to your standard because BOTH iPhone5 and Sammy SIII were out in December.
well i do hope that Samsung sales improve when results come out next Wednesday, cause after making so many devices and still have to battle numebrs with a company that made only 6. And to think those 6 phones are really 6 versions of the SAME device, the iPhone, and so far there have only been 2 different screen sizes.

44 devices in 3 years in one helluva beat up.

Postby pioneer » January 17th, 2013, 6:34 pm

44 devices and yet they still copied technology from Apple?

wow

Postby Stephon. » January 17th, 2013, 6:56 pm

The scores I quoted were only for thew S1 SII and SIII but you did try :')

EDIT: I'm still laughing at the fact you thought I combined all 44 phones to make a point :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 17th, 2013, 7:06 pm

^ I didnt say that
where in my post did I say that 44 phones sold 60 million units?

usually I have to ask people to read over what I wrote, but now I have to ask you to read over your own post!
Stephon. wrote:2 - Strauss the iPhone has sold 120 million iPhones in 2012 ALONE with is really impressive and a big congrats to them and all but. Samsung has sold 60 million phones in 2012. Now 60 is obviously less than 120 but, apple has been releasing a phone (or two) for the past 6(?) years. and they're at 120, Sammy on the other hand has been releasing their Galaxy line for only 3 years now and they're at 60.
see the section in bold

I was drawing to your attention that if you are taking the number of devices released over a period of time as a marker for sales performance, then based on the figures your point is not very good.

Who's laughing?

Postby Stephon. » January 17th, 2013, 7:08 pm

Well the Galaxy S line, I thought it would be obvious seeing that most of the 44 phones are irrelevant. Still me tho because the S sales are increasing while the 5 sales are decreasing:

Several research houses have claimed that iPhone 5 sales are a lot smaller portion of total iPhone sales than iPhone 4S was a year ago. In early December, Consumer Intelligence Research Partners revealed a break-down that was extremely downbeat. According to CIRP, only 9% of iPhone 5 sales came from the 64GB bracket in October 2012. This would be down sharply from the 23% share that the 64GB version of iPhone 4S had of the 4S sales in October 2011.

Interestingly, CIRP viewed the iPhone 5 as taking a 68% slice of overall iPhone sales during October 2012. This is far below the 90% share the iPhone 4S claimed of total Apple phone volume a year before. So according to CIRP, the market share of the latest iPhone has dropped sharply, while the share of the 64GB model within the iPhone 5 model portfolio has collapsed.

Ever since CIRP announced its report more than a month ago, this narrative has taken root. Other research reports began claiming that iPhone 5 share of total iPhone sales could be as low as 50%. As investor confidence has cratered, ASP expectations have probably dived far below the published sell side consensus. With Apple’s share price dropping below $490 on Monday, markets may now be prepared for a $15 or sharper iPhone ASP decline when Apple finally reports.

This has created a fascinating sentiment backdrop for Apple’s results on January 23rd.