The Religion Discussion

rocknrolla

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby rocknrolla » May 10th, 2013, 3:17 pm

kudos to this dude figuring out which hole it should go into and how the laws of nature was INTENDED to work.

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » May 10th, 2013, 3:22 pm

Oh geeze ALLAH when translated is GOD as in the arabic Bible...the same God you worship, I worship but i dont confuse Jesus with God but acknowledge him as a respected prophet of God...ur totally ignoring that the arabic translation has "ALLAH" in the place of "GOD". Its the same God who was always there from the beginning. If Jesus is the son of god, so is Adam and all of us if its a symbolic thing. I do acknowledge that God is here, there and everywhere but I do not break him down as 3 in person...that seems so blasphemous. Total disrespect to God

Postby Habit7 » May 10th, 2013, 4:55 pm

I am not disagreeing that God translated into Arabic means Allah. But when I speak English (as I am now) and I say God, I am referring to the God of the Bible, and when I say Allah I am referring to the god of the Quran. The God of the Bible establishes Himself from the beginning, informs us of His dealings with man and entered into His own creation as a man Jesus. Allah of the Quran, 1400 years ago denies that. They are not the same.

Please stop trying to borrow from the credibility of the Bible to set up your system while attacking the credibility of the Bible, it is duplicitous. Either fully disassociate yourself or fully believe in the teachings of the Bible, you cannot have it both ways.

1 John 2:23 Whoever denies the Son does not have the Father; the one who confesses the Son has the Father also.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 10th, 2013, 9:47 pm

Habit7 wrote:You couldn't be more wrong.
bluefete wrote:If anyone reads both the Bible and the Qu'ran, you will come away feeling that they are very similar in their beliefs. Especially comparing the Old Testament to the Suras in the Qu'ran which deal with reasons for killing people.

The Canaan conquest was an effort to regain lost land. Subsequent to that there is was not effort global and religious domination as there is in the Quran.

bluefete wrote:There is no doubt that Christianity which started as a persecuted religion became eventually a persecuting religion in the name of God. Just reference the Inquisition for example.
There is nothing in Christianity that promotes persecution. Those who did that were not just "misguided" they were wrong.

bluefete wrote:Today the same can be applied to Islam. It is a religion of peace but like the church many years ago, its message, today, has been distorted by Mullahs, Imams and others who each have their own agendas.
Islam started in violence, continued many years afterwards, and many Muslims, not all (right Sachetto :wink: ) see no distinction from the violence of their origin, to the violence they have to respond with today.

Once again, habit7 in denial! What happen, afraid to call a spade a spade?

Seems like double-standards to me...

Well said bluefete, it happened to the Jews and it has happened to the christians. No point in denying history.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 10th, 2013, 9:53 pm

Daran wrote: Who says drinking, partying, sex is wrong? Why does God frown on people enjoying life whilst hurting no one. I'm not saying being an alcoholic of a whore is good, but those things in moderation and with caution and FINE.

So given that, why do you feel your interpretation entitles you to be 'right' and others wrong?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 10th, 2013, 10:30 pm

Sacchetto Boutique wrote:Oh geeze ALLAH when translated is GOD as in the arabic Bible...the same God you worship, I worship but i dont confuse Jesus with God but acknowledge him as a respected prophet of God...ur totally ignoring that the arabic translation has "ALLAH" in the place of "GOD". Its the same God who was always there from the beginning. If Jesus is the son of god, so is Adam and all of us if its a symbolic thing. I do acknowledge that God is here, there and everywhere but I do not break him down as 3 in person...that seems so blasphemous. Total disrespect to God

Thank Allah for allowing you the opportunity to be guided aright through this thread...for what you have just stated is sufficient to make you a disbeliever.

Check this out:

http://salaf-us-saalih.com/2011/03/10/w ... ri-sheikh/

http://abdurrahman.org/tawheed/whereisallah.html

Exerpts from the above document:

Mu'awiyah as-Sahmi reported: "I had some sheep which I kept between Uhud and Juwaniyyah with a slave-girl to look after them. One day, I went out to check on my sheep and discovered that a wolf had devoured one of them. Since I am just a human, (I became angry) and struck the girl. Later on, I came to the Prophet sallallaahu 'alayhi wa sallam and reported to him the incident. He terrified me with the gravity of my action. I said, 'Messenger of Allaah'! Shall I free her (as an expiation of my sin.) He said 'Call her over'. When I did, he asked her, 'Where is Allaah?' She said, 'Above the heavens'. Then he asked her, 'Who am I?' She said, 'The Messenger of Allaah sallallaahu 'alayhi wa sallam'. Thereupon, the Messenger of Allaah sallallaahu 'alayhi wa sallam ordered me, 'Free her. She is a believer'." [34] The above hadith, according to Shaikh Kahlil al-Harras, is a luminous proof of the Loftiness of Allaah, the Exalted. Here is a man who wronged his female slave by striking her, and wanted to expiate his sin by giving her freedom in return. The Prophet sallallaahu 'alayhi wa sallam chose one particular question, 'Where is Allaah?' Then the slave girl gave him the correct answer, 'Above the heaven'. The Prophet sallallaahu 'alayhi wa sallam declared her to be a believer. Does not the above the hadith stand as a solid proof that Allaah is above the heaven? Doubtlessly, that slave girl, the shepherdess, knew her Rubb more than those ignorantly claim that Allaah is everywhere! Imaam Abu Hanifah [43]

