Kepler 22-b: Earth-like planet confirmed

Re: Kepler 22-b: Earth-like planet confirmed

Postby stev » April 21st, 2013, 9:25 pm

just to point out that video above is just an animation...there are no pictures of mentioned planets etc. the kepler mission satellite has no cameras.....it just has instruments for measuring the dip in light from a source. (dip in light meaning when a planet passes in front of a sun).they calculate if a planet is in the habitable zone......accurately, not by guessing. lol

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 21st, 2013, 9:26 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:It's an intriguing place...I was able to journey there through astral travel.....however it makes absolutely no sense discussing further as there are concepts that the general mind must come to terms with and grasp in totality before I am able to share what I have seen!

haha dont know if trolling or serious. but if u are trolling, ur trolling about something serious. and if u serious, ppl will only think ur trolling.. lmao

Postby stev » April 21st, 2013, 9:32 pm

turbotusty wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:It's an intriguing place...I was able to journey there through astral travel.....however it makes absolutely no sense discussing further as there are concepts that the general mind must come to terms with and grasp in totality before I am able to share what I have seen!

haha dont know if trolling or serious. but if u are trolling, ur trolling about something serious. and if u serious, ppl will only think ur trolling.. lmao

brain overload

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 21st, 2013, 10:59 pm

turbotusty wrote:if a planet housing intelligent life or human and greater intelligence species is 1 billion light years way.

and we view their planet in a telescope, we are viewing 1 billion years into the past.

that is 1 billion years of scientific and other forms of evolution for that species.

in that time they could achieve faster than light speed space travel to multiple times light speed and theoretically.. get hear before the first light of their planet reaches our telescope..

food for thought.

our only recordings date back a mere 5-7000 years. we dont even know how the pyramids were built. an entire block of man's history is missing. wiped clean!
I thought you didnt believe in evolution?

in special relativity it is impossible to accelerate an object to the speed of light.

what entire block of man's history is missing?

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » April 21st, 2013, 11:10 pm

I suppose this is where Steven Hawking wanted us to go when he said abandon earth..?

Postby meccalli » April 21st, 2013, 11:43 pm

So Hawkings gonna be like Weyland Yutani corp off to seek some ET's on Kepler 22-b (Lv-223 <3) and find xenomorphs and engineers* :mrgreen:

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 21st, 2013, 11:45 pm

Coolz

Postby stev » April 21st, 2013, 11:57 pm

indeed what Duane said, special relativity states that it is impossible to move at the speed of light.....it may be possible to accelerate close to it but never reach it.

as you move closer to the speed of light, time slows down. photons moving at the speed of light (time = 0 ) only exist when they bump into something.

once u reach the reference point (speed of light) time stops (time equals 0)

in theory, tachyons are on the negative side of the scale....meaning faster than speed of light and hence back in time......again....just a theory.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 22nd, 2013, 1:19 am

turbotusty wrote:if a planet housing intelligent life or human and greater intelligence species is 1 billion light years way.

and we view their planet in a telescope, we are viewing 1 billion years into the past.

that is 1 billion years of scientific and other forms of evolution for that species.

in that time they could achieve faster than light speed space travel to multiple times light speed and theoretically.. get hear before the first light of their planet reaches our telescope..

food for thought.

our only recordings date back a mere 5-7000 years. we dont even know how the pyramids were built. an entire block of man's history is missing. wiped clean!

in special relativity it is impossible to accelerate an object to the speed of light.

never said i didnt believe in evolution. again my interpretation of the scripture and what u assume my interpretation is are two completely different things.

who is to say God didnt procure us thru a lengthy process of evolution. or that the big bang wasnt God's first thoughts manifesting light to create this reality, it's forces and matter? not me. so dont put words in my mouth.. please.

yep.. it's impossible to accelerate an object to the speed of light.. just like pluto was a planet. maybe new and coming verified data will change that ey?

