brickman

Re: TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Postby brickman » February 8th, 2013, 3:58 pm

Postby S_2NR » February 16th, 2013, 8:00 am

turbotusty wrote:but in my opinion the bmobile 4g service is very poor and sub-standard. is level E, begging for H/H+

I'm normally critical about bmobile. Just go back a few pages and ull seebut.. moving out of the bush will solve this and many future problems u may have

Postby Stephon. » February 16th, 2013, 8:48 am

S_2NR wrote:
turbotusty wrote:but in my opinion the bmobile 4g service is very poor and sub-standard. is level E, begging for H/H+

I'm normally critical about bmobile. Just go back a few pages and ull seebut.. moving out of the bush will solve this and many future problems u may have

LMFAO!! sheit what he do you? Yuh taking out your anger on d wrong people eh :lol: :lol: :lol:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 16th, 2013, 5:15 pm

S_2NR wrote:

lmfao.. i not living in the bush hoss. unless arima is bush. but i speaking about being 'mobile'. when u think about they call it a 4g service and is not even 4g.. but takin it a step further, it's not even a 3g mobile service.. it's a 3g hotspot service. this is such a small country to have national coverage implemented. with all the money tstt making ud think theyd be able to accomplish this easily. but all they really try to do is accomplish the absolute minimum necessary to charge full and advantage prices for a sub standard service.

if i cant move along the eastwest corridor mainroad or busroute and other main areas and maintain 3g signal 90% of the time then this isnt a mobile service in my opinion. it is just a hotspot service where u have to'rest' in the coverage zone. we could all band together and achieve better by linking our routers in a private shared network all over the country using extenders and repeaters which are now built into wifi routers as cheap as $100 usd each. think about if we set this up. and just set up each router to use a portion of their home internet bandwidth linked in a web array around the country.

besides being cheap, as in comparatively FREE to have unlimited mobile internet access across the country, the devices pool bandwidth so that if 3 users donate a max bandwidth of 5mbps each, the total amount of bandwidth available to access by mobile users in it's vicinity would be 15mbps.

what u all think of this? it is very easy to create and setup our own nationwide hotspot service with some devices covering a radius of a couple miles before needing another repeating/pooling of signal/bandwidth and would function more reliably and resilient than tstt mobile services.

i have a 25mbit connection at home, setting and donating a bandwith limit of 10mbit to such a network wont affect my useage at all really.

achillies

Postby achillies » February 16th, 2013, 5:52 pm

Lol, you not easy nuh

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 16th, 2013, 6:14 pm

achillies wrote:Lol, you not easy nuh

i am what u can call an underutilized member of society :)

Postby S_2NR » February 16th, 2013, 6:35 pm

De phoq is this....... :lol:

But yea I agree the 4g eh all that. Might cut it next month for edge. Just for emails.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 18th, 2013, 9:04 am

turbotusty wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

lmfao.. i not living in the bush hoss. unless arima is bush. but i speaking about being 'mobile'. when u think about they call it a 4g service and is not even 4g.. but takin it a step further, it's not even a 3g mobile service.. it's a 3g hotspot service. this is such a small country to have national coverage implemented. with all the money tstt making ud think theyd be able to accomplish this easily. but all they really try to do is accomplish the absolute minimum necessary to charge full and advantage prices for a sub standard service.

if i cant move along the eastwest corridor mainroad or busroute and other main areas and maintain 3g signal 90% of the time then this isnt a mobile service in my opinion. it is just a hotspot service where u have to'rest' in the coverage zone. we could all band together and achieve better by linking our routers in a private shared network all over the country using extenders and repeaters which are now built into wifi routers as cheap as $100 usd each. think about if we set this up. and just set up each router to use a portion of their home internet bandwidth linked in a web array around the country.

besides being cheap, as in comparatively FREE to have unlimited mobile internet access across the country, the devices pool bandwidth so that if 3 users donate a max bandwidth of 5mbps each, the total amount of bandwidth available to access by mobile users in it's vicinity would be 15mbps.

what u all think of this? it is very easy to create and setup our own nationwide hotspot service with some devices covering a radius of a couple miles before needing another repeating/pooling of signal/bandwidth and would function more reliably and resilient than tstt mobile services.

i have a 25mbit connection at home, setting and donating a bandwith limit of 10mbit to such a network wont affect my useage at all really.

