Re: The official tropical weather thread

Postby firstchoicett » May 20th, 2013, 8:16 am

Nice ...

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 20th, 2013, 8:18 am

please ensure your tyres, wipers and air conditioning systems are functioning properly

Postby redmanjp » May 20th, 2013, 10:15 am

^^ yeah and 4 king slow down when d road wet- whenever it rain it does always have accident

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 20th, 2013, 10:28 am

I believe that if u have good tires up to a point speed does not matter...

drive with a set of new tires and drive with a set of worn out tires in the rain and u go feel the difference..

Postby redmanjp » May 20th, 2013, 10:35 am

it still matters as u can hydroplane- or where there are significant puddles of water

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 20th, 2013, 10:56 am

granted the lighter the car the higher change of hydroplaning with new tires.

the evo is fantastic in the dry and wet so I rarely have a need to reduce from 120-140 in de rain

Postby Hook » May 20th, 2013, 11:22 am

MadCrix wrote:I believe that if u have good tires up to a point speed does not matter...

drive with a set of new tires and drive with a set of worn out tires in the rain and u go feel the difference..

This:!:
Not only worn tyres, but poor ones too. A brand new Ling-Long tyre is just as bad as a worn down SP9000.

There's no need to slow down to 20km/h on the highway just because a few drops of rain hit your windscreen. If you have to crawl along, please keep in the leftmost lane.

And refrain from being "that driver" that flicks on your hazard lights in heavy rain. You'll think you're being safe, but the rest of us won't see your indicators (that's IF you decide to use them). Better you increase your visibility by putting on your headlights and maybe your rear fog in heavy downpours.

Speaking of rear fog lamps, please switch them off when the rain has eased up. Kinda difficult to see the road ahead with your bright red rear fog up in my face.

Your high beams don't make you OR me see any better. It just blinds oncoming traffic because now your lights are reflecting off the wet road AND glaring in my face. Don't be "that driver".

Postby pete » May 20th, 2013, 11:28 am

Anyone with rear fogs on under normal circumstances gets high beam from me.

Postby MG Man » May 20th, 2013, 11:37 am

MadCrix wrote:granted the lighter the car the higher change of hydroplaning with new tires.

the evo is fantastic in the dry and wet so I rarely have a need to reduce from 120-140 in de rain

on a wet road, your stopping distance WILL increase, so if you plan on maintaining that speed, then you need to increase your following distance significantly

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 20th, 2013, 11:53 am

Hook wrote:
MadCrix wrote:I believe that if u have good tires up to a point speed does not matter...

This:!:
Not only worn tyres, but poor ones too. A brand new Ling-Long tyre is just as bad as a worn down SP9000.

There's no need to slow down to 20km/h on the highway just because a few drops of rain hit your windscreen. If you have to crawl along, please keep in the leftmost lane. under 100 keep left.

And refrain from being "that driver" that flicks on your hazard lights in heavy rain. You'll think you're being safe, but the rest of us won't see your indicators (that's IF you decide to use them). Better you increase your visibility by putting on your headlights and maybe your rear fog in heavy downpours. Park Lights work fine in minor to medium rain, head lights in white rain.

Speaking of rear fog lamps, please switch them off when the rain has eased up. Kinda difficult to see the road ahead with your bright red rear fog up in my face. Refer to last comment.

Your high beams don't make you OR me see any better. It just blinds oncoming traffic because now your lights are reflecting off the wet road AND glaring in my face. Don't be "that driver".Hook, you put it too nicely! Don't be the mudda's so and so!!

Totally Agree otherwise. BTW rainy season start, doh forget alyuh towel!!

Postby Hook » May 20th, 2013, 11:54 am

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 20th, 2013, 11:58 am

towel?? boss fix yuh damn ac lol

doh forget yuh umbrella yuh mean

Postby toyolink » May 20th, 2013, 12:10 pm

The discussion about what to do on wet roads is an annual event which could only help to reduce carnage and property damage which in many cases are avoidable.
I however believe the big issue has to do with the mental state of drivers who for some reason or the other just loose their ability to think when they get behind the wheel.
Is like a kind of madness just takes over or maybe some demonic possession and people just can't help themselves (eye-balls poping out,foot stuck down on X,white knuckle grip of wheel and I go pass anything in front regardless, whilst crazy music setting atmosphere).

Postby redmanjp » May 20th, 2013, 4:05 pm

^^ah next ting too is when drivers see a pedestrian with a puddle of water next to them and wont slow down and just splash ah set ah water on dem

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 20th, 2013, 8:56 pm

Hook wrote:

Speaking of rear fog lamps, please switch them off when the rain has eased up. Kinda difficult to see the road ahead with your bright red rear fog up in my face.

that's assuming they even know they have rear fog lights or know that they turned it on **smh**
some vehicles have a separate switch for the rear, whilst others come on when the front is on. Either way, plenty people seem to go into this mode when rain starts falling :? :

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 22nd, 2013, 7:42 am

Some hard rain fall this morning in California.

Sent from my GT-I9500

Postby javishm » May 26th, 2013, 12:30 pm

SweeP

Postby SweeP » May 26th, 2013, 12:53 pm

when rain now start to fall fuh dem few minutes it does be slippery cause oil rises to the surface an creates ah greasy surface !!

Postby maj. tom » May 26th, 2013, 1:02 pm

Postby pioneer » May 26th, 2013, 1:18 pm

gord izza chini...no need to prepare

Postby DFC » May 26th, 2013, 1:36 pm

Weather app says hot sun this whole week.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 26th, 2013, 4:15 pm

Mines showing rain till Wednesday

Postby nervewrecker » May 26th, 2013, 6:30 pm

I eh need no app or no gizmo, I wash everything clean, all under the fenders and shine up all the glasses.

That can only mean one thing:

Rain in allyuh mudda cnuts [/thread]

Postby rfari » May 27th, 2013, 12:03 am

nervewrecker wrote:I eh need no app or no gizmo, I wash everything clean, all under the fenders and shine up all the glasses.

That can only mean one thing:

Rain in allyuh mudda cnuts [/thread]

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 27th, 2013, 1:01 am

Met office warns of more heavy showers
Story Created: May 26, 2013 at 10:08 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 26, 2013 at 11:22 PM ECT
AFTER nearly a week-long respite from the emerging rainy season, citizens in flood-prone areas are now being advised to gear up for consistent showers over the next few days.

The rains began again yesterday and were moderate to heavy for most of the day, with some reports of mild flooding in parts of East, Central and South Trinidad.

In a media statement yesterday, the Piarco-based Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service said the inclement weather was as a result of moisture trailing a tropical wave that passed over the Southern Caribbean region last Saturday.

Intermittent rain and some thundery activity were forecast for most of yesterday and to continue into today.

“Noting the amount of rainfall, particularly in Tobago, the possibility of moderate cases of localised street and flash flooding, as well as landslides/landslips, is likely in the vicinity of prolonged rainfall or heavy downpours,” the Met Service stated.

“Gusty winds in excess of 45 kilometres per hour at times are also likely in heavy showers and thundershowers. Citizens are advised to be vigilant and cautious as they conduct their activities.”

Trinidad and Tobago is not under threat of any tropical storm at this time, the Service stated.

The Office of Disaster Preparedness and Management (ODPM) said yesterday no requests for assistance had been made to them but all first-responders are at-the-ready for the oncoming wet season.

Postby stev » May 27th, 2013, 8:21 am

rain in central and north. north / south highway not so much (7.30am)

was nice to see an old man walking with his dog in the rain. he was sheltering the dog more than himself. lol

Postby K74T » May 27th, 2013, 8:24 am

Downpour in South.