but once again.. im ahead of u. i said "faster than light speed travel". i never mentioned acceleration. they could via the fabled event horizon. how much do u know about wormholes and travelling thru them to anywhere in an instant? please share some of ur knowledge about them with me if uve got the scientific data to back them up.

and i dont know why there are such childish textbook responses. do u think ive never studied science and Einstein and physics? im not new to these topics.. so u can spare urself all the typing and copy and pasting of basic fundamentals of science education.
enter the realm of quantum physics. i dont discuss things i dont have an intimate knowledge about. so when u see me putting my input into a topic it's because im well learned and have something to say worth saying.. unless of course im trolling. i like to do that too.

also worthy to note is how we quote THEORIES with inconclusive evidence. evidence that u cant verify urself.. but would be caught 'quoting such theories to put forth as information. if u want to talk science.. talk facts. facts that can be verified with undeniable proof.

Postby bluefete » April 22nd, 2013, 7:41 am

food for thought.

That is from Einstein's side. What about from Kepler 22-b's side? Does Einstein's relativity hold for only the human side of the universe?

I like Turbo's argument. Suppose the Kepler beings are more advanced than us.

BTW - Can an angel travel faster than the speed of light?

Postby X2 » April 22nd, 2013, 7:56 am

People be like,....don't lecture me on quantum physics and astronomy.... i ďid meh A levels...so i what i talking about....yah herd ?

Postby stev » April 22nd, 2013, 8:46 am

bluefete wrote:

food for thought.

That is from Einstein's side. What about from Kepler 22-b's side? Does Einstein's relativity hold for only the human side of the universe?

not sure if i understand what u mean by 'the human side'.

but the laws of physics are the same at any point in the Universe....both observable universe and the beyond.

an angel may not need to travel faster than the speed of light....quantum tunneling is an option. :mrgreen:

and Kepler beings could be more advanced than us...then again they can be single celled organisms or little creatures with brains the size of nuts. we will never know what they are at this point in time (if there are any at all.)

they could even be just like us....the probability of this being true can be calculated and was done before:

if the universe is a googolplex wide (googolplex is a number - 10 to the power of (10 to the power of 100)) then we will start to see repentance as we move further away from 0 and closer to googolplex.

the chance of atoms arranging themselves in a the same way they are arranged to form our planet is less than a googolplex.

there are a lot of credible sources online to prove this also. (im just to lazy to post any) :lol:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 22nd, 2013, 9:33 am

just to throw a spoke in ur wheel.

we at one small point in the universe. a universe so vast their may still be many UNDISCOVERED 'fields' that could affect both space and time and the speed of light making it go faster or slower than what we plot so far..

are u sure without a shadow of a doubt, that we wont discover new evidence that contradicts our current knowledge of 'light anywhere in the universe from this small point'

i mean, just the other day light could only travel in straight lines and now it can bend due to a powerful gravitational field.

i pass examss saying light travels in straight lines.. just saying.

and yeah angels.. aint got no time fo dat. they be where they need to be... instantly. u dont watch supernatural awhat.. lol
Last edited by rocknrolla on April 22nd, 2013, 9:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 22nd, 2013, 9:46 am

turbotusty wrote:i apss examss
ok

bluefete wrote:

food for thought.

I'm sure you agree with him because you both make a mash-up of ideas and put them together.

Einstein's theory and other laws in physics are not human things. The same laws apply on the Moon, on Mars and on distant planets.

What is the human side of the universe? We don't have a side. Earth is just a minuscule spec in the backwaters of a tiny Galaxy, far less in the Universe.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/c ... PEG%29.jpg

When you see an angel you can ask if angels can travel faster than the speed of light 8-)

Postby stev » April 22nd, 2013, 9:50 am

turbotusty wrote:just to throw a spoke in ur wheel.

we at one small point in the universe. a universe so vast their may still be many UNDISCOVERED 'fields' that could affect both space and time and the speed of light making it go faster or slower than what we plot so far..

