I remember when we held our first show in Bhagwansinghs, I made a flyer that said COME SEE CARS FROM 1917 TO 1985 "Ol' School Only"....and at the gate we had guys fussin and fumin that we wouldnt allow their Cefiros, and Laurels inside. I've attached some of the flyers, for verification.
And I mean...really fussin eh....oh how yuh could tell me my car eh ol school!
at the Skinner Park show....We acquiesed, and allowed a young fells in with his "new car" (some dotish car with glass all over the roof and chrome muffler bearings)...and he proceeds to pong one set of Gangsta music. I approach him nicely and show him one of the signs that read "Ol School Music Only"... well, he just ignored me and raised the volume.
I then went into my truck, and brought him a Bob Marley cd, "neutral ground" I thought, SURELY he would appreciate The Master....."nah, is alright ah go turn it off"
Would you guys believe as I turn my back is back on with the gangsta music? Well, a police officer, who was watching me talk to him, came up to the young fella ...and well, lets just say...he left.
Morale of the story?
Ol' School may have a different connotation to ppl of a younger era...those born from 1990 up some feel a Sunny is ol school....but most everyone will agree....ol school is ol school. And young people these days, head have MESS in it.