Re: The Machel Montano, Benjai, K Roberts court case re Zen

Postby Morpheus » February 25th, 2013, 5:47 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
pioneer wrote:LOL@tuner lawyers

Any of you ever stopped to think that this is not a serious crime?

Fights happen every damn day/weekend and people get charged, pay a small fine and walk free. Visa not affected.

But alas the phaggot haters would speculate.

THIS. Men want blood.

Now seeing this. i so agree with Pioneer here.

Folks think he should be jailed because he "popular". And "he feel he above the law". HTF you know he feel that?? :roll: :roll: :roll:

Not affected by the outcome but I can't complain.

Postby Morpheus » February 25th, 2013, 5:56 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:This is why crime cya done.

what then, in your opinion, would have been an appropriate punishment?

10 days in remand ...leh him reflect on wah he do.

ppl does geh lock up fuh victim less crime n spend months in jail.

^^ :lol: :lol: So..............the victims just stand up and take licks?? So dem big hard-back men eh fight back? Yeah right. It just so happened they got a beat down. I woulda be shame if I was them. LoL. I doubt Machel so dread :roll:

Postby wagonrunner » February 25th, 2013, 6:18 pm

le read.
http://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/bl ... 27&cpage=1

who knows if one day the details used in the judgement would be released.

neexis

Postby neexis » February 25th, 2013, 6:53 pm

for all the judge and magistrate dem

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 25th, 2013, 7:01 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:
sliperywhenwet wrote:she wine to the beat ah d drum !! lol real machel haters in here boi lol. let the man live nuh . the man who buss up d refree head with the carib bottle in ah intercol match get a $6000 fine . machel get 27k sumtin . steups .

and d price ah doubles aint going down .

well said

My sentiments exactly... if the price a cocoa aint changing... doh budda meh :drinking:

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » February 25th, 2013, 7:04 pm

verdict was fair......btw fcuk macheal...

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 25th, 2013, 7:11 pm

I prob late but only heard this today... lol

18+

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » February 25th, 2013, 7:18 pm

good tunes dey
:drinking:

Postby toyolink » February 25th, 2013, 9:09 pm

This whole saga has brought on this 'Soca Star' many penalities which he will have to confront from this point forward.
The life of someone with a recorded conviction, brings with it a lot of unforeseen consequences.
Hope this chapter which is actually now beginning helps to positively impact on the possible need for transformation,since it could also certainly lead to a further downward spiral.

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2013, 9:16 pm

it's not as bad as it may seem though
a large number of US rappers have similar convictions
usually involving guns
some with beating bajan woman

Postby pioneer » February 25th, 2013, 9:18 pm

LOL you all STILL overthinking this?

This was just a fight...some slap pass...

Worse happens in soca monarch, but we doh hear nuttin bout it?

Seems all of you are so high n mighty and busy studyin other people lives.

Then again the biggest physical fight any of you have ever gotten in was playin mortal kombat or street fighter.

Postby wagonrunner » February 25th, 2013, 10:27 pm

pioneer wrote:LOL you all STILL overthinking this?

Then again the biggest physical fight any of you have ever gotten in was playin mortal kombat or street fighter.

that's all that happen there?
wagonrunner wrote:le read.

Postby BrotherHood » February 25th, 2013, 10:29 pm

BrotherHood wrote:This is why crime cya done.

what then, in your opinion, would have been an appropriate punishment?

Sorry, I take that back.
You will ask why. I take it back because I got word of Machel being ordered to pay compensation to the four victims in addition to the fine of $27,200.
I now find it a fair sentence. I don't know if the state will appeal it though. The maximum term for Assault is two years imprisonment. Considering that it is his first offence, his positive attributes and exploits as an entertainer and all other mitigating factors, the sentence would have been reduced to probably six months or so. I was expecting a bigger fine though and a bond.

Postby pioneer » February 25th, 2013, 10:38 pm

pioneer wrote:LOL you all STILL overthinking this?

that's all that happen there?
wagonrunner wrote:le read.

You here too long for this eh

Ent some years back ah man collect ah slap in valpark and the stories turned into man collect bottles to head, kick up by 5 gunta and bodyslammed to de pavement and in mt. hope emergency ward?