are u sure without a shadow of a doubt, that we wont discover new evidence that contradicts our current knowledge of 'light anywhere in the universe from this small point'

i mean, just the other day light could only travel in straight lines and now it can bend due to a powerful gravitational field.

i pass examss saying light travels in straight lines.. just saying.

and yeah angels.. aint got no time fo dat. they be where they need to be... instantly. u dont watch supernatural awhat.. lol

i totally agree....in fact i am absolutely positive that we will eventually discover new meanings that would change or add to our current laws of physics....but until that time...we are bound to the current laws of our observable universe.

remember the speed of light is used as a reference point in our know physics....maybe there is something that can travel faster or maybe not...

for example, there is a theory that the entire universe exists in a black hole where time in there moves very slowly (very close to 0). outside the black hole there may be light or even something else that will travel at higher speeds obviously.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 22nd, 2013, 9:59 am

english.. english.

here is how i logicize

'NO THING' can travel faster than the speed of light. that is to say. no solid mass. because as u approach the speed of light density increases exponentially requiring more power to maintain the same level and greater of propulsion. and that is science's problem.. generating that amount of power is impossible by todays technological standards.

but i can tell u what.. 'A field' can. it is not solid and does not face any form of resistance or friction except from another field. so now we have it, a field can travel faster than the speed of light.

i think when ppl read 'nothing can travel at or faster than the speed of light' they think that is referring to everything in existence. but it really only applies to solid objects/matter 8-)

Postby stev » April 22nd, 2013, 10:16 am

well said man...the 'field' u mentioned sparked the dark / anti-matter theory actually :lol: .

matter and anti-matter can not exist in the same space and time therefore one of them must be travelling faster. matter including light exists to a point where we can observe it....but there may be matter moving at such a fast (or slow) speed that we do not know it exists.

'empty space' may not be empty at all....just filled with matter moving faster / slower than we can observe.

kinda cool to think that there may be other evolved organisms that observe / conceive the universe in a total different way than we do....hence making their laws of physics totally different to ours. lol

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 22nd, 2013, 10:25 am

stev u proven to me at least that uve done ur research and have well developed and functioning logical thinking capacity. it is like a breath of fresh air to see how our research and understanding tho from a different perspective compliment eachother's.

everything uve written there makes perfect sense. and tho to u it is possibly a wild hypothesis. it is not baseless and u may be more right than u know what u just said.

then we have to wonder if man has a soul and if it's material is made up of a field of some sort. but perhaps that is not science.. lol

Postby X2 » April 22nd, 2013, 10:39 am

We've gone from a possible life supporting planet to inter-dimensional theory and how it correlates to the Higgs field and particle physics...

Nerds or the aftermath of 4/20 ?

Postby stev » April 22nd, 2013, 10:41 am

turbotusty wrote:stev u proven to me at least that uve done ur research and have well developed and functioning logical thinking capacity. it is like a breath of fresh air to see how our research and understanding tho from a different perspective compliment eachother's.

everything uve written there makes perfect sense. and tho to u it is possibly a wild hypothesis. it is not baseless and u may be more right than u know what u just said.

then we have to wonder if man has a soul and if it's material is made up of a field of some sort. but perhaps that is not science.. lol

I think it is science to a point actually actually. :lol:

people think that the 'soul' is linked to God and other religious beliefs....this is not wrong but its not right either....its a theory. Just like any other unproven theories in science.

There is a theory and some evidence that the universe is just a tiny simulation of a much larger process happening on the outside....sounds crazy at first but makes a lot of sense eventually. a 'soul' can be thought of as a control factor in the simulation....the thing that binds the useful organisms to the simulation that is happening.

simulated reality: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simulated_reality

Postby stev » April 22nd, 2013, 10:45 am

X2 wrote:We've gone from a possible life supporting planet to inter-dimensional theory and how it correlates to the Higgs field and particle physics...

Nerds or the aftermath of 4/20 ?