In theory this sounds plausible but what happens when you're on the bus route in a non-residential area?

What happens when you're on the highway?

Unless you're going to make cars themselves the signal repeaters (with very long antennas), that theory is going to have the same hiccups.

Also,
turbotusty wrote:i am what u can call an underutilized member of society

Really :|

Postby S_2NR » February 18th, 2013, 9:24 am

brickman wrote:
Stephon. wrote:waz that?

This
http://www.bmobile.co.tt/services/brewards/

signed up 2 wks ago. no sign of card...........yet...

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 18th, 2013, 9:54 am

DJ Q wrote:
turbotusty wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

In theory this sounds plausible but what happens when you're on the bus route in a non-residential area?

What happens when you're on the highway?

Unless you're going to make cars themselves the signal repeaters (with very long antennas), that theory is going to have the same hiccups.

Also,
turbotusty wrote:i am what u can call an underutilized member of society

Really :|

regarding the highways issue, maybe i can get the business places involved in a non-profit setting. after all it would benefit everyone and who doesnt like to save money. with let's say a 2 mile radius of coverage per node the highway should be covered by those businessplaces along the highway. the hardware could be supported by a registered crew of techs in the various areas but really wouldnt need much supporting besides a lil router reboot here and there or total replacement if one malfunctions.

it wouldnt be without flaw, but i think it would be able to provide a free highspeed wifi internet alternative to tstt. especially along the bus route/main road and near or around residential areas around the most frequented areas trinis lime in etc. all along ariapita avenue/st james etc limers cud have free internet all night while they hang out. a community driven mobile internet service. perhaps worth discussing in a separate thread?

i like that internet hotspot car idea. think ill look into cheap/affordable tech for making cars work as range extenders/access points.

Postby S_2NR » February 18th, 2013, 10:04 am

i pick up bzone by grand bazaar lights. justsaying

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 18th, 2013, 10:11 am

S_2NR wrote:i pick up bzone by grand bazaar lights. justsaying

they maybe using the same or similar tech range extenders im talking about. and im going on old knowledge. it might be possible now to have a range of over 2 miles with consumer products.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 18th, 2013, 10:26 am

guess what i just found. as i suspected, just located a consumer device that can extend the range of each wifi signal up to a 50km radius. and it only cost $60 usd per device. sufficiently reducing the number of nodes required whilst increasing the coverage area in a totally affordable price range.

i believe the feasibility study is now completed.

Postby S_2NR » February 18th, 2013, 10:36 am

but how healthy is it for consumers to subject themselves to wifi radiation of that intensity in their homes?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 18th, 2013, 11:32 am

S_2NR wrote:but how healthy is it for consumers to subject themselves to wifi radiation of that intensity in their homes?

well it wont be in their homes for starters, it's a weatherproof application that can be installed anywhere outside at a high point of the wall or on the roof. being a consumer product i can say it is quite safe especially when compared to the gigantic cell towers tstt have in ppl backyard and have won the right to do so. i could look up the outputs and compare it to tstt's. sure it will be in the 1/1000ths less, and thus 1000 times safer than tstt celltowers.

speaking with some foreign experts now. apparently theyve been using this tech to mesh entire cities and provide free internet to everyone. so the idea apparently is not new. i just reinvented the wheel.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 18th, 2013, 11:48 am

turbotusty wrote:guess what i just found. as i suspected, just located a consumer device that can extend the range of each wifi signal up to a 50km radius. and it only cost $60 usd per device. sufficiently reducing the number of nodes required whilst increasing the coverage area in a totally affordable price range.

where else is this solution used effectively?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 18th, 2013, 12:10 pm

turbotusty wrote:guess what i just found. as i suspected, just located a consumer device that can extend the range of each wifi signal up to a 50km radius. and it only cost $60 usd per device. sufficiently reducing the number of nodes required whilst increasing the coverage area in a totally affordable price range.

