PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Cross Blood

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Cross Blood » April 25th, 2013, 1:55 pm

firstchoicett wrote:
Anna J wrote:Gaming on a budget and you would recommend a 610??? :? Not even an APU?

Anyways, I see newegg has that same cpu for US$80 but it may be for today only.
He could also get MSI 970 board for US$80 too.
I would probably suggest he get 8Gb RAM first and then add more (IF the need arises) Saw some 8GB in the misc.section for around TT$300
500GB for TT$450 is ok, DVDrw drive $150 too.

PSU - choose to suit the video card. corsair CX600 is currently US$65
Total so far usd(80+80+65) = $225 which shouldn't be more than TT$1800, then add TT(300+450+150) =900
Total $1800+$900 = $2700, leaving him with $2300 to choose a video card and case.

These parts are not bad, but I'm not actually recommending them. I just selected them to show an alternative.

I would suggest that he not try to cut costs on the GPU though.

Agreed but take under consideration my price was base on the current prices in Trinidad. I don't know if Steve was planning to shop online.

d man name is not Steve!!!!!!!!!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby stev » April 25th, 2013, 2:30 pm

:rofl: refer to sig

fellas, d man I building the PC for is not a heavy gamer....he just wan to play old nintendo 64 games on an emulator....or even a gamecube emulator. :lol:

thanks a lot for the great recommendations....been doing some research on the parts u guys suggested, didnt realize prices were so low for great parts.

i buying all parts local...would make a list 2mrw.

by the way....i didnt see arctic silver CPU past in a long time...is it still the best?

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 25th, 2013, 2:43 pm

boy a netbook cud run dem emulators :lol:

and nah, arctic silver get pushed down the list since technology advanced
it still very good doh

we rockin diamond paste now 8-)

Postby stev » April 25th, 2013, 3:01 pm

diamond paste sounds good....is it easy to find locally?

by the way...the man now tell me he want a new monitor :lol: so budget for parts just got a lil lower. 17" and above he say....doesnt have to be 1080p.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » April 25th, 2013, 3:14 pm

stev wrote::rofl: refer to sig

fellas, d man I building the PC for is not a heavy gamer....he just wan to play old nintendo 64 games on an emulator....or even a gamecube emulator. :lol:

by the way....i didnt see arctic silver CPU past in a long time...is it still the best?

:| So he wanna spend 5K to play emulators...to each his own I guess.

I using noctua nth1, works pretty well. Best paste on the market is indigo xtreme, very expensive & is only good for one use.

Postby stev » April 25th, 2013, 3:19 pm

i remember building a PC for someone a couble of years ago with AMD triple core black edition, 4GB RAM, 2GB Nvidia etc.....

.....d man playin pokemon for gameboy advance :|

the the new guy now...i tell him he wont need to spend the full $5000 if he just want emulators hence why he wants a new screen. lol

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 25th, 2013, 3:20 pm

stev wrote:i remember building a PC for someone a couble of years ago with AMD triple core black edition, 4GB RAM, 2GB Nvidia etc.....

.....d man playin pokemon for gameboy advance :|

the the new guy now...i tell him he wont need to spend the full $5000 if he just want emulators hence why he wants a new screen. lol

Wah trouble is this dread .
Go buy a ATI 5450 then.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 25th, 2013, 5:44 pm

Guys, the water in my res is lookin a lil cloudy....bacterial bloom?

Postby stev » April 25th, 2013, 5:51 pm

what u used to clean everything b4 u installed it? sometimes it can be residue from from manufature or even soap. lol

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 25th, 2013, 5:56 pm

If u used some kinda antibacterial solution in the water then it could probably be plasticizer from the inside of the tubing.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 25th, 2013, 5:56 pm

flushed everything individually with distilled water. setup loop, ran it for a couple hrs. drained then filled again, all with d.water

no additives in the loop and im using the new tubing from primochill that not supposed to have plasticiser issues

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 25th, 2013, 6:34 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:flushed everything individually with distilled water. setup loop, ran it for a couple hrs. drained then filled again, all with d.water

no additives in the loop and im using the new tubing from primochill that not supposed to have plasticiser issues

You still got plasticise4 with the new tubes ?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 25th, 2013, 6:42 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:flushed everything individually with distilled water. setup loop, ran it for a couple hrs. drained then filled again, all with d.water

Yeah u have the expensive Primochill tubing, i using the one before that with the 'issues' (none to date).

When u say 'no additive' u mean what exactly? No antifungal solution?

I use two drops of copper sulphate solution in both my systems and dey as clear as when i filled them last year, then again no sunlight hitting the reservoirs.

Postby stev » April 25th, 2013, 7:18 pm

u sure is not tiny air bubbles? :lol:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 26th, 2013, 5:35 am

^nah its not micro bubbles. the white led in the res makes it look almost like smoke moving around in the res.
by no additives i mean theres nothing in the loop besides distilled water.
theres a silver bullet installed in a spare g1/4 port on the res but im wondering now if its location is allowing enough of the water in the loop to flow past it?

