3ne2nr fishermen

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » April 7th, 2013, 1:15 pm

joker wrote:that's not local? how so?
where in tobago you catch them crayfish? Delaford?

Thats what the guy who owned the land said. I could be wrong. Will find out more for u/

Postby joker » April 7th, 2013, 1:31 pm

the ones i catch with nets in rivers have the blue claws ...

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » April 7th, 2013, 2:05 pm

joker wrote:the ones i catch with nets in rivers have the blue claws ...

but are the claws long or short, fat and have loads of spiney pointy stuff on the claws?..
cause these were

Postby joker » April 7th, 2013, 2:36 pm

long claws... good pointing that out ....i was thinking juvenile wen i saw your pics ...

Postby X_Factor » April 7th, 2013, 5:51 pm

HC....how much a fishing trip like that costs?

Postby meccalli » April 7th, 2013, 6:44 pm

I see those crayfish all the time when i snorkel in the grassbeds.

proton17

Postby proton17 » April 7th, 2013, 7:49 pm

hardcore, nice catch man. That was night fishing from shore for the lippe and shark?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » April 7th, 2013, 10:51 pm

proton17 wrote:hardcore, nice catch man. That was night fishing from shore for the lippe and shark?

Yup off a rock! Toco side ..

man that was reall ruff... Im talking bout waves slamming you soaking to the skin threatening to throw you of the edge and you need to be leaning over to make sure the line dont rub against to rock.

But i had reall good tackle. Penn Spinning reel, 65lbs power pro braided line, 60lbs tooth proof wire lead and some sweet J hooks.

tofastforyou

Postby tofastforyou » April 7th, 2013, 11:12 pm

wow i never seen soo much freshwater lobsters (crayfish) before, nice catch man !
Btw how did you catch them ?

EvolvedDET

Postby EvolvedDET » April 8th, 2013, 10:56 am

The cray fish are Australian blue Lobsters fresh water type caught in a secret abandoned pond in Trinidad. We put bricks in the pond the lobsters hide in them and we dive down and catch them. The fishing trip to tobago can be arranged its a full day not 3 hrs starts at 6am and ends when you decided to or by say 7 pm no light. All gears are provided trolling for the entire day ballyhoo, artificial, Etc Etc. The fishing is done up at Spay Side we caught three Kings at the same time on a hook riged dredge have it on film will try to post, also two Yellow fin and two Black fin at the same time. The fishing up there is phenoeminal and is the cheapest charter by far in tobago the value of fish caught greatly outways the price paid not to mention the momories and experience.

EvolvedDET

Postby EvolvedDET » April 8th, 2013, 10:57 am

pm for further details

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » April 8th, 2013, 12:48 pm

EvolvedDET wrote:The cray fish are Australian blue Lobsters fresh water type caught in a secret abandoned pond in Trinidad. We put bricks in the pond the lobsters hide in them and we dive down and catch them. The fishing trip to tobago can be arranged its a full day not 3 hrs starts at 6am and ends when you decided to or by say 7 pm no light. All gears are provided trolling for the entire day ballyhoo, artificial, Etc Etc. The fishing is done up at Spay Side we caught three Kings at the same time on a hook riged dredge have it on film will try to post, also two Yellow fin and two Black fin at the same time. The fishing up there is phenoeminal and is the cheapest charter by far in tobago the value of fish caught greatly outways the price paid not to mention the momories and experience.

Doh forget to mention de water does be bad at some times........

Postby Rooki3 » April 8th, 2013, 1:24 pm

wais d best time to catch crayfish? & how?

Postby meccalli » April 8th, 2013, 10:02 pm

In the sea, i just hover over the patches of turtlegrass and place a 3ft cast net around it and disturb the grass, they tangle easily. In the river/estuary, the calmer inlets with mangroves host more of them, I just put a dipnet on the bottom and use crushed, burnt, dried coconut. Just scoop em when they come in. As for timing, personally I see more/bigger ones around sept/oct period.

Postby Rooki3 » April 8th, 2013, 10:10 pm

kool? day or night?

Postby meccalli » April 9th, 2013, 7:37 am

Well if you doing it manually, morning, evening time where it a little darkish better, but i don't really target them, I set a crab pot whenever i'm out for a holiday or something with a fish head and I usually find both blue crab(siric), and crayfish in it, I think they're more active at night, some guys use flashlight and the netting method at night as well. Shark river has lots of em.

Postby X_Factor » April 9th, 2013, 8:09 am

Shark river HAD lots of them
i remember about 12-15yrs ago i would go with my father and uncles, and we could easily catch a cooler
and they said 25yrs ago when they would go, it was like crazy, they would catch only big crayfish and leave back anything smaller than 5inches

now, we go ever so often and its pressah to get 1 or 2 doz for a small cook

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » April 9th, 2013, 8:31 am

Whats the biggest crayfish you've seen? A friend caught one that was a foot of tail... it was a lobster. Couldn't believe it till he caught 2 more. But that was in the 90's.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » April 9th, 2013, 10:21 am

Went Salybia Yesterday... Caught About 12 Sirick Crab.... (Dunno If I Spell That Right)... Lol...

Postby Rooki3 » April 9th, 2013, 10:37 am

few yrs ago i caught some using a 4" pvc pipe with a block off on one end & a funnel type entrance one the other, wid a piece of fish inside

Postby meccalli » April 9th, 2013, 7:25 pm

Yeap, that's one version.

Postby joker » April 9th, 2013, 8:05 pm

@ columbus beach on a falling tide @ night you can use headlights to hold the serrete{sp} crab... but watch how yuh walking ... they bury themselves in the sand .. you hadda have "crab eyes " to see the outline of the shell in the sand .... if using white led's go waist hieght in the water with blade/ cutlass ... .. the lights attract ballyhoo{sp} and other top feeders .

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » April 10th, 2013, 1:33 am

Crayfish are the easiest to catch.

Fishpot works great but i use a wire mesh that allows the small ones to pass back.
But you can also harpoon them, Best time is at night, their eyes glow orange and you can spot them easy in the water.

These pictures were taken on out family private estate high in the mountains in grand rivier. We are at the highest point and there are 2 natural water springs and 3-5 man made ponds. These pond have loads of cray fish and when we go there overnight we have a blast catching them and stuff. Also there are loads of exotic fruits to eat.....BESS
We were trying to make it into an adventure/ nature resort but plans changed. Anyone wishing to visit the land could contact me and i will let you all know when next i will be heading there..

Oh yea! There is a house in the land with running water and flushing toilets.

One of the man made ones

Natural Spring

Postby meccalli » April 10th, 2013, 7:39 am

Looks epic!

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » April 10th, 2013, 8:36 am

Thats what I talkin bout!!!

Postby Rooki3 » April 10th, 2013, 11:37 am

that place is beautiful

Postby Ted_v2 » April 10th, 2013, 11:55 am

Damn. I wanna go there too

venomz

Postby venomz » April 12th, 2013, 9:19 am

how is the water in the north? i wana make a trip out?

Postby meccalli » April 13th, 2013, 12:05 am

HELP?? Well i started a sw tank recently and I got 2 new inhabitants thanks to my dad, he caught these for years but only today i wondered, what the hell species are they? I'm tempted to believe is a crossed fish/hybrid with waliacke/lane snapper and some other deepsea redfish. Its basically a more white ish/silverish and more pink redfish LOL-tastes great though :). My white balance was off so they looking more orange in the vid.

Here's a pic
Mystery Snapper by meccalli, on Flickr

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » April 13th, 2013, 12:40 am

That looks like a waliack (waa--lee--ack) from the spot to me. Its a type of red fish.