T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby gastly369 » May 12th, 2013, 4:37 pm

wait speedwerk tryin to tell kurps he cya buy ah hilux dey....

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 13th, 2013, 10:28 am

speedwerk wrote:First off please dont compare that ugly thing called Mahindra with a new hilux. Second, when that crap breaks down the hilux will still be going strong.Third, in ten years I can sell the hilux and buy 10 Mahindra's. Forth and final, if you can afford a hilux you wont be rating a Mahindra or will ever look at that thing twice.

Fanboy much?

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 13th, 2013, 3:47 pm

I wonder if he even owns a hilux :/

aidan

Postby aidan » May 13th, 2013, 4:38 pm

Anyone knows if the VW Amarok gonna be sold here?

Cuz jus came back from europe and is raving about how great it is.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 13th, 2013, 5:34 pm

BA say they might be getting it soon, but they did not tell me an exact date. VW don't view us as a really important market so they give us limited selection of their range.

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 13th, 2013, 6:10 pm

If that ever reaches our shOres I'd be surprised to see a sub $300,000 starting price.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 13th, 2013, 6:28 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:If that ever reaches our shOres I'd be surprised to see a sub $300,000 starting price.

Based on?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 13th, 2013, 6:34 pm

Ok never mind. It's almost the price of a passat.

RollaCoaster

Postby RollaCoaster » May 13th, 2013, 6:39 pm

Mad Cone wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
tourniquet wrote:was listening to 100.1 fm on the drive home and heard an ad talking about some redesigned Lexus models, which can now be seen at Toyota's Barataria location. Guy mentioned the new RX, as well as two variants of the Lexus G5 model; I was a bit confused until I realized he was talkin about the GS :? :lol:

Any idea of the prices?

From Toyota Trinidad's Facebook Page:

Lexus GS 250 - $850,000
Lexus GS 350 - $895,000
Lexus RX 350 - $865.000

You could buy one of these in Europe or Japan and bring it to Trinidad and it would still be cheaper than what Toyota trinidad asking for it. On a UK Lexus site the price of the GS250 is GBP33k. Calculate the shipping costs, MVT and VAT. I think it would still be cheaper.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » May 13th, 2013, 10:00 pm

RollaCoaster wrote:
Mad Cone wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
tourniquet wrote:was listening to 100.1 fm on the drive home and heard an ad talking about some redesigned Lexus models, which can now be seen at Toyota's Barataria location. Guy mentioned the new RX, as well as two variants of the Lexus G5 model; I was a bit confused until I realized he was talkin about the GS :? :lol:

Any idea of the prices?

Lexus GS 250 - $850,000
Lexus GS 350 - $895,000
Lexus RX 350 - $865.000

You could buy one of these in Europe or Japan and bring it to Trinidad and it would still be cheaper than what Toyota trinidad asking for it. On a UK Lexus site the price of the GS250 is GBP33k. Calculate the shipping costs, MVT and VAT. I think it would still be cheaper.

dude u could almost buy a damn porsche and it would be cheaper. i mean i know its a v6 engine but dammit man. the equivalent merc, bmw and audis and even the jaguar xf are all cheaper and as luxurious and as high -performance...you really have to love lexus to take that plunge..

Postby gastly369 » May 14th, 2013, 7:32 am

Renaldo25 wrote:
RollaCoaster wrote:
Mad Cone wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Any idea of the prices?

Lexus GS 250 - $850,000
Lexus GS 350 - $895,000
Lexus RX 350 - $865.000

dude u could almost buy a damn porsche and it would be cheaper. i mean i know its a v6 engine but dammit man. the equivalent merc, bmw and audis and even the jaguar xf are all cheaper and as luxurious and as high -performance...you really have to love lexus to take that plunge..

I love European cars but i'll settle for a sexy Japanese:):)

:drinking:

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 14th, 2013, 7:55 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:If that ever reaches our shOres I'd be surprised to see a sub $300,000 starting price.

Based on?

On most 4x4 forums the reviews of the van comes in high praise but laments that with a higher price than the hilux it's got a tough future, that's in SA and Australia, highly dout trini would be different :lol:

Hope they don't pull a Chevy and decide to only bring a "hi-spec", btw BA still not opening a south showroom?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 14th, 2013, 7:55 am

850k for a GS250? I'll take an A6 2.0t and buy a loaded tucson with the left over cash. A6 for dry weather and tucson for when it rains.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 14th, 2013, 8:05 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:

Based on?

On most 4x4 forums the reviews of the van comes in high praise but laments that with a higher price than the hilux it's got a tough future, that's in SA and Australia, highly dout trini would be different :lol:

Hope they don't pull a Chevy and decide to only bring a "hi-spec", btw BA still not opening a south showroom?

BA yanking my stones since before I bought from them.

"Yeah we getting a south showroom/service centre "soon"."

"Yeah we had some delays. Should be getting it in 2012"

"Yeah they have been discussing opening a showroom in south by end of 2012"

FML :agrue:

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » May 14th, 2013, 8:14 am

acesinghit wrote:850k for a GS250? I'll take an A6 2.0t and buy a loaded tucson with the left over cash. A6 for dry weather and tucson for when it rains.