all over the world. im looking at a few different devices right now. but this typical setup using this technology is being used all over europe/usa and asia. just depends on which brand u go with and the cost of different solutions vary. but they are also using it to implement ip camera cctv using wifi over vast distances. linking sites is as easy as 123 and the mesh setup with multiple internet nodes pooling creates redundancy and resilience for the network. this can 100% work based on the info im getting right now. could power the entire eastwest corridor mainroad and bus route with 2 strategically placed nodes with a budget of just $6000 ttd. rough numbers but.. nowhere near millions.

xtech

Postby xtech » February 18th, 2013, 1:21 pm

Like where this is heading

Postby Rooki3 » February 18th, 2013, 1:32 pm

so wait, u saying we should "donate" a fraction of the bandwith we PAY for, so as to create a more effecient & wide range hotspot system?

Daran

Postby Daran » February 18th, 2013, 1:40 pm

turbotusty wrote:

all over the world. im looking at a few different devices right now. but this typical setup using this technology is being used all over europe/usa and asia. just depends on which brand u go with and the cost of different solutions vary. but they are also using it to implement ip camera cctv using wifi over vast distances. linking sites is as easy as 123 and the mesh setup with multiple internet nodes pooling creates redundancy and resilience for the network. this can 100% work based on the info im getting right now. could power the entire eastwest corridor mainroad and bus route with 2 strategically placed nodes with a budget of just $6000 ttd. rough numbers but.. nowhere near millions.

I'll tell you a few problems with this.

One, Wifi (at least 802.11) will have some timing issues over such distances, this is why the 802.16 standard was developed. However, it can work when configured correctly. You will also need to know that you will need a very powerful transmitter to broadcast that distance, which of course TATT will never give you permission. By broadcasting at that power you will interfere with everyone's 2.4 GHz devices. However, if using point to point antennas (microwave) you can do this, although this requires having line of sight to each tx/rx.

Secondly, if you knew anything about wifi you'd realize that 2 'strategically' placed nodes will NEVER EVER have the capacity for your application. A cell site can server up to 32km and sometimes more, why you think TSTT & Digicel have almost 500 cell towers each? For fun? no, it's to create more capacity.

To do what you want to do without any infrastructure will cost you in the millions.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 18th, 2013, 1:49 pm

Rooki3 wrote:so wait, u saying we should "donate" a fraction of the bandwith we PAY for, so as to create a more effecient & wide range hotspot system?

yeah, y not? if u on a sub 2mb line then i cud understand not wanting to share.. but then we wouldnt approach someone with such low bandwidth. besides u benefit from it when u go out of town and use someone else's internet. is a sharing is caring kinda scene that is all driven by the community of citizens themselves. the more participation, the better the network will become. u cud get free wifi while bathing in the water by the beach in mayaro and someone from mayaro can get free wifi when they hanging out in the bar around the corner from u. i thinking of calling it 'wireless in the water'. where trinidad becomes so robustly internetified (no grammar nazis pls i just created a new word), that we have free internet extending a like 1/4 mile self out around the coast of the country.

but to tell the truth. i havent planned out that just yet. i mean i just get past the feasibility study and i on work doing jobs so this is nowhere near planned except that it's decided that it's possible. would have to work on plotting the grid, attracting investors etc. maybe can get a couple companies to donate towards a couple residential 100mb lines from flow. who knows. but all i can say right now is that the technology to get it done is out there and extremely affordable considering the benefits.

and not ur mobile bandwidth eh. ur home internet which is unlimited like blink or flow cable. if u have a 10mb connect u could donate 1mb or even 512kb if u want, and the limit is set in the router so that it would never use more than that from ur connection.
Last edited by rocknrolla on February 18th, 2013, 1:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

xtech

Postby xtech » February 18th, 2013, 1:51 pm

hahaha.... Was waiting for somebody to snap him back to reality

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 18th, 2013, 2:05 pm

Are you sure you've really completed the feasibility study?

Also what about security over wifi when you are sharing from everyone?
Aren't you the one who checks every data connection your phone makes?

Bzone already offers free wifi to bmobile customers on beaches and other public areas using hotspots. They keep adding zones all the time.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 18th, 2013, 2:18 pm

Daran wrote:
turbotusty wrote:

I'll tell you a few problems with this.

