j.o.e wrote:Domestic murders/violence will sky rocket too I suspect... u know how much of allyuh woulda already kill wife/gf if yall had a gun. Rum+horn+gun=![]()
And in trinidad we love our rum and we love to horn.
turbotusty wrote:Redman wrote:Gun control can't work cuz we can't control the guns that already here.
Allow bonded trained citizens to own fire arms for home protection.
If yuh carry it outside yuh yard jail/ fine etc.
Once a couple of them get kill breaking in that will stop.
The violence that on the streets is drug fueled,related and caused.
Dat cyah done.
So allow the rest of us to protect our families when INVARIABLY it comes home.
it shouldnt be for home alone. concealed carry permits should also be issued to select citizens to be armed when going about their daily business. our streets will be safer with more responsible, armed and trained citizens. is a different ballgame when the criminals not sure how many of their potential victims have something to answer back with.
the arguments above about criminal takin the gun from u and escalating to rocket launchers etc is real nonsense. it is much harder to smuggle a rocket launcher into this country than small arms. but with a proper system to registering firearm owners it will be alot easier to figure out where the criminals getting guns from.
citizens can enroll in training programs that will teah0ch them about securing their weapon.
bandit does take gun from police and shoot them with it?
bandit getting rocket launchers to shoot police? no!.. so joke is joke but this is a topic of serious discussion. and i urge everyone to support the train of thought that allows arming of the population.
speedmelter wrote:we are not ready for this. give the common everyday man the legal right to firearm possession and you would have men showing of their little guns all over. guntas would seek to rob men of their legal weapons and probably shoot them more frequently knowing that they are armed.
armed robberies and murders in the U.S.A i believe has very little to do with citizens being defensively armed. i think its more to do with the efficient justice system they have, large detailed penitentiary system and good policing authorities. in fact i think legal firearm possession among civilians there is more for recreational purposes and to give a psychological boost to their safety.
speedmelter wrote:
armed robberies and murders in the U.S.A i believe has very little to do with citizens being defensively armed. i think its more to do with the efficient justice system they have, large detailed penitentiary system and good policing authorities. in fact i think legal firearm possession among civilians there is more for recreational purposes and to give a psychological boost to their safety.
hustla_ambition101 wrote:A man comparing Trinidad to Sweden, I lol'ed. TWO ENTIRELY DIFFERENT MENTALITIES. How much of you so called law abiding citizens drive within the speed limit, always wear your seat belts, never speak on cells while driving, never take a chance on the PBR, never take a chance along the shoulder, have proper lights, tyres etc on your vehicles, because all of these are laws and laws which are broken by the same people who chastise the bandits and murderers but guess what crime is crime.
Rooki3 wrote:give everybody the right to bear arms & some of them self wud rob.
this is tricky
turbotusty wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:A man comparing Trinidad to Sweden, I lol'ed. TWO ENTIRELY DIFFERENT MENTALITIES. How much of you so called law abiding citizens drive within the speed limit, always wear your seat belts, never speak on cells while driving, never take a chance on the PBR, never take a chance along the shoulder, have proper lights, tyres etc on your vehicles, because all of these are laws and laws which are broken by the same people who chastise the bandits and murderers but guess what crime is crime.
i fall into all these categories. my police padnas commend me on how first thing i do is put on my seatbelt as i sit down. before i start the car. i rarely cross 80kmph because i not into speed and dont really trust cars. tho my screen name can be misleading. i just made this name to be trinituner car oriented. couldnt think of anything else at the time i wanted to sign up.
dont drive if i had even one beer and never have to date because i understand the effects of alcohol and not a chance taking kinda person.
i think u underestimating the amount of responsible law abiding citizens we have in this country
ABA Trading LTD wrote:Rooki3 wrote:give everybody the right to bear arms & some of them self wud rob.
this is tricky
anyone who want to robwill rob
people don't use their legal firearms to do robberies.
legalize shot guns for everyone,no small arms
ABA Trading LTD wrote:Rooki3 wrote:give everybody the right to bear arms & some of them self wud rob.
this is tricky
anyone who want to robwill rob
people don't use their legal firearms to do robberies.