Hey acesinghit congrats on the new ride man niiiice :) Audi taking over the world market from the business reports :) :)

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 14th, 2013, 8:25 am

Boy just wait 3 years and buy that model Lexus foreign used ... The japanese model might be higher specced and much cheaper! Also Lexus is the most reliable car brand in the world, so even as a used car you should be getting your money's worth.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 14th, 2013, 8:55 am

Not sure why yall beating up about the Lexus prices. If you bring in one brand new you paying engine tax, customs and VAT. Using a base US model price I calculated at least 717K for it landed. I don't know what options are included in the price quoted above but it doesn't seem that unreasonable considering the actual price of the car. Price might vary depending on what region it is designed for.

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 14th, 2013, 12:28 pm

drchaos wrote:Boy just wait 3 years and buy that model Lexus foreign used ... The japanese model might be higher specced and much cheaper! Also Lexus is the most reliable car brand in the world, so even as a used car you should be getting your money's worth.

You came in the new car thread to talk bout buying used cars :|

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 14th, 2013, 3:15 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
drchaos wrote:Boy just wait 3 years and buy that model Lexus foreign used ... The japanese model might be higher specced and much cheaper! Also Lexus is the most reliable car brand in the world, so even as a used car you should be getting your money's worth.

Correction .. Not a new car thread

New Car prices thread

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 14th, 2013, 3:27 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Not sure why yall beating up about the Lexus prices. If you bring in one brand new you paying engine tax, customs and VAT. Using a base US model price I calculated at least 717K for it landed. I don't know what options are included in the price quoted above but it doesn't seem that unreasonable considering the actual price of the car. Price might vary depending on what region it is designed for.

So even after paying the taxes from the country you are buying the car and the mark up from their dealers. Then paying our exorbitant taxes in Trinidad, the car is still way over 100K cheaper than the price that Toyota is charging?

to quote you ... stealerships

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 14th, 2013, 3:42 pm

drchaos wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Not sure why yall beating up about the Lexus prices. If you bring in one brand new you paying engine tax, customs and VAT. Using a base US model price I calculated at least 717K for it landed. I don't know what options are included in the price quoted above but it doesn't seem that unreasonable considering the actual price of the car. Price might vary depending on what region it is designed for.

So even after paying the taxes from the country you are buying the car and the mark up from their dealers. Then paying our exorbitant taxes in Trinidad, the car is still way over 100K cheaper than the price that Toyota is charging?

My point was we don't have enough info actually. I just chose a base model but I have no idea what spec we get here. There are other specs on the US site that if brought here would cost over the 895K price tag quoted. My point was the 895K price tag shouldn't be thought of as outrageous without proper comparison to prices outside and taking into account our various taxes.

Postby cinco » May 14th, 2013, 4:26 pm

drchaos wrote:

at 700k
i would spend the extra 100k just for the service and warranty
gnomesaying?
btw i keep saying u all dont know how ppl with money operate
"aye that car nice lets get it"
dem doh care about importing and all that hassle

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 14th, 2013, 4:47 pm

drchaos wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

New Car prices thread

Your degree of fail changed how? :|

Postby Chimera » May 14th, 2013, 5:05 pm

cinco wrote:
drchaos wrote:

at 700k
gnomesaying?
btw i keep saying u all dont know how ppl with money operate
"aye that car nice lets get it"
dem doh care about importing and all that hassle

lol @ service and warranty.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 14th, 2013, 5:18 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

New Car prices thread

Your degree of fail changed how? :|

Just showing your fail as well ... kettle calling the pot black?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 14th, 2013, 5:40 pm

cinco wrote:
drchaos wrote:

at 700k
gnomesaying?

I suspect this is why you shall remain poor.

Postby cinco » May 14th, 2013, 6:37 pm

cinco wrote:
drchaos wrote:

at 700k
gnomesaying?

glad to know you have a handle on my financial status

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 14th, 2013, 6:40 pm

cinco wrote:
drchaos wrote:

at 700k
gnomesaying?

glad to know you have a handle on my financial status

Doh mention it.

alan1991

Postby alan1991 » May 14th, 2013, 11:49 pm

2010 santa fe for sale. 50,000km silver, power locks, mirrors, windows, steering. 6cd player, auzilary jack and USB port. steering wheel controls. lady driven. this vehicle has the all new R series 2.2 turbo diesel engine. 200hp and 340 ft/lb of torque. extremely efficient and amazingly powerful. vehicle is the 4WD model.

Price is $240,000 semi negotiable. vat inclusive and transfer inclusive.

blacklight

Postby blacklight » May 15th, 2013, 4:27 am

alan1991 wrote:2010 santa fe for sale. 50,000km silver, power locks, mirrors, windows, steering. 6cd player, auzilary jack and USB port. steering wheel controls. lady driven. this vehicle has the all new R series 2.2 turbo diesel engine. 200hp and 340 ft/lb of torque. extremely efficient and amazingly powerful. vehicle is the 4WD model.

Price is $240,000 semi negotiable. vat inclusive and transfer inclusive.

Wrong forum pal !!