Fastest N/A civic in TnT?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

ZORT

Postby ZORT » January 28th, 2005, 7:02 pm

yeh well that may be another factor..well actually it is..the track is nonsence but even still i doubt the track is gonna affect yuh time so badly that yuh gonna be going as low as 15's experts lemme kno...

Ask x2 about that - then you will understand.

The fastest NA to my knowledge is Burgandy Hatch EG with a frank. 13.7. Hutrini if he brought that car up to the states i am SURE you here me SURE it was run 12's - Ok and i believe it also had an interior and a/c.

zort

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » January 28th, 2005, 7:07 pm

the sad part about N/A tuning is that you eventually run into a glass ceiling, I don't have to tell you what my preference is, once I say Spoon that should explain it. Turbo-charging is a brute force way of making power and it does it really well. My take on it is that it took alot of care and attention to detail to come up with a successful implementation of variable valve timing (B16A) a turbo or even a blower (sorry zort) just takes the elegance out of it. :roll: Any fool can take a crappy engine, turbo it and make it fast. it may be fast, but will it last.

my 2lb-ft

ALLMOTOR

Postby ALLMOTOR » January 28th, 2005, 7:30 pm

yo fellers.....CTR here...my best time was 14.3 with full interior plus AC and I had a 3rd gear problem.....the EG hatch from Diego to my knowledge was the fastest..(WAS)...My car is still around...didn't do anything new...no where to run..

ZORT

Postby ZORT » January 28th, 2005, 7:32 pm

My take on it is that it took alot of care and attention to detail to come up with a successful implementation of variable valve timing (B16A) a turbo or even a blower (sorry zort) just takes the elegance out of it. Any fool can take a crappy engine, turbo it and make it fast. it may be fast, but will it last.

Come nah man check it out.. how many boosted b16a's running good? Not any fool can take a crappy engine place a turbo and make it fast. I have driven in many turbo'd civics that ran like sheit.

However i do agree that boosting an engine like a b16a, does take the elegance out of the detail it took to get it there - you should feel the elegance on boost :) any-e-way give jack his jacket a proper NA tune takes a lot more time and money and determination than boost i see it all the time with All motor.

zort

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » January 28th, 2005, 7:47 pm

determination

I call it japanese bad mind

Postby X2 » January 28th, 2005, 7:54 pm

Well, well... all of a sudden I fass ? Lol... where the Nissan fellas to talk smack ? :lol:

I know certain other members have been talking shift that I am always bigging up my car, but honestly, I don't. I spec'd and built my setup myself from what I know... I don't talk shift... I talk SHOP. I have been building my car to be in the top echelons as far as N/A.... I scrapped my entire sohc turbo project to do so. I've run 14.9 and 15.2 (with passenger) at Wallers and that's the only time I've ever run timed here, it was on a weak sauce stock clutch setup, crappy Falken tires and I found out I was detonating at STOCK TIMING. This setup, once I fix some minor flaws should be running low 14's easy. I anticipate getting into at least mid 13's when I start messing with A/M cams.

The spoon hatch ppl are talking about was an EG hatch, fully done Spoon ITR crate engine/tranny and bolt ons. I beat it as I expected I would. I also ran another guy in a dark coloured EK with an ITR engine...with a passenger in my car, I was putting a major hurting on him till he sprayed in 3rd (like I couldn't tell... :lol: ) and I'm still running a stock head and exhaust manifold.... no cold air intake even AND my car was on a stock GSR ecu. (no tuning done yet) Why ? I don't trust all the 'big' tuners here cuz they haven't proven their skills with n/a.... ANY compotent tuner can dial in a turbo car to make power. A straight up ITR EG hatch should be running mid-low 14's w/ all stock parts.

I would BET you that other guys on the street have spent some Bo-KU bucks under the hood.... it's just that we don't see them at the track. I've run into B16 hatches on the highway that give some damn good runs down here... I also have a partner running a stock internal B16 in an EG hatch and I can show ya vids of him yanking on S2000's and Integras running spray ! The kid weighs like 260+ lbs too !

Where are all the low 14, high or mid 13 n/a setups locally ? Are the locals not spending the time and money ? I guarantee there are some around... you just haven't seen em yet. Trini's have been spending $$ on speed since my grandfather's days... it hasn't ended.. it's just become more complicated and expensive. A good n/a build can easily cost over $20k.... particularly if the person doesn't do the wreching themselves.

X2... fastest n/a honda in his parking lot.... :lol:

Postby X2 » January 28th, 2005, 8:01 pm

BTW... when I ran a 14.9 down here... I was PISSED !!!

At Moroso in WPB Florida, I ran a best time of 15.3 @ 92mph with my previous SOHC 1.6 vtec engine and no rear seats.... stock header, stock internals, short ram, 2.5" cat back, 14" steelies on Toyo Proxies and driver skill. A dohc in a hatch is not supposed to be a high 14 second car. Street tires on our 60' at Wallers is like launching in oil.

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » January 29th, 2005, 6:40 am

ZORT wrote:
yeh well that may be another factor..well actually it is..the track is nonsence but even still i doubt the track is gonna affect yuh time so badly that yuh gonna be going as low as 15's experts lemme kno...

The fastest NA to my knowledge is Burgandy Hatch EG with a frank. 13.7. Hutrini if he brought that car up to the states i am SURE you here me SURE it was run 12's - Ok and i believe it also had an interior and a/c.

zort

how much whp?

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » January 29th, 2005, 6:41 am

ZORT wrote:

zort

how much whp?

ZORT

Postby ZORT » January 29th, 2005, 2:53 pm

Don't know the HP. Spyro there is an article in this months HCI about the same topic na or boost..

Postby RASC » January 29th, 2005, 5:32 pm

Spyrogyra wrote:the sad part about N/A tuning is that you eventually run into a glass ceiling, I don't have to tell you what my preference is, once I say Spoon that should explain it. Turbo-charging is a brute force way of making power and it does it really well. My take on it is that it took alot of care and attention to detail to come up with a successful implementation of variable valve timing (B16A) a turbo or even a blower (sorry zort) just takes the elegance out of it. :roll: Any fool can take a crappy engine, turbo it and make it fast. it may be fast, but will it last.

my 2lb-ft

good point-thats the appeal of N/A despite the so called "glass ceiling" :roll:

...running boost is great but tends to significantly shorten the life of your engine...unless particular constant care is given...
also N/A power is different...different especially in drags...
with those huge single T setups some guys like to run..its so laggy that by the time you step into full boost , while racing a light, even with a mild strip setup 250+hp N/A civic...the civic gone :wink:

ppl seem to forget F=MA and A=F/M a.ka. power to weight ratio :?

Return to “HONDA”