Aftermarket filter Questions - Installation

Stixer7

Aftermarket filter Questions - Installation

Postby Stixer7 » January 31st, 2005, 1:11 pm

Ok fellas.. I got one of those aftermarket cone filters.

I know i need new tubing etc... I just want some things explained.

Closer look

& the Filter i got.

What need to be done & how much should that cost?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 31st, 2005, 1:12 pm

im guessin a sensor?

dry

Postby dry » January 31st, 2005, 1:16 pm

could be intake air temp sensor. you can just move it further up the pipe.

Empress

Postby Empress » January 31st, 2005, 2:09 pm

thats your air sensor

Stixer7

Postby Stixer7 » January 31st, 2005, 2:21 pm

what does it sense? air flow/temp/existance?
what?

dry

Postby dry » January 31st, 2005, 2:37 pm

intake air temp

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » January 31st, 2005, 4:19 pm

could be intake air temp sensor. you can just move it further up the pipe

yip dry is right , i have seen fellas cut ah hole at the base of the cone filter and stick them in

last i saw was some one use ah small lenght (bout 2 inches ) of approate diameter PVC and dreml ah space to mount it and placed this ah little way before the MAF ( Mass Air Flow sensor ( btw u dont have ah MAF so no problem there)

u can try the PVC thingee and cut ah hole for the sensor and then use silicone to seal it properly

what allya fellas think

rolandk

Postby rolandk » January 31st, 2005, 4:21 pm

^^^sounds right. If you disconnect this fella, you would consume more fuel, so it is advisable that you move it up the intake with minimal effect.

Rx

Postby Rx » January 31st, 2005, 10:26 pm

yep .....air sensor.........

nice filter :)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 31st, 2005, 10:41 pm

just do wah dry say and yuh ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

plex

Postby plex » January 31st, 2005, 11:51 pm

air sensor..

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 1st, 2005, 10:46 am

Yuh know...i've seen this with my car as well, where the sensors are on the air silencer block.

My advice is look for an aftermarket adapter for this air sensor first, before you attach it yourself. I'm not sure what kinda car you have but i've seen adapters from aerospeed, k&n, injen, etc for many of the popular cars.

I'm just saying this cause i know with my 1zz, the actual placement of these sensors dictate what kinda hp gain you get. Which is why I would only get a filter attachment with an adapter for my engine. I know i've seen fellas fashion an attachment for the air temp and MAF sensors before. I just wonder about the effectiveness after you've changed its position in the airflow.

Stixer7

Postby Stixer7 » February 1st, 2005, 6:49 pm

^^^^^^^^^^^ Yup thanks for the advice^^^

I located the housin/piping with the inlet for the sensor

I have a temporary placement

DJ Kaotic

Postby DJ Kaotic » February 1st, 2005, 7:04 pm

niceee how long did it take u to do???

Polydor

Postby Polydor » February 1st, 2005, 7:12 pm

Did you pre-oil the filter?.....if not you need to buy a K&N filter charger system....comes with oil in an aerosol spray and detergent to clean the filter when necessary.
Or you going to run into some problems.

Knowledge is power
Polydor.

Stixer7

Postby Stixer7 » February 1st, 2005, 7:34 pm

It took about 10 minutes

Xman

Postby Xman » February 3rd, 2005, 12:51 pm

Question.....I bought a K&N filter for a corolla.....would it need and adapter. Cause I bought that too....I was informed that i would need to get an adapter.

Also do I need to put in a heat shield to prevent hot air from entering the filter.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 3rd, 2005, 1:19 pm

which version corolla.....the same ae110 from the other threads. I know the newer ones need an adapter because the MAF sensor fits onto the air silencer box.

A heat shield is a good idea if you want cooler air going into the filter esp if its close to the engine or manifold.

Xman

Postby Xman » February 3rd, 2005, 1:25 pm

similar to the L-touring

5E-FE Engine DOHC 16V Fuel Injected

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 3rd, 2005, 1:47 pm

I think you should be similar to stixer7 there.

This is a 5e-fe with a Conical filter in it.

I can see there's probably a air temp sensor attached just before the base of the filter in the midldle of the pic. so you'll need some where to get that sensor in. Doesn't look like anything else in left out there. Sometimes theres a hose to the engine that you usually bung off. But looks OK. I'm not seeing any MAF attached their.

Anyone esle more familiar with the engine can confirm???

Xman

Postby Xman » February 3rd, 2005, 3:50 pm

Cool picture...someone you know???

If there is no MAF then I might not need the adapter?????

I only bought it yesterday but haven't gotten a chance to check out the engine...I will post pics of the filter and engine this evening......

Thanks alot

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 3rd, 2005, 4:19 pm

Cool man...got that from a New Zealand tuner parts site.

So you may not need the adapater for the MAF.......I see Stixer just slid in the temp sensor under the filter.....but he said he's got an adapter for that.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » February 3rd, 2005, 5:15 pm

my k&n filter came with a hole in the centre at the top of it which got bunged up. Maybe this type of filter is designed for these sensors?

Xman

Postby Xman » February 3rd, 2005, 5:24 pm

really.....will have to check out mines!!!! damn work.....holding me back from going and fix up meh car.....but den again i wouldn't have money to buy it in the first place

Its a bitter-sweet world :( :( :(

DJ Kaotic

Postby DJ Kaotic » February 3rd, 2005, 8:19 pm

i just did a custom intake on the accent.........the only problem i encountered was one of the breather holes to the engine was too far down on the stock pipe..so i bought one of those small breather filters at Automotive art for $30.00 and put it over that little hose...i'll put up some pics soon

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » February 4th, 2005, 12:35 am

my plan of action for my intake was to remove the sensor and grommet from the silencer box and and then drill a hole in the pipe and just replace it
is that a feasable idea?

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » February 4th, 2005, 2:31 am

my filter:

stixer7, is your filter pre-oiled?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » February 4th, 2005, 2:40 am

thats your filter flatline? Comes with the Velocity stack and all? Thats pretty neat, where did u obtain it?

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » February 4th, 2005, 2:57 am

yep, jim, thanx. Got it from http://www.stillen.com

comes with velocity stack/adapter, and heat shield as shown. It's a genuine K&N filter made for stillen. I can probably post a pic of it mounted, if you want, tmr or this weekend after I clean it. They mostly deal with Nissans but have stuff for other cars available. They're also kinda pricey

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » February 4th, 2005, 3:16 am

Cool yeah take pics!

However I doubt the hole at the top is for any sensor, usually IAT sensors are further down the pipe cloer to the TB.