legalize shot guns for everyone,no small arms
hustla_ambition101 wrote:turbotusty wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:A man comparing Trinidad to Sweden, I lol'ed. TWO ENTIRELY DIFFERENT MENTALITIES. How much of you so called law abiding citizens drive within the speed limit, always wear your seat belts, never speak on cells while driving, never take a chance on the PBR, never take a chance along the shoulder, have proper lights, tyres etc on your vehicles, because all of these are laws and laws which are broken by the same people who chastise the bandits and murderers but guess what crime is crime.
i fall into all these categories. my police padnas commend me on how first thing i do is put on my seatbelt as i sit down. before i start the car. i rarely cross 80kmph because i not into speed and dont really trust cars. tho my screen name can be misleading. i just made this name to be trinituner car oriented. couldnt think of anything else at the time i wanted to sign up.
dont drive if i had even one beer and never have to date because i understand the effects of alcohol and not a chance taking kinda person.
i think u underestimating the amount of responsible law abiding citizens we have in this country
Trinidad as a society has not matured to the level of the ordinary citizen carrying a firearm, people break out in fight for a simple touch on the shoulder or step on the foot.
Conrad wrote:turbotusty wrote:Redman wrote:Gun control can't work cuz we can't control the guns that already here.
Dat cyah done.
it shouldnt be for home alone. concealed carry permits should also be issued to select citizens to be armed when going about their daily business. our streets will be safer with more responsible, armed and trained citizens. is a different ballgame when the criminals not sure how many of their potential victims have something to answer back with.
the arguments above about criminal takin the gun from u and escalating to rocket launchers etc is real nonsense. it is much harder to smuggle a rocket launcher into this country than small arms. but with a proper system to registering firearm owners it will be alot easier to figure out where the criminals getting guns from.
citizens can enroll in training programs that will teah0ch them about securing their weapon.
bandit does take gun from police and shoot them with it?
bandit getting rocket launchers to shoot police? no!.. so joke is joke but this is a topic of serious discussion. and i urge everyone to support the train of thought that allows arming of the population.
Full support of responsible citizens being armed but you surely just didnt compare a bandit taking a gun from an individual (or his home) to an armed police (or police station) which is by far more secured than the average person.
You're not aware of the instances where it criminals allegedly rent guns from officers. Of course some may be rumshop talk but the mere idea that it could be suggested should not make one naive especially considering that this is TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO we're talking about.
We're a loooong way from the average citizen having the right to bear arms and I'm glad as we're yet to show that our society is mature enough. Hell, some security officers have been known to brandish their arms when found in a dispute off-shift!
tourniquet wrote:Redman wrote:Gun control can't work cuz we can't control the guns that already here.
Dat cyah done.
nice idea, however, just playing devil's advocate here, but couldn't that just lead to an increase in crimes outside the home/ business place, heck it might even result in an upswing of kidnappings. Then there's the issue of older folk who may not be able to handle a shot gun even if they had one; the past few years or so, we've already seen several cases where the elderly are being targeted and victimized, this could increase as well
turbotusty wrote:
and to be honest man. is not that i want a gun because i can get one legally and have never taken the opportunity which has been open to me for years. my faith is sufficiently strong that the Lord knows what's best for me and i can count on him to protect me. but that said, i think i may be considering getting armed. not just for myself, but to help protect others.
good point!tourniquet wrote:turbotusty wrote:
and to be honest man. is not that i want a gun because i can get one legally and have never taken the opportunity which has been open to me for years. my faith is sufficiently strong that the Lord knows what's best for me and i can count on him to protect me. but that said, i think i may be considering getting armed. not just for myself, but to help protect others.
not to go too off topic, but since you brought it up, is your faith waning, because it appears as though the underlined and bolded sections contradict themselves.
Anyway, on the topic of protecting ourselves, perhaps we should learn to creep before trying to run; how about we permit people to arm themselves with mace/ pepper spray, electroshock weapons, et al, before we start arming grandma with a shotgun
tourniquet wrote:turbotusty wrote:
not to go too off topic, but since you brought it up, is your faith waning, because it appears as though the underlined and bolded sections contradict themselves.
Anyway, on the topic of protecting ourselves, perhaps we should learn to creep before trying to run; how about we permit people to arm themselves with mace/ pepper spray, electroshock weapons, et al, before we start arming grandma with a shotgun
tourniquet wrote:turbotusty wrote:
speedmelter wrote: