Microsoft Fully Reverses Xbox One's DRM Policies

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 4:52 pm

Mods forgive me, I know there is a gaming thread perhaps it can be merged later on.

This is HUGE news that I need to aware not so aware chunas about, aside from all the misinformation and assumptions they seem to be making, and propaganda floating around.

Official update - http://news.xbox.com/2013/06/update

IGN is a pretty legit source.

http://www.ign.com/articles/2013/06/19/ ... e-policies

Microsoft Reversing Xbox One Internet, Used Game Policies?

No more game lending restrictions, daily check-ins or region locks.

by Andrew Goldfarb JUNE 19, 2013

Microsoft has reportedly changed its policies regarding Xbox One’s internet requirement, used game restrictions and more. Contrary to the details announced earlier this month, anonymous sources now tell Giant Bomb that Xbox One will no longer require an internet connection or need to check in every 24 hours; instead, internet will only be required when initially setting up the console.

Xbox One will allegedly also no longer restrict used games, and will instead allow discs to be exchanged in the same way they are on Xbox 360 with no additional restrictions for trade-ins or lending games to friends. The system is also said to no longer be region locked and all downloaded games will function the same way whether your console is connected or not.

Microsoft's decision follows mass confusion following the announcement of Xbox One in May. At E3 last week, Sony announced similar policies for PlayStation 4, which will not require an internet connection or periodic authentication and does not restrict used games.

IGN has reached out to Microsoft for confirmation and clarification and will update this article with any comment we receive.
Last edited by pioneer on June 19th, 2013, 6:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Xbox One will not require Internet, or restrict used gam

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 4:54 pm

http://kotaku.com/microsoft-is-removing ... -514390310

Cliffs-
-No more always online requirement
-The console no longer has to check in every 24 hours
-All game discs will work on Xbox One as they do on Xbox 360
-Authentication is no longer necessary
-An Internet connection is only required when initially setting up the console
-All downloaded games will function the same when online or offline
-No additional restrictions on trading games or loaning discs
-Region locks have been dropped

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » June 19th, 2013, 4:59 pm

Nice... Seen This Coming Though.... Sony Will ROTFL When They Read The 'Reversed Policies'...

speedist

Postby speedist » June 19th, 2013, 5:00 pm

That is good news! Though, I'd been told xbox live service is only available in certain regions. Is this true?

Postby nemisis » June 19th, 2013, 5:00 pm

Now this makes for an interesting console war

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 5:04 pm

speedist wrote:That is good news! Though, I'd been told xbox live service is only available in certain regions. Is this true?

If I remember right 360/xbl was not supported in trinidad on launch but I used it with no problem.

Supported v Availability are two different things

Where you saw it was not available?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 19th, 2013, 5:13 pm

Great news.

I Can buy a xbox one now since I always preferred their controller and really want that killer instinct.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 19th, 2013, 5:13 pm

I foresee they not gonna get much launch sales

But as time passes they will give out free sheit to get back ppl to like them

so xbone fi it

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 5:18 pm

speedist

Postby speedist » June 19th, 2013, 5:21 pm

^^was thinkin the same ting. :lol:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 19th, 2013, 5:41 pm

Should rename this the xbox 180

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 5:50 pm

edit - first post updated with MSFT official update

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 5:54 pm

Me come november

Postby Rainman » June 19th, 2013, 5:54 pm

Interested in seeing Sony's response.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 19th, 2013, 5:55 pm

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 6:00 pm

It's game on b1tches

Infamous

Postby Infamous » June 19th, 2013, 6:05 pm

Very smart decision by Microsoft. Now with all those ridiculous policies out of the way, we can hopefully have two quality machines that provide the market with a wide array of gaming experiences. I hope both companies take heed of the market's initial reaction and avoid these kinds of policies/stunts for the rest of this generation. But somehow I feel we in for some truly idiotic decisions from both manufacturers at some point.

SRASC

Re: Xbox 180: Microsoft Fully Reverses Xbox One's DRM Polici

Postby SRASC » June 19th, 2013, 6:05 pm

It is now truly On(e)!

BUT

Kotaku wrote:You win some, you lose some. In changing its drastic Xbox One DRM policies today, Microsoft will actually be cutting some of the cooler features announced from the console. Everything's got a price, folks.

"There’s a few things we won’t be able to deliver as a result of this change," Marc Whitten, v.p. of Xbox Live told Kotaku, "One of the things we were very exicted about was 'wherever we go my games are always with me.' Now, of course, your physical games won’t show up that way. The content you bought digitally will. But you’ll have to bring your discs with you to have your games with you. Similarly, the sharing library [is something] we won’t be able to deliver at launch."

That means that two features are being cut, at least for now, from Microsoft's Xbox One plans. Microsoft's concept of having your full game library travel with you is gone.