Stories change, the magistrate examined the facts and sentenced accordingly.

None of us here have the power to change it.

Postby pioneer » February 25th, 2013, 10:43 pm

All this over this...

BEAST

If THAT come to wine on me in this life or the next allyuh better bring cigs for me in jail.

Postby wagonrunner » February 25th, 2013, 10:46 pm

pioneer wrote:You here too long for this eh

Ent some years back ah man collect ah slap in valpark and the stories turned into man collect bottles to head, kick up by 5 gunta and bodyslammed to de pavement and in mt. hope emergency ward?

Stories change, the magistrate examined the facts and sentenced accordingly.

None of us here have the power to change it.

so are you.
didn't know any of those stories. sorry.
like you, i have to go by what's reported.
and if you beleive you may not have all the facts, or that they may change, which facts are you holding firm to?

ever been slapped into a hospital ward? I dunno about that, so asking.

was there a site that had transcripts of court cases?

Postby pioneer » February 25th, 2013, 10:53 pm

legal affairs or ttlawcourts I think

What I am simply saying is aside from all the stories/versions which were reported, the case was tried in a court of law (not trinituner/forum), a verdict was passed and sentence handed down.

Why all the fuss?

Ah man get charge to hitting a referee with a bottle...which is VERY serious and got off on a much lesser fine, why aren't we blocking highways over him?

Postby wagonrunner » February 25th, 2013, 10:56 pm

who blocking highways for machel?
there's no fuss. persons are stating they believe the punishment should have been more severe.
why is that a fuss?

you accept every single ruling as "fair" since they meet your "criteria"?

Postby pioneer » February 25th, 2013, 10:58 pm

No because persons qualified to make such decisions, made the decision.

Postby wagonrunner » February 25th, 2013, 10:59 pm

:rofl: good word choice. qualified vs competent.

Postby pioneer » February 25th, 2013, 11:25 pm

Well if you firmly believe otherwise, file ah civilian lawsuit and challenge the decision nah?

Yuh have no problem with de man who rock de ref ah bottle in he head and geh ah $6000 charge, right?

Postby BrotherHood » February 25th, 2013, 11:29 pm

pioneer wrote:No because persons qualified to make such decisions, made the decision.

So because a qualified person made the decision, that makes it just and correct?

Postby pioneer » February 25th, 2013, 11:38 pm

By the law of the land yes.

See some of you need to aware yourselves with something called precedence. As in magistrates don't just hand down sentences at the top of their heads. They are guided by previous cases both locally and internationally. To make it simple for the not-so-smart, there is a scale used for persons convicted of a crime, especially crimes like these where fines are handed down. He was convicted on 5 counts, so check the guidelines, previous cases and do the math.

Allyuh sounding wuss than pnm abroad posters.

Postby pioneer » February 25th, 2013, 11:40 pm

Also if the victims believe that the compensation is unjust, they can file a civil law suit.

Postby BrotherHood » February 25th, 2013, 11:48 pm

I agree with all that you say but I still think you missing the point. Not because someone is qualified, makes what they do, in this case a sentencing, just and well deserving considering all the factors.

Don't get me wrong, I am satisfied with the sentence having learned that Machel was ordered to pay compensation to all the victims together with the fine.

Postby pioneer » February 25th, 2013, 11:52 pm

But who are you to question them?

Are you aware of our constitution?

Postby BrotherHood » February 26th, 2013, 12:05 am

Not aware of the constitution and I am not questioning them simply because I am satisfied with the sentence. Everyone and anyone regardless of post or office held can overlook, miss, be miguided and or not give sufficient thought into anything within his or her profession.

