*Football Fanatix* - what led you....

LikaStick

*Football Fanatix* - what led you....

Postby LikaStick » March 22nd, 2013, 10:53 am

to support the Club/Country you currently do....was it a particular player or passed on as a tradition from family members?
Have you always supported the same team or did you switch over along the way....etc

For me it was Raúl....seeing him play for Real Madrid which then led me to supporting Spain....
a couple of years after I developed a strong affinity for Portugal (though is nothing close to my love for Spain) because of Figo and Nuno Gomes....

As of two years ago I tried getting into the EPL by supporting Chelsea (a decision which was influenced by a friend)....but I have not been very successful @ that thus far....

Mr Midas

Re: *Football Fanatix* - what led you....

Postby Mr Midas » March 22nd, 2013, 2:13 pm

country.... it was seeing schillachi and baggio do their thing on the field for the 1990 world cup

club....the great dennis wise, ruud gullit, zola and gianluca vialli enticed me to support chelsea

Postby Trini Hookah » March 22nd, 2013, 2:26 pm

Picked up on United through my dad when I was much younger.

My favourite player, CR7 was also from his glory days at old Trafford

jusme

Postby jusme » March 22nd, 2013, 2:41 pm

Country: Spain since late 90's during their quarter final curse. Always enjoyed watching Baraja & Mendieta link up in midfield

Club: AC Milan.. Boban, Gullit, Maldini, Costacurta, Baresi... Need i say more?

Postby Dizzy28 » March 22nd, 2013, 2:57 pm

English Football in general and Manchester United as main supported club. Growing up before the days of internet and cable television there was one station only and the only league given any serious coverage was the old English Championship (predecessor to the Premiership). And off course FA Cup finals were also broadcast. So grew up with the likes of Everton, Arsenal, Liverpool and just favoured Man U as they started to dominate the new Premiership in the 90s.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » March 22nd, 2013, 3:21 pm

Germany: Jurgen Klinsmann....1996 Euro Cup.

Manchester United: Ryan Giggs

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » March 22nd, 2013, 3:30 pm

Dwight Yorke got me into following Manchester United initially, but eventually saw the bicycle kick Rivaldo scored and began following Barca as a result. Remained interested in seeing other teams play such as Dortmund and Napoli but only really support Barca.

Only naturally after spending so much time watching La Liga and the players, I began supporting the Spain National team.

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2013, 3:34 pm

Country - Supported Holland in 1978 finals, after switched to Brazil due to their flowing,beautiful style. Still a Brazil fan to date
Club - Started as a (eek! :lol: ) ManU because of my dad. Switched to Barca since the Maradona days because I thought they had classy players.

Postby rfari » March 22nd, 2013, 4:01 pm

Started as a brazil football fan. Dropped brazil after they won the 1994 ( age 10) world cup cus the wagon was taking rell load and i hated wagonist since i was a yute. Looked at germany after and took to not only its football success but the country's resilience and innovation which was also replicated in its football. Started following men like klinsmann and bierhoff. Naturally followed bayern munich soon after with men like matthaus and effenberg. Bayern had the same tactical approach like the national squad that up to this day has endeared me to them both.
Bestest player ever? Oliver kahn :mrgreen:

douglaking

Postby douglaking » March 22nd, 2013, 4:40 pm

Brazil - Ronaldo, Rivaldo, Roberto, Dinho, et al (now I'm still deciding as Germany has most of my interest because of their style of play. Holland are my outside child

Club well Yorke was my inspiration to initially support United but their greatness kept me after he left

Postby sharkman121 » March 22nd, 2013, 5:15 pm

Vicente, joaquin, Raul, gaizka, canizares, albelda, marchena, baraja, morientes. <3

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » March 22nd, 2013, 5:28 pm

italy.. growing up watching strong defensive football with quick counter attack

juventus.. man like nedved, davids, thuram, del piero, buffon.. great amazing football

i think what drew me to liking these teams was that we were always able to take down the dominating teams as underdogs showing fight and spirit

Postby rfari » March 22nd, 2013, 5:40 pm

The last time i supported brazil, the team had man like romario, bebeto (cant call one without the other), man like tafarrel between the uprights, man like dunga, man like cafu and 'the animal'. Memories jed

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » March 22nd, 2013, 6:02 pm

i truly dislike bandwagonists....but i admit i was guilty of it for the 1998 World Cup.... :oops:
After Spain failed to advance from the group stages....I passionately supported Croatia....as I was really impressed with Davor Suker's performance....and was incredibly disappointed when France defeated them in the semi-final....