Microsoft's offer to let you share Xbox One games with up to nine other "family" members is gone, too.

The play-your-games-from-anywhere feature had been tied to the idea that all Xbox One games must be installed to the system's 500GB harddrive in order to run. In theory, if you had registered the game online—a requirement that's also been dropped for disc games for the Xbox One—you'd then be able to play those games from any other console you were logged into. Now, with disc games not needing to be registered, you'd have to bring the disc with you to prove you had the rights to play the game on it.

Those sacrifices are the cost of the new DRM policy that, Whitten says, will give people an Xbox One experience with disc-based games that matches what they had on the Xbox 360. Games won't have to be registered online, and players won't have to connect to the Internet in a 24-hour period to play offline disc-based games. "The way to think about it is that it works the way it does with the Xbox 360," Whitten said. "You can give them, loan them, trade them, play them. They will work exactly as they do today."

It's clear that Microsoft was not planning to make these changes. Even though it's June and the console doesn't launch until November, Whitten said that Xbox One consumers will have to download a day-one patch to enable the Xbox One's offline mode. Presumably, without it, the console will still think it's living in the Xbox One era of E3 2013.

Microsoft also announced today a loosening of the Xbox One's regional restrictions. "You could buy a console in any country and use it any country," Whitten said. "You can use any disc in that console."

How did Microsoft get their initial plans for the Xbox One so wrong? "We believe a lot in this digital future," Whitten said. "We believe it builds an amazing experience—the ability to have a broader sharing platform and my content coming with me, [but] what we heard is people still wanted more choice… they wanted the familiarity of the physical disc."

Microsoft is obviously doing a big flip-flop here, but is putting a proud face on it. And a grateful one. "The last thing I would say is, 'Thank you for the feedback.'" He wasn't addressing me. He was addressing you. Your voices really were heard.

Re: Microsoft Fully Reverses Xbox One's DRM Policies

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 6:13 pm

Oh wow eh, then walk with yuh game like every other person on this planet does

Lol@modedit

Come at me mods

Re: Xbox 180: Microsoft Fully Reverses Xbox One's DRM Polici

Postby sharkman121 » June 19th, 2013, 6:13 pm

The damage has been already done.... Now microsoft is gonna be seen as a the spoilt brat child that didnt get its way and is now coming back with its tail between its legs.

Not saying they wont recover but they already lost A LOT of customers due to their shenanigans.

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 6:17 pm

Do explain?

The smart consumer waits for release, many people yet undecided between the two and haven't preordered anything.

Ballers will buy both consoles.

Postby sharkman121 » June 19th, 2013, 6:25 pm

How is it considered "baller" to buy both consoles? and also..if sony had not come out with their own policies that undermined microsofts own, microsoft would have never reverted, this portrays a sort of money hungry picture and one that would not have listened to the customer UNLESS their back is against the wall and they stand to lose greatly financially. Similarly akin to how Bmobile all of a sudden dropped their rates and handset prices to be able to compete when Digicel came into the market.

Even you would admit microsoft would never have changed their policy if sony hadnt shown what it was offering. And that is damaging.

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 6:31 pm

Dude it's all about the stock market.

And it's baller cuz you don't need to be a fanboy of either and be able to afford to kickass devices.

Now that both are more or less even it is gonna come down to games and content to see which pwns the market.

I would be worried if i were sony, I can see msft purposely doing this just to make sony gallary and gloat about having the edge, only now to reverse the decision.

What justification is there now? Have the memes suddenly hit an all time low?

Sony can only respond by offering free online play which drew the cheapskates into the ps3 in the first place. I would not be surprised if they announce free online play before month end.

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 6:32 pm

Oh yeah and i bought both consoles for exclusives. Online play sucked badly on PSN so most of my cross platform games went to the 360.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 19th, 2013, 6:33 pm

Who gives a sheit about xbox anyway :?

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 6:34 pm

^millions of people in the first world.

Postby sharkman121 » June 19th, 2013, 6:34 pm

the thing is...sony doesnt even need to do anything now to still take away previous microft customers even if the playing field is now even.

LOL @ backpedal of epic proportions by microsoft :lol:

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 19th, 2013, 6:36 pm

sharkman121 wrote:the thing is...sony doesnt even need to do anything now to still take away previous microft customers even if the playing field is now even.

LOL @ backpedal of epic proportions by microsoft :lol:

Yeah the damage done. Microsoft looking like some imps now.

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 6:52 pm

Exclusives
Exclusives
Exclusives

Exclusives

Postby sharkman121 » June 19th, 2013, 6:59 pm

i dunno who backpedaling more, you or microsoft. The fact that you try to put a positive spin on it doesnt make this thread any less of a fail. Fact is microsoft felt the burn big time with that move, whether they switched the DRM policies now or not.