Postby pioneer » February 26th, 2013, 12:20 am

Then we better consult the village elders for their judgement, nomsayin?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 26th, 2013, 12:28 am

Expert: Visa trouble for convicted Machel Montano
By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Feb 25, 2013 at 10:56 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 25, 2013 at 11:03 PM ECT
SOCA superstar Machel Montano's United States visa is supposed to be automatically revoked because of his four assault convictions, former consular officer of the US State Department attorney, Randy Depoo, has said.
Montano will require special permission from the US Department of Homeland Security, in the form of a waiver, in order to get a new US visa, Depoo said yesterday.
Depoo, a member of the American Immigration Lawyers Association, made the statements during a telephone interview with the Express yesterday.
The US Embassy in Port of Spain yesterday said it could not comment specifically on Montano's "individual visa case" in response to a query from the Express.
However, the US Embassy yesterday stated: "Generally speaking, visa applicants who have been convicted of serious crimes are ineligible for a visa to travel to the United States."
Montano was yesterday ordered to pay fines and compensation totaling $27,200, for beating four people and using obscene language.
Songwriter/producer Kernal Roberts was also ordered to pay a fine and compensation for assaulting two people.
The ruling was delivered by Magistrate Maureen Baboolal-Gafoor in the Port of Spain Magistrates' Court.
On December 10 last year, Montano was found guilty by the magistrate of assaulting Brandis Browne, Russell Pollonais, Janelle Lee Chee and Gerard Bowrin and using obscene language outside the Zen nightclub on the morning of April 26, 2007.
Depoo yesterday said once an individual is convicted of a crime that carries a maximum penalty of more than one year in prison then their US visa is supposed to be automatically revoked.
The charge of assault occasioning actual bodily harm, which Montano was convicted for, carries a maximum term of imprisonment of five years, according to Section 30 of the Offences Against the Person Act, Chapter 11:08.
The charge of common assault, which Montano was also convicted for, carries a maximum sentence of a fine of $4,000 and a term of imprisonment for two years.
"Once a person is convicted of any crime of moral turpitude that has a maximum penalty of more than a year in prison then, if the convicted person has a visa, that visa will be automatically be revoked and you know longer qualify for a visa, you have to get special permission from the Department of Homeland Security for a waiver to travel," Depoo said.
"The convicted person will not be able apply to travel to the United States unless they get a waiver. You do not qualify for a visa unless you get a waiver," he said.
Depoo said if the convicted person travels to the United States they will be sent back.
"The embassy monitors the media and they will put that (revocation of the visa) on the computer so if the convicted person travels to the United States they will be sent back," Depoo said.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 26th, 2013, 12:29 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Mac ... 73911.html

