Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby SR » May 21st, 2013, 11:24 am

Yea i saw it

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby pugboy » May 21st, 2013, 9:02 pm

that competition have no rules/guidelines/categories, sounding kinda mickey mouse-ish
every tom dick and harry having those craft markets every weekend now.

fired up the wood burning rocket stove sunday
need some minor tweaking but it works good.
convenient and no coal dust mess.
20130519_154304.jpg
20130519_154255.jpg

Postby SR » May 22nd, 2013, 6:29 am

no time these days

hada fire up a pit next weekend for sure

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » May 27th, 2013, 1:59 pm

Well fellas, after many failed attempts to finish my UDS (Ugly Drum Smoker) I decided to toss it in the trash and get a large Big Green Egg. Tomorrow the BBQ store delivering the Egg, so by the weekend I should be up and running. Tonight I'll order a fan & controller from BBQ Guru to make sure things are under control on those overnight smoke

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2013, 3:17 pm

nice, green eggs are a little pricey but have good reputation and quality
the egghead forums is very fanatical

Postby X_Factor » May 27th, 2013, 3:42 pm

^^ i have a barrel about that looks similar to the one in the pic
its about 14" diameter and about 3ft high
u want it to maybe mod the speed cooker u made?

jsr wrote:Looking at trying to make like the picture below.

wonder how much they could sell for ?

smoker pit.jpg

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » May 27th, 2013, 5:45 pm

pugboy wrote:nice, green eggs are a little pricey but have good reputation and quality
the egghead forums is very fanatical

Yea the Egg lil pricey but it's a nice sturdy unit.. I catch meh arse to take it out of my truck bcuz it probably weigh in at 100lbs :lol:
I just sent my old lady to look for lump charcoal, so if anything, I'll fire it up this evening

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » May 31st, 2013, 7:32 pm

Naked butt
Wrapped butt
Big Green Egg

I'm throwing on the Butt at 7pm Saturday, on 250* for a 12-14hr smoke with a little apple wood.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 2nd, 2013, 11:26 am

Here is the finished Butt after 12hrs on the Egg. I wrapped it in foil and a few towels then stashed it in a cooler for 3hrs. Men, it came out super moist with a nice smoke ring, but next time I'll add a few pieces of Hickory because the apple wood was a bit mild.

Another thing is the fire went out shortly after I threw it on the grill. It's a good thing I woke up at 4am to check on it, because the pork would of been ruined. I restarted the fire and that puppy was good as new. The plan for next time is to bring the temp up to 350*, throw on the meat and set the egg to the desired cook temp (250* dome). That should help compensate for the massive temperature drop when the coldish meat is placed on the grill. I feel that is what caused the fire to "choke" the first time.

All in all I was pretty happy with the Egg's performance. She was a little pricy ($1200 with plate setter & BBQ Guru controller) but even without the controller on this first test, the temp held steady from 4AM to 4PM.

The next test will be a 15lb brisket, but I'll be using the controller for this one.

Postby SR » June 2nd, 2013, 12:06 pm

Nice we gonna do a couple beer can chickens today with jack daniels wood chips for smoking

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 7th, 2013, 6:37 pm

Yesterday I made Pizza on the egg.. Instead of buying a new Pizza stone to fit the Egg, I cut off the ends of my rectangular stone and it fit perfect! The Pizza crust could rival most NYC Pizzerias- Yes, it was that good. The sauce needs tweaking but the crust was dead on.. This pic of from the first pie. The crust was a bit thicker than normal, but on the second one, it was perfect.

Postby pugboy » June 7th, 2013, 8:27 pm

How do you restart the fire if it outs ?

You need some more top heat, little pale.
Which is the weakness of making pizza in a grill rig
good pizza is a balance of top and bottom heat

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 7th, 2013, 10:22 pm

I agree about the pale top on the first pie.. I cooked it at 400 bcuz I was afraid to go up to 600 like everybody suggested. Also, I kept opening the dome to check on it.. the second pie came out way better with dark bubbling cheese & dough bubbles on the crust. That one was cooked at 600 with less time looking & guessing.

