Recklessness with Bikers today

greenlime100

Re: Recklessness with Bikers today

Postby greenlime100 » February 3rd, 2013, 6:00 pm

Im soon to buy a bike... and like many of the bikers here.... I surprised by the attitude towards bikers from others. My dad always thought of bikes as a 'rebel' movement until he realized that its like a car.... if you drive like a fool.. consequences will have to be faced (weather its a ticket of accident)
I ride my friends bikes all the time, i too ride the white line in traffic... had some incidences where cars trying to change lanes were unaware or me but safe riders would slow down or somehow make the driver aware...

I also take my chances but only when I know the road is clear and Im alert.

Kudos to KarbonFiber for his post... shows responsible riding.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 3rd, 2013, 6:00 pm

KarbonFiber wrote:
747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:
Hook wrote:
KarbonFiber wrote:I must agree with the OP, don't indulge in such actions unless its an organized event in a controlled area. But I am surprised with the animosity towards the street biking fraternity. I ride and drive and I am mostly a defensive driver/rider in both instances; I have like everyone else taken a chance here and there.
I know the ole adage "one bad apple can spoil the whole bunch" but as someone said before, we're not all bad. So please folks don't go out of your way to "squeeze" every rider you encounter. I do split lanes in stopped traffic at a max of 20km/h (yes i monitor my speedo), I don't when vehicles are in motion.
I am very concerned now to see there are people willing to cause harm to another for....basically no reason.

My 2 cents

Regards

FINALLY, a rider response that doesn't translate into "fack yo' car, car drivers does do worse, I's a biker, I bad, ah guh shoot yuh MC".
Thank you, sir. Thank you.

Exactly how i used to do it when i ride, slowly in the white line when coming to a red light in traffic and cautious riding while traffic is moving. Theres usually no need to be driving in white line in my opinion unless you want to be doing 120-140km/h all the time.

I still plan to get a bike back but ride properly but seeing that a few bad riders spoiling it for nearly all, i'll be mounting a go pro front and back IN CASE of any bad drives.

I have a gopro that I alternated between the tail section and nose of the bike. Just got another for the nose tho, makes for very interesting viewing afterwards.

got any footage of drivers behaving like kants?

KarbonFiber

Postby KarbonFiber » February 3rd, 2013, 8:52 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
KarbonFiber wrote:
747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:
Hook wrote:
KarbonFiber wrote:I must agree with the OP, don't indulge in such actions unless its an organized event in a controlled area. But I am surprised with the animosity towards the street biking fraternity. I ride and drive and I am mostly a defensive driver/rider in both instances; I have like everyone else taken a chance here and there.
I know the ole adage "one bad apple can spoil the whole bunch" but as someone said before, we're not all bad. So please folks don't go out of your way to "squeeze" every rider you encounter. I do split lanes in stopped traffic at a max of 20km/h (yes i monitor my speedo), I don't when vehicles are in motion.
I am very concerned now to see there are people willing to cause harm to another for....basically no reason.

My 2 cents

Regards

FINALLY, a rider response that doesn't translate into "fack yo' car, car drivers does do worse, I's a biker, I bad, ah guh shoot yuh MC".

Exactly how i used to do it when i ride, slowly in the white line when coming to a red light in traffic and cautious riding while traffic is moving. Theres usually no need to be driving in white line in my opinion unless you want to be doing 120-140km/h all the time.

I still plan to get a bike back but ride properly but seeing that a few bad riders spoiling it for nearly all, i'll be mounting a go pro front and back IN CASE of any bad drives.

I have a gopro that I alternated between the tail section and nose of the bike. Just got another for the nose tho, makes for very interesting viewing afterwards.

got any footage of drivers behaving like kants?

:) I may. But I just let bygones be bygones. Besides, I can only see a very horrible outcome revealing them here.

KarbonFiber

Postby KarbonFiber » February 3rd, 2013, 8:54 pm

Hook wrote:

My 2 cents

Regards

You are most welcome buddy

KarbonFiber

Postby KarbonFiber » February 3rd, 2013, 8:57 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Im soon to buy a bike... and like many of the bikers here.... I surprised by the attitude towards bikers from others. My dad always thought of bikes as a 'rebel' movement until he realized that its like a car.... if you drive like a fool.. consequences will have to be faced (weather its a ticket of accident)
I ride my friends bikes all the time, i too ride the white line in traffic... had some incidences where cars trying to change lanes were unaware or me but safe riders would slow down or somehow make the driver aware...

I also take my chances but only when I know the road is clear and Im alert.

Kudos to KarbonFiber for his post... shows responsible riding.

Thanks bud, I do try. Im no saint tho, I do have my moments when the adrenaline wants to course through my veins :D

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 3rd, 2013, 9:19 pm

lol :twisted: I know those moments :twisted: lol

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 4th, 2013, 1:51 pm

Think T&T falls in the other 5% of the world...lol
Plus if we talking about traffic to and from POS in relation to bikers, they are mostly working guys and gals who are not the insane bikers who would stop and do burn outs on the highway.
Had my neighbor son brought his bike back from Florida to T&T and after living there for a while as a biker and seeing how T&T roads are who sold his bike here!!!

Postby pioneer » February 4th, 2013, 7:59 pm

How did he pass tru with a LHD bike?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 4th, 2013, 9:22 pm

LOL... must have paid a nice bill

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 4th, 2013, 11:10 pm

pioneer wrote:How did he pass tru with a LHD bike?

greenlime100 wrote:^^
LOL... must have paid a nice bill

Laugh all you want. The man asks a serious question.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 5th, 2013, 9:52 am

KarbonFiber wrote:
Hook wrote:

My 2 cents

Regards

You are most welcome buddy

Wish all bikers had your attitude.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » February 5th, 2013, 11:17 am

saw some bikers heading to maracas on sunday, all i can say is allyuh fellas brave yessss

r1riderz

Postby r1riderz » February 6th, 2013, 11:51 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:I think I will :)

know yourself....

Tar Baby

Postby Tar Baby » February 6th, 2013, 12:18 pm

Removed by user
Last edited by Tar Baby on September 17th, 2023, 8:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Hook » February 6th, 2013, 1:14 pm

Tar Baby wrote:I mainly use my bike nowadays to commute to and from POS and generally anytime I need to get somewhere in under half hour.

I dont firetruck around on the road and I when a car intentionally blocks me in traffic I just stop and wait because 30 seconds after either traffic start back moving or they just pull to give you room because they feel like an ass.

After witnessing a buddy crash and die, and waking up in an ambulance trying to remember the last thing that happened, you learn it have a time and place for everything, and antagonizing people who share the road with you is a no-no even if they are muffler bearings.

Bless! 8-)

Postby crazybalhead » February 6th, 2013, 1:17 pm

Tar Baby wrote:I mainly use my bike nowadays to commute to and from POS and generally anytime I need to get somewhere in under half hour.

I dont firetruck around on the road and I when a car intentionally blocks me in traffic I just stop and wait because 30 seconds after either traffic start back moving or they just pull to give you room because they feel like an ass.

After witnessing a buddy crash and die, and waking up in an ambulance trying to remember the last thing that happened, you learn it have a time and place for everything, and antagonizing people who share the road with you is a no-no even if they are muffler bearings.

BODEAUX!!!

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 6th, 2013, 10:05 pm

Serious story there... Friend of mine also died from a bike accident... it aint easy :(

This thread was waiting on that post lol...