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » March 22nd, 2013, 6:22 pm

douglaking wrote:Brazil - Ronaldo, Rivaldo, Roberto, Dinho, et al (now I'm still deciding as Germany has most of my interest because of their style of play. Holland are my outside child

Club well Yorke was my inspiration to initially support United but their greatness kept me after he left

so you saying if they wasnt winning you would be backing another team right now ?

typical manure fan

Postby Trini Hookah » March 22nd, 2013, 6:24 pm

Oh my country - Portugal :)

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » March 22nd, 2013, 6:26 pm

From the Days of Ronaldinho @ Barcelona...me n my unc's used to take een all the exciting matches together. Then when messi was introduced, we both agreed that that dinho, messi, eto attack was unstoppable. Then as the team fragmented, we stopped watching matches. So mainly Ronaldinho was our Icon then Messi took over where he left off after he left the club. Forca Barca!

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2013, 6:49 pm

rfari wrote:The last time i supported brazil, the team had man like romario, bebeto (cant call one without the other), man like tafarrel between the uprights, man like dunga, man like cafu and 'the animal'. Memories jed

Edmundo, that man nearly kill ah teammate because he kick de ball out ah play fuh an opponent to get medical attention yes! :lol: :lol:

Postby Rooki3 » March 22nd, 2013, 6:52 pm

yorke cole solksjaer made a man u fanatic bk in d day, doh even kno when i switched to chelsea, used to bandwagon juventus & real bcuz of zizou, bcuz if him i'm a france fan

Postby Rooki3 » March 22nd, 2013, 6:56 pm

aye also peter shmicheil

damn, i jus realised man u have real heritage jed

why d fack i support chelsea again :?

Postby rfari » March 22nd, 2013, 8:34 pm

rfari wrote:The last time i supported brazil, the team had man like romario, bebeto (cant call one without the other), man like tafarrel between the uprights, man like dunga, man like cafu and 'the animal'. Memories jed

Edmundo, that man nearly kill ah teammate because he kick de ball out ah play fuh an opponent to get medical attention yes! :lol: :lol:

Dais the man self. For the brazil side of that era, two men had roles on the side other than actually playing football. He used to be the guy to physically harm the opposite team :lol: frigging crazy yes. The next man was denilson. Lawd. Come on for the last 10 mins of a game to frustrate men with beats.

Postby cinco » March 22nd, 2013, 8:55 pm

Oranje till i die! because of Guillet
i am a manu fan because of rvp mostly now
i support players not teams

Postby cinco » March 22nd, 2013, 8:56 pm

btw i was originally a crystal palace fan

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » March 22nd, 2013, 9:42 pm

rfari wrote:

Dais the man self. For the brazil side of that era, two men had roles on the side other than actually playing football. He used to be the guy to physically harm the opposite team :lol: frigging crazy yes. The next man was denilson. Lawd. Come on for the last 10 mins of a game to frustrate men with beats.

Denilson!!! lol...man with the quickest fans! Lol...

Surprised I eh hear no Argentina fans jump out, or even England for that matter.

Postby rfari » March 22nd, 2013, 10:24 pm

cinco wrote:btw i was originally a crystal palace fan

:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » March 23rd, 2013, 9:00 am

ah like this current belgium team , maybe its because of the premier league / chelsea influence.
mingolet/cortouis (gk)
kompany/vertonghen/vermaelen (def)
dembele/fellaini/hazard/ de bruyne (mid)
mirallas/lukaku/benteke (st)

check out the full squad on wikipedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Belgium_na ... tball_team

Postby rfari » March 23rd, 2013, 9:06 am

If germany or bayern munich get knocked out of a tournament before semis ( rarely happens, ah know), i stop following the tournament until maybe the final. And for the final i just want to see bess beats, bess fouls and bess goals with a healthy serving of yellow and red cards. Meem care about the end result

Postby AllTrac » March 23rd, 2013, 9:08 am

Club: AC Milan- Maldini, nesta, super pippo, kaka, those were the men who made me a diehard supporter.

Postby dougla_boy » March 23rd, 2013, 9:24 am

to be honest, i watched football for the love of the game...seeing men like baggio, and the goldilocks from brazil, man like zizou....then to come and see henry......and nedved, davids.......peter schmichel.....i just loved football......then i started to watch Real Madrid, partly due to bandwagonsim, my brother and just loving the talent of players.....then i started liking chelsea.......and i realize......i just still love football...Real is my first love tho.......

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2013, 12:23 pm

rfari wrote:

Man was a one time record transfer when he went to Betis