Abu Muti' Al-Balkhi reported:"I asked Imaam Abu Hanifah about a person who says, 'I do not know whether my Rubb is, above the heavens or on earth?' Abu Hanifah, may Allaah grant him His mercy, said: 'A person who makes such a statement becomes an apostate because Allaah, the Exalted says, 'The Merciful has ascended above the 'Arsh, and the 'Arsh of Allaah is above His heavens'. I further asked Abu Hanifah, 'What if such a person admits, Allaah is above His 'Arsh, but exclaims, I do not know whether His 'Arsh is above the heavens or on earth'. Abu Hanifah responded: 'If he denies that the 'Arsh is above the heavens, he is an apostate." [44] If the person apostatizes by saying that he did not know where is the 'Arsh of Allaah, then by right a person who denies the Loftiness of Allaah altogether is definitely worse than an apostate.

Please take the time to study carefully, for literally ...it is a matter of life and death.

A word of advise, seek out those matters which if performed or believed will put you out of the fold of Islam. Then if you avoid them, by Allah's promise, you will be safe!!

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 10th, 2013, 10:43 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Sacchetto Boutique wrote:remember God of the bible and god of the quran are the same. There are violent verses in the bible as well as quran. It can be quite confusing to many why would God say one thing in the bible, then say something different in the quran. If I had to make a wise guess, id say, the bible may have been mis-interpreted and people strayed from the right path over time and so, God sent down another book to give correct accounts of what happened to all the previous prophets including Isa (as) and to perfect the way of life of his(God's) followers stating clearly that Muhammad saws is the last prophet there is even evidence within the bible that Muhammed would be sent such as

Isaiah 29:12 - And when they give the book to one who cannot read, saying, “Read this,” he says, “I cannot read.”

Deuteronomy 18:18 - I will raise up for them a prophet like you from among their brothers. And I will put my words in his mouth, and he shall speak to them all that I command him.

Deuteronomy 18:15 - “The Lord your God will raise up for you a prophet like me from among you, from your brothers—it is to him you shall listen—

The God of the Bible and the Quran are not the same. For instance, the God of the Bible doesnt forgive sin on a whim, the God of the Bible requires sacrifice of animal to cover sin and eventually the eternal sacrifice of His Son to truly wash sin away, which makes Him just when He forgives sin. Allah however, forgives as he pleases whether or not justice is served.

Let me quote Isaiah 29:11-12 The entire vision will be to you like the words of a sealed book, which when they give it to the one who is literate, saying, “Please read this,” he will say, “I cannot, for it is sealed.” Then the book will be given to the one who is illiterate, saying, “Please read this.” And he will say, “I cannot read.
Isaiah wasn't prophesying of some book from an illiterate guy, he was giving an analogy of how people would not understand his warning of judgement to come.

In Deuteronomy 18 clearly states that the prophet will come from among them, the Jews. Moses said "your brothers." Muhammad was not a Jew, there isn't even any evidence that he is a descendant of Ishmael. However in the Apostle Peter's sermon in Acts 3:22-26 he directly references the verses in Deuteronomy you posted being fulfilled in Christ.

Acts 3:22-26 “Moses said, ‘THE LORD GOD WILL RAISE UP FOR YOU A PROPHET LIKE ME FROM YOUR BRETHREN; TO HIM YOU SHALL GIVE HEED to everything He says to you. ‘And it will be that every soul that does not heed that prophet shall be utterly destroyed from among the people.’ “And likewise, all the prophets who have spoken, from Samuel and his successors onward, also announced these days. “It is you who are the sons of the prophets and of the covenant which God made with your fathers, saying to Abraham, ‘AND IN YOUR SEED ALL THE FAMILIES OF THE EARTH SHALL BE BLESSED.’ “For you first, God raised up His Servant and sent Him to bless you by turning every one of you from your wicked ways.” (the caps are direct quotes from the Old Testament)

It is really dishonest that Muslims try to ride on the credibility of Bible while when it contradicts their belief they claim that it was corrupted, while giving no evidence. If you want to quote the Torah and Isaiah to back up you claims, you have to be willing to fall on your knees to the claims of both books of the Messiah being found in Jesus and that He is God.