Kepler is small thing man...at the end of the day, if there is life there that is more intelligent than us...then we're screwed...if we are more intelligent...then they are screwed. :lol:

man only goes looking for something if he needs / wants it.....humans will never go somewhere to just 'learn', they would want to benefit from it in other ways.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » April 22nd, 2013, 11:40 am

Astronomers have a "Water World" planetary system orbiting the star Kepler-62. This five-planet system has two worlds in the habitable zone — the distance from their star at which they receive enough light and warmth that liquid water could theoretically exist on their surfaces. Modeling by researchers at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics (CfA) suggests that both planets are water worlds, their surfaces completely covered by a global ocean with no land in sight.
“These planets are unlike anything in our solar system. They have endless oceans,” said lead author Lisa Kaltenegger of the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy and the CfA. “There may be life there, but could it be technology-based like ours? Life on these worlds would be under water with no easy access to metals, to electricity, or fire for metallurgy.

Nonetheless, these worlds will still be beautiful, blue planets circling an orange star — and maybe life’s inventiveness to get to a technology stage will surprise us.”

Kepler-62 is a type K star slightly smaller and cooler than our sun. The two water worlds, designated Kepler-62e and -62f, orbit the star every 122 and 267 days, respectively.

They were found by NASA’s Kepler spacecraft, which detects planets that transit, or cross the face of, their host star. Measuring a transit tells astronomers the size of the planet relative to its star.

Kepler-62e is 60 percent larger than Earth, while Kepler-62f is about 40 percent larger, making both of them “super-Earths.” They are too small for their masses to be measured, but astronomers expect them to be composed of rock and water, without a significant gaseous envelope.

As the warmer of the two worlds, Kepler-62e would have a bit more clouds than Earth, according to computer models. More distant Kepler-62f would need the greenhouse effect from plenty of carbon dioxide to warm it enough to host an ocean. Otherwise, it might become an ice-covered snowball.

“Kepler-62e probably has a very cloudy sky and is warm and humid all the way to the polar regions. Kepler-62f would be cooler, but still potentially life-friendly,” said Harvard astronomer and co-author Dimitar Sasselov.

“The good news is — the two would exhibit distinctly different colors and make our search for signatures of life easier on such planets in the near future,” he added.

The discovery raises the intriguing possibility that some star in our galaxy might be circled by two Earth-like worlds — planets with oceans and continents, where technologically advanced life could develop.

“Imagine looking through a telescope to see another world with life just a few million miles from your own. Or, having the capability to travel between them on a regular basis. I can’t think of a more powerful motivation to become a space-faring society,” said Sasselov.

Kaltenegger and Sasselov’s research has been accepted for publication in The Astrophysical Journal.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 22nd, 2013, 11:45 am

stev wrote:
turbotusty wrote:stev u proven to me at least that uve done ur research and have well developed and functioning logical thinking capacity. it is like a breath of fresh air to see how our research and understanding tho from a different perspective compliment eachother's.

people think that the 'soul' is linked to God and other religious beliefs....this is not wrong but its not right either....its a theory. Just like any other unproven theories in science.

There is a theory and some evidence that the universe is just a tiny simulation of a much larger process happening on the outside....sounds crazy at first but makes a lot of sense eventually. a 'soul' can be thought of as a control factor in the simulation....the thing that binds the useful organisms to the simulation that is happening.

well why of course.. a car does not drive it self.. nor does a plane fly itself.. a pilot is required. in the case of drones they are piloted from a far away distance thousands of miles away. but the pilot can see everything as tho he is there in pakistan.. even tho he is sitting in washington with a remote control.

and yes.. i wonder why science never (publicly anyway) provided experiments to PROVE the existence of the soul. why do they take the opposite tangent. like a predetermined result they are working hard towards forcing the pieces to make them fit. that's the way i see it anyway.

i think aliens should just come already. im ready for it. but i guess therell be alot of other ppl catching fitts, strokes and heart attacks lol

