wtk. if 2 8" delta and 2" zebra worth $1000

besss

wtk. if 2 8" delta and 2" zebra worth $1000

Postby besss » April 11th, 2013, 6:41 pm

yeh tuners am looking to install a small music set up in my car n was wondering what u guys tort about the 8" m&m delta compared to other speakers in that category
i dont have enough power for 18 sounds so dont bother reccommend
also like to knw what prices they go for

getting a pair of 8" delta pro and 2 zebra drivers for $1000 what u all think?

reminder its brand new eh
Last edited by besss on April 15th, 2013, 8:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.

ChristianRD

Re: wtk. about m&m delta and zebra flares...help!

Postby ChristianRD » April 11th, 2013, 6:47 pm

can't compare chocolate to speakers.

caliph tec

Postby caliph tec » April 11th, 2013, 6:52 pm

in my experience eminence is a gud brand despite what ppl say i have use many of there mids speaker an i find it sounds an work grate 4 the price.delta gives u nice mid bass an ok voice but it have other brands like prv they sounds good 2.hoss de best ting 4 u although u say u dont have enough power de 18sounds 6'' day take ok power an day dont need much power 2 get loud,dont no about de zebra part lol

besss

Postby besss » April 12th, 2013, 11:36 pm

kk thanks bro!...will certainly consider them doh
u knw wad prices the delta go for by chance?

bikerz_rule

Postby bikerz_rule » April 13th, 2013, 6:06 am

I use ah pair of Eminence Beta 8's and they work well on d small system i have, seen some here for around 500 in pods as well....good luck on dat project.

caliph tec

Postby caliph tec » April 13th, 2013, 8:42 am

will get a pair of used delta 10 4 600

Postby nervewrecker » April 13th, 2013, 11:18 am

I demoed eminence side by side with a few other pro audio mids. While it can sound ok for the price I find the faital beats it by a mile.

Eminence beta or delta I think it was, the sound is depressing.

My personal choices in pro audio will be bewteen beyma, faital, rcf and maybe 18 sound as well. I havent heard the b&c to comment.

besss

Re: wtk. if this is a good deal...2 8" and 2 drivers

Postby besss » April 15th, 2013, 8:04 pm

ight guys tell me what u think abt this package

2 8" delta pro n 2 zebra drivers for $1000
wad u all think?

besss

Postby besss » April 15th, 2013, 8:08 pm

bump!

Re: wtk. if 2 8" delta and 2" zebra worth $1000

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 15th, 2013, 11:03 pm

how much they worth individually and how used are they?

besss

Postby besss » April 15th, 2013, 11:36 pm

Everything is brand new bro ..... not sure about the prices so that's y am asking nah

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » April 16th, 2013, 6:15 am

Is there any reason why you are insisting on using "2 8" delta and 2 zebra"?

Are you being advised to use the above?

What does the other parts of your audio system consists off? What are you using to power these?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 16th, 2013, 9:26 am

eminence delta 10'' -$400
8"- depends on model

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » April 16th, 2013, 9:39 am

nervewrecker wrote:I demoed eminence side by side with a few other pro audio mids. While it can sound ok for the price I find the faital beats it by a mile.

Eminence beta or delta I think it was, the sound is depressing.

My personal choices in pro audio will be bewteen beyma, faital, rcf and maybe 18 sound as well. I havent heard the b&c to comment.

x2 i must agree here
you should look into the faital pro line
2 8s would play very well.. once tuned properly these speakers shine with loudness and maintaining clarity
look @ the fe200 8" you could get it on tuner brand new from 350 to 400 brand new for each
rated 130rms and has a frequency response of 60Hz - 5.0kHz so you getting very good midbass to upper high mids

as for the deal for 1000.. not bad for brand new but you could buy the faital pro 8s and use 2 soundstream bullets.. 100 for 1 btw.. and it would play loud and very clean
if you want zebra drivers.. one is less than 200 brand new for 1..

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » April 16th, 2013, 11:19 am

contact user proline sounds.. he is an expert with zebra. i heard they got really expensive ever since jbl took over their company, so u may be getting a steal of a deal

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 16th, 2013, 11:45 am

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » April 16th, 2013, 8:26 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I demoed eminence side by side with a few other pro audio mids. While it can sound ok for the price I find the faital beats it by a mile.

Those Faital drivers must be really good then. I've used the Eminence Beta 8As for one of my "recent" builds, and I've found them quite good. Very clear and didn't get "peaky" off center. Minimal x-over work required as well. See http://www.diysubwoofers.org/projects/home/blastoramas/. Extra points for those who can guess where the name of that project came from :).

