offshore ppl ........your views.

geodude

Re: offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby geodude » February 15th, 2013, 6:27 pm

Nemesis hows the Alpha star?

I am gonna leave this rig by Tuesday i just requested my chopper seat, BOP issues :)
Are you extending your stay in Brasil or going home normally as per your normal rotation?
I have been in Brasil for 19 days, during which i embarked on 2 rigs, and i have not drilled 1 meter, that being said i am extremely well rested, :)
and I even got to take in part of the carnival, so i think i'll extend my stay this time, that way i get the Easter home.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » February 15th, 2013, 7:44 pm

geodude, what company do u work for?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 16th, 2013, 5:10 am

I think I'll be extending stay. Already asked for it, but it wasn't confirmed yet.
I on the other hand have been on 2 rigs, and have been drilling and ending sections, which is more work for us. But still, I'm sure I'll survive the extra time. The Alpha Star is pretty much the same as the other QGOG semi-subs. It's exactly the same design as thee...something else Star.. SS-82. :)

geodude

Postby geodude » February 16th, 2013, 12:04 pm

Jade_Inc. wrote:geodude, what company do u work for?

Weatherford

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 18th, 2013, 5:42 pm

Ey, geodude I see they replacing the Trini guy here with you Wednesday. Wireline going on when you reach.

geodude

Postby geodude » February 18th, 2013, 6:47 pm

that's news to me i have instructions to go to SS66 in Vitoria on Wednesday, but u know how its goes, i'll confirm with my office, i guess this is great news, no drilling again :)
so this means u coming off? wireline is no place for you guys :)

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 18th, 2013, 7:55 pm

Ummm, well I busy see your name on the RT to replace the other guy here so check nah.
Wireline they keeping one of us on board.. and that be me, cause the other guy no can check all the stuff that coming for the next section. We have about a 10 days to wait...

How you does manage with the weight restrictions in Vitoria? It's the only airport that give problems, but they real strict.

geodude

Postby geodude » February 18th, 2013, 9:01 pm

i watch them in their eye when they say my luagge is over weight, and tell them give me 5 mins, i go to the bath room, and put on like 4 tshirts, a short pants, a jeans and a coverall, and my boots, then i tell them weight my baggage again, that usually gets me through :)
i have not gone to a rig in Vitoria for more than a year, i was hoping that things had gotten better or at least more sensible ppl where at that heliport,

Navagantes heliport is horrible also. When I went on in December last year they told a guy he needed an RT to take some chocolates that he had in his bag to the rig.

rmn1

Postby rmn1 » February 18th, 2013, 9:51 pm

I'm not in Latin America but I am international all the same and going on 11yrs strong...

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 19th, 2013, 12:37 am

Oh yeah. Navegantes is the only place that's worse, but the town itself is nice and they have so few rigs I've only gone there once.
I hear Itahaem is pretty bad too.
Vitoria actually got worse than they were before. They asked me to leave my laptop with them and they'd send it the next day.. I was like...ummm no.
I need lighter stuff.

rmn1, where you at and wha you does do if you don't mind?

geodude

Postby geodude » February 19th, 2013, 8:08 am

nemesis its confirmed i am coming to SS83, imagine that you know more about my rotation than me.

rmn1, there are many persons in this thread that function outside of Latin America, its only recently that emesis and I have be spamming the thread with chit chat.

rmn1

Postby rmn1 » February 20th, 2013, 10:05 pm

Presently I'm in Asia Pacific region working Brunei,Japan,Indonesia,S'pore,Thailand,Malaysia, Philippines etc etc. Love it here one of the best places in terms of safety, food, weather & people my job is in the environmental field and I am base both offshore and land..

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 20th, 2013, 10:22 pm

Sounds like fun. I believe my dad is actually going Malaysia next month, but just to visit, not work.
Have to visit that part of the world some time in the future.

geodude, hard luck dey. I should have waited and let you find out the good old way of the night before you embark. :)

Postby Habit7 » March 1st, 2013, 9:40 pm

T&T oil workers among world’s best paid
Published: Thursday, February 28, 2013

T&T is the world's third most lucrative country for oil and gas workers, according to a survey published by US business magazine Forbes. In its February 11 issue Forbes published a survey by human resource consultants Hays that said the average pay for an oil and gas worker in T&T is US$169,000 per year.

T&T is third behind Australia (number 1) and the Philippines (2), but by only US$2,000 and US$1,000 respectively.

According to the survey published in Forbes, in Australia, the average annual pay is US$171,000 and in the Philippines, US$170,000. "The oil and gas industry has been a true bright spot amid the economic downturn," the article said. "Regions with rampant drilling like south Texas and North Dakota have among the lowest unemployment rates in the (US) nation."

In Dickinson, North Dakota workers at McDonald’s can get a US$300 signing bonus and wages of US$15 or more an hour, Forbes said. There is also a booming business in building “man camps” to "house all the roughnecks needed to drill wells in the Bakken or Eagle Ford shale," the magazine said. "Those guys (and they are almost always guys) up in North Dakota brave frigid temperatures to bore holes in the ground. Since 2008 North Dakota has surpassed Oklahoma, California and Alaska to become the second-biggest oil-producing state in the (US) nation after Texas, with production upwards of 700,000 barrels per day."

T&T's average production in 2012 was 82,000 barrels of oil per day, down from 92,000 barrels per day in 2011. The average in 2005, when T&T's oil production began its descent, was 144,000 barrels per day.

"Thanks to all this labour demand, the average pay for an oil and gas worker in the United States has climbed to US$124,000, according to Hays, the global headhunting and recruiting consultancy. Hays has released its new survey of worldwide pay trends in the oil and gas sector, finding that the average base salary of oil industry workers climbed 8.5 per cent last year, and 14 per cent over two years to US$87,000," Forbes said.