Machel spared jail
By Rickie Ramdass rickie.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Feb 25, 2013 at 10:56 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 25, 2013 at 11:02 PM ECT
SOCA STAR Machel Montano was yesterday spared a possible jail sentence after he was convicted of four assault charges and instead ordered to compensate the victims of the attack as well as pay fines to the court.
In her ruling delivered shortly after 1 p.m., Magistrate Maureen Baboolal-Gafoor rejected a submission for Montano and songwriter Kernal Roberts, who was also convicted on two assault charges, to serve community service for the offences.
Baboolal-Gafoor's decision came almost six years after Montano's first court appearance.
On December 10, last year, Montano was found guilty of assaulting Gerard Bowrin, Janelle Lee Chee, Brandis Browne and Russell Pollonais during a fracas at the Zen nightclub at the corner of Keate and Frederick Streets, Port of Spain, on April 26, 2007.
Roberts was found guilty of assaulting both Browne and Pollonais. Two other artistes, Joel "Zan" Feveck and Rodney "Benjai" LeBlanc's who were also charged alongside Montano and Roberts, were found not guilty.
The magistrate ordered Montano to pay compensation totalling $13,500 and fines totalling $13,700. Roberts was ordered to pay compensation totalling $11,000 and fines totalling $13,000.
Montano, 38, the reigning Groovy Soca Monarch and joint Power Soca Monarch champ, faced an additional charge of using obscene language, but he was reprimanded and discharged for that offence.
Failure to pay the fines could see both Montano and Roberts facing up to two years in prison. Both men were allowed until March 4 to pay the compensation and fines.
Speaking to the media after the decision, Montano said the duration of the matter was a trying time for him to stay strong and focused.
"But I live one day at a time and I will continue to do that. The love I received from my fans and my family is very much appreciated because love is what keep me going. I also want to say thanks to all of the attorneys who represented us over these years," he said.
Yesterday's hearing was initially scheduled to be called during the morning period, but it was delayed as Baboolal-Gafoor became trapped in the traffic gridlock caused by the blockade of the Beetham Highway by protesting Sea Lots residents.
At 10 a.m., police officers opened the doors leading to the Seventh Court where the matter would later be called. Media workers, along with supporters of the men tried to squeeze their way into the room.
Among the supporters were president and founder of Caribbean Prestige Foundation William Munro along with soca artistes Darryl "Farmer Nappy" Henry and Cassiano "Cassie" Sylvester.
Less then a minute later, Chief Magistrate Marcia Ayers-Caesar called the matter. Only present at that time was Roberts. The matter was stood down for a brief period and re-called shortly after upon Montano's arrival.
The magistrate informed both the prosecution and defence attorneys that Baboolal-Gafoor became trapped in traffic and asked that the matter be stood down until 1 p.m., when she would deliver her ruling.
Again, as the doors leading into the courtroom were opened during the afternoon period, there was a mad rush to enter.
Baboolal-Gafoor proceeded to outline her considerations before arriving at her ruling.
"Having considered the authorities and the submissions by both the prosecution and the defence, the court concludes that these two offences (assault against Brandis Browne and Russell Pollonias occasioning actual bodily harm), amounts to aggravated assault. The ambit of community service is not applicable in these instances," said the magistrate.
The case put forward by the prosecution, led by Senior State Attorney George Busby was that Montano, Roberts and a group of other men had gone to the nightclub in April 2007, to celebrate Montano winning that year's Road March title with "Jumbie".
Later that night, Montano and his entourage left the club and went to Roberts' home before returning to the club shortly after.
It was while in the club that a woman by the name of Helen Ganga proceeded to "wine" on Montano twice. After Montano refused to dance with the woman a third time, an altercation took place between him and Bowrin, resulting in Borwin spilling a drink on Montano and one of his (Montano's) female friends.
In turn, Montano slapped Bowrin to the face and grabbed Lee Chee by the arm. The argument later escalated into a brawl outside the club with Montano and Roberts physically assaulting Pollonais and Browne.
The men first appeared in the Port of Spain Court for the offences on June 4, 2007, before Magistrate Lianne Lee-Kim. During the early stages of the trial, the matter was prosecuted by then Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions Carla Brown-Antoine, who replaced by Busby after she was appointed a High Court judge.
Baboolal-Gafoor said, she had also taken into consideration that both Montano and Roberts had clean criminal records and that they have both made positive contributions to this country. She also noted that several written testimonials were submitted to the court outlining the men's good character.
"But the court has to also take into consideration that these are serious offences and that a clear message has to be sent that this type of behaviour will not be tolerated.
"The entire thing should have ended inside the club. Machel Montano and Kernal Roberts could have left the club. The group (Pollonais and other) did retaliate but there was no evidence led that it was a physical attack.
"What is crystal-clear is that Mr Montano attacked Mr Brandis Browne, slapping him with a glass and Mr Pollonais was similarly attacked," said the magistrate before passing sentence.
Following the hearing, both men left the courthouse and hurried over to the Abercromby Street office of attorney Keith Scotland, who represented Roberts.
Asked if attorneys would be appealing Baboolal-Gafoor's ruling, Scotland said he would have to consult with Montano's attorney Dana Seetahal SC to determine the way forward.
"It is an option, so the decision to appeal has not been counted out," said Scotland.
The ruling Machel Montano Assaulted Gerard Borwin: fined $300 or two months imprisonment. Compensation of $1,000 or six weeks imprisonment. Assaulted Janelle Lee Chee: fined $400 or three months imprisonment. Compensation of $1,500 or six weeks imprisonment. Assaulted Brandis Browne occassioning actual bodily harm: fined $3,000 or six months imprisonment. Compensation of $3,000 or six weeks imprisonment. Assaulted Russell Pollonais: fined $10,000 or two years imprisonment. Compensation of $8,000 or six weeks imprisonment. Obscene language: reprimand and discharged. Kernal Roberts Assaulted Brandis Browne occasioning actual bodily harm: fined $3,000 or six months imprisonment. Compensation of $3,000 or six weeks imprisonment. Assaulted Russell Pollonais: fined $10,000 or two years imprisonment. Compensation of $8,000 or six weeks imprisonment. All payments to be made on or before March 4, 2013.