Next week I'll do another pizza trial.. more pics to come

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2013, 5:54 am

don't open
best pizzas are above 700 and will be around 2min time
assuming your dough is above 55% water by weight

Postby SR » June 8th, 2013, 6:04 am

yup high heat and short cook time

gonna toss some ribeyes on the infrared grill tonight

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 10th, 2013, 10:40 pm

The phorque, like I is the only man cooking in this thread orh :lol:

Saturday I made beer chicken.. It was super moist and tender. 325* for 2hrs, indirect heat with a little mesquite wood. BTW, I did a little reading on beer chicken. It turns out the beer don't boil if you're using one of those wire racks like I used because the temp of the actual beer can will not get high enough. The only way to get it to boil and evaporate into the chicken is to use a ceramic beer/chicken holding unit.

Today I did sweet tea marinated pork chops, with a lil homemade Jack Daniels glaze and I also bust out 2 juicy steaks

IMG-20130608-WA0016.jpg

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2013, 10:50 pm

How much coals you using for those cooks?

Postby shogun » June 10th, 2013, 10:51 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:

Well done man.....looks really good.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 10th, 2013, 10:55 pm

Not much... The Egg seems to be very efficient on fuel consumption. With all the cooks I posted so far (Pork butt, Pizza, 2 Chickens (separate cooks), steak & chops, I used about 20lbs of lump. I bought a 25lb bag, but still have some left.. Also in the cooker I have about a pound left from today's cook

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 17th, 2013, 7:39 pm

Butt # 2

This but came out wayy better than the first one... Better flavor, better color and the texture was perfect. I also did a 12LB brisket but it came out a little dry after I lost control of the heat.. Some how it shot up to 300* without me knowing. I ended reviving the brisket with a little Stubs bbq sauce mixed with beef broth, to make a mopping sauce.. It was a great save!

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2013, 7:41 pm

check how your charcoal is packed
make sure the pieces are evenly spaced

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 17th, 2013, 7:47 pm

^ that or some kant opened the grill without me knowing :lol:

Postby rspann » June 17th, 2013, 7:57 pm

Rotaryboyz,me eh know you is a big time chef!That looks good!But careful she hear you call she "old lady".

Postby 1UZFE » June 17th, 2013, 8:20 pm

Did some shrimp kebabs a few weeks bac ..

Sent from my GT-S5830L using TriniTuner mobile app
1371514823206.jpg

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 17th, 2013, 9:27 pm

rspann wrote:Rotaryboyz,me eh know you is a big time chef!That looks good!But careful she hear you call she "old lady".

Boy, I took a year off from the race track so I need to find something to do on the weekend.... Allyuh fellas lucky to be surrounded by water & good weather, so is down the islands every Sunday for you :lol:

Postby rspann » June 18th, 2013, 7:13 pm

When you was here the last time you had an invitation to go down with me,but don't worry there is always a next time.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 18th, 2013, 7:29 pm

rspann wrote:When you was here the last time you had an invitation to go down with me,but don't worry there is always a next time.

Yeah, thanks buddy but the last time things were a bit hectic.. The woman had she eyes on me to make sure I didn't stray to far. For me, Trinidad = trouble with women (I does get blame for nothing.. I issa good boy)
I'll be back this August with a few fishing rods & my tackle box!

Postby eliteauto » June 18th, 2013, 8:32 pm

just cooked dinner fettuccine with a garlic and spinach alfredo sauce, bbq ribs, dry rubbed the ribs and left it for 8 hrs, cooked it on indirect heat for 3 hrs basting it in a sauce with beer and sake. Came out super tender and tasty

Also soaked some sugar cane stalks in White Oak for the same period and grilled them, they caught afire and the sugar caramelised on the outside, used them as stirrers for cocktails and chewed em after *hic*

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 24th, 2013, 10:47 am

We went down to the DC BBQ festival on Sunday- It was awesome!

Guys like Myron Mixon, Tuffy Stone, Johnny Triggs & others were there competing. I didn't take much pics, but I bought a few rubs from those award winning cooks. Next week we cooking ribs (beef & pork) and will be using a few techniques given by those guys..