This is one way of how they change the bible...by altering the meaning to what they innovate and COMPLETELY IGNORING THE OBVIOUSLY UNDERSTOOD MEANING.

Sachetto buss the mark, but you still deny.

habit7, is denial your habit?

Postby Habit7 » May 10th, 2013, 11:25 pm

I am sorry, are you still trying to prove that Isaiah hypothetical illustration of "a (indefinite article) sealed book" is the Quran given to Muhammad?

If you are why stop at Isaiah 29:12? Apply verse 13 also:
Then the Lord said,

“Because this people draw near with their words
And honor Me with their lip service,
But they remove their hearts far from Me,
And their reverence for Me consists of tradition learned by rote,

Does Muhammad pay lip service to God and his heart is far removed from Him also?
You can't say it is corrupted then try to point out snippets and try and insert Islam as if the Bible validates Islam only in these specific uncorrupted areas that you choose. That is duplicitous. Either reject the Bible or affirm it as the word of God, stop trying to piggyback on Christianity.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » May 10th, 2013, 11:29 pm

Sacchetto Boutique wrote:
djaggs wrote:And to Boutique, you are correct, the word alah does appear in the hebrew bible, I looked it up in my Hebrew dictionary and it means curse. It is used in the following verses:

Deut 29:20 & 21

"The LORD will never pardon such people. Instead his anger and jealousy will burn against them. All the curses written in this book will come down on them, and the LORD will erase their names from under heaven. The LORD will separate them from all the tribes of Israel, to pour out on them all the curses of the covenant recorded in this Book of Instruction."

Again your scholars are being deceitful.

And your level of intelligence combined with your superior understanding of everything pertaining to religion as well as your degree in islam, far superseds anything anyone has ever written on the subject.
I am tired...really really tired of explaining that IF A GROUP OF MUSLIMS KILL AND CLAIM ITS IN THE NAME OF ALLAH, THEY ARE MISGUIDED!!! NOT EVERY 'so called' scholar teaches teh correct thing. I admire teh teachings of Mufti Menk and Sheikh Yusuf estes so if you show me videos of them saying to kill non-muslims, I will take your posts seriously!

Typing in caps doesnt help..you all ignore what I've written when I've explained countless times that islam does not promote violence..it is the choice few who have used the knowledge to do their own types of evil.

Djaggs, I really didnt know you were an expert in translation and history,...do u even know if ur books are authentic? but continue to spread hate against islam..carry...im fed up of the same points being brough up and i have to constantly explain the SAME things..its so annoying and today is happy friday man!! geeze!

Listen man, I am not trying to offend you, I am pointing out that your scholar is lying to you. He says the alah appeared in the Old Testament, but he just casually neglected to mention what the word meant. It has absoloutely no reference to your god Allah, but he deliberately does not say so. This translation im showing you here is biblical Hebrew, not modern Hebrew which is different. Modern Hebrew is a mix of Hebrew and Arabic and some slavic languages , a kind of creole Hebrew. Biblical Hebrew is the ancient form and is not spoken today.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 10th, 2013, 11:37 pm

^ well look I just learnt something there!

djaggs, Jesus spoke Aramaic, not so?
The Aramaic word for God is "Elah"
http://www.hebrew4christians.com/Names_ ... /elah.html

I know Jesus didn't write the Bible, but what you're saying is that the Bible was first written in Biblical Hebrew, not Aramaic?

djaggs

Postby djaggs » May 11th, 2013, 12:12 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ well look I just learnt something there!

djaggs, Jesus spoke Aramaic, not so?
The Aramaic word for God is "Elah"
http://www.hebrew4christians.com/Names_ ... /elah.html

I know Jesus didn't write the Bible, but what you're saying is that the Bible was first written in Biblical Hebrew, not Aramaic?

Duane, we are talking about the old testament, not the new testament. Their claim is that the word alah appeared in the old Testament.

also the Bible was written in classical greek, not Aramaic. The OT is written in Hebrew.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 11th, 2013, 12:16 am

^ sorry my bad

So therefore Jesus would have had to read the Hebrew Bible with the word alah meaning "curse" but in his own language said "Elah" to mean God.

Postby Habit7 » May 11th, 2013, 12:26 am

There are small sections of the OT in Aramaic.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » May 11th, 2013, 12:28 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ sorry my bad

So therefore Jesus would have had to read the Hebrew Bible with the word alah meaning "curse" but in his own language said "Elah" to mean God.

