utt Maritime

nazzy

utt Maritime

Postby nazzy » March 11th, 2013, 9:35 pm

Hi can anyone advise me about doing maritime at utt Chaguaramas? I know they were troublesome in the past but is it the same now?

Re: utt Maritime

Postby nemisis » March 11th, 2013, 9:38 pm

Troublesome how exactly?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 11th, 2013, 9:48 pm

I have two padnas doing it, them fellas seem happy lol and their class is about 10 - 15 people

Postby sharkman121 » March 11th, 2013, 9:49 pm

Contact tuner Bess Almera, he doing that course there a few years now.

nazzy

Postby nazzy » March 13th, 2013, 6:56 pm

troublesome as in they were not able to get their certificates n what not at the end of the program and students were protesting.

nazzy

Postby nazzy » March 13th, 2013, 7:01 pm

@ greenlime100

are your padnas doing the bsc. in nautical science? that's the one i would like to do. im currently in uwi (yr 1). Dunno if i shud leave to go n do it in utt

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 13th, 2013, 10:58 pm

i doin nav in utt ask meh anyting go b up whole nite studyin for exam moro

slim1005

Postby slim1005 » March 14th, 2013, 8:36 am

i went there for three years (unsuccessful) and the experience was great, a broad learning curve. you have to keep your head on straight and not be dazzled by the party life of the west. i didnt come out bad in the end working as a trainee mate with a local company. you also come out with a wealth of knowledge. The BsC on the other hand is a pilot program and the first intake of students would be graduating this year. the program is a very in depth program and would require you to immerse yourself in sheit loads of law books, case studies and port & marine legislation. My girlfriend is graduating from the program in may so after that i could tell you if it was easy to get a job or not. best of luck

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 14th, 2013, 10:33 am

all good except i wouldn't say the B.Sc. is a pilot programme, its more of anything shore based not limited to pilotage but good info nonetheless.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » March 14th, 2013, 10:50 am

^^ as he said...everything related to shore based maritime management.

slim1005

Postby slim1005 » March 14th, 2013, 3:14 pm

Pilot program meaning that the program was started out as a experiment in the maritime industry to see if Trinidad has the ability to produce competent shore side marine personnel without being a seafarer prior.

nazzy

Postby nazzy » March 14th, 2013, 11:15 pm

Thank you guys sooo much :) Much appreciated.

nazzy

Postby nazzy » March 18th, 2013, 12:08 am

[quote="KiD"]i doin nav in utt ask meh anyting go b up whole nite studyin for exam moro[/qu

On the program structure online i see there is industrial placement. Which companies is the placement with? if you happen to know.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 18th, 2013, 12:44 am

both navigation and engineering usually go back out to sea with the company that they were training on as cadets. You also have to option to apply to a preferred company. Companies Vary widely, depends whose available at the time. Exmar,Maersk,hapag-lloyd,p&o...could be anyone really.

nazzy

Postby nazzy » March 18th, 2013, 12:06 pm

ok thanks :)