shake d livin wake d dead wrote:hmmm^ I was thinking about having some working in that region to find out for me as well.The majority of houses I know are more of the wknd getaways.but thanks again.
pete wrote:It could be a good idea. I know the company I used to work for recently started putting people [yo-yo] up down [/yo-yo]in Mayaro to reduce the long commute most of the workers needed to make from Chaguanas etc. They ended up having to stay at the resorts and the prices there aren't really that great. You looking at monthly rentals or short stays as well?
My case for example, we only had to go down there about 4 days out of the month so a monthly rental wouldn't make sense but I know there might be workers who are from far away that might prefer to rent for the month.
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:pete wrote:It could be a good idea. I know the company I used to work for recently started putting people [yo-yo] up down [/yo-yo]in Mayaro to reduce the long commute most of the workers needed to make from Chaguanas etc. They ended up having to stay at the resorts and the prices there aren't really that great. You looking at monthly rentals or short stays as well?
My case for example, we only had to go down there about 4 days out of the month so a monthly rental wouldn't make sense but I know there might be workers who are from far away that might prefer to rent for the month.
Opie,
What street is this on?
Numb3r4 wrote:If you are considering the offshore workers then you should look into getting info. from the companies that operate in the area. Specifically;
Atlantic LNG.
Nico/Bayfield Energy Services.
This might be a good idea however you mentioned that you are targeting the workers. Who in particular?
The rig crews that work there are usually foreign that is they come with the rigs that work offshore so they may be on a 28 day on 28 day off cycle...so that is some potential there; that is if they don't fly out of the country but still a potential.
Also you could consider the many plant workers that Atlantic has running their plants. You may also want to consider making it family friendly, not just bachelor pads. Some of your tenants may like to move their entire family down there if only for the weekends, of maybe accommodate a lady friend or two or wifey....you know.
Whatever you decide to do I wish you all the best hope it turns out well. In these hard times it helps to have something to fall back on. Just don't go and waste all the money on woman and rum.
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:^^ You know there are ways to do it right in an effort to hugely minimize maint.costs?
White CZ4A wrote:If I were you I'd build a house instead of apartments and target the oil and gas companies as opposed to the individual workers for long term rentals. Short term rentals are a pain and you might spend most of your money in repairs.
Right now I am renting my house in Mayaro to BP..long term rental.
Main reason I suggested a house is that so when you're comfortable financially you'd have a nice vacation home.
As for maintenance, I'm about 300m from the sea, but I still get sea blast effects. It's hard to avoid but it's not as bad as I thought it would be.
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:aR&D wrote:Nigson wrote:yeah but is not a big structure - already have my ideas drafted out - its just to get it professionally done.....
remember that for approval your Building plans must include:
* roofing details drawings/plan
* foundation and pillar drawings
* the building/structure detail and roadway orientation plan
you should budget $5k - $7k approved. Also you should try to get it done electronically/AutoCAD.
Also, when the draftsman quotes you his price ensure it is for approval/ T&C fees, local corp fees and sadly but a reality/possibility "grease-hand / pull strings / fast track fees"
My advise to you is do not engage in any bribery and trust me it will come in many forms from the concrete salesman, the local corp man, transportation man, heck even your very own contractor may test you.
just play like your "chupid" and eh understand what they asking yuh. From the moment you start down that road it is a never ending one.
Keep your integrity intact and you will be fine.
good luck and keep us updated
All of that is well and good.
the first thing the intending house builder needs to do, is decide what he wants as far as services go, whether you want:i.e.
Architectural services -
Meeting the clients and discussing their needs/wants for their new home/building
Visiting the site with client to get an idea of the initial design concept for utilizing every available feature of the surrounding landscape - ( View, wind,etc.)
Obtaining from T&C an Outline Approval which will state what can / cant be built on the parcel of land, which will outline the setbacks, heights of buildings, purpose of building , etc.
Designing a building that fits the needs/requirements of the client & T&C
preparation of a schematic design for the client to have an idea of what they're getting
Final designs based on agreed schematic drawings
PREPARATION OF ALL DRAWINGS (6 copies of each)MANDATORY FOR SEEKING APPROVALS as follows.
Location plan
Site plan
Foundation Plans
Floor plan(s)
Elevations
Sections
details - roof joint/wall corner details/etc. etc.(abt 3 or 4 different pages dependent on design)
Roof framing plan
Isometric Plumbing Drawings & related Approvals
Electrical drawings & related approvals
-All new works are to be coloured red...!= time consuming for 4 copies of each.
-submit all required drawings for approvals
-Obtaining and submitting all legal documents for various approvals
-preparing a scope of works for tender process to contractors
-preparing legal tender/contractual documents and inviting contractors to tender
-acquiring and assessing all tender packages
-Discussing and agreeing with clients on nomination of contractor
- preparing documentation for same
N.B. While all of this is happening, it is the responsibility of the architect to be constantly checking T&C to see if approvals are ready and if any additional info is needed. They sometimes refuse your application for a missing piece of info as small as a door missing a size on the dwg! At which time you have to do over everything because they've already stamped their refusal stamp on the drawings.
Once youve received the approved drawings, you can start construction. Although, in most cases, some who have made sure that everything is correct from the start to avoid delays further down the road, can therefore start construction/ground works, once a contractor is nominated, while waiting on approvals.
- Constant supervision throughout the duration of the project from the start to the end.
- making sure that both the client and contractor sticks to their responsibilities as stated in the contract agreement.
- final Payments to all involved parties to mark the end of architectural services.
Clearly 7k cannot pay for the above services.
Or let me be a lil more clear-er...
I will not be undertaking the above for 7k..
That may just cover phone calls, gas, and general expenses to get the above done. We eh talk WORK yet!
Drafting Services.
-Receiving a sketch/idea from client
-Preparing the necessary drawings (hopefully in a professional manner to avoid time wasting later on.
-Submitting for approvals.
Get Paid 3 or 4 or 5k....Whatever they woke up feeling to charge- i guess.
/rant
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:2 levels or 1??^ avg cost at the time?