Two different words Duane, probably pronounced differently. I dont think Hebrew was really spoken at that time on an everyday basis. They read their scriptures in its original language. That was preserved for over a 1000 years. Remember they were an occupied country. Greek was the language used by Alexander the Great who had colonised/occupied much of the then known world. So Greek was the most predominant language which is why it was written in Greek, so that it could be spread very far into different lands.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 11th, 2013, 12:52 am

^ it was rhetorical really - I was just clarifying - clearly it's two different words in two different languages.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » May 11th, 2013, 1:05 am

The bible makes a point to us to study to show ourselves approved by God. This is so that we do not fall into error. I have spent a lot of time studying the bible and do not take for granted what I hear preached. I test everything that is said from a pulpit. I do not follow blindly. The advantage we have as Christians is the Holy Spirit. The baptism in the Holy Spirit is very real, its your direct connection with God. He says to us:

1 John 2:27
26 These things I have written to you concerning those who try to deceive you. 27 But the anointing which you have received from Him abides in you, and you do not need that anyone teach you; but as the same anointing teaches you concerning all things, and is true, and is not a lie, and just as it has taught you, you will abide in Him.

Men can lie, you have to test everything people teach, and what they say. Just because a man says he is a scholar, dont swallow everything he says.

You know, we dont mean to offend anyone, but history and modern day news tells a story. Yes we know there are peaceful muslims, thank God for that. We are blessed that in Trinidad we have lived peacefully with each other.

But the thing is, in Saudi Arabia and the middle east, the cradle of Islam, our peaceful muslim friends in Trinidad would be considered heretics. The wahabis believe that they know true Islam, and it is not about peace. It is about dominance, war and violation of human rights. All the things that have made the western world so technologically and scientifically advanced will be taken away. Freedom of choice, freedom of thinking, the ability to reason openly. Imagine if we impose 12th century Christianity on the western world today..remember Galileo ? This is what will happen if the Islamists get their way. Girls will not be allowed to go to school. The thing is, Christianity had its reformation, and the Western World had its rennaiseance, in science and thinking. The middle east is still surviving in the dark ages their reformation has not come.

In the news recently there was a story about a group of gentle muslims in Pakistan who belonged to a sect that was pacifist. They were worshipping in their temple and a group of "true believers" broke into the mosque and machine gunned all of them to death.

Now I am not a muslim, but I have been told that Wahabis have been visiting Trinidad for some time now. This is a very disturbing thing to me and scary. Will our peaceful muslim friends in Trinidad be converted or will they be killed ?

Perhaps, we should differentiate between, muslim and Islamists. Islamists are the ones that want to dominate the world by force and impose their will on others, while muslims are the ones who want to practice their religion in peace allowing room for everyone.
One is political and one is religious.

This is an excellent lecture by a Physicist who takes a scientific rational study of Islam making a distinction between the two:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 11th, 2013, 3:30 am

correct ... baptism in the Holy Spirit is a very real experience and is synonymous with the buddhist enlightment. the process is described in the prayer 'The Our Father'. which is why it is regarded as such a powerful prayer. it may be considered the western version of the Book of the dead. however the east asian book of the dead prayer is greatly more difficult to decipher on its own.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 11th, 2013, 10:52 am

Habit7 wrote:I am sorry, are you still trying to prove that Isaiah hypothetical illustration of "a (indefinite article) sealed book" is the Quran given to Muhammad?

If you are why stop at Isaiah 29:12? Apply verse 13 also:
Then the Lord said,

“Because this people draw near with their words
And honor Me with their lip service,
But they remove their hearts far from Me,
And their reverence for Me consists of tradition learned by rote,

Does Muhammad pay lip service to God and his heart is far removed from Him also?
You can't say it is corrupted then try to point out snippets and try and insert Islam as if the Bible validates Islam only in these specific uncorrupted areas that you choose. That is duplicitous. Either reject the Bible or affirm it as the word of God, stop trying to piggyback on Christianity.

Habit7 boy,
Ah really disappointed in yuh yes! See explanation from your own christian camp below and the related topics at the bottom, most of which you may be guilty of:

Isaiah 29:13-15

This charge against Israel is to a people so insensitive to God and truth that they are blind to dishonesty's destructive power. On the national scene, we parade slogans such as "In God We Trust" and "One Nation Under God." Daily in the courts, citizens by the thousands swear on Bibles and then proceed to lie on the witness stand. Millions attend church on Sunday but then conduct business Monday through Saturday in the normal, self-centered, "let's get as much as we can" fashion.

We Americans grew up in this twisted environment and perhaps never really questioned it—we merely accepted it as normal. To some degree, it has conditioned our approach to life. In Isaiah 29, God accuses His people of hypocritically playing games with His truth and of not facing up to its standards in daily life. Jesus quotes verse 13 in Matthew 15:8, charging the scribes and Pharisees with being hypocrites. In both cases, the context is strikingly similar. In both, deceived and hypocritical people mishandle God's revelation. However, after a period of persistent practice, the deception or hypocrisy establishes itself as the way of life!
John W. Ritenbaugh
The Ninth Commandment