I must get my hands on the Faitals to test them...

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » April 19th, 2013, 8:41 am

Brian Steele wrote:

Those Faital drivers must be really good then. I've used the Eminence Beta 8As for one of my "recent" builds, and I've found them quite good. Very clear and didn't get "peaky" off center. Minimal x-over work required as well. See http://www.diysubwoofers.org/projects/home/blastoramas/. Extra points for those who can guess where the name of that project came from :).

dont have to buy. just go by the dealer and get a demo :D

Postby nervewrecker » April 19th, 2013, 11:40 pm

Brian Steele wrote:

I too have heard eminence drivers sound pretty good and I see you went another route with enclosure design there. That may / may not have played a part in the resultant sound *shrugs shoulders*
The show down I bore witness to (or I should say "heard") had all drivers housed in sealed enclosure's. Each powered off the same source one by one, side by side, no eq what so ever.

The faital had more of a nice warm sound to it, handles the lower end quite well too. The eminence beta sounded....(I dont know if I am using the correct word here) depressing. Sounded a lot like what comes out of those hawk and spit bars. :oops:
The eminence did not get peaky or anything, I just find the faital sounded a lot more pleasant to listen to, better response in the higher regions (where the eminence seemed to fall short) and had much better tonality (if that is the right word). The driver that sounded closest to the faital was a JBL coaxial on the wall :shock: (cant remember which model, hopefully when the shop owner logs in he can enlighten us).
He has all on display as he sells all, he allows customers to make a comparison for themselves.

Did you ever get around to scaring them? :fadein:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 20th, 2013, 11:04 am

that wud be speakers in my store nerve is talking about

i have my demos equally set up together so we compared some of d Dj speakers & a few car audio speakers

like said above "M&Ms" alpha & beta sound pretty flat & boring compared to faital Fe200 , u get almost no highs with them but with a faital fe200 & certain songs u wont even need a tweeter , other freqs sound quite balanced & not peaky in any 1 area .... testing done with winamp on my desktop pc with no eq\settings on & powered by a dj house amp .....hands down d M&Ms is no where in d league of d faital fe200 which is their lowest series so u can imagine how even better d higher models sound ...almost everybody who comes to my shop for eminence end up with d faital fe200

JBL coax mentioned above is d GTO series , very crisp , balanced , underrated - it will give those M&Ms a run too ...

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » April 20th, 2013, 11:30 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:ike said above "M&Ms" alpha & beta sound pretty flat & boring compared to faital Fe200 , u get almost no highs with them but with a faital fe200 & certain songs u wont even need a tweeter

How does it sound off-axis? Do the highs drop off significantly?

Postby nervewrecker » April 20th, 2013, 12:07 pm

For me, I'd choose to still have a tweeter for that extra "shine" / "sparkle" in the higher frequency range. With no eq or bandpass xovers it went high enough to cover just about what most gallery men look for. But again, I like the extra "sparkle" a good tweeter gives.

All were demoed on axis (if that is the correct term) as I moved to the front of each as they were played. Iirc, approx 5 feet away was the distance I stood (the space I had to work with).

I know of someone using the 3" tweeterless off axis though, we shall see how that goes :lol:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 20th, 2013, 12:27 pm

to me anywhere u stand in my store at whatever angle or distance d highs are there still

yes for sure a good quality tweeter brings that needed crispness but i was just saying how compared to other dj speakers i heard that in some of them u dont even hear any highs where as these u do hear it pretty good ...

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » April 20th, 2013, 1:38 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:to me anywhere u stand in my store at whatever angle or distance d highs are there still

yes for sure a good quality tweeter brings that needed crispness but i was just saying how compared to other dj speakers i heard that in some of them u dont even hear any highs where as these u do hear it pretty good ...

Ok. The published off-axis response shows a big peak at 4kHz would likely be annoying as hell to me and difficult to treat passively. But nothing beats actual listening. Alas, no-one carries them here. Next time I'm in Trini... :-)

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 20th, 2013, 3:46 pm

I know of someone using the 3" tweeterless off axis though, we shall see how that goes

Heard that system, with the silver flute mid-basses, it wasn't dialed in but lots of detail comming from above the dash at first was :shock:

After the initial shock, mids were to my liking, detailed and not thin like I had before. highs weren't as detailed as I was accustomed to but I do believe a few changes to the install and more seat time would have dialed it in.

The best aspect IMO was the attack and feel of the system, the only car I've sat in and feel like I was involved in the music, maybe it was the 200wrms per midbass and 91db mid-drivers :lol:

Too bad the owner scrap the project.