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » April 22nd, 2013, 11:53 am

turbotusty wrote:
stev wrote:

well why of course.. a car does not drive it self.. nor does a plane fly itself.. a pilot is required. in the case of drones they are piloted from a far away distance thousands of miles away. but the pilot can see everything as tho he is there in pakistan.. even tho he is sitting in washington with a remote control.

and yes.. i wonder why science never (publicly anyway) provided experiments to PROVE the existence of the soul. why do they take the opposite tangent. like a predetermined result they are working hard towards forcing the pieces to make them fit. that's the way i see it anyway.

i think aliens should just come already. im ready for it. but i guess therell be alot of other ppl catching fitts, strokes and heart attacks lol

Well said, but humankind isnt ready mentally for it..
The inability to think out of the box or even accept that there might be a realistic possibility of extraordinary concepts, is beyond the mental ability of many.

Postby stev » April 22nd, 2013, 11:56 am

scary to think how vulnerable our planet is....one tiny 'burp' from our sun can fry us out of existence. lol ....and yet our sun is smaller than a speck of a speck in the universe.

there are pieces of rock flyin all over the place the size of Jupiter or even bigger.

very cool to think that the human brain named itself 'the brain'. (taking into account different languages of course).

Postby stev » April 22nd, 2013, 11:59 am

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Well said, but humankind isnt ready mentally for it..
The inability to think out of the box or even accept that there might be a realistic possibility of extraordinary concepts, is beyond the mental ability of many.

for real....u could imagine what impact an extra terrestrial would have on different religious societies....all hell would break loose.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 22nd, 2013, 12:15 pm

stev wrote:

for real....u could imagine what impact an extra terrestrial would have on different religious societies....all hell would break loose.

it sucks that because the majority of the class is slow that those ahead and prepared have to wait for them to catch up. si remember that argument about aliens causing chaos among the religions but i never agreed. so what if the bible only refers to humans on earth. it's the earth's bible. on kepler they may have the kepler bible and it is fine tuned for their race. as far as im concerned, God is still creator of the entire universe and all its planets. so why would aliens be a problem?

when the earth was flat. it was told ud fall off if u wandered to far. and i believe that this was just a method of the ruling class and the church to control their flock and keep them from straying to different lands and meeting different cultures. and today we see no other concern than that. maybe they fraid we all go with the aliens to their planet and leave them to rule themselves.. lol

Postby sMASH » April 22nd, 2013, 3:59 pm

just to side track a bit, but not totally segway, according to the christians, god sent his ONLY begotten SON as a sacrifice to pay for the souls of humans. how would he then pay for the souls of the aliens? would the aliens have souls?

where as islam says that the quran was sent to men AND jinn, both of which are earth beings created with conscience, and free decision. this means there are other beings that god has dealt with other than human kind, and quite possibly in other dimensions, or at least, planes of existence. also, islam teaches that god has made things that we do not know of... plainly and simply letting us know that there are other things there, and the quran and the religion is not the be all and end all of every thing.

christianity restricts the capabilities of god so much to humans, it centers god only with humans with little regard to the rest of the universe(s), it quite unfathomable.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » April 22nd, 2013, 4:10 pm

turbotusty wrote:
stev wrote:

it sucks that because the majority of the class is slow that those ahead and prepared have to wait for them to catch up. si remember that argument about aliens causing chaos among the religions but i never agreed. so what if the bible only refers to humans on earth. it's the earth's bible. on kepler they may have the kepler bible and it is fine tuned for their race. as far as im concerned, God is still creator of the entire universe and all its planets. so why would aliens be a problem?

when the earth was flat. it was told ud fall off if u wandered to far. and i believe that this was just a method of the ruling class and the church to control their flock and keep them from straying to different lands and meeting different cultures. and today we see no other concern than that. maybe they fraid we all go with the aliens to their planet and leave them to rule themselves.. lol

Thats providing that "GOD" isnt man/earth made.......

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 22nd, 2013, 4:19 pm

turbotusty wrote:
stev wrote:

do you believe in the creation story in the Bible?

turbotusty wrote:when the earth was flat
when was that?