As good as the pay is in the US, however, skilled oilfield workers can make much more overseas where the labour pool is tighter, Forbes said. "The hottest spot for oil and gas workers is Australia, where the global supermajors like Chevron and Shell are in the process of building more than US$150 billion worth of projects to export liquefied natural gas," Forbes said.

The author of the article, Houston-based Forbes staff writer Christopher Helman said: "I’m told that the shortage of welders in northwestern Australia is so severe that an experienced metal worker can make well over US$250,000 a year. Labour inflation has tacked on billions of dollars to the pricetag of the biggest LNG project there, the US$52 billion Gorgon project operated by Chevron."

According to Hays, one of the spots where workers are compensated the most in “danger money and hardship allowance” is off the iceberg-strewn arctic coast of Russia, where companies like Rosneft and ExxonMobil are starting to explore for untapped hordes of oil and gas.

"The United States ranks just 21st in oil and gas pay. This time of year when the icy winds sweep across North Dakota, there’s bound to be plenty of roughnecks thinking they might enjoy a few years of higher pay and warmer temperatures in the likes of Mexico, Malaysia or even Papua New Guinea," Helman wrote.

Oil and gas employment goes up and down with commodity prices, "but according to the hundreds of employers who contributed to the Hays survey, 37 per cent say that skills shortages remain a real concern. That’s good news for Hays, which says that its 7,800 worldwide consultants placed 55,000 permanent workers last year and 182,000 in temporary assignments," Helman wrote.

The following is the ranking of the 21 most lucrative countries for oil and gas workers:
1. Australia – US$171,000
2. Philippines – US$170,000
3. Trinidad & Tobago – US$169,000
4. China – US$161,000
5. Russia – US$151,000
6. Denmark – US$149,000
7. Indonesia – US$146,000
8. Papua New Guinea – US$146,000
9. South Korea – US$142,000
10. Thailand – US$142,000

http://guardian.co.tt/business-guardian ... -best-paid

geodude

Postby geodude » March 1st, 2013, 9:51 pm

holy sheit, i packing my bags now, i wanna work in trnidad

Postby pete » March 1st, 2013, 10:15 pm

Somehow I feel that's expat rates.

geodude

Postby geodude » March 1st, 2013, 10:36 pm

it is i went to the fobes site and got the link to the Hays report, i am reading it now.

Trinidad and Tobago,
Local Average Annual Salary- 66200.
Imported Average Annual Salary -168800

nemesis

Postby nemesis » March 3rd, 2013, 10:58 pm

35k TT/mth for locals as average sounds about right. Always have to check how these reports get their stats eh.

geodude

Postby geodude » March 3rd, 2013, 11:02 pm

the Hays report is correct (it was actually very well done and presented), the Forbes report was also correct,
however the trini reporter as usual is sadly illiterate

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » March 8th, 2013, 7:49 am

Fellas, how does one go about getting a job with those oil companies down here?

Postby crazybalhead » March 8th, 2013, 8:14 am

Daniel, please read through the thread.

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » March 8th, 2013, 8:40 am

:| ^Alright.

Postby zoom rader » March 8th, 2013, 9:02 am

^^^ Plenty paper and some luck

Postby crazybalhead » March 8th, 2013, 9:20 am

No paper necessary

geodude

Postby geodude » March 9th, 2013, 2:49 am

lots of persons have messaged me asking how to get ah offshore wok, I tell most ppl that getting a rig wok is very difficult as we dont have many drilling contractors in trini and being part of the local crew on international rigs when they arrive is a shady process,
If they have the necessary educational requirements I usually advise they look at service companies,
A few persons have asked if I think that obtaining their Bosiet/ huet certification might be helpful to their cause,
honestly I am on the wall on this, I really don't think its necessary for the individual to do this and most companies seem to have no problem providing this training for new employees, but at the same time I can see that having this might put a potential candidate above others in the job race,
what do you dudes think about this?

Postby zoom rader » March 9th, 2013, 6:26 am

crazybalhead wrote:No paper necessary

Nah dude, u need paper for North sea wuk. laws in uk would not permit u to wuk in north sea if u have no paper. Piper-A caused all of these new laws
Apprenticeship papers in north sea is worth more if u dont have ur tech papers. Too bad trini did away with the apprentices scheme

Postby zoom rader » March 9th, 2013, 6:46 am

geodude wrote:lots of persons have messaged me asking how to get ah offshore wok, I tell most ppl that getting a rig wok is very difficult as we dont have many drilling contractors in trini and being part of the local crew on international rigs when they arrive is a shady process,
If they have the necessary educational requirements I usually advise they look at service companies,
A few persons have asked if I think that obtaining their Bosiet/ huet certification might be helpful to their cause,
honestly I am on the wall on this, I really don't think its necessary for the individual to do this and most companies seem to have no problem providing this training for new employees, but at the same time I can see that having this might put a potential candidate above others in the job race,
what do you dudes think about this?

If ur self employed/ private contract worker in north sea, u will need to do these courses on ur own pocket. It does help a bit if u got MIST, Medicals,Bosiet,Compex, First aid ect

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 9th, 2013, 2:03 pm

Surprising to see China in 4th spot in that review!!

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » April 8th, 2013, 11:30 am

Anyone know of any vacancies for a Roustabout or Roughneck.????? plz pm me i'm still searching

deecedes

Postby deecedes » April 10th, 2013, 7:46 pm

DFC wrote:so is it true that on the rig , there is a barrel with a hole. And whenever you feel sexually frustrated, you go hug up that barrel and make love to that hole. and that its the best feeling in the world. and you can use it anytime except on fridays because thats your day inside d barrel?

i have heard many offshore men speak of this.

HAAHHAHAHAHHAAH OH sheit