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 26th, 2013, 7:20 am

fellas i just ordered my new pc parts so i'm looking to sell the old stuff what do you think is a good price to sell an amd 960t cpu, msi 890gx gd45 mobo and 8 gb 1333 ram for?

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 26th, 2013, 7:24 am

oh and in case anyone is interested the new parts are an asus p8z77-v lk mobo, i5 3570k cpu and 8gb vengeance 1600 ram, and i also got hold of a second 5870 gpu,
gonna do a modest oc just to about 4.2ghz. can't wait to see fsx and xplane on this new system.

Postby stev » April 26th, 2013, 7:40 am

@ Smurf....i heard about people adding a little amount of vinegar to their solution which solves the cloudy problem....not sure how that works or how much to add but u can look into that.....i have no idea why it got cloudy so fast. :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 26th, 2013, 8:28 am

never had the issue..

i always use this :

http://www.amazon.com/Swiftech-HydrX-Co ... ords=hydrx

never had this issue.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » April 26th, 2013, 12:22 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^nah its not micro bubbles. the white led in the res makes it look almost like smoke moving around in the res.
by no additives i mean theres nothing in the loop besides distilled water.
theres a silver bullet installed in a spare g1/4 port on the res but im wondering now if its location is allowing enough of the water in the loop to flow past it?

As long as the bullet makes contact with the water you safe, that's how it supposed to work.

As for the vinegar you'd use that as a preflush for your rads...I'm guessing it maybe some leftover gunk from the rad. If I were you I'd drain the loop & reflush the rad with hot water/vinegar solution, give it a good shake as well in between flushes. Then a couple more times with distilled. And get a biocide like what chiney suggesting.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » April 26th, 2013, 12:27 pm

jm3 wrote:oh and in case anyone is interested the new parts are an asus p8z77-v lk mobo, i5 3570k cpu and 8gb vengeance 1600 ram, and i also got hold of a second 5870 gpu,
gonna do a modest oc just to about 4.2ghz. can't wait to see fsx and xplane on this new system.

Gonna attempt a delid by chance :twisted: You should get to 4.5 easy tho

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 26th, 2013, 4:27 pm

How does the coolant compare to using Distilled water?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 26th, 2013, 5:40 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:How does the coolant compare to using Distilled water?

Distilled water just as good or even better, plus way cheaper and available locally easily. Distilled water is also low/non conductive depending on the purity.

Coolant on the other hand available in various colours, boast 'non conductivity' (yeah right) and come premixed with anti corrosive and anti bacterial agents. Some of them have antifreeze but obviously that's best suited for cold countries.

Was using feser one non conductive before, real expensive. Since i never get ah leak i switch to distilled water, can't tell the cooling performance difference at all nah.

Best thing to do is use distilled water (with added hydrx/biocide/silver kill coil) and coloured tubing if u wanna rice out your system.

That's just my opinion/experiences eh.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 26th, 2013, 6:02 pm

Working in a nice rig tonight.

Postby DVSTT » April 28th, 2013, 5:25 pm

Guys, need some help. Recently had flow installed and I'm routing through a linksys e2500 but the net keeps dying. I get signal from the router on both 5ghz and 2.4 ghz but no internet access and a little caution sign with an exclamtion mark nest to the wireless signal in the task bar. Any idea how to fix this?

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 28th, 2013, 7:09 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
jm3 wrote:oh and in case anyone is interested the new parts are an asus p8z77-v lk mobo, i5 3570k cpu and 8gb vengeance 1600 ram, and i also got hold of a second 5870 gpu,

lol just checked out how to do it ummmmmmm nty lol not looking to break any records

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 28th, 2013, 7:44 pm

HCCA wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:How does the coolant compare to using Distilled water?

Distilled water just as good or even better, plus way cheaper and available locally easily. Distilled water is also low/non conductive depending on the purity.

Coolant on the other hand available in various colours, boast 'non conductivity' (yeah right) and come premixed with anti corrosive and anti bacterial agents. Some of them have antifreeze but obviously that's best suited for cold countries.

Was using feser one non conductive before, real expensive. Since i never get ah leak i switch to distilled water, can't tell the cooling performance difference at all nah.

Best thing to do is use distilled water (with added hydrx/biocide/silver kill coil) and coloured tubing if u wanna rice out your system.

That's just my opinion/experiences eh.

Good info here

Thanks.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » April 29th, 2013, 2:08 pm

DVSTT wrote:Guys, need some help. Recently had flow installed and I'm routing through a linksys e2500 but the net keeps dying. I get signal from the router on both 5ghz and 2.4 ghz but no internet access and a little caution sign with an exclamtion mark nest to the wireless signal in the task bar. Any idea how to fix this?

Try resetting the flow modem

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » April 29th, 2013, 2:19 pm

jm3 wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:

lol just checked out how to do it ummmmmmm nty lol not looking to break any records

Yea I hear ya, you'll cry if ya messed that up :lol:

Carnage117

Postby Carnage117 » May 11th, 2013, 12:51 pm

Anyone have a Corsair AX 760 PSU and Corsair Vengeance/GSkill Ripjaws (2 x 4 Gb) 8 GB Dual Channel Memory (Red of Black Colour) at a reasonable price? PM me please. Thanks.