Asking any and everything about frontier - HELP / ADVICE

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Asking any and everything about frontier

Postby tr1ad » February 7th, 2013, 2:26 pm

anything specific to check / change on approaching the 200k mark?

a little way to go still but want to prepare in the event of anything

Paullct

Postby Paullct » February 7th, 2013, 7:17 pm

if the timing belt was changed last 100k, should prob change again at 200k. check your plugs as well if they were never changed

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 7th, 2013, 11:03 pm

good thing bout the nissan line ....TIMING Gears throughout...

Postby tr1ad » February 8th, 2013, 10:29 am

QD32 have belt?

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 8th, 2013, 3:40 pm

no belts.....lol gears....not even a chain!

Paullct

Postby Paullct » February 8th, 2013, 4:29 pm

well look ting

Postby tr1ad » March 8th, 2013, 1:13 pm

so where can i get a suspension lift kit locally?

Postby sliderz1 » March 8th, 2013, 1:44 pm

Westbourne Trading
683-1101

nos_specialist

SO, I jus bought my first 4X4...ah add a pic

Postby nos_specialist » March 24th, 2013, 8:17 pm

Good day tuners, so i just bought my first 4X4. Its the Basic model Frontier, with the QD32 engine (i know not the best of 4x4s out there) but i got it reasonable...

So what guidance can you give in taking care of this van, upgrades, where to get stuff like bush bars, running bars etc....
rim size, tires etc etc etc...

even tips on how to drive the thing properly ...share your wealth of info :D

Its not the best lookin 4x4. but i know she got some potential, SO i introduce you to... Lucy

Last edited by nos_specialist on March 25th, 2013, 11:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: SO, I jus bought my first 4X4...pass some tips nah fella

Postby nervewrecker » March 24th, 2013, 8:26 pm

Have an official frontier ched up in here man.
But run some pics nuh?
Have more where you get that from oh wah lolz

venum

Postby venum » March 24th, 2013, 9:26 pm

welcome to the club

check the official Frontier thred and teh generic threads in here

makes no sense reposting all that info, one thread can't contain it

i would advice that you foind out the weaknesses for that model and address them or mitigate agains it

then enjoy

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » March 24th, 2013, 9:28 pm

COOL SCENE...

well...I.B.T.L YO

Postby nervewrecker » March 24th, 2013, 10:14 pm

viewtopic.php?f=41&t=450776

there you are man. :D

Postby 3stagevtec » March 25th, 2013, 12:52 am

droppa

Postby droppa » March 25th, 2013, 12:59 pm

u did make sure that the 4WD works? right?

Postby nervewrecker » March 25th, 2013, 5:46 pm

only 4*4 allowed on that run oh wah? :mrgreen:

Postby 3stagevtec » March 25th, 2013, 8:59 pm

only 4*4 allowed on that run oh wah? :mrgreen:

In the dry season, we had 4x2s going with us already to Morne Diablo. Just takes a good driver. Up for the challenge?? :lol:

Re: SO, I jus bought my first 4X4...ah add a pic

Postby nervewrecker » March 26th, 2013, 5:55 pm

I feel is best I sit this one out till I examine my tyres and inspect the vehicle thoroughly.

Tinting it this weekend though :D

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 27th, 2013, 12:25 am

why, hello lucy and welcome to the club!

Postby 3stagevtec » March 27th, 2013, 12:48 am

Black looking good!

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » March 27th, 2013, 8:04 am

Modifications start....well more like inprovements..Van didnt come with a center console....and i got one for $60.00 :), i dont even know what vehicle it came out from but..the high hand rest reallll comfortable for changing gears .....will clean up and install properly

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » March 27th, 2013, 8:40 am

Had an exploding sound in my engine while driving a couple days ago followed by immediate cut off.

Engine is a zd30t in a 4x4 model.

Vehicle still starts but idles with a horrendous roughness and tap tapping with more tapping and a wheezing sound when revved.

I had a couple mechanics take a look and no one could tell me what's wrong.

No idea what's my next move but out of curiosity what's the average cost of having one of these engines rebuilt? I don't need a quote down to the dollar just a ball park. $1k? 5k? 10k?

droppa

Postby droppa » March 27th, 2013, 9:07 am

great deal on that arm rest, it look real original there......

Postby sliderz1 » March 27th, 2013, 9:26 am

congrats on your buy

welcome to the Frontier club :wink:

Postby 3stagevtec » March 27th, 2013, 10:09 am

Nice fit! Those arm rests come in handy..

Xplode

Postby Xplode » March 27th, 2013, 10:14 am

Captain Awesome wrote:Had an exploding sound in my engine while driving a couple days ago followed by immediate cut off.

Engine is a zd30t in a 4x4 model.

Vehicle still starts but idles with a horrendous roughness and tap tapping with more tapping and a wheezing sound when revved.

I had a couple mechanics take a look and no one could tell me what's wrong.

No idea what's my next move but out of curiosity what's the average cost of having one of these engines rebuilt? I don't need a quote down to the dollar just a ball park. $1k? 5k? 10k?

blown turbo unit.

Postby sliderz1 » March 27th, 2013, 10:40 am

nos_specialist wrote:Modifications start....well more like inprovements..Van didnt come with a center console....and i got one for $60.00 :), i dont even know what vehicle it came out from but..the high hand rest reallll comfortable for changing gears .....will clean up and install properly

u could link another? :oops:

Postby sliderz1 » March 27th, 2013, 10:42 am

^hope its easy as that

thinking connecting rod :shock:

Paullct

Postby Paullct » March 27th, 2013, 10:44 am

sliderz1 wrote:^hope its easy as that

thinking connecting rod :shock:

was thinking this as well but he said a couple mechanics checked it out and could not determine the cause so maybe it's more complicated than that

Postby sliderz1 » March 27th, 2013, 10:53 am

^^ay dude passed you at Jack and Jill stage Sunday, raised my hand but not sure if you noticed.
was in red juzzy with grey jeans.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”