One, Wifi (at least 802.11) will have some timing issues over such distances, this is why the 802.16 standard was developed. However, it can work when configured correctly. You will also need to know that you will need a very powerful transmitter to broadcast that distance, which of course TATT will never give you permission. By broadcasting at that power you will interfere with everyone's 2.4 GHz devices. However, if using point to point antennas (microwave) you can do this, although this requires having line of sight to each tx/rx.

Secondly, if you knew anything about wifi you'd realize that 2 'strategically' placed nodes will NEVER EVER have the capacity for your application. A cell site can server up to 32km and sometimes more, why you think TSTT & Digicel have almost 500 cell towers each? For fun? no, it's to create more capacity.

To do what you want to do without any infrastructure will cost you in the millions.

well actually it can be setup using 5ghz and not 2.4ghz to avoid interference. yes it runs on standard microwave tech. im actually reading up the tech today for the first time. not that its much different from the old idea i had in mind so ive got to nail in some details definitely.

also ur right about the 2 nodes for E/W corridor because of the assignment of ip addresses, but the point i was drawing was that internet would be available for at least 2 subnets worth of users along the entire E/W corridor without losing connection and having a reasonably fast connect as well. implementing more subnets cheaply i have an idea for but have to do some more research. as it is now, the amount of nodes is directly related to the amount of subnets. so i just need to provide subnetting enough for say 1million users.. much less in fact cuz 1 million ppl is the whole scattered population of Trinidad so there wont be that many ppl using one node at any time, unless the whole country goes to port of spain at the same time for some reason. im thinking a linux server to handle the dhcp and multiple subnets and let the device rely on linux to handle all the ip address assignments. linux is free, just need to build a lil pc for say $5k and configure it up right.

but trinidad is a small country. i cant say that enough. these projects are cheese pie out there to some whose cities are larger than the whole of trinidad.

between making enough available subnets and the getting permission to use an option other than microwave i would say i cant see any other foreseeable problem with implementation.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 18th, 2013, 2:31 pm

What about the legality of subletting your residential Internet service? Are you sure FLOW, TSTT etc will allow that?

You might be offering your service for free, but if everyone had access to free internet via your service it would put a big dent in the revenue of these service providers. No one will bother with paying for 4G.

Expect resistance.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 18th, 2013, 2:47 pm

as it turns out the ip assignments on multiple subnets can be easily handled by a linux server configured for dhcp relay and fail-over.

about flow/tstt i will say this;
users can share their wifi how they want and create their networks how they want. a large company on acres of land can use this tech privately, and so what if someone else piggy backs on their wifi if it's accessible? we'd just be linking such sites together making them stronger with more bandwidth.

about the legality, considering we're using consumer grade products and public frequencies this is and can be viewed as a private venture which just happens to allow the public to access it.

finally, resistance will have to do with a moral and ethical stance on these companies and our government. Do we want trinidad fortified with internet technology? or dont we? this as far as i know has been the aim. and so far with many millions of dollars spent, what we have now is what u see around u. amazing isnt it. brilliant service availability, even down rioclaro and the bush have mobile internet. xF

You might be offering your service for free, but if everyone had access to free internet via your service it would put a big dent in the revenue of these service providers. No one will bother with paying for 4G.

really, it wouldnt be MY service unless their were subscription fees and monthly recurring fees etc. it rather would be OUR service and we'd take care of it like our own because it IS ours'. it's non-profit so aint nuthin for them to get if they want to sue. dont even have to register a company name to get it done.

the object of providing internet is to supply information, not make money, even with all their legislation to block competitors and control a monopoly, there is a workaround.. this one!

but of course, somewhere along the line professional legal advice can be sought, or maybe even donated to assist the project. registered techs can become highly revered by the communities they support, and maybe even gain some clients for their personal services. there is no business, and so, no conflict of interest.
Last edited by rocknrolla on February 18th, 2013, 3:04 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby 16 cycles » February 18th, 2013, 3:01 pm

find a way to throttle xxx dloads cause with 'free wifi' to the masses.....its gonna be a free for all....

check 'unlimited data' agreements with IPs since it may be unlimited based on certain stipulations...in addition to what Duane was pointing out earlier