The official WAZE GPS navigation thread

DJ Q

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby DJ Q » March 8th, 2013, 10:17 am

Used it while travelling in a maxi this morning.
Exploded my phone every time it saw a report of police on the PBR :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 8th, 2013, 10:38 am

I've gotten Waze to post to twitter.com/trinituner, but can't seem to figure out how to get an RSS feed for trinidad or how to post that feed to facebook

Trinidad is not in the country list, is it?

Postby pete » March 8th, 2013, 10:48 am

I think it is.. in the scoreboard section you can see who else in Trinidad has the most points.

Postby RASC » March 8th, 2013, 10:50 am

DJ Q wrote:iPhone runs cooler when plugged in actually.
Now I understand the name of the program...

"Waze! My battery dead already?!"

ENT :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 8th, 2013, 3:51 pm

pete wrote:I think it is.. in the scoreboard section you can see who else in Trinidad has the most points.
are you seeing a feed for trinidad as well? - with only traffic updates from trinidad

Postby *KRONIK* » March 8th, 2013, 5:23 pm

Anybody know wat is the situation with roads not on the map?

Cuz this morning i went into some important sideroads (great for avoiding main rd traffic)
But the map didnt show the road

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » March 8th, 2013, 5:26 pm

waze is really helpful , but this battery usage needs to be fixed pronto , even in an external battery pack the phone dies quickly

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » March 8th, 2013, 5:27 pm

pete wrote:My note feels like you can fry an egg on it by the time I reach home. :lol:

Same with the Note II and Skyrocket (S 2 Duo Core 1.5 GHZ) and my battery life just disappears.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 8th, 2013, 5:36 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Anybody know wat is the situation with roads not on the map?

Cuz this morning i went into some important sideroads (great for avoiding main rd traffic)
the great thing about Waze isthat you can add a road and the rest of the Waze users wil see it - you need to have certain points and level to add roads though and some sections can be locked - but a quick email or post to Waze admins and they unlock it for you.
You can add your own roads as you drive.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 8th, 2013, 5:54 pm

yup, got this app about two days ago.... lovin it.
the traffic and police reports saving

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 8th, 2013, 8:52 pm

just installed the app... this is so cool!

Postby *KRONIK* » March 9th, 2013, 7:18 am

the great thing about Waze isthat you can add a road and the rest of the Waze users wil see it - you need to have certain points and level to add roads though and some sections can be locked - but a quick email or post to Waze admins and they unlock it for you.
You can add your own roads as you drive.

thanks duane, i will look into it
cuz in my area, there is a lotttttt..... of unmapped roads, even where i live, isnt on the map...

i guess i try to build my points and add roads, cuz i dont mind taking a drive on a sunday to add some some roads to the map...

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 9th, 2013, 9:27 am

waze is a great app. works flawlessly on my Droid 4. u really cant trust it blindly as we have our own native routes but it has still been really great at helping me navigate to places ive never driven to before. it can only get more complete from here. i recommend it to everyone i know with a smartfone that drives.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » March 9th, 2013, 7:29 pm

guys i honestly find this app to be veryyyyyyyy useful , and helpful in terms of reports and alerts etc. and really user friendly , fun and easy to use but this app is wayy more accurate , to be honest , i use to use this and it got me where i needed to go everytime! https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... ator&hl=en

vin123

Postby vin123 » March 10th, 2013, 3:50 am

waze rocks, joined the Tuner group last month.

I avoided traffic twice with the reports and I recommended it to 10 of my friends lol

The more people use it the better :D

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 10th, 2013, 11:40 pm

I will try and update the maps i do area by area. Just havent had much spare time lately with work and drinking :S

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 11th, 2013, 1:19 am

how u update the maps? would like to do some of that myself.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 11th, 2013, 12:29 pm

turbotusty wrote:how u update the maps? would like to do some of that myself.

https://world.waze.com/editor/

Damn app sent me into south quay instead of straight wrightson road last Friday afternoon.
Why nobody in south quay had the app open?!?! :x :x :x

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 11th, 2013, 12:42 pm

Waze is only as good when someone traverses the route before you.

And speaking of which, its getting out of hand now.
Why are users posting reports if there are already reports in the same vicinity?
And when you check the times posted, its within minutes.

Its no longer a matter of jus wanting more users...but more responsible users, you shouldve seen the amount of hazard posts when there was the bush fire near Caroni on the UBH last week.

Are ppl that thirsty for points?

Postby M_2NR » March 11th, 2013, 12:49 pm

I think this is not just about the users but about the app design as well. I'm surprised their devs did not address that at all. For instance, have a limit to the number of reports in a range, say 500m? I'm sure they thought of that though and had some reasoning for not including this. There should also be user editable pre-config reports. Half the time i ended up having to pick up the phone /and/ drive which is illegal and dangerous. I ended up giving the passenger to type the report label. And yes, when i do get bored i will email the dev.

Someone also mentioned battery life... Um... this is a GPS app... GPS module on any device once in constant use /will/ take a heavy toll on the battery life.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 11th, 2013, 2:05 pm

M, If you are driving you cant make a report it detects the speed.
But its a simple bypass by hitting Give to Passenger button.
You can dismiss Police reports though.

I also thought about the devs making a provision for this and the only thing I can think of is the timeline. But in some cases reports are within minutes in the same range.

How about if its somehow calculated into the duration of your trip as in the more reports the more concentrated is the traffic. Moreso if no other Waze user travels that route since the last traffic update, it can be used to calculate kmh? I dunno.

Waze is good but if im heading Toco, il use NavPhone because it doesnt require data.
Unfortunately Waze does.

Postby Stephon. » March 11th, 2013, 2:07 pm

People need to realize that traffic lights aren't traffic. People stopping at traffic lights and when waze ask them if it have traffic they clicking yes :lol:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 11th, 2013, 2:09 pm

^That too is also annoying :lol:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 11th, 2013, 2:12 pm

idlemind wrote:Waze is only as good when someone traverses the route before you.

And speaking of which, its getting out of hand now.
Why are users posting reports if there are already reports in the same vicinity?
And when you check the times posted, its within minutes.

Its no longer a matter of jus wanting more users...but more responsible users, you shouldve seen the amount of hazard posts when there was the bush fire near Caroni on the UBH last week.

Are ppl that thirsty for points?

there's nothing wrong with this imo. the more alerts the more noticeable and u cud reroute ur plans accordingly.. anywey wit all dat bachannal bong to have traffik. unless u want to pass to see the bush fire for urself lol

and thanks for the link DJ Q. i will try to fix up what i can in my spare time, which i have right now, but have to play some poker.. my zynga chips are under a million lol

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 11th, 2013, 2:17 pm

idlemind wrote:
Waze is good but if im heading Toco, il use NavPhone because it doesnt require data.
Unfortunately Waze does.

actually thats not true. i mean with waze i plan my routes beforehand on wifi and head out. if u change routes or dont follow the preplanned route waze automatically follows u and updates with a new route based on ur change. so basically u only need data/wifi to do the first login and plan. after that u safe without data but wont get up to the minute traffic reports etc.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » March 11th, 2013, 2:32 pm

Was wondering if there was a thread for this. Also had the App a while now and also joined 2NR group

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 11th, 2013, 3:33 pm

idlemind wrote:Waze is good but if im heading Toco, il use NavPhone because it doesnt require data.
Unfortunately Waze does.

Waze only requires data to get real time traffic updates.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 11th, 2013, 3:40 pm

turbotusty wrote:
idlemind wrote:
Unfortunately Waze does.

actually thats not true. i mean with waze i plan my routes beforehand on wifi and head out. if u change routes or dont follow the preplanned route waze automatically follows u and updates with a new route based on ur change. so basically u only need data/wifi to do the first login and plan. after that u safe without data but wont get up to the minute traffic reports etc.

But if dats the case
U could use mapfactor navigator instead
It downloads the map once and u can use it without data
And its better mapped than waze imo

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 11th, 2013, 5:55 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
turbotusty wrote:
idlemind wrote:
Unfortunately Waze does.

But if dats the case
U could use mapfactor navigator instead
It downloads the map once and u can use it without data
And its better mapped than waze imo

i might check it out but waze i have to say is a very strong app and with more users joining on we'll have tnt maps fully editted in time. by the end of the year waze cud be the goto app for navigation. its just stable and so easy to do everything with it.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 11th, 2013, 6:34 pm

Agreed
I was just using the mapfactor reference to the whole "no need for data issue"

But waze as long as it catches on its